DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 7, 12 and 15 are amended.
Claim(s) 16-20 are new.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) PCT/CN2022/084899 submitted on April 1st, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on September 30th, 2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR POINT-TO-MULTIPOINT (PTM) MULTICAST SERVICE”).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over FUJISHIRO et al. (US 2024/0179798 A1; also see provisional 63/228,266: fig. 11, pg. 12, ¶82-¶87) hereinafter “FUJISHIRO” in view of PHAM VAN et al. (US 2023/0300682 A1) hereinafter “PHAM VAN”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 15,
FUJISHIRO discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [see fig. 2, pg. 2, ¶53 lines 1-8, a user equipment (UE) “100”], comprising:
at least one memory [see fig. 2, pg. 2, ¶53 lines 1-8, at least one memory]; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configure to cause the UE to [see fig. 2, pg. 2, ¶53 lines 1-8, at least one processor connected to the memory and further implemented to]:
receive multicast in a radio resource control (RRC) non-connected state [see fig. 11, pg. 6, ¶114 lines 1-10; ¶115 lines 1-9; ¶119 lines 1-2, gNB “200” ascertains that the UE “100” desires the low-power consumption multicast broadcast service (MBS) reception based on the desired mode information elements included in an received RRC message … the desired mode information elements includes information … indicating that the UE “100” desires to receive an MBS in the RRC idle state/RRC inactive state].
Although FUJISHIRO discloses receive multicast in a radio resource control (RRC) non-connected state, FUJISHIRO does not explicitly teach “transmit a request of point-to-multipoint (PTM) configuration information for multicast reception in the RRC non-connected state”; or “transmit information associated with multicast reception of the UE after an initiation of state transition from the RRC non-connected state to a RRC connected state to assist deciding a subsequent RRC state used for the multicast reception”.
However PHAM VAN discloses receiving multicast in a radio resource control (RRC) non-connected state [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 10, ¶157 lines 1-8, UE “103a” receives the PTM configuration from the target network node “101b” in MSG “4” through a downlink control channel. Further, the target network node “101b” indicates the UE in MSG “4”, whether the UE should change the RRC state or not. Based on the indication received in MSG “4”, the UE either remains in INACTIVE state or the UE enters CONNECTED state]; and
transmitting information associated with multicast reception of the UE after an initiation of state transition from the RRC non-connected state to a RRC connected state to assist deciding a subsequent RRC state used for the multicast reception [see fig. 5: Step(s) “506”/ “507”, pg. 10, ¶158 lines 1-9, the UE “103a” transmits the MSG “5” to the target network node “101b” indicating that the UE resumes RRC connection with the target network node “101b”, establishes multicast and broadcast services (MBS) session with the AMF and receives MBS data].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmit a request of point-to-multipoint (PTM) configuration information for multicast reception in the RRC non-connected state”; or “transmit information associated with multicast reception of the UE after an initiation of state transition from the RRC non-connected state to a RRC connected state to assist deciding a subsequent RRC state used for the multicast reception” as taught by PHAM VAN in the system of FUJISHIRO to provide efficient delivery of broadcast and multicast services within a 3GPP cellular network [see PHAM VAN, pg. 1, ¶4 lines 1-11].
Regarding Claim 2,
FUJISHIRO discloses the UE of Claim 1.
FUJISHIRO does not explicitly teach “the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted via a RRC resume request message, and updated PTM configuration information is received via a RRC release message in response to the RRC resume request message without entering the RRC connected state”.
However PHAM VAN discloses the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted via a RRC resume request message [see pg. 9, ¶146 lines 1-7, when the message is transmitted using MSG “5” of the random access procedure, then the MSG “5” comprises a RRC setup complete message comprising TMGIs and a RRC resume complete message comprising TMGIs], and updated PTM configuration information is received via a RRC release message in response to the RRC resume request message without entering the RRC connected state [see pg. 10, ¶158 lines 1-9, when the MBS session is initiated, the UE releases RRC connection with the target network node “101b” for entering the INACTIVE state and also releases RRC connection and then receives the transmission of the MBS data from the target network node “101b”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted via a RRC resume request message, and updated PTM configuration information is received via a RRC release message in response to the RRC resume request message without entering the RRC connected state” as taught by PHAM VAN in the system of FUJISHIRO for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the UE of Claim 1.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted in response to receiving a paging message with an indication indicating that update of the PTM configuration information for the multicast is required [see fig. 11, pg. 6, ¶114 lines 1-10; ¶115 lines 1-9; ¶119 lines 1-2, the desired mode information elements includes information indicating that the UE desires PTP reception in the first delivery mode].
