DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 9, 11-13, 18, 21, 22, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2012/0082140, Ling hereafter).
RE claims 1, 21 and 23, Lin discloses a method, terminal and non-transitory computer readable storage medium for storing computer programs, wherein when the computer programs are executed by a processor, the steps in the method for sending assistance information comprising: comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing computer programs; wherein the processor is configured to: determine a requirement of using discontinuous reception (DRX) is in-device coexistence (IDC) interference (Paragraph 31); determine DRX assistance information corresponding to the IDC interference, wherein the DRX assistance information at least indicates preferred DRX configuration information of the terminal (Paragraph 31); and send the DRX assistance information to a network device (Paragraph 31).
RE claim 3, Lin discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Lin further discloses wherein the preferred DRX configuration information of the terminal comprises at least one of: a DRX cycle; a DRX activation duration; or DRX start position information (Paragraphs 31-32).
RE claim 4, Lin discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Lin further discloses wherein the DRX assistance information indicates other information comprising frequency domain information corresponding to the preferred DRX configuration information of the terminal (Paragraphs 31-32).
RE claims 9, 22 and 24, Lin discloses a method, terminal and non-transitory computer readable storage medium for storing computer programs, wherein when the computer programs are executed by a processor, the steps in the method for receiving assistance information comprising: receiving DRX assistance information determined by a terminal according to a requirement of using discontinuous reception (DRX), wherein the requirement of using the DRX is in-device coexistence (IDC) interference (Paragraph 31).
RE claim 11, Lin discloses the method of claim 9 as set forth above. Note that Lin further discloses determining preferred DRX configuration information of the terminal according to the DRX assistance information; wherein the preferred DRX configuration information of the terminal comprises at least one of: a DRX cycle; a DRX activation duration; or DRX start position information (Paragraphs 31-32).
RE claim 12, Lin discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Lin further discloses determining other information according to the DRX assistance information, wherein the other information comprises: frequency domain information corresponding to the preferred DRX configuration information of the terminal (Paragraphs 31-32).
RE claim 13, Lin discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Lin further discloses in response to determining that the requirement of using the DRX comprises at least one of energy saving or limited capability, the method further comprises at least one of: stopping a downlink transmission in an off duration corresponding to the preferred DRX configuration information of the terminal, or configuring the terminal to stop an uplink transmission in an off duration corresponding to the preferred DRX configuration information of the terminal (Paragraphs 31-32).
RE claim 18, Lin discloses the method of claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Lin further discloses wherein in response to the requirement of using the DRX comprising a plurality of requirements, the DRX assistance information comprises DRX assistance information corresponding to each requirement (Paragraphs 31-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Hwang et al. (US 11,558,921, Hwang hereafter).
RE claims 6 and 16, Lin discloses the methods of claim 1 and 9 as set forth above. Lin does not explicitly disclose wherein the frequency domain information comprises at least one of: a cell type; a cell group type; a cell identifier; a bandwidth part (BWP) identifier; a frequency point identifier; a bandwidth; a start position; or an end position.
However, Hwang teaches wherein the frequency domain information comprises at least one of: a cell type; a cell group type; a cell identifier; a bandwidth part (BWP) identifier; a frequency point identifier; a bandwidth; a start position; or an end position (Claims 5 and 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Lin with the teachings of Hwang since such a modification would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement.
Where a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but may be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
RE claim 14, prior arts do not explicitly disclose, teach or suggest at least one of: in response to determining that the requirement comprises the IDC interference, and that a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) frequency band is an interfered frequency band, increasing a power of a downlink transmission in an off duration corresponding to the preferred DRX configuration information of the terminal; or, in response to determining that the requirement comprises the IDC interference, and that a 3GPP frequency band is an interfering frequency band, configuring the terminal to reduce a power of an uplink transmission in an off duration corresponding to the preferred DRX configuration information of the termina
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461