DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 9/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., (US 2021/0263324), in view of Schultz et al., (US 2020/0209630), hereinafter Schultz.
Regarding claim 1 Kim discloses a light guide module comprising a first light guide (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0108) and a second light guide (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0108), wherein the first light guide includes a first pattern region that reacts with first light of a first wavelength and third light of a third wavelength and has a first pattern arranged therein (e.g., paragraphs 0109-0114), the second light guide includes a second pattern region that reacts with second light of a second wavelength and the third light of the third wavelength and has a second pattern arranged therein (e.g., paragraphs 0109-0114), the first pattern region includes a plurality of first unit patterns, the second pattern region includes a plurality of second unit patterns different from the first unit patterns (e.g., paragraph 0109; see also Fig. 7).
Kim does not disclose discloses the first unit pattern is widest in a central region including a center and is symmetrical with respect to a first direction passing through the center.
Schultz discloses the first unit pattern is widest in a central region including a center and is symmetrical with respect to a first direction passing through the center (e.g., paragraphs 0100-0102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device disclosed by Kim in accordance with the teaching of Schultz regarding the pattern unit size in order to enhance the spread (i.e., expansion) of the image bearing beams along the y coordinate axis. (Schultz, paragraph 0102).
Regarding claim 2 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 1, wherein the first pattern region guides blue light and a part of green light, the second pattern region guides red light and another part of the green light, the first pattern region transmits another part of the green light and the red light and diffuses the blue light and a part of the green light, and the second pattern region diffuses the red light and another part of the green light (e.g., paragraphs 0131).
Regarding claim 3 Kim does not disclose the light guide module according to claim 1, wherein the first unit patterns are connected to each other to form a first pattern line, and the first pattern region includes a plurality of first pattern lines.
Schultz discloses wherein the first unit patterns are connected to each other to form a first pattern line, and the first pattern region includes a plurality of first pattern lines (e.g., Fig. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device disclosed by Kim in accordance with the teaching of Schultz regarding the pattern unit size in order to enhance the spread (i.e., expansion) of the image bearing beams along the y coordinate axis. (Schultz, paragraph 0102).
Regarding claim 7 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 1, wherein the first pattern region and the second pattern region are arranged to overlap in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the first light guide (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0114).
Regarding claim 9 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 8, wherein in the first unit pattern, pattern a width of the wing unit is smaller than a width of the body unit in the first direction (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0114).
Regarding claim 10 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 1, wherein the first unit pattern is arranged on a surface where light is incident and enters, which is one surface of the first light guide, and the first unit pattern guides the incident light (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0114).
Regarding claim 11 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 1, wherein the light guide module includes a first substrate on which the first pattern is arranged (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0114).
Regarding claim 12 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 11, wherein the first substrate includes a first transmission region where the first pattern is not arranged and a second transmission region where the first pattern is arranged (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0114).
Regarding claim 13 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first pattern is smaller than the first wavelength and the third wavelength (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0114).
Regarding claim 14 Kim does not explicitly disclose the light guide module according to claim 13, wherein the thickness of the first pattern satisfies equation 1 recited in claim 14.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to wherein the thickness of the first pattern satisfies equation 1 recited in claim 14, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 15 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 5, wherein at least one among a length of the first direction of the first unit pattern and a length of the second direction of the first unit pattern is shorter than the first wavelength and the third wavelength (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0114).
Regarding claim 16 Kim does not explicitly disclose the light guide module according to claim 15, wherein the thickness of the first pattern satisfies equation 2 recited in claim 16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to wherein the thickness of the first pattern satisfies equation 2 recited in claim 16, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 17 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 5, wherein at least one among a length of the first direction of the first unit pattern and a length of the second direction of the first unit pattern is greater than a thickness of the first pattern (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0114).
Regarding claim 18 Kim does not explicitly disclose the light guide module according to claim 16, wherein the thickness of the first pattern satisfies equation 3 recited in claim 18.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to wherein the thickness of the first pattern satisfies equation 3 recited in claim 18, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 19 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 1, wherein the light guide module includes a second substrate on which the second pattern is arranged, and the second substrate includes a first transmission region where the first pattern is not arranged and a second transmission region where the first pattern is arranged (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0114).
Regarding claim 20 Kim further discloses the light guide module according to claim 19, wherein a thickness of the second pattern is smaller than the second wavelength and the third wavelength (e.g., paragraphs 0107-0114).
Claims 4-6 and 8are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Schultz as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Shi et al., “Continuous angle-tunable birefringence with freeform metasurfaces for arbitrary polarization conversion” – of record, hereinafter Shi.
Regarding claim 4 Kim as modified does not disclose the light guide module according to claim 3, wherein the first pattern lines are not connected to each other.
Shi discloses wherein the first pattern lines are not connected to each other (Shi, see page 3; see also Figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device disclosed by Kim in accordance with the teaching of Shi regarding wherein the first pattern lines are not connected to each other in order to optimize the display device (Shi, see page 3).
Regarding claim 5 Kim as modified does not disclose the light guide module according to claim 1, wherein the first unit pattern is not symmetrical in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Shi discloses wherein the first unit pattern is not symmetrical in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Shi, see page 3; see also Figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device disclosed by Kim in accordance with the teaching of Shi regarding wherein the first unit pattern is not symmetrical in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction in order to optimize the display device (Shi, paragraph see page 3; see also Figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 6 Kim as modified does not disclose the light guide module according to claim 1, wherein the first unit pattern does not satisfy left-right symmetry and up-down symmetry at the same time.
Shi discloses wherein the first unit pattern does not satisfy left-right symmetry and up-down symmetry at the same time (Shi, see page 3; see also Figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device disclosed by Kim in accordance with the teaching of Shi regarding wherein the first unit pattern does not satisfy left-right symmetry and up-down symmetry at the same time in order to optimize the display device (Shi, paragraph see page 3; see also Figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 8 Kim as modified does not disclose the light guide module according to claim 1, wherein the first unit pattern includes a wing unit extended from a body unit, wherein the wing unit is shaped symmetrical with respect to the body unit.
Shi discloses wherein the first unit pattern includes a wing unit extended from a body unit, wherein the wing unit is shaped symmetrical with respect to the body unit (Shi, see page 3; see also Figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device disclosed by Kim in accordance with the teaching of Shi regarding wherein the first unit pattern includes a wing unit extended from a body unit, wherein the wing unit is shaped symmetrical with respect to the body unit in order to optimize the display device (Shi, paragraph see page 3; see also Figs 1-2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The International Search Report (ISR) disclosed by applicant contains additional references and analysis considered highly relevant to the current application.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
DAVID E. LOTTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845
/DAVID E LOTTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845