DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “are coupled each other” is suggested to read as “are coupled to each other.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a fixing members is inserted” is suggested to read as “a fixing member is inserted.” Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At present, the prior art to Sano et al. (U.S. Patent 9,953,819 B2) and Bartilucci (U.S. Patent 5,663,707 A) remain applicable to the claims.
In response to Applicant’s arguments concerning the newly amended limitation, “in a state where the body of the at least one of the plurality of lamp units and the body of the another one of the plurality of lamp units are coupled (to) each other, the coupling portion is in contact with a rear surface of the body of the another one of the plurality of lamp units,” Sano discloses, “The panel member 12 is disposed to surround the first and second lamp units 20, 40,” but does not specifically teach the coupling portion (12) being in contact with a rear surface of the body of the another one of the plurality of lamp units. However, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicular lamp to have incorporated the coupling portion to be in contact with a rear surface of the body of the another one of the plurality of lamp units, so as to ensure greater security and/or promote illumination efficacy. Such an obvious modification is highlighted below in the prior art rejection.
All arguments hinge on the above and have been addressed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (U.S. Patent 9,953,819 B2) in view of Sazuka et al. (JP 2005-141919 A).
With regards to Claim 1, Sano discloses a vehicular lamp configured to be mounted on a vehicle [Figures 1-7], the vehicular lamp including:
A plurality of lamp units (20, 40), each of the plurality of lamp units including a light emitting element (22, 42), a lens (24, 44) disposed on a front side relative to the light emitting element, and a body [e.g., (46, 54)] supporting the light emitting element,
Wherein the body of at least one of the plurality of lamp units includes a coupling portion [e.g., (12)] configured to couple the body of the at least one of the plurality of lamp units with the body of another one of the plurality of lamp units.
Sano does not specifically teach in a state where the body of the at least one of the plurality of lamp units and the body of the another one of the plurality of lamp units are coupled (to) each other, the coupling portion is in contact with a rear surface of the body of the another one of the plurality of lamp units.
Sazuka teaches in a state where a body of at least one of a plurality of lamp units [e.g., (40, 50A-B)] and a body of another one of the plurality of lamp units being coupled to each other [note Figure 3], whereby a coupling portion (22, 24) is in contact with a rear surface of the body of the another one of the plurality of lamp units [note Figure 3].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicular lamp of Sano to have incorporated the coupling portion of Sazuka, such that the body of at least one of the plurality of lamp units and the body of another one of the plurality of lamp units are coupled to each other, the coupling portion being in contact with a rear surface of the body of the another one of the plurality of lamp units, as taught in principle by Sazuka, in order to provide additional support as needed, and/or promote illumination efficacy by providing the support from blocking any light.
With regards to Claim 2, Sano discloses the coupling portion (12) [Sazuka teaches the coupling portion (22)] being a plate-shaped member configured to contact a surface of another body in a state in which the body including the coupling portion is coupled with the another body [note Figures 1-7].
With regards to Claim 4, Sano discloses orientations of light emitting surfaces of light emitting elements of the respective lamp units differ from one another in a state in which the lamp units are attached to the vehicle [note Figures 1-7 and Column 4, Lines 14-21].
With regards to Claim 6, Sano discloses orientations of light emitting surfaces of light emitting elements of the respective lamp units differ from one another in a state in which the lamp units are attached to the vehicle [note Figures 1-7 and Column 4, Lines 14-21].
With regards to Claim 9, Sano in view of Sazuka discloses the claimed invention as modified and cited above. In addition, Sazuka teaches the coupling portion (22, 24) having a first hole into which a fixing member(s) is inserted and a second hole into which a positioning pin is inserted [note Figure 3: both sides with (24)].
Claims 3, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (U.S. Patent 9,953,819 B2) in view of Sazuka et al. (JP 2005-141919 A) as applied to Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, respectively above, and further in view of Bartilucci (U.S. Patent 5,663,707 A).
With regard to Claims 3 and 5, Sano in view of Sazuka et al. (JP 2005-141919 A) discloses the claimed invention as modified and cited above, but does not specifically teach a cord configured to supply power to the light emitting element for each of the lamp units, wherein the cord of each of the lamp units is wired by a common wiring component.
Bartilucci discloses a vehicular lamp [Figures 1-4] and teaches a cord [e.g., (42)] configured to supply power to a light emitting element for each of a plurality of lamp units [e.g., (30, 32, 34)], wherein the cord of each of the lamp units is wired by a common wiring component [e.g., (40)].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicular lamp of Sano in view of Sazuka to have incorporated a cord configured to supply power to the light emitting element for each of the lamp units, wherein the cord of each of the lamp units is wired by a common wiring component, as taught in principle by Bartilucci, in order to provide sufficient control/power to the various light emitting elements as desired. Such an obvious configuration/modification is well-known and established within the art with respect to light emitting elements and power distribution via wiring/cords.
With regard to Claims 7-8, Sano in view of Sazuka, and further in view of Bartilucci discloses the claimed invention as modified and cited above. In addition, Sano discloses orientations of light emitting surfaces of light emitting elements of the respective lamp units differ from one another in a state in which the lamp units are attached to the vehicle [note Figures 1-7 and Column 4, Lines 14-21].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
September 27, 2025
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875