DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figure 1 has boxes with lead lines pointing to various features but there are no accompanying reference characters. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by International Publication Number WO 2021/032976 A1 (Plenderleith).
As concerns claim 1, Plenderleith discloses a frame 10 for use in a subsea environment, the frame comprising: a hollow body 26 configured to receive a plurality of service lines (at 16, tubes 12 and cables 14), wherein the hollow body is made up of two or more parts 26A, 26B, 26C made of a polymer (10:4)
As concerns claim 3, Plenderleith discloses the frame as claimed in claim 1, wherein the frame is a carrier frame (in as much as the frame “carries” the service lines 12 and 14).
As concerns claim 4, Plenderleith discloses the frame as claimed in claim 1, wherein the frame 10 comprises a first part and a second part (in this instance, 26A and 26B)
As concerns claim 5, Plenderleith discloses the frame as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first part is configured to be joined to the second part to form a hollow body which surrounds and protects a length of the service lines.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0304447 A1 (Smith et al.).
As concerns claim 1, Smith et al. discloses a frame for use in a subsea environment, the frame comprising: a hollow body 105configured to receive a plurality of service lines (umbilical or flexible pipe, not shown, see 0015), wherein the hollow body is made up of two or more parts made of a polymer (0017-0018).
As concerns claim 4, Smith et al. discloses the frame as claimed in claim 1, wherein the frame comprises a first part and a second part (split halves as shown, figure 2A-2C, joined with fasteners 112, see 0017).
As concerns claim 6, Smith et al. discloses the frame as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first part comprises a first section 107 and a second section 109 wherein the first section and the second part are each substantially semi-circular in cross section (as illustrated) and are configured to form a substantially cylindrical hollow body when joined together (figure 2A and figure 2B).
As concerns claim 7, Smith et al. discloses the frame as claimed in claim 4, wherein each of the first section and the second part comprise a first flange and a second diametrically opposite flange extending radially outwardly therefrom, and wherein the first and second flanges of the first section are configured to abut against the first and second flanges of the second part when the frame is assembled (the structure at 108 and the shoulder at 110 are reasonably construed as “flange structures” and will abut, see figure 2A and 2B).
As concerns claim 8, Smith et al. discloses the frame as claimed in claim 1, wherein the frame is configured to receive a connector 102 for connecting the plurality of service lines to a subsea installation (see, 0015 and figure 3).
As concerns claim 9, Smith et al. discloses the frame as claimed in claim 8, wherein the frame forms a cap for receiving an end of the connector (in as much as the frame extends over and around a first end of the connector 102, the illustrated structure in figure 3 is equivalent).
As concerns claim 11, Smith et al. discloses a service line connection system for use in a subsea environment and comprising: a plurality of service lines (0015); a subsea installation (Id.); a connector 102 connected to the plurality of service lines and configured to connect the plurality of service lines to the subsea installation (0015); and the frame as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of service lines extend through the frame (the lines are not shown, but would extend through the frame, see figure 3).
As concerns claim 12, Smith et al. discloses the service line connection system as claimed in claim 11, wherein the connector 102 is received in the frame (figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plenderleith in view of International Publication Number WO 2017/161185 A1 (Ramasubramanian).
As concerns claim 10, Plenderleith discloses the frame as claimed in claim 1, but lacks to disclose wherein one or more openings are provided in the frame to allow water to flow into the frame when assembled.
Ramasubramanian discloses a frame for use in a subsea environment, wherein one or more openings are provided in the frame to allow water to flow into the frame when assembled (see figure 3A, showing openings in frame 328 to allow for the passage of water, see 0098, which may provide pressure balancing for the interior chamber).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have incorporated the openings in the frame as described with a reasonable expectation of success, as this would provide the desirable result of equalizing the pressure for the service lines passing through the frame.
As concerns claim 11, Plenderleith discloses a service line connection system for use in a subsea environment and comprising: a plurality of service lines (see, figure 6); a subsea installation; a connector connected to the plurality of service lines and configured to connect the plurality of service lines to the subsea installation (see 2:15+ and figure 6); and the frame as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of service lines extend through the frame (Id.)
As concerns claim 13, Plenderleith discloses the service line connection system as claimed in claim 11, further comprising a tubing surrounding the plurality of service lines (see at least figure 1 at 14A, 9:15+).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plenderleith in view of US 9,216,524 B1 (Cook et al.).
As concerns claim 14, Plenderleith discloses a method of producing a frame for use in a subsea environment, the frame comprising: a hollow body 26 configured to receive a plurality of service lines, wherein the hollow body is made up of two or more parts 26A, 26B, 26C, 26D, 26E made of a polymer (10:4), but lacks to disclose the method comprising forming the two or more parts of the hollow body by additive manufacturing.
Nevertheless, the step would be readily ascertainable from the disclosure of Cook et al., as the reference discloses a subsea construction and a manufacturing method for subsea structures made of a polymer (see at least the Abstract) to lend buoyancy and/or thermal insulation to equipment and structures to reduce load and/or minimize heat loss wherein the products are made by an additive manufacturing process (Id.).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing, would have obviously considered utilizing the additive manufacturing process of Cook et al. to produce the frame of Plenderleith with a reasonable expectation of success, as the process produces structures with optimum strength, buoyancy and insulative value that is very useful in high pressure high force applications (such as are found in subsea and offshore operations) (see 2:5-14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JAMES G. SAYRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679
/JAMES G SAYRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679