DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5 are pending in the application. Claims 1 and 4 are currently amended. No claims have been canceled. No new claims are currently added.
Response to Arguments
With regard to Applicant’s remarks dated July 13, 2026:
Regarding the objection to claim 4, Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and is sufficient. Therefore, the objection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and is sufficient. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-2 and 4-5 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Applicants argue at first that “Fuller's teaching of a playlist that includes a list of links indicating a retrieval location of a video segment in a particular resolution is not a "media content manipulation function" of claim 1. In addition, Fuller does not suggest or disclose assigning a unique identification to each of the plurality of media content manipulation functions, of claim 1. Thus, Fuller does not disclose "a media processing database configured to receive a plurality of media content manipulation functions for modifying at least one parameter of media content and further configured to assign a unique identification to each of the plurality of media content manipulation functions," as recited in claim 1.” Examiner disagrees. There is nothing in the claim that would define “media content manipulation function” to be patentably distinct from content manipulation option (desired resolution option) in Fuller where each resolution is associated with a unique identification being the link indicating a retrieval location.
Applicants argue at second that “the operating system 114 is not a database that stores "metadata associated with a plurality of resources available in a cloud computing network that includes both physical resources and software resources," of claim 1. Fuller teaches a media server but is silent as to any resource- inventory database. Thus, Fuller does not disclose "a cloud resource database comprising metadata associated with a plurality of resources available in a cloud computing network that includes both physical resources and software resources," as recited in claim 1.” Examiner disagrees. It is notoriously old and well known that an operating system stores and maintains a list of available hardware and system resources inside the Kernel data structures at runtime, and logs them persistently in system configuration registries or files. Applicants failed to define “a cloud resource database” to be patentably distinct from system configuration registries or files of an operating system. It is also noted that “a plurality of resources available in a cloud computing network” does not necessarily require resources available at multiple devices across the cloud computing network and can include the plurality of resources available at a single device such as the media server of Fuller.
Applicants argue at third that “Fuller does not disclose a content delivery manager configured to "locate an available resource of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network for executing the desired media content manipulation function to modify the at least one parameter of the accessed media content." Paragraph [0049] of Fuller merely states that the described embodiments "may be executed on one or more computer systems." This generic statement regarding execution on one or more computer systems does not suggest or disclose "locat[ing] an available resource of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network for executing the desired media content manipulation function to modify the at least one parameter of the accessed media content." Examiner disagrees. The generic limitation of locating an available resource for executing a function fails to patentably distinguish from Fuller’s generic statement regarding execution on one or more computer systems. Applicants are advised to further define in the claim how locating an available resource of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network is performed that is different from a generic lookup or other notoriously old and well known approaches like round-robin, first available, etc. such that would demonstrate the novel aspect of their invention. Examiner maintains that performing transcoding on the media server’s own segment multiplexer, as argued, reads on the broad limitation of "locate an available resource of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network for executing the desired media content manipulation function to modify the at least one parameter of the accessed media content." because the media server of Fuller maintains a plurality of selectable cloud resources (resources of the media server located on the cloud network managed by the cloud storage service provider) and locates one to execute a resolution manipulation function. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
As to any arguments not specifically addressed, they are the same as those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fuller et al. (US 2017/0188071 A1).
