DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 38-40, 60-61, 48-59, 64-65 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group 1 and 3, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/6/26. Claims 41-47, 62-63 will be examined
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 41-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Rabbiosi et al (US PG Pub No. 2020/0377094).
Regarding claim 41, Rabbiosi teaches A system for controlling a force applied on a trailer being towed by a vehicle, where the trailer includes at least one electric motor for providing either propulsion or a braking force to the trailer by way of a regenerative braking function, and at least one friction brake for applying a braking force to the trailer, the system comprising:
a force sensor configured to sense a force between the vehicle and the trailer and being arranged to generate an electrical force signal as a function of the force; and (103 figure 2 sensor unit paragraph 57)
a controller in electrical communication with the force sensor, the controller arranged to control: (a) the at least one electric motor (104 figure 2 paragraph 57) to provide either propulsion to the trailer or a braking force on the trailer by way of a regenerative braking function; or (b) the at least one friction brake (107 figure 2 paragraph 57) of the trailer to apply a braking force on the trailer; or (c) the at least one electric motor and the at least one friction brake of the trailer to both apply a braking force to the trailer, in a manner such that the force sensed by the force sensor at least approaches a desired force (figure 1); and wherein when the controller controls the at least one electric motor and the at least one friction brake of the trailer, the controller controls the at least one electric motor and the at least one friction brakes such that a first portion of the braking force is provided by the friction brakes and a second portion of the braking force is provided by a regenerative braking function of the at least one electric motor, and wherein the system has an apportioner which determines a relative size of the first portion and the second portion of the braking force. (figure 1 paragraph 56 simultaneous and supplement figure 8 paragraph 71)
Regarding claim 42, Rabbiosi teaches wherein the system comprises a sensing element mechanically or hydraulically coupled to a coupling between the vehicle and the trailer that directly experiences the force between the vehicle and the trailer, the sensing element further coupled to the force sensor whereby the force sensor can be located remotely from surfaces which directly experience the force between the vehicle and the trailer. (103 figure 2 sensor unit paragraph 57)
Regarding claim 43, Rabbiosi teaches wherein the force sensor comprises a mechanical arrangement, the mechanical arrangement being a compliant member or spring, and a displacement sensor. (figure 6 and 10)
Regarding claim 44, Rabbiosi teaches when the trailer includes a propulsion system, the controller controls the propulsion system such that the propulsion system is able to provide a braking force on the trailer. (paragraph 57 e motor 104 drives and draws energy from battery 105 and regenerative braking)
Regarding claim 45, Rabbiosi teaches wherein when the trailer comprises friction brakes, the system for controlling the force is arranged to control the at least one electric motor and the friction brakes such that a first portion of the braking force is provided by the friction brakes and a second portion of the braking force is provided by the regenerative braking function of the at least one electric motor. (107 figure 2 paragraph 57 and figure 1).
Regarding claim 46, Rabbiosi teaches comprising a rechargeable battery on the vehicle or the trailer and wherein the apportioner determines a relative size of the first portion of the braking force provided by the friction brakes and the second portion of the braking force provided by the regenerative braking function of the at least one electric motor in a manner such that a charge of the battery is maximised. (105 figure 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 47, 62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabbiosi et al (US PG Pub No. 2020/0377094) in view of Layfield et al (US PG Pub No. 2022/0041069)
Regarding claim 47, Rabbiosi does not explicitly teach however Layfield teaches wherein the at least one propulsion system comprises two or more electric motors and wherein the system is arranged to provide at least one of anti-lock braking or traction control of the trailer, and the controller is arranged to modulate control signals to the two or more electric motors separately to implement stability control or anti-sway functionality of the trailer. (paragraph 96 slipping wheels or yaw; e lock differential)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Rabbiosi based on the teachings of Layfield to teach wherein the at least one propulsion system comprises two or more electric motors and wherein the system is arranged to provide at least one of anti-lock braking or traction control of the trailer, and the controller is arranged to modulate control signals to the two or more electric motors separately to implement stability control or anti-sway functionality of the trailer. The motivation would be to reduce instability of trailer (Layfield paragraph 96)
Regarding claim 62, Rabbiosi does not explicitly teach however layfield teaches wherein, when the vehicle towing the trailer includes an engine braking capability, the controller is further arranged to apply the at least one brake of the trailer when the force sensor senses a sustained positive force arising from the vehicle applying engine braking down a decline. (paragraph 121 hilly road)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Rabbiosi based on the teachings of Layfield to teach wherein, when the vehicle towing the trailer includes an engine braking capability, the controller is further arranged to apply the at least one brake of the trailer when the force sensor senses a sustained positive force arising from the vehicle applying engine braking down a decline. The motivation would be to efficiently use the motor.
.
Claim(s) 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabbiosi et al (US PG Pub No. 2020/0377094) and Layfield et al (US PG Pub No. 2022/0041069) in view of Doane et al (US PG Pub No. 2021/0218268)
Regarding claim 63, Rabbiosi does not explicitly teach however Doane teaches wherein when the trailer includes trailer brake lights, the controller is further arranged to activate the trailer brake lights. (paragraph 43 brake lights)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Rabbiosi based on the teachings of Doane to teach wherein when the trailer includes trailer brake lights, the controller is further arranged to activate the trailer brake lights. The motivation would be to let other know the driver is braking
.
Conclusion
/GEORGE C JIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747