Regarding Claim 4,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the UE of Claim 1.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted in response to receiving a paging message with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) session identifier (ID) of the multicast reception in the case that the UE is receiving or is interested in the MBS session identified by the MBS session ID [see pg. 6, ¶110 lines 1-10, the RRC message includes identifiers of one or more MBS sessions in which the UE “100” is performing MBS reception or is interested in MBS reception (MBS session identifiers) and a desired mode information element associated with each of the one or more MBS session identifiers].
Regarding Claim 5,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the UE of Claim 1.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted in response to cell selection or cell reselection to a cell without valid PTM configuration information for the UE [see pg. 13, ¶234 lines 1-12, regardless of the absolute frequency priority configured by the eNB, the UE reselects the cell providing a target MBMS service, thus ensuring service continuity].
Regarding Claim 6,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the UE of Claim 1.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the information associated with multicast reception comprises of [see fig. 11, pg. 6, ¶114 lines 1-10; ¶115 lines 1-9; ¶119 lines 1-2, the desired mode information elements includes information of]:
a UE preference indication on RRC state of multicast reception [see fig. 11, pg. 6, ¶114 lines 1-10; ¶115 lines 1-9; ¶119 lines 1-2, an RRC message includes one or more MBS frequency identifiers (or cell identifiers) on which the UE “100” is performing MBS reception or is interested in MBS reception, and desired mode information elements associated with each of the one or more MBS frequency identifiers (or cell identifiers)].
Regarding Claim 7,
FUJISHIRO discloses a base station (BS) for wireless communication [see fig. 3, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-12, a base station or gNB “200”], comprising:
at least one memory [see fig. 3, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-12, at least one memory]; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configure to cause the BS to [see fig. 3, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-12, at least one processor connected to the memory and further implemented to]:
receive a request of point-to-multipoint (PTM) configuration information for multicast reception from a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) non-connected state [see fig. 11, pg. 6, ¶114 lines 1-10; ¶115 lines 1-9; ¶119 lines 1-2, gNB “200” ascertains that the UE “100” desires the low-power consumption multicast broadcast service (MBS) reception based on the desired mode information elements included in an received RRC message … the desired mode information elements includes information … indicating that the UE “100” desires to receive an MBS in the RRC idle state/RRC inactive state].
Although FUJISHIRO discloses receive a request of point-to-multipoint (PTM) configuration information for multicast reception from a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) non-connected state, FUJISHIRO does not explicitly teach “transmit the updated PTM configuration information”; or “receive information associated with multicast reception from the UE after an initiation of state transition of the UE from the RRC non-connected state to a RRC connected state and determine a subsequent RRC state used for the multicast reception of the UE based on the received information”.
However PHAM VAN discloses receive a request of point-to-multipoint (PTM) configuration information for multicast reception from a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) non-connected state [see fig. 5: Step “503”, pg. 9, ¶154 lines 1-13; ¶155 lines 1-18, the UE “103a” transmits MSG “3” comprising a cause indicating that the UE is interested in the MBS session that it was receiving from the source network node]; and
transmit the updated PTM configuration information [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 10, ¶157 lines 1-8, the UE “103a” receives the PTM configuration from the target network node “101b” in MSG “4” through a downlink control channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmit the updated PTM configuration information”; or “receive information associated with multicast reception from the UE after an initiation of state transition of the UE from the RRC non-connected state to a RRC connected state and determine a subsequent RRC state used for the multicast reception of the UE based on the received information” as taught by PHAM VAN in the system of FUJISHIRO to provide efficient delivery of broadcast and multicast services within a 3GPP cellular network [see PHAM VAN, pg. 1, ¶4 lines 1-11].
Regarding Claim 8,
FUJISHIRO discloses the BS of Claim 7.
FUJISHIRO does not explicitly teach “the request of PTM configuration information is received via a RRC resume request message, and updated PTM configuration information is transmitted via a RRC release message in response to the RRC resume request message”.
However PHAM VAN discloses the request of PTM configuration information is received via a RRC resume request message [see pg. 9, ¶146 lines 1-7, when the message is transmitted using MSG “5” of the random access procedure, then the MSG “5” comprises a RRC setup complete message comprising TMGIs and a RRC resume complete message comprising TMGIs], and updated PTM configuration information is transmitted via a RRC release message in response to the RRC resume request message [see pg. 10, ¶158 lines 1-9, when the MBS session is initiated, the UE releases RRC connection with the target network node “101b” for entering the INACTIVE state and also releases RRC connection and then receives the transmission of the MBS data from the target network node “101b”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted via a RRC resume request message, and updated PTM configuration information is received via a RRC release message in response to the RRC resume request message without entering the RRC connected state” as taught by PHAM VAN in the system of FUJISHIRO for the same motivation as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 9,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the BS of Claim 7.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the request of PTM configuration information is received after transmitting a paging message with an indication indicating that update of the PTM configuration information for the multicast is required [see fig. 11, pg. 6, ¶114 lines 1-10; ¶115 lines 1-9; ¶119 lines 1-2, the desired mode information elements includes information indicating that the UE desires PTP reception in the first delivery mode].
Regarding Claim 10,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the BS of Claim 7.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the request is received after transmitting a paging message with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) session identifier (ID) of the multicast [see pg. 6, ¶110 lines 1-10, the RRC message includes identifiers of one or more MBS sessions in which the UE “100” is performing MBS reception or is interested in MBS reception (MBS session identifiers) and a desired mode information element associated with each of the one or more MBS session identifiers].
Regarding Claim 11,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the BS of Claim 7.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the BS comprises a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU) coupled to the CU [see pg. 3, ¶58 lines 1-9, the gNB “200” includes a Central Unit (CU) and a Distributed Unit (DU) (i.e., divided functions), and the both units are connected via an F1 interface that is a fronthaul interface], and the DU transmits the paging message to the UE in response to receiving a radio access network (RAN) paging message including an indication indicating that update of the PTM configuration information is required from the CU [see fig. 11, pg. 6, ¶114 lines 1-10; ¶115 lines 1-9; ¶119 lines 1-2, the desired mode information elements includes information indicating that the UE desires PTP reception in the first delivery mode].
Regarding Claim 13,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the BS of Claim 7.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the information associated with multicast reception is received via a multicast broadcast service (MBS) interest indication message [see pg. 5, ¶108 lines 1-6, the UE “100” generates an RRC message and transmits the generated RRC message to the gNB “200”. The RRC message is, for example, a message that the UE “100” can spontaneously transmit, and is an MBS Interest Indication message or a UE Assistance Information message].
Regarding Claim 16,
FUJISHIRO discloses a processor for wireless communication [see fig. 2, pg. 2, ¶53 lines 1-8, at least one processor], comprising:
at least one controller coupled with the at least one memory and configure to cause the processor to [see fig. 2, pg. 2, ¶53 lines 1-8, a controller including the at least one processor and at least one memory implemented to]:
receive multicast in a radio resource control (RRC) non-connected state [see fig. 11, pg. 6, ¶114 lines 1-10; ¶115 lines 1-9; ¶119 lines 1-2, gNB “200” ascertains that the UE “100” desires the low-power consumption multicast broadcast service (MBS) reception based on the desired mode information elements included in an received RRC message … the desired mode information elements includes information … indicating that the UE “100” desires to receive an MBS in the RRC idle state/RRC inactive state].
Although FUJISHIRO discloses receive multicast in a radio resource control (RRC) non-connected state, FUJISHIRO does not explicitly teach “transmit a request of point-to-multipoint (PTM) configuration information for multicast reception in the RRC non-connected state”; or “transmit information associated with multicast reception of the processor after an initiation of state transition from the RRC non-connected state to a RRC connected state to assist deciding a subsequent RRC state used for the multicast reception”.
However PHAM VAN discloses receive multicast in a radio resource control (RRC) non-connected state [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 10, ¶157 lines 1-8, UE “103a” receives the PTM configuration from the target network node “101b” in MSG “4” through a downlink control channel. Further, the target network node “101b” indicates the UE in MSG “4”, whether the UE should change the RRC state or not. Based on the indication received in MSG “4”, the UE either remains in INACTIVE state or the UE enters CONNECTED state]; and
transmit information associated with multicast reception of the processor after an initiation of state transition from the RRC non-connected state to a RRC connected state to assist deciding a subsequent RRC state used for the multicast reception [see fig. 5: Step(s) “506”/ “507”, pg. 10, ¶158 lines 1-9, the UE “103a” transmits the MSG “5” to the target network node “101b” indicating that the UE resumes RRC connection with the target network node “101b”, establishes multicast and broadcast services (MBS) session with the AMF and receives MBS data].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmit the updated PTM configuration information”; or “receive information associated with multicast reception from the UE after an initiation of state transition of the UE from the RRC non-connected state to a RRC connected state and determine a subsequent RRC state used for the multicast reception of the UE based on the received information” as taught by PHAM VAN in the system of FUJISHIRO to provide efficient delivery of broadcast and multicast services within a 3GPP cellular network [see PHAM VAN, pg. 1, ¶4 lines 1-11].
Regarding Claim 17,
FUJISHIRO discloses the processor of Claim 16.
FUJISHIRO does not explicitly teach “the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted via a RRC resume request message, and updated PTM configuration information is received via a RRC release message in response to the RRC resume request message without entering the RRC connected state”.
However PHAM VAN discloses the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted via a RRC resume request message [see pg. 9, ¶146 lines 1-7, when the message is transmitted using MSG “5” of the random access procedure, then the MSG “5” comprises a RRC setup complete message comprising TMGIs and a RRC resume complete message comprising TMGIs], and updated PTM configuration information is received via a RRC release message in response to the RRC resume request message without entering the RRC connected state [see pg. 10, ¶158 lines 1-9, when the MBS session is initiated, the UE releases RRC connection with the target network node “101b” for entering the INACTIVE state and also releases RRC connection and then receives the transmission of the MBS data from the target network node “101b”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted via a RRC resume request message, and updated PTM configuration information is received via a RRC release message in response to the RRC resume request message without entering the RRC connected state” as taught by PHAM VAN in the system of FUJISHIRO for the same motivation as set forth in claim 16.
Regarding Claim 18,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the processor of Claim 16.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted in response to receiving a paging message with an indication indicating that update of the PTM configuration information for the multicast is required [see fig. 11, pg. 6, ¶114 lines 1-10; ¶115 lines 1-9; ¶119 lines 1-2, the desired mode information elements includes information indicating that the UE desires PTP reception in the first delivery mode].
Regarding Claim 19,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the processor of Claim 16.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted in response to receiving a paging message with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) session identifier (ID) of the multicast reception in the case that the UE is receiving or is interested in the MBS session identified by the MBS session ID [see pg. 6, ¶110 lines 1-10, the RRC message includes identifiers of one or more MBS sessions in which the UE “100” is performing MBS reception or is interested in MBS reception (MBS session identifiers) and a desired mode information element associated with each of the one or more MBS session identifiers].
Regarding Claim 20,
The combined system of FUJISHIRO and PHAM VAN discloses the processor of Claim 16.
FUJISHIRO further discloses wherein the request of PTM configuration information is transmitted in response to cell selection or cell reselection to a cell without valid PTM configuration information for the processor [see pg. 13, ¶234 lines 1-12, regardless of the absolute frequency priority configured by the eNB, the UE reselects the cell providing a target MBMS service, thus ensuring service continuity].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Pham Van et al. (US 2023/0239661 A1);
see fig(s). 4 and 5, pgs. 8-9, ¶126-¶136.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469