DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 07/10/2026 is acknowledged. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejection are set forth below. Claims 1-10 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 04/20/2026 is considered and signed IDS form is attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “particles having…a substantially spherical shape”. There is no support for this limitation in the specification. As support for this amendment, applicants point to paragraph 0029 of the present specification. However, while this paragraph discloses that the shape of the particles as “spherical” or “non-spherical”, there is no disclosure that the particles have “substantially spherical shape. This rejection affects all the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “particles having…a substantially spherical shape”. The scope of the claim is confusing given that it is not clear what is considered as a “substantially spherical shape”, e.g. elliptical, oval, perfectly spherical, etc. This rejection affects all the dependent claims. For examination purposes, “substantially spherical” is considered to include both spherical particles and particles that are nearly spherical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (JP 2006206782 A cited in IDS) in view of Hoshino et al. (WO 2020/122172 A1). It is noted that the disclosures of Nakamura et al. are based on machine translation of the reference (cited in IDS). It is noted that when utilizing Hoshino et al., the disclosures of the reference are based on US 2022/0033600 A1 (cited in IDS) which is an English language equivalent of the reference. Therefore, the paragraph numbers cited with respect to Hoshino et al. are found in US ‘600.
Regarding claims 1-4, 7 and 8, Nakamura et al. disclose a functional film 10 comprising a protective layer 14 (protective film base material), an adhesive layer 13, a functional layer 12 having an appropriate writing feeling with a pen (writing feel improving layer) and a substrate film layer 11 (writing feel improving base material layer) (see Figure 1, Abstract and paragraph 0019). The protective layer 14 and the adhesive layer 13 together read on a protecting film as presently claimed. The functional layer 12 and the substrate film layer 11 together read on a writing feel improving film as presently claimed. Accordingly, the protective layer is laminated on a surface of the writing feel improving film.
The protective layer 14 (protective base material) can be made of polyethylene terephthalate resin and has a thickness of 5 to 300 microns (see paragraph 0028). The protecting layer 14 is identical to protective film base material layer utilized in the present invention (see paragraphs 0061 and 0063 of present specification).
The adhesive layer 13 can be acrylic-polymer based pressure sensitive adhesive made of acrylic polymer comprising alkyl esters of (meth)acrylic acid as a main component and comonomers including acrylic acid and hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate (see paragraph 0029). The thickness of the adhesive layer is 1 to 150 microns (see paragraph 0030). The adhesive layer also includes plasticizer (see paragraph 0029). The adhesive layer 13 is substantially identical to adhesive layer utilized in the present invention (see paragraphs 0064-0069, 0071, 0073, 0084, 0086 of present application).
The functional layer 12 (writing feel improving layer) can be a layer having an appropriate writing feeling with a pen for a pen input device (see paragraph 0019). Further, the functional layer 12 can have antiglare properties (see paragraph 0019). The thickness of the functional layer is 0.02 to 1000 microns (see paragraph 0021).
The base film layer 11 (writing feel improving base material layer) can be made of polycarbonate resin, polyethylene terephthalate resin, etc. (see paragraph 0018). The thickness of the base film layer is 10 to 3000 microns (see paragraph 0018). The base film layer 11 is identical to writing feel improving film base material layer utilized in the present invention (see paragraphs 0011 and 0013 of present specification).
Nakamura et al. do not disclose writing feel improving layer as claimed. Nakamura et al. do not disclose the linear expansion coefficient of the writing feel improving film, the linear expansion coefficient of the protective film, or that the claimed formula is satisfied.
Hoshino et al. disclose a writing feel improving sheet comprising a base material 11 and a writing feel improving layer 12 provided on a surface of the base material 11 (see Abstract, Figure 1 and paragraph 0020). The writing feel improving sheet improves the writing feel on a touch panel with a touch pen and reproduces the writing feel experience when writing on paper with a ballpoint pen (see Abstract and paragraph 0001). The base material 11 can be made of polycarbonate resin, polyethylene terephthalate resin, etc. and has a thickness of 15 to 300 microns (see paragraphs 0051 and 0053). The base film layer 11 is identical to writing feel improving film base material layer utilized in the present invention (see paragraphs 0011 and 0013 of present specification). The write feel improving layer 12 is prepared from a coating composition comprising polyfunctional (meth)acrylate monomer as a curable component, fine particles such as silica particles having an average particle diameter of 1 to 20 microns in amount of 0.05 to 15 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the curable component and a surface conditioner such as a silicone-based surface conditioner in amount of 0.01 to 2 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the curable component (see paragraphs 0055, 0058, 0059, 0067, 0071, 0075, 0078). The shape of fine particles is a spherical shape, i.e. substantially spherical shape (see paragraph 0072). The thickness of the writing feel improving layer 12 is 1 to 20 microns (see paragraph 0089). The writing feel improving layer comprising polyfunctional (meth)acrylate monomer, silica particles and surface conditioner is identical to a writing feel improving layer utilized in the present invention (see paragraphs 0017, 0018, 0024, 0025, 0027, 0029-0032, 0034 of present specification). Given that the base material 11 of Hoshino et al. is identical to writing feel improving film base material layer and given that the writing feel improving layer is identical to writing feel improving layer utilized in present invention, the writing feel improving sheet (layer 11 and layer 12) of Hoshino et al. reads on a writing feel improving film as presently claimed.
In light of motivation for using a writing feel improving sheet comprising a base material and a writing feel improving layer disclosed by Hoshino et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the base film and the functional layer of Nakamura et al. with the writing feel improving sheet (base material and writing feel improving layer) of Hoshino et al. in order to improve the writing feel on a touch panel with a touch pen and reproduce the writing feel experience when writing on paper with a ballpoint pen, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Accordingly, Nakamura et al. in view of Hoshino et al. disclose a functional film comprising the protective film base material layer, the adhesive layer, the writing feel improving layer and writing feel improving base material layer as set forth above. Given that the protective film (protective film base material layer and adhesive layer) and the writing feel improving film (writing feel improving layer and writing feel improving base material layer) are identical to that utilized in the present invention, a linear expansion coefficient of the writing feel improving film and a linear expansion coefficient of the protective film will necessarily inherently satisfy formula as presently claimed. Given that the functional film comprises the protective film base material, the adhesive layer, the writing feel improving layer and writing feel improving base material layer identical to that utilized in the present invention, the functional film reads on a protective film-equipped writing feel improving film.
Further, while there is no explicit disclosure that the functional film is a protective film-equipped writing feel improving film as presently claimed, applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”. Further, MPEP 2111.02 states that statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the preamble does not state any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations and further that the purpose or intended use, i.e. a protective film-equipped writing feel improving film, recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art functional film and further that the prior art structure which is a functional film identical to that set forth in the present claims is capable of performing the recited purpose or intended use.
Regarding claims 5 and 9, Nakamura et al. in view of Hoshino et al. disclose a functional film comprising the protective film base material layer, the adhesive layer, the writing feel improving layer and writing feel improving base material layer as set forth above. Given that the writing feel improving film (writing feel improving layer and writing feel improving base material layer) is identical to that utilized in the present invention, a linear expansion coefficient of the writing feel improving film will necessarily inherently meet that presently claimed.
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Nakamura et al. in view of Hoshino et al. disclose a functional film comprising the protective film base material layer, the adhesive layer, the writing feel improving layer and writing feel improving base material layer as set forth above. Given that the protective film (protective film base material layer and adhesive layer) and the writing feel improving film (writing feel improving layer and writing feel improving base material layer) are identical to that utilized in the present invention, a delamination force between the writing feel improving film and the protective film will necessarily inherently meet that presently claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2026 have been fully considered. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejections are set forth above. All arguments are moot in light of new grounds of rejections.
In light of amendments, claim objections are withdrawn.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hashimoto et al. (US 2016/0115340 A1) disclose a hard coat film comprising a transparent polymer base material 1 and a hard coat layer 2 formed on the transparent base material (see Abstract, Figure 1 and paragraph 0025). The hard coat layer comprises a composite resin and fine particles (see paragraph 0029).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRUPA SHUKLA/Examiner, Art Unit 1787