DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should not include any figure or title or be embedded in international search report data. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 and Claim 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 4 (line 4) and Claim 9 (line 4), “the first plurality” should read - - the first plurality of RSRP values” and “the second plurality” should read - - the second plurality of RSRP values” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20190364513 A1, disclosed in IDS), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Liu, ¶0006-0007 system and method for wireless power control by a UE/ “WTRU”; see also Claim 1; FIG. 12, ¶0188; FIG. 14, ¶0192; FIG. 16, ¶0196), the method comprising:
receiving configuration information (Liu, ¶0007 receiving, by the UE, a PC (power control) configuration; see also FIG. 12 at 1205/1207), the configuration information comprising a first set of reference signal received power (RSRP) values associated with a first set of reference signals (RSs) measured at a reception point (RP) (Liu, ¶0104 [b]ased on the RS, the receiver may obtain reference signal received power (RSRP) values; ¶0115-0116, the PL is associated with a RSRP from a downlink RS; multiple power control settings may be configured; see also ¶0104; ¶0129-0130);
measuring a second set of RSRP values associated with a second set of RSs (Liu, ¶0104 [b]ased on the RS, the receiver may obtain reference signal received power (RSRP) values; ¶0125-0126, Layer-3 RSRP and Layer-1 CSI-RS; see also ¶0136, some signals . . . are configured with their respective and different downlink RS for PL estimates);
determining a difference between one or more of the first set of RSRP values and one or more of the second set of RSRP values (Liu, ¶0126, the offset may be based on the difference between the Layer 3 RSRP from the Layer 1 CSI-RS RSRP, or the difference between the Layer 3 PL from the Layer 1 PL calculated by the network [or] the offset may also be calculated by the UE, based on a difference between the Layer 3 RSRP from the Layer 1 CSI-RS RSRP; see also ¶0134-0137).
determining a pathloss (PL) associated with open-loop (OL) power control (PC) based on the determined difference (Liu, ¶0007, ¶0023 determining, by the UE, a transmit power level in accordance with the PC configuration and a pathloss, wherein the pathloss is calculated in accordance with the DL signals in the subset of the first group, and transmitting, by the UE, a signal on a set of uplink (UL) resources at the transmit power level; ¶0129, another PL generated from another set of RS or RSRP, such as the CSI-RS for L1 . . [t]he offset is not needed since it is already accounted for in the PL estimate differences); and transmitting an uplink transmission using a power level based on the determined PL (Liu, FIG.12 FIG. 12, ¶0187 - ¶0188, the UE transmits in the uplink with the power level selected in block 1211 (block 1213); see also ¶0134-0137).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu teaches claim 1.
Liu further teaches determining the power level based on the determined PL (Liu, ¶0007, ¶0023 determining, by the UE, a transmit power level in accordance with the PC configuration and a pathloss; FIG. 6, ¶0144 at 610 the PL parameters for power control; FIG. 12, ¶0188, [t]he UE selects a transmit power level (block 1211); [t]he PL estimate(s) . . . are used in selecting the transmit power level [and] at 1213, transmit in the UL with the selected transmit power level).
Regarding Claim 3, Liu teaches claim 1.
Liu further teaches the determined PL comprises an estimated PL between the WTRU and the RP (Liu, ¶0098 [t]he serving access node/gNB/”RP” may signal a PL estimate (or uplink transmission power) to the UE; ¶0104 the PL estimate used in power control; FIG. 6, ¶0144, at 610, between the gNB/ “RP” and UE; see also Claims 23-26).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu teaches claim 1.
