DETAILED ACTION
Following prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20130322524 A1 (hereinafter Jang)
US 20090086816 A1 (hereinafter Leontaris)
F. Maurer, S. Battista, L. Ciccarelli, G. Meardi, and S. Ferrara, “Overview of MPEG-5 Part 2—Low complexity enhancement video coding (LCEVC),” ITU J. ICT Discoveries, vol. 3, no. 1, pp. 1–11, Jun. 2020 ( hereinafter Maurer)
US 10257542 B1 (Brailovskiy)
US 20210067785 A1 (para 29, Fig.1)
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for following reason.
Re: Prior art rejection of independent claims
Applicant argued in substance that the prior art combination does not teach the amended limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and argues that, Fig.2 or Maurer teaches this limitation, for instance teaches wherein the encoder is a Low Complexity Enhancement Video Coding (LCEVC) encoder [(Introduction, Fig.2)] , and encoding the second video frame comprises: down-sampling the second video frame [(Fig.2 downscaler)] : encoding the down-sampled second video frame using a base codec to obtain a base encoding layer [(Fig.2 base encoder)] decoding the base encoding layer using the base codec to obtain a decoded reference video frame [(“reconstruction” and uplscaling of the output of “Base Encoder” ; also the loop having Inverse Quantization and inverse transformation in the next layer; see description in section 5.1.2)] calculating one or more residuals based on a difference between the second frame and the decoded reference video frame: [(L1 residuals or L-2 residuals)] and encoding the one or more residuals to obtain an enhancement layer , wherein the encoder parameter is a parameter for calculating or encoding one or more of the residuals. [(section 5.1.2 in light of Jang’s teaching)]
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive
Re: Prior art rejection of dependent claims
Applicant has presented no additional argument, other than arguments already presented with respect to independent claims. Therefore, the arguments are similarly not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 20-22, 24-27, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Maurer
With respect to claim 17, Jiang teaches a method for determining an encoder parameter for encoding an input video comprising a sequence of video frames, the input video having a first resolution, the method comprising: obtaining a first and a second video frame of the input video, wherein the second video frame follows the first video frame in the sequence of video frames [(Fig.17A, para 146)] : down-sampling the first and second frames to a second resolution to obtain a first and a second down-sampled video frame: [(Fig.17A, para 147)] : generating a detail perception metric based on the first and second down-sampled video frames [(statistical information/complexities is determined based on base layer {para 86}, first-layer =down-sampled {Fig.4 unit 60}, complexity =edge detection {para 221})] : and determining, based on the detail perception metric, an encoder parameter for encoding the second video frame[(based on the statistical information encoding parameter is assigned for enhancement/second layer {para 155, Fig.4, Fig.15}; second layer encode video frames including the second video frame)] , wherein the detail perception metric comprises an edge detection metric based on the second down-sampled frame and a motion metric based on a difference between the first and second down-sampled frames [(complexity =edge detection {para 221} and motion {para 173})]
Jang does not explicitly show wherein the encoder is a Low Complexity Enhancement Video Coding (LCEVC) encoder, and encoding the second video frame comprises: down-sampling the second video frame: encoding the down-sampled second video frame using a base codec to obtain a base encoding layer: decoding the base encoding layer using the base codec to obtain a decoded reference video frame: calculating one or more residuals based on a difference between the second frame and the decoded reference video frame: and encoding the one or more residuals to obtain an enhancement layer, wherein the encoder parameter is a parameter for calculating or encoding one or more of the residuals.
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Maurer teaches wherein the encoder is a Low Complexity Enhancement Video Coding (LCEVC) encoder [(Introduction, Fig.2)] , and encoding the second video frame comprises: down-sampling the second video frame [(Fig.2 downscaler)] : encoding the down-sampled second video frame using a base codec to obtain a base encoding layer [(Fig.2 base encoder)] decoding the base encoding layer using the base codec to obtain a decoded reference video frame [(“reconstruction” and uplscaling of the output of “Base Encoder” ; also the loop having Inverse Quantization and inverse transformation in the next layer; see description in section 5.1.2)] calculating one or more residuals based on a difference between the second frame and the decoded reference video frame: [(L1 residuals or L-2 residuals)] and encoding the one or more residuals to obtain an enhancement layer , wherein the encoder parameter is a parameter for calculating or encoding one or more of the residuals. [(section 5.1.2 in light of Jang’s teaching)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts to reduce computational complexity [(Maurer “Introduction”)]
Jang teaches, with respect to claim 20. The method according to claim 17, wherein the motion metric comprises a sum of absolute differences between the first down-sampled frame and the second down-sampled frame. [(temporally smallest SAD indicates motion {para 96, 139} )]
Jang teaches, with respect to claim 21. The method according to claim 17, comprising generating the detail perception metric and determining the encoder parameter for each of a plurality of local blocks of the second down-sampled video frame. [(par 282, Fig.15)]
Jang teaches, with respect to claim 22. The method according to claim 17, wherein the encoder parameter comprises a priority level for encoding resources. [(priority level of bit {para 281})]
Regarding Claim 27: Please see analysis of claim 17 and note that Jang also teaches performing pre-analysis to determine an encoder parameter for encoding the second video frame: and instructing an encoder to encode the second video frame based on the encoder parameter, wherein the pre-analysis comprises [(unit 121D of Fig.6 perform the analysis (i.e. statistical and ROI information) before the encoding by 122D. i.e. 121D perform pre-analysis. )]
Jang teaches, with respect to claim 29. A device comprising one or more processors: a non-transitory memory, the memory storing executable instructions which, when executed by the processors, cause the device to perform the following: obtain a first and a second video frame of the input video, wherein the second video frame follows the first video frame in the sequence of video frames: down-sample the first and second frames to a second resolution to obtain a first and a second down-sampled video frame: generate a detail perception metric based on the first and second down-sampled video frames: and determine, based on the detail perception metric, an encoder parameter for encoding the second video frame, wherein the detail perception metric comprises an edge detection metric based on the second down-sampled frame and a motion metric based on a difference between the first and second down-sampled frames. [(see analysis of claim 17 and para 263 of Jang)]
Jang in view of Maurer additionally teaches, w.r.t. claim 24. The method according to claim 23, wherein the encoder parameter comprises a residual mode selection for encoding a residual in an LCEVC enhancement layer when encoding the second frame. [(Jang para 109, QP selection for residual processing corresponds residual mode; also see para 110 “Thus, at least one from among quantized residual coefficients of coefficient vectors may be discarded during encoding of the enhancement layer.”)]
Jang in view of Maurer additionally teaches, w.r.t. claim 25. The method according to claim 23, wherein the encoder parameter comprises a decision of whether or not to apply temporal prediction to an LCEVC enhancement layer when encoding the second frame [(Jang para 88 inter/intra frame prediction information)] .
Jang in view of Maurer additionally teaches, w.r.t. claim 26. The method according to claim 23, wherein the encoder parameter comprises a quantization parameter for an LCEVC enhancement layer when encoding the second frame. [(Jang para 187)]
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Maurer in view of Brailovskiy.
Regarding Claim 18: Jang in view of Maurer does not explicitly show wherein the edge detection metric comprises a text detection metric.
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Brailovskiy teaches wherein the edge detection metric comprises a text detection metric [(Brailovskiy column 17, lines 13-16)] .
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities.
Brailovskiy additionally teaches, with respect to claim 19. The method according to claim 17, wherein the edge detection metric is calculated by processing the second down-sampled frame using a directional decomposition to generate a set of directional components. [(sampling/downsampling in horizontal and vertical direction {column 9, lines 1-3} and equation 1)]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426