As to claim 1, Fuller teaches a system for dynamically modifying media content before delivery to a content consumption device (abstract), the system comprising:
a media essence repository storing a plurality of media assets [content storage 122] (Fig. 1);
a media essence access database storing access metadata that indicates access information for the plurality of media assets, including a media location metadata for identifying a location of each of the plurality of media assets in the media essence repository [a lookup table for the stored content of the media server in the form of a metadata] (par. [0030]);
a media processing database configured to receive a plurality of media content manipulation functions for modifying at least one parameter of media content and further configured to assign a unique identification to each of the plurality of media content manipulation functions [memory storing a playlist of content segments, where segments are encoded in multiple resolutions, each version having a separate link that identifies each available content manipulation option] (par. [0031]-[0032]);
a cloud resource database comprising metadata associated with a plurality of resources available in a cloud computing network that includes both physical resources and software resources, with the resources comprising a plurality of processors and electronic memory accessible by the plurality of processors [operating system 114] (par. [0024]);
a content delivery manager [software modules implementing the media server 102] configured to:
receive a request from a client device to dynamically manipulate and deliver a modified media content to the client device [step 214 request for a specific segment of the video content that includes the identification of a type of codec for which the video segment is to be transcoded] (par. [0041]),
access a media asset of the plurality of media assets in the media essence repository based on the corresponding access information in the media essence access database that is obtained by a media content identification in the request from the client device (par. [0032]),
determine a desired media content manipulation function of the plurality of media content manipulation functions based on the unique identification in the media processing database that is accessed in response to the request from the client device (par. [0033], [0042]),
locate an available resource of the plurality of resources available in the cloud computing network for executing the desired media content manipulation function to modify the at least one parameter of the accessed media content (par. [0049]), and
control the located available resource to decompress and execute the desired media content manipulation function to generate a modified media content that is delivered to an application programming interface (API) of the client device to be displayed thereon [performing just-in-time transcoding and delivering transcoded content to the client display device utilizing I/O interface 430] (step 216 par. [0042], [0054]).
As to claim 2, Fuller teaches that the plurality of processors includes at least one of a computer processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), and a field programmable gate array (FPGA) (par. [0023]).
As to claim 5, Fuller teaches that the media processing database is further configured to dynamically update the plurality of media content manipulation functions in response to adjustments of modification aspects of each media content manipulation function [types of available codes are dependent of the type of device on which the video segment is to be played] (par. [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller et al. in view of Lasko (US 2014/0118541 A1).
As to claim 3, Fuller teaches all the elements except that the plurality of media content manipulation functions include a color transform being at least one of a mathematical, algorithmic and heuristic function.
Lasko is directed to transcoding and mixing of video data (abstract). In particular, Lasko teaches the plurality of media content manipulation functions include a color transform being at least one of a mathematical, algorithmic and heuristic function (par. [0005], [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Fuller by having the plurality of media content manipulation functions include a color transform being at least one of a mathematical, algorithmic and heuristic function in order to create new views of displayed video data streams (par. [0004] in Lasko).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller et al. in view of Lasko and in further view of Tang et al. (US 2022/0191522 A1).
As to claim 4, Fuller in view of Lasko teaches all the elements except that the plurality of media assets comprise at least one media stream having a plurality of video frames, such that the desired media content manipulation function modifies the at least one aspect of the accessed media content on a frame by frame basis before the modified media content is delivered to the API of the client device.
Tang is directed to techniques for transcoding video (abstract). In particular, Tang teaches that the plurality of media assets comprise at least one media stream having a plurality of video frames, such that the desired media content manipulation function modifies the at least one aspect of the accessed media content on a frame by frame basis before the modified media content is delivered to the API of the client device (Fig. 2, par. [0046], [0053]-[0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system of Fuller in view of Lasko by having the plurality of media assets comprise at least one media stream having a plurality of video frames, such that the desired media content manipulation function modifies the at least one aspect of the accessed media content on a frame by frame basis before the modified media content is delivered to the API of the client device, in order to avoid frame loss, frame drop, or sound and picture non-synchronization (par. [0004] in Tang).
Related Prior Art
Gavade et al. (US 2017/0223394 A1) is directed to a method and a system for cloud-based media content transcoding (abstract). In particular, Gavade teaches performing cloud-based transcoding of the program segments (par. [0044], [0047]) and serve the client requested transcoded portions of the program segments (par. [0051]-[0052]). Therefore, teachings of Gavade are applicable to the claimed invention and could be used in the rejection of the pending claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLEG SURVILLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457