Liu further teaches the first set of RSRP values comprises a first plurality of RSRP values the second set of RSRP values comprises a second plurality of RSRP values (Liu, ¶0126, the offset may be based on the difference between the Layer 3 RSRP from the Layer 1 CSI-RS RSRP (first and second set of RSRP values), or the difference between the Layer 3 PL from the Layer 1 PL calculated by the network [or] calculated by the UE, based on a difference between the Layer 3 RSRP from the Layer 1 CSI-RS RSRP; see also ¶0134-0137); and the first plurality [of RSRP values] differs from the second plurality [of RSRP values] (Liu ¶0104, based on the RS, the receiver may obtain reference signal received power (RSRP) values; ¶0126, a difference between the Layer 3 RSRP and the Layer 1 CSI-RS RSRP may be calculated, interpreted to correspond to the RSRP values being different; see also FIG. 6, at 610 pathloss obtained separately for Beam 1, 2, etc,; ¶0130 the other type of PUSCH uses another PL generated from another set of RS or RSRP, such as the CSI-RS for Layer 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu teaches claim 1.
Liu further teaches receiving the second set of RSs from a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs)(Liu, FIG. 2C, ¶0064, a plurality of TRPs 232, 233, 234 communicate with a UE 235; ¶0074, TRPs supporting initial access procedures such as such as transmitting SS directly discoverable by UE; see also ¶0112, the network configures multiple sets of downlink RSs and transmits the downlink RSs for the UE to receive).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu teaches claim 1.
Liu further teaches monitoring a subset of the first set of RSs associated with the received first set of RSRP values, wherein the second set of RSs comprises the subset of the first set of RSs (Liu, ¶0112, the network configures multiple sets of downlink RSs and transmits the downlink RSs for the UE to receive; ¶0104 Based on the RS, the receiver may obtain reference signal received power (RSRP) values. Then, by removing the transmission power (TxP) associated with the RS, the PL estimate may be obtained; and ¶0116 [in power control] the downlink RSs (or associated RSRP measurements) may be indexed, see also Claim 1 [indexing and subset; ¶0125-0130; ¶0134-0137).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu teaches claim 6.
Liu further teaches receiving an indication of the subset from at least one of downlink control information (DCI), a medium access channel control element (MAC CE), or a radio resource control (RRC) configuration (Liu, ¶0128 [w]hen a different numerology (e.g., 30 kHz at lower frequency or 240 kHz at higher frequency), different waveform (e.g., OFDM), different format (e.g., in a mini-slot, a downlink-uplink slot, etc.), different beamwidth (e.g., wider beamwidth), and so on, is used, additional offsets are applied [and] may be generally configured in RRC signaling for the different scenarios . . . [t]he additional offsets may also be signaled in, e.g., MAC or PHY when the numerology, waveform, format, etc., is signaled to be changing).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu teaches claim 1.
Liu further teaches at least one of the second set of RSs via a synchronization signal physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a tracking RS (TRS), or a position RS (PRS) (Liu, ¶0010, the DL RSs are channel state information RSs (CSI-RSs); ¶0135, an access node, TRP, cell, carrier, or bandwidth part that a UE is connected with, transmits SS or Layer 3 CSI-RS (which may also be configurable and aperiodic to the UE) and is seen by the UE, even after the UE and the TRP have selected narrow beam for higher-rate data transmission).
Regarding Claims 9-16, the claims disclose similar features of Claims 1-8 and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 1-8, in apparatus form (Liu, FIG. 18A, ¶0207, a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (FIG. 18, electronic device (ED) 1810/FIG. 17, UE 1710) comprising; a transceiver (FIG. 18a, TRANSCEIVER 1802); and a processor, (Fig. 18A, PROCESSING UNIT 1800).
Regarding Claims 17 and Claim 19, Liu teaches Claim 1 and Claim 9, respectively.
Liu further teaches [to] determine/determining the power level based on the WTRU being within a vicinity of the RP (Liu, ¶0098, [t]he serving access node may signal a PL estimate (or uplink transmission power) to the UE and the signalled [sic.] value may be estimated by the access node based on access node density near the UE; examiner interprets access node density to be a factor in “determining the power level being within the vicinity”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gong et al. (US 20200068497 A1): Abstract; ¶0002, disclosed throughout; a system and method for beam or RS relationship specific power control for uplink transmission. ¶0068 Multiple RSRP filtering levels for L3 or layer 1 (L1) when estimating pathloss. Additionally, systems and methods are described for compensating asymmetric DL/DL PL reciprocity issues and for TRP set decoupling between transmission and reception.
/TRACY L WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465 /CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465