DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 in view of Toth (Pub. No.: US 2021/0369937 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 recites all the limitations of instant claim 1 except for the step of combining a derivatizing agent and at least a portion of the fluid stream; and analyzing at least a portion of the fluid stream via a visual test.
Toth teaches (1-3, 7) a method of assessing wound exudate (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising the steps of: removing via at least one suction line (wound drain 7) medical waste to generate a fluid stream in the at least one suction line (¶ 0035); and combining a derivatizing agent (biomarkers 50) and at least a portion of the fluid stream (fig. 7); and analyzing the at least one portion of the fluid stream via a visual test to (¶ 0114-¶ 0115), wherein such derivatizing agent interacts with the exudate and such visual test is useful for detecting the presence or absence of certain biological materials (¶ 0115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 such that it comprises combining a derivatizing agent and at least a portion of the fluid stream and analyzing the at least a portion of the fluid stream via a visual test, as taught by Toth, in order to detect the presence or absence of certain biological materials (Toth, ¶ 0115).
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth fail to disclose wherein the target material contained within the fluid stream is indicated via illumination.
Toth teaches wherein the target material contained within the fluid stream is indicated via illumination (Toth, ¶ 0114-¶ 0115), wherein such illumination allows the test to be read (¶ 0115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth such that the target material contained within the fluid stream is indicated via illumination, as taught by Toth, in order to allow the test to be read (Toth, ¶ 0115).
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
As discussed above in claim 4, claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth disclose wherein the target material contained in the fluid stream is indicated via illumination. Toth further teaches wherein the illumination is via a release of fluoresce or luminescent (¶ 0115).
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth.
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth fail to disclose wherein the visual test is performed by a user or a detection device.
Toth further teaches wherein the visual test is performed by a user or a detection device (¶ 0034, ¶ 0039), in order to allow the visual test to be analyzed (¶ 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the visual test of Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application) in view of Toth such that it is performed by a user or a detection device, as taught by Toth, in order to allow the visual test to be analyzed (Toth ¶ 0039).
Claim 14 (corresponding to claim 11 “A system for performing the steps of claim 1” is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/853,094 (reference application).
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, ln. 1 should read ---wherein the visual test is performed by a user---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “steps of: (c) combing a derivatizing agent and at least a portion of the fluid stream; (c) analyzing the at least a portion of the fluid stream via a visual test to generate a result based on a predetermined criteria”. Claim 1 recites two step (c)’s. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-14 are rejected due to dependency on claim 1.
The claims recite “11. The method of claim 9, wherein the visual indication is a symbol on the visual test.” and “11. A system for performing the steps of claim 1.” The second claim 11 will be interpreted as claim 14, “14. A system for performing the steps of claim 1.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0280712 A1) in view of Toth (Pub. No.: US 2021/0369937 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Locke discloses (fig. 1) a method of performing lavage (instillation therapy, abstract, ¶ 0004) comprising steps of:
Providing an irrigation fluid (solution source 145) to a surgical area (¶ 0003, ¶ 0024);
Removing via at least one suction line (fig. 1, see fluid connection from dressing 110 to negative-pressure source 105) the irrigation fluid and medical waste at the surgical area to generate a fluid stream in the at least one suction line (¶ 0026, ¶ 0053);
analyzing at least a portion of the fluid stream (see portion comprising diagnostic module 160) via a test to generate a result based on a predetermined criteria (fig. 5, steps 506, 508, 510, ¶ 0072-¶ 0073);
generating a feedback signal based on the result, wherein the feedback signal indicates whether the lavage has achieved the predetermined criteria (step 510, ¶ 0073); and
based on the outcome, either (1) if the predetermined criteria has not been achieved, repeating steps (a) through (d) until the lavage has achieved the predetermined criteria (step 516, ¶ 0074), or (2) if the predetermined criteria has been achieved, ending the lavage procedure (step 512, step 514, ¶ 0073).
Locke fails to disclose the step of: combining a derivatizing agent and at least a portion of the fluid stream and analyzing the at least a portion of the fluid stream via a visual test.
Toth teaches (1-3, 7) a method of assessing wound exudate (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising the steps of: removing via at least one suction line (wound drain 7) medical waste to generate a fluid stream in the at least one suction line (¶ 0035); and combining a derivatizing agent (biomarkers 50) and at least a portion of the fluid stream (fig. 7); and analyzing the at least one portion of the fluid stream via a visual test to (¶ 0114-¶ 0115), wherein such derivatizing agent interacts with the exudate and such visual test is useful for detecting the presence or absence of certain biological materials (¶ 0115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Locke such that it comprises combining a derivatizing agent and at least a portion of the fluid stream and analyzing the at least a portion of the fluid stream via a visual test, as taught by Toth, in order to detect the presence or absence of certain biological materials (Toth, ¶ 0115).
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Locke such that it includes the visual test of Toth. Locke in view of Toth further disclose wherein the visual test is configured to test for a target material contained within the fluid stream (Toth, ¶ 0115).
Regarding claim 3, Locke in view of Toth further disclose wherein the target material includes at least one of a microorganism (¶ 0116), debris or non-endogenous protein.
Regarding claim 4, Locke in view of Toth disclose wherein the target material contained within the fluid stream is indicated via illumination (Toth, ¶ 0114-¶ 0115).
Regarding claim 5, Locke in view of Toth disclose wherein the illumination is via a release of fluoresce or luminescent (Toth, ¶ 0114-¶ 0115).
Regarding claim 6, Locke discloses wherein the test is performed in-line on the at least one suction line (¶ 0044).
Regarding claim 7, Locke discloses wherein the test is continuously performed on the fluid stream (¶ 0066).
Regarding claim 8, Locke discloses wherein the test is performed at least once and, if necessary, periodically thereafter on the fluid Stream (¶ 0066).
Regarding claim 9, Locke discloses wherein the feedback triggers a visual indication to a user (step 518, ¶ 0074).
Regarding claim 10, Locke in view of Toth fail to disclose wherein the visual indication is a light source.
Toth further teaches a visual indication that is a light source (¶ 0108) wherein such light is a suitable visual indicator (¶ 0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the visual indicator of Locke in view of Toth such that it is a light source, as taught by Toth, as such light is a suitable visual indicator (Toth ¶ 0108).
Regarding claim 12, Locke in view of Toth fail to disclose wherein the visual test is performed remotely by obtaining a sample from the fluid stream.
Toth teaches (fig. 19) wherein the visual test is performed remotely by obtaining a sample from the fluid stream (¶ 0055), in order to prevent interrupting flow through the at least one suction line (¶ 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Locke in view of Toth such that the visual test is performed remotely by obtaining a sample from the fluid stream, as taught by Toth, in order to prevent interrupting flow through the at least one suction line (Toth ¶ 0055).
Regarding claim 13, Locke discloses wherein the test is performed by a user or a detection device (¶ 0060).
Regarding claim 14, Locke in view of Toth disclose a system for performing the steps of claim 1 (Locke, fig. 1, Toth, fig. 7).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke in view of Toth, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Rodrigues (Pub. No.: US 2022/0168491 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Locke in view of Toth fail to disclose wherein the visual indicator is a symbol on the visual test.
Rodrigues teaches a method including removing via at least one suction line medical waste (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising: a visual indicator that is a symbol (¶ 0122), wherein such symbol is suitable for indicating a condition (¶ 0122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the visual indication of Locke in view of Toth such that it is a symbol, as taught by Rodrigues, on the visual test, as symbols are suitable for indicating a condition (Rodrigues, ¶ 0122).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Marvin, III et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0115113 A1) discloses a method of performing lavage.
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/ANDREW J MENSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781