DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are the currently pending claims hereby under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 8, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, Lines 5-6, “and in the first attachment portion (21) has a top side (24)” has a grammatical error and should be should be “and the first attachment portion (21) has a top side (24)”;
In claim 6, Line 7, “the top side surface (25)” should be changed to “the top side face (25)” because the claim previously introduces “a top side face (25)” and does not otherwise introduce “the top side surface (25)”;
In claim 6, Line 12, “the underside surface (35)” should be changed to “the underside face (35)” because the claim previously introduces “an underside face (35)” and does not otherwise introduce “the underside surface (35)”;
In claim 8, Line 4, “and in the first attachment portion (21) has a first step (28)” has a grammatical error and should be “and the first attachment portion (21) has a first step (28)”; and
In claim 9, Line 4, “and in the second attachment portion (31) has a second step (38)” has a grammatical error and should be “and the second attachment portion (31) has a second step (38)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 10 recites “a centering device (11) is configured to orient the second tip part (30) relative to the first tip part (20)” in claim 10. The term “device” is a generic nonce term that invokes 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) when coupled with functional language. The claim is interpreted as reciting the function of orienting the second tip part relative to the first tip part when the second tip part is brought into the detachment position. The corresponding structure disclosed in the specification includes the first and second steps forming the centering device, including the disclosed embodiment in which the first step is formed as a raised shape, such as a disk, and the second step is formed with a corresponding geometry configured to cooperate with and receive the raised shape, and equivalents thereof. (Instant Application, [0030]-[0031], [0080]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilschke et al. (US-20190000488-A1), hereto referred as Wilschke.
Regarding claim 1, Wilschke teaches a medical punch tip (10) for an actuation device (100), comprising: a first tip part (20); and a second tip part (30) mounted longitudinally displaceably on the first tip part (20) (Wilschke, ¶[0002]: “The present application relates generally to a medical device including one or more replaceable cutting tips. More specifically, the present application relates to a rongeur, such as a Kerrison rongeur, having a tip assembly removably coupled at a distal end of the rongeur that includes replaceable and disposable cutting tips”; disclosing a medical punch tip in the form of a removable tip assembly for a Kerrison rongeur actuation device; ¶[0004]: “In certain embodiments, a tip assembly is removably coupled in an assembled configuration to the distal end of the stationary arm and the distal end of the movable arm. The tip assembly includes a first tip and a second tip slidably coupled to the first tip”; disclosing a first tip part and a second tip part slidably coupled to the first tip part; ¶[0004]: “The second tip is slidably movable with respect to the first tip between an open position and a closed position... as the movable arm is slidably movable with respect to the stationary arm”; disclosing that the second tip part is mounted longitudinally displaceably on the first tip part; ¶[0030]: “Tip assembly 40 includes a first or bottom tip 42 and a cooperating second or top tip 44 slidably coupled to first tip 42”; disclosing the claimed first tip part and second tip part; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 48 of second tip 44 is removably coupled to second arm 18 such that second tip 44 moves with respect to first tip 42 as second arm 18 moves with respect to first arm 12”; disclosing longitudinal displacement of the second tip part relative to the first tip part during actuation).
Also regarding claim 1, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, and consistent with the specification’s explanation that the toollessly inseparable connection causes the first and second tip parts to be attached to and detached from the actuation device together (Instant Application: p. 2, lines 17-20: “the punch tip…may allow a particularly rapid and simple change of tool tip, in particular because the two tip parts can only be attached to and/or detached from the actuation device together because of the toollessly inseparable connection”; p. 2, lines 22-26: “Because of the toollessly inseparable connection, the attachment and/or detachment of the first tip part to or from the actuation device…also causes a corresponding attachment or detachment of the second tip part to or from the actuation device”), the phrase “toollessly inseparably connected” encompasses a captive movable connection in which the first and second tip parts are maintained together as a single integrated tip assembly during ordinary toolless handling, use, attachment, and removal, while still permitting longitudinal displacement of the second tip part relative to the first tip part. As such, Wilschke at least suggests that the second tip part (30) is toollessly inseparably connected to the first tip part (20) (Wilschke, ¶[0004]: “The tip assembly includes a first tip and a second tip slidably coupled to the first tip”; disclosing that the first and second tips are coupled together as parts of the same tip assembly; ¶[0004]: “The second tip is slidably movable with respect to the first tip between an open position and a closed position”; disclosing that the second tip remains coupled to and moves relative to the first tip during operation; ¶[0030]: “Tip assembly 40 includes a first or bottom tip 42 and a cooperating second or top tip 44 slidably coupled to first tip 42”; disclosing the first and second tips as cooperating parts of the same tip assembly; ¶[0038]: “Second tip 44 includes a passage or channel 520 formed in a planar surface 522 configured to receive a projection, e.g., a guide 524, formed on a planar surface 526 of first tip 42 that contacts planar surface 522 to slidably couple second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing a guide-and-passage connection between the first and second tips; ¶[0038]: “Guide 524 positioned within passage 520 provides a stable, movable attachment of second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing that the second tip is attached to the first tip in a stable movable manner; ¶[0039]: “The tip assembly includes a first tip and a second tip slidably coupled to the first tip. The tip assembly is removably coupled 604 in an assembled configuration to a distal end of a device body of the Kerrison rongeur”; disclosing that the coupled first and second tips are attached to the actuation device as an assembled tip assembly). The “stable, movable attachment” indicates that the second tip is not merely loosely placed on the first tip, but is maintained in an attached relationship during ordinary handling and relative sliding of the removable tip assembly.
Wilschke further supports that the first and second tips form a single removable tip assembly because the assembled tip assembly is coupled to and removed from the actuator as an assembly, and the disclosed coupling arrangements use the first tip, the second tip, or both tips to couple the assembled tip assembly to the actuator (Wilschke, ¶[0004]: “a tip assembly is removably coupled in an assembled configuration to the distal end of the stationary arm and the distal end of the movable arm”; disclosing coupling of the assembled tip assembly to the actuator; ¶[0005]: “A tip assembly is removably coupled to a distal end of the device body”; disclosing the tip assembly, rather than separately loose first and second tips, as the removable component; ¶[0026]: “the tip assembly is removably coupled in an assembled configuration to the distal end of the first arm and/or the distal end of the second arm”; disclosing that the assembled tip assembly may be coupled through the first arm, the second arm, or both; ¶[0026]: “In certain embodiments, the first tip is removably coupled to the first arm and the second tip is removably coupled to the second arm”; disclosing an embodiment where both tip parts are coupled to respective actuator arms; ¶[0034]: “Guide 234 positioned within passage 230 provides a stable, movable attachment of second tip 44 to first tip 42. Tip assembly 40 can be removed from the distal end of the device body after use and disposed of”; disclosing that the stably attached first and second tips are removed and disposed of as the tip assembly; ¶[0035]: “Guide 334 positioned within passage 330 provides a stable, movable attachment of second tip 44 to first tip 42. Tip assembly 40 can be removed from the distal end of the device body after use and disposed of”; disclosing the same stable movable attachment and removal/disposal of the tip assembly; ¶[0038]: “With first tip 42 coupled to first arm 12, second tip 44 is slidably coupled to first tip 42 and to second arm 18”; disclosing that coupling of one tip to the actuator occurs while the second tip remains slidably coupled to the first tip).
To the extent Wilschke does not expressly state that the second tip part is “inseparably” connected to the first tip part, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Wilschke’s guide-and-passage stable movable attachment such that the second tip remains captively retained to the first tip during ordinary handling, coupling, decoupling, disposal, and actuation of the removable tip assembly. Wilschke already teaches a first tip and a second tip slidably coupled together as a tip assembly, a guide received in a passage providing a stable movable attachment between the second tip and the first tip, and removal of the tip assembly from the distal end of the device body after use. Wilschke also teaches that the tip assembly may be coupled to the actuator through the first tip, the second tip, or both. In view of these teachings, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to retain the first and second tips together as a captive, slidably coupled removable tip assembly to preserve Wilschke’s assembled tip-assembly configuration during attachment and removal, reduce the possibility of losing or misplacing one of the cooperating tips, maintain alignment between the slidably coupled tips, simplify handling and disposal of the used distal cutting components as a unit, and reduce the risk of separate handling or partial reuse of one used tip portion in view of Wilschke’s disclosure that the removable tip assembly includes disposable cutting tips and may be removed and disposed of after use. The modification would have been readily feasible because Wilschke already provides the guide-and-passage structure that slidably couples the second tip to the first tip and provides a stable movable attachment between them. The benefit of the modification would have been maintaining Wilschke’s removable and disposable tip assembly as a single assembled unit while preserving longitudinal displacement of the second tip relative to the first tip during actuation.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Wilschke, in view of claim 1, teaches wherein the first tip part (20) has a first attachment portion (21) for attachment of the first tip part (20) to a base body (120) of an actuation device (100) (Wilschke, ¶[0026]: “In certain embodiments, the first tip is removably coupled to the first arm and the second tip is removably coupled to the second arm”; disclosing attachment of the first tip part to the first arm, corresponding to the claimed base body of the actuation device; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 46 of first tip 42 is removably coupled to first arm 12”; disclosing the proximal portion or end of the first tip as the first attachment portion for attachment to the first arm); the second tip part (30) has a second attachment portion (31) for attachment of the second tip part (30) to a slide (130) of the actuation device (100) (Wilschke, ¶[0026]: “In certain embodiments, the first tip is removably coupled to the first arm and the second tip is removably coupled to the second arm”; disclosing attachment of the second tip part to the second arm, corresponding to the claimed slide of the actuation device; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 48 of second tip 44 is removably coupled to second arm 18 such that second tip 44 moves with respect to first tip 42 as second arm 18 moves with respect to first arm 12”; disclosing the proximal portion or end of the second tip as the second attachment portion for attachment to the second arm, which moves relative to the first arm); wherein the first attachment portion (21) and the second attachment portion (31) have at least partially substantially the same contour (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “a first attachment member 502 is formed at or near proximal end 46 of first tip 42”; disclosing a first attachment portion of the first tip part; ¶[0038]: “first attachment member 502 includes a tab 504 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 506”; disclosing a first attachment portion having a generally circular tab attached to a base portion; ¶[0038]: “a second attachment member 512, the same or similar to first attachment member 502 in certain embodiments, is formed at or near proximal end 48 of second tip 44”; expressly disclosing that the second attachment portion is the same or similar to the first attachment portion; ¶[0038]: “second attachment member 512 includes a second tab 514 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 516”; disclosing that the second attachment portion has the same or substantially similar contour as the first attachment portion, including a generally circular tab attached to a base portion).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Wilschke, in view of claim 1, teaches wherein: the first tip part (20) has a top side (24) which faces the second tip part (30) and has a flat first sliding face (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “Second tip 44 includes a passage or channel 520 formed in a planar surface 522 configured to receive a projection, e.g., a guide 524, formed on a planar surface 526 of first tip 42 that contacts planar surface 522 to slidably couple second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing a planar surface 526 on first tip 42 that contacts the second tip 44 and corresponds to a flat first sliding face on the side of the first tip facing the second tip); the second tip part (30) has an underside (34) which faces the first tip part (20) and has a flat second sliding face, via which the second tip part (30) slides along the first tip part (20) during a longitudinal displacement (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “Second tip 44 includes a passage or channel 520 formed in a planar surface 522 configured to receive a projection, e.g., a guide 524, formed on a planar surface 526 of first tip 42 that contacts planar surface 522 to slidably couple second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing a planar surface 522 on second tip 44 that contacts first tip 42 and corresponds to a flat second sliding face on the underside of the second tip facing the first tip; ¶[0038]: “Guide 524 positioned within passage 520 provides a stable, movable attachment of second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing longitudinally movable sliding attachment of the second tip part to the first tip part); and the first sliding face and the second sliding face are at least partially similarly formed (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “planar surface 526 of first tip 42 that contacts planar surface 522”; disclosing that the first and second sliding faces are both planar contact surfaces and are therefore at least partially similarly formed).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Wilschke, as applied to claim 1, teaches wherein the first tip part (20) has a first attachment portion (21) for attachment of the first tip part (20) to a base body (120) of the actuation device (100), and in the first attachment portion (21) has a top side (24) with a top side face (25) and a first bulge (27), which runs transversely to a surface normal (25a) of the top side surface (25) (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “a first attachment member 502 is formed at or near proximal end 46 of first tip 42”; disclosing a first attachment portion of the first tip part; ¶[0038]: “first attachment member 502 includes a tab 504 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 506”; disclosing a first bulge in the form of generally circular tab 504 extending from base portion 506 of the first attachment member; ¶[0038]: “Tab 504 is slidably positioned within a hole 508 formed in distal end 16 of first arm 12 having a suitable shape configured to accept tab 504”; disclosing that the first attachment portion attaches the first tip part to the first arm, corresponding to the claimed base body of the actuation device; FIGS. 12-13, showing first attachment member 502 at proximal end 46 of first tip 42 with tab 504 attached to base portion 506, wherein the tab defines a protruding/bulging contour extending transversely relative to the face/surface of the base portion corresponding to the claimed top side face/top side surface); and the second tip part (30) has a second attachment portion (31) for attachment of the second tip part (30) to a slide (130) of the actuation device (100), and in the second attachment portion (31) has an underside (34) with an underside face (35) facing the top side face (25) and a second bulge (37), which runs transversely to a surface normal (35a) of the underside surface (35) and is formed similarly to the first bulge (27) (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “a second attachment member 512, the same or similar to first attachment member 502 in certain embodiments, is formed at or near proximal end 48 of second tip 44”; disclosing a second attachment portion of the second tip part that is the same or similar to the first attachment portion; ¶[0038]: “second attachment member 512 includes a second tab 514 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 516”; disclosing a second bulge in the form of generally circular second tab 514 attached to base portion 516 and formed similarly to first tab 504; ¶[0038]: “Second tab 514 is slidably positioned within a hole 518 formed in distal end 22 of second arm 18 having a shape configured to accept tab 514”; disclosing that the second attachment portion attaches the second tip part to the second arm, corresponding to the claimed slide of the actuation device; FIGS. 12-13, showing second attachment member 512 at proximal end 48 of second tip 44 with second tab 514 attached to base portion 516, wherein the second tab defines a protruding/bulging contour similarly formed to first tab 504 and extending transversely relative to the face/surface of the base portion corresponding to the claimed underside face/underside surface).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Wilschke, in view of claim 6, teaches wherein the first tip part (20) and the second tip part (30) each have a convex curvature in a region of the respective first or second bulge (27, 37) (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “first attachment member 502 includes a tab 504 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 506”; disclosing that the first attachment member includes a generally circular tab, corresponding to a first bulge having a convex curvature; ¶[0038]: “a second attachment member 512, the same or similar to first attachment member 502 in certain embodiments, is formed at or near proximal end 48 of second tip 44”; disclosing that the second attachment member has the same or similar structure as the first attachment member; ¶[0038]: “second attachment member 512 includes a second tab 514 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 516”; disclosing that the second attachment member includes a generally circular tab, corresponding to a second bulge having a convex curvature).
Claims 3, 5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilschke et al. (US-20190000488-A1), hereto referred as Wilschke, and further in view of Kauffman et al. (US-20210338252-A1), hereto referred as Kauffman.
The modified Wilschke teaches claim 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Wilschke, as applied to claim 2, teaches wherein for toolless detachment of the punch tip (10) from the actuation device (100), the second tip part (30) can be brought into a detachment position by longitudinal displacement relative to the first tip part (20) (Wilschke, ¶[0025]: “the example tip assemblies described herein allow the surgeon or an assistant to quickly and easily couple and release or remove the tip assembly from the device body, for example, using one hand to hold the device and the other hand to engage or disengage the locking mechanism”; disclosing toolless release or removal of the tip assembly from the actuation device; ¶[0026]: “The second tip is slidably movable with respect to the first tip in cooperation with or as the second arm is slidably movable with respect to the first arm”; disclosing longitudinal displacement of the second tip part relative to the first tip part; ¶[0039]: “After use of the rongeur during a surgical procedure, the tip assembly can be removed, e.g. released, from the device body as an assembled configuration”; disclosing detachment of the punch tip from the actuation device as an assembled configuration).
Also regarding claim 3, the modified Wilschke teaches or at least suggests in which position the contour of the second attachment portion (31) at least partially substantially aligns with the contour of the first attachment portion (21) (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “a first attachment member 502 is formed at or near proximal end 46 of first tip 42”; disclosing a first attachment portion; ¶[0038]: “first attachment member 502 includes a tab 504 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 506”; disclosing a first attachment-portion contour; ¶[0038]: “a second attachment member 512, the same or similar to first attachment member 502 in certain embodiments, is formed at or near proximal end 48 of second tip 44”; expressly disclosing that the second attachment portion is the same or similar to the first attachment portion; ¶[0038]: “second attachment member 512 includes a second tab 514 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 516”; disclosing a second attachment-portion contour that corresponds to the first attachment-portion contour). The modified Wilschke already teaches the relevant stacked coupling architecture and suggests a top-loading coupling path for the assembled tip assembly. Wilschke’s FIGS. 11-13 further show the first-arm and second-arm attachment regions as stacked coupling structures. In particular, the second-arm receiving region is illustrated as a through-channel extending through the second arm, while the first-arm receiving region is illustrated as a lower receiving region that does not open through the bottom of the first arm. Accordingly, the illustrated geometry supports top loading of the tip assembly rather than bottom loading. Although the figures do not show the actuator arms in the exact coupling/decoupling position, Wilschke teaches that the second arm moves relative to the first arm and that the second tip moves with the second arm relative to the first tip (Wilschke, ¶[0030]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore understand that, when the actuator arms are positioned for coupling or decoupling, the through-channel of the second arm would align with the receiving region of the first arm to provide a loading path from the top of the second arm, through the second arm, and into the first arm. This is consistent with Wilschke’s disclosed order of coupling, in which the first tip is coupled to the first arm and the second tip is then slidably coupled to the first tip and to the second arm. Because Wilschke’s first and second tabs are same or similar tabs on the assembled first and second tips, and because those tabs are received in the stacked first-arm and second-arm receiving regions during coupling/removal of the assembled tip assembly, Wilschke at least suggests that the first and second attachment-portion contours are placed in an aligned coupling/removal position. However, the modified Wilschke does not expressly teach that the detachment position is a position in which the second attachment-portion contour aligns with the first attachment-portion contour.
Kauffman teaches, in the same rongeur removable-tip field, that a removable rongeur tip unit having two slidably engaged tip portions uses a defined relative longitudinal position of the tip portions for lateral attachment and removal of the tip unit from the actuator/handle (Kauffman, FIG. 2A.B; ¶[0023]: “The blade portion 110 and footplate portion 130 are slidable engaged at the rail 134 to form the tip 105...The detachable linkage 150 is configured to engage and disengage by movement in a lateral direction 151 to the longitudinal dimension of the device 100... The detachable linkage 150 is shown in more detail in FIG. 2B, including an upper cleat 123 opposing a lower cleat 143, which slide laterally into slots 113 and 133, respectively to engage the tip 105”; disclosing upper and lower coupling structures of the tips that are aligned together for laterally engagement of corresponding receptacles of the arms; ¶[0028]: “As the tip 105 slides laterally (perpendicular to the longitudinal dimension of the tip 105 and handle 125) to engage the cleat 123 in the receptacle 113 and the cleat 143 in the receptacle 133”; disclosing that both upper and lower coupling structures are aligned for lateral engagement with corresponding receptacles during attachment; ¶[0026]: “Following a forward movement of the handle slide 120 and blade portion 110, an upper separation 402 of the detachable linkage is offset from a lower separation 404 between the footplate portion 130 and handle base 140”; disclosing that longitudinal movement moves the coupling structures from the aligned engagement/removal position to an offset locked position; ¶[0027]: “the sequence in FIGS. 5A-5D shows a progression through detached, engaged, locked, and actuated. These states follow when a new tip 105 is employed; the reverse applies to remove the tip 105 and install a new one”; disclosing that removal is achieved by reversing the attachment sequence and returning the coupling structures to the same aligned engagement/removal position).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Wilschke tip assembly in view of Kauffman such that the relative longitudinal position used for detachment places the second attachment portion in a corresponding aligned position relative to the first attachment portion. Wilschke already teaches coordinated two-tip/two-arm coupling of an assembled removable tip assembly and already suggests an aligned top-loading coupling/removal path for the first and second tabs. Kauffman confirms that, in a removable rongeur tip, longitudinal positioning of proximal coupling profiles can control whether the tip is in an aligned lateral engagement/removal position or an offset locked position. The modification would have been readily feasible because Wilschke already provides the longitudinal sliding relationship between the first and second tips and already provides same or similar corresponding attachment structures on the first and second tips. The benefit of the modification would have been predictable coupling and decoupling of the assembled tip assembly while preserving the longitudinal displacement of the second tip relative to the first tip during actuation.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Wilschke, in view of claim 1, teaches wherein the first tip part (20) has a first protrusion (22) which, running longitudinally, adjoins a proximal end (23) of the first tip part (20) and has a top side (24) with a top side face (25) (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “a first attachment member 502 is formed at or near proximal end 46 of first tip 42”; disclosing a first protrusion/attachment member at or near the proximal end of the first tip part; ¶[0038]: “first attachment member 502 includes a tab 504 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 506”; disclosing a protruding tab-and-base structure at the proximal end of the first tip part; ¶[0038]: “Second tip 44 includes a passage or channel 520 formed in a planar surface 522 configured to receive a projection, e.g., a guide 524, formed on a planar surface 526 of first tip 42 that contacts planar surface 522 to slidably couple second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing a planar top-side face of the first tip part that supports sliding coupling with the second tip part); the second tip part (30) has a second protrusion (32) which, running longitudinally, adjoins a proximal end (33) of the second tip part (30) and has an underside (34) with an underside face (35) which is oriented substantially parallel to the top side face (25) (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “a second attachment member 512, the same or similar to first attachment member 502 in certain embodiments, is formed at or near proximal end 48 of second tip 44”; disclosing a second protrusion/attachment member at or near the proximal end of the second tip part; ¶[0038]: “second attachment member 512 includes a second tab 514 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 516”; disclosing a protruding tab-and-base structure at the proximal end of the second tip part; ¶[0038]: “Second tip 44 includes a passage or channel 520 formed in a planar surface 522 configured to receive a projection, e.g., a guide 524, formed on a planar surface 526 of first tip 42 that contacts planar surface 522 to slidably couple second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing an underside planar face of the second tip part that contacts and slides along the top-side planar face of the first tip part, such that the underside face is substantially parallel to the top-side face).
Also regarding claim 5, with respect to the first and second protrusions (22, 32) have respective side walls (26, 36) which run substantially perpendicularly to the top side face (25) and underside face (35) and are formed similarly uneven, Wilschke teaches corresponding proximal protrusions having the same or similar generally circular tab-and-base contours (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “first attachment member 502 includes a tab 504 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 506”; disclosing a first proximal protrusion having a generally circular tab contour; ¶[0038]: “a second attachment member 512, the same or similar to first attachment member 502 in certain embodiments, is formed at or near proximal end 48 of second tip 44”; expressly disclosing that the second proximal protrusion is the same or similar to the first proximal protrusion; ¶[0038]: “second attachment member 512 includes a second tab 514 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 516”; disclosing a second proximal protrusion having a corresponding generally circular tab contour). A generally circular tab extending from a base portion necessarily has a curved, non-linear perimeter profile forming its side wall, and because Wilschke teaches that both attachment members have the same or similar generally circular tab contour, the respective side walls are correspondingly similarly curved and uneven. However, Wilschke does not expressly teach that the respective side walls of the first and second protrusions run substantially perpendicularly to the top side face and underside face.
Kauffman teaches, in the same rongeur field, proximal coupling protrusions/structures on a removable rongeur tip that laterally engage corresponding actuator/handle coupling structures and have side walls extending substantially perpendicular to the adjacent tip faces (Kauffman, FIGS. 2A-2B; ¶[0023]: “The blade portion 110 and footplate portion 130 are slidable engaged at the rail 134 to form the tip 105”; disclosing a removable rongeur tip formed by two tip portions; ¶[0023]: “The detachable linkage 150 is configured to engage and disengage by movement in a lateral direction 151 to the longitudinal dimension of the device 100”; disclosing lateral coupling and decoupling of the removable tip relative to the actuator/handle; ¶[0023]: “The detachable linkage 150 is shown in more detail in FIG. 2B, including an upper cleat 123 opposing a lower cleat 143, which slide laterally into slots 113 and 133, respectively to engage the tip 105”; disclosing upper and lower proximal coupling protrusions/structures for laterally connecting the tip portions to the actuator/handle; ¶[0028]: “As the tip 105 slides laterally (perpendicular to the longitudinal dimension of the tip 105 and handle 125) to engage the cleat 123 in the receptacle 113 and the cleat 143 in the receptacle 133”; disclosing that the proximal coupling structures laterally engage corresponding receptacles; FIG. 2B, showing the proximal coupling shapes 113, 123, 133, and 143 with side walls extending substantially perpendicular to the adjacent tip/handle faces).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Wilschke tip assembly in view of Kauffman such that the side walls of Wilschke’s same-or-similar generally circular proximal attachment protrusions extend substantially perpendicularly from the respective top side and underside faces. Wilschke already teaches first and second proximal attachment members on the first and second tips, with the second attachment member being the same or similar to the first attachment member, and each attachment member including a generally circular tab attached to a base portion, thereby providing similarly curved/uneven protrusion side-wall contours. Kauffman teaches, in a rongeur removable-tip context, that proximal coupling structures on the blade portion and footplate portion of a removable tip laterally engage corresponding actuator/handle structures using shaped coupling profiles with side walls extending substantially perpendicular to the adjacent faces. In view of Wilschke’s same-or-similar curved attachment protrusions and Kauffman’s lateral tip-to-actuator coupling profiles, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to form Wilschke’s contoured protrusions as vertically extruded coupling profiles with side walls substantially perpendicular to the adjacent faces so that the contoured shapes can laterally engage corresponding actuator structures without binding while preserving the similar curved contours of the first and second protrusions. The modification would have been readily feasible because Wilschke already provides same-or-similar tab contours on the proximal ends of the first and second tips, and Kauffman shows that such proximal coupling structures are suitable for lateral removable-tip coupling in the same rongeur field. The benefit of the modification would have been reliable lateral coupling of the removable tip assembly to the actuator while maintaining secure, similarly contoured proximal connection profiles.
Regarding claim 13, Wilschke teaches a method (V) for detaching a medical punch tip (10) having a first tip part (20) and a second tip part (30), which is mounted longitudinally displaceably on the first tip part (20), from an actuation device (Wilschke, ¶[0002]: “The present application relates generally to a medical device including one or more replaceable cutting tips. More specifically, the present application relates to a rongeur, such as a Kerrison rongeur, having a tip assembly removably coupled at a distal end of the rongeur that includes replaceable and disposable cutting tips”; disclosing a medical punch tip in the form of a removable tip assembly for a Kerrison rongeur actuation device; ¶[0004]: “In certain embodiments, a tip assembly is removably coupled in an assembled configuration to the distal end of the stationary arm and the distal end of the movable arm. The tip assembly includes a first tip and a second tip slidably coupled to the first tip”; disclosing a first tip part and a second tip part slidably coupled to the first tip part; ¶[0004]: “The second tip is slidably movable with respect to the first tip between an open position and a closed position... as the movable arm is slidably movable with respect to the stationary arm”; disclosing that the second tip part is mounted longitudinally displaceably on the first tip part; ¶[0030]: “Tip assembly 40 includes a first or bottom tip 42 and a cooperating second or top tip 44 slidably coupled to first tip 42”; disclosing the claimed first tip part and second tip part; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 48 of second tip 44 is removably coupled to second arm 18 such that second tip 44 moves with respect to first tip 42 as second arm 18 moves with respect to first arm 12”; disclosing longitudinal displacement of the second tip part relative to the first tip part during actuation); from an actuation device (100) having a base body (120) on which the first tip part (20) is attached, and a slide (130) which is longitudinally displaceably attached on the base body (120) and on which the second tip part (30) is attached (Wilschke, ¶[0004]: “In one aspect, a Kerrison rongeur includes a stationary arm”; disclosing a base body of the actuation device; ¶[0004]: “A movable arm is slidably coupled to the stationary arm. A handle is operatively coupled to the stationary arm and the movable arm”; disclosing a slide longitudinally displaceably attached to the base body; ¶[0004]: “In certain embodiments, a tip assembly is removably coupled in an assembled configuration to the distal end of the stationary arm and the distal end of the movable arm”; disclosing attachment of the punch tip to the base body and slide; ¶[0026]: “In certain embodiments, the first tip is removably coupled to the first arm and the second tip is removably coupled to the second arm”; disclosing the first tip part attached to the first arm and the second tip part attached to the second arm; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 46 of first tip 42 is removably coupled to first arm 12”; disclosing the first tip part attached to the base body; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 48 of second tip 44 is removably coupled to second arm 18 such that second tip 44 moves with respect to first tip 42 as second arm 18 moves with respect to first arm 12”; disclosing the second tip part attached to the slide, which moves longitudinally relative to the base body).
Also regarding claim 13, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, and consistent with the specification’s explanation that the toollessly inseparable connection causes the first and second tip parts to be attached to and detached from the actuation device together (Instant Application: p. 2, lines 17-20: “the punch tip…may allow a particularly rapid and simple change of tool tip, in particular because the two tip parts can only be attached to and/or detached from the actuation device together because of the toollessly inseparable connection”; p. 2, lines 22-26: “Because of the toollessly inseparable connection, the attachment and/or detachment of the first tip part to or from the actuation device…also causes a corresponding attachment or detachment of the second tip part to or from the actuation device”), the phrase “toollessly inseparably connected” encompasses a captive movable connection in which the first and second tip parts are maintained together as a single integrated tip assembly during ordinary toolless handling, use, attachment, and removal, while still permitting longitudinal displacement of the second tip part relative to the first tip part. As such, Wilschke at least suggests that the second tip part (30) is toollessly inseparably connected to the first tip part (20) (Wilschke, ¶[0004]: “The tip assembly includes a first tip and a second tip slidably coupled to the first tip”; disclosing that the first and second tips are coupled together as parts of the same tip assembly; ¶[0004]: “The second tip is slidably movable with respect to the first tip between an open position and a closed position”; disclosing that the second tip remains coupled to and moves relative to the first tip during operation; ¶[0030]: “Tip assembly 40 includes a first or bottom tip 42 and a cooperating second or top tip 44 slidably coupled to first tip 42”; disclosing the first and second tips as cooperating parts of the same tip assembly; ¶[0038]: “Second tip 44 includes a passage or channel 520 formed in a planar surface 522 configured to receive a projection, e.g., a guide 524, formed on a planar surface 526 of first tip 42 that contacts planar surface 522 to slidably couple second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing a guide-and-passage connection between the first and second tips; ¶[0038]: “Guide 524 positioned within passage 520 provides a stable, movable attachment of second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing that the second tip is attached to the first tip in a stable movable manner; ¶[0039]: “The tip assembly includes a first tip and a second tip slidably coupled to the first tip. The tip assembly is removably coupled 604 in an assembled configuration to a distal end of a device body of the Kerrison rongeur”; disclosing that the coupled first and second tips are attached to the actuation device as an assembled tip assembly). The “stable, movable attachment” indicates that the second tip is not merely loosely placed on the first tip, but is maintained in an attached relationship during ordinary handling and relative sliding of the removable tip assembly.
Wilschke further supports that the first and second tips form a single removable tip assembly because the assembled tip assembly is coupled to and removed from the actuator as an assembly, and the disclosed coupling arrangements use the first tip, the second tip, or both tips to couple the assembled tip assembly to the actuator (Wilschke, ¶[0004]: “a tip assembly is removably coupled in an assembled configuration to the distal end of the stationary arm and the distal end of the movable arm”; disclosing coupling of the assembled tip assembly to the actuator; ¶[0005]: “A tip assembly is removably coupled to a distal end of the device body”; disclosing the tip assembly, rather than separately loose first and second tips, as the removable component; ¶[0026]: “the tip assembly is removably coupled in an assembled configuration to the distal end of the first arm and/or the distal end of the second arm”; disclosing that the assembled tip assembly may be coupled through the first arm, the second arm, or both; ¶[0026]: “In certain embodiments, the first tip is removably coupled to the first arm and the second tip is removably coupled to the second arm”; disclosing an embodiment where both tip parts are coupled to respective actuator arms; ¶[0034]: “Guide 234 positioned within passage 230 provides a stable, movable attachment of second tip 44 to first tip 42. Tip assembly 40 can be removed from the distal end of the device body after use and disposed of”; disclosing that the stably attached first and second tips are removed and disposed of as the tip assembly; ¶[0035]: “Guide 334 positioned within passage 330 provides a stable, movable attachment of second tip 44 to first tip 42. Tip assembly 40 can be removed from the distal end of the device body after use and disposed of”; disclosing the same stable movable attachment and removal/disposal of the tip assembly; ¶[0038]: “With first tip 42 coupled to first arm 12, second tip 44 is slidably coupled to first tip 42 and to second arm 18”; disclosing that coupling of one tip to the actuator occurs while the second tip remains slidably coupled to the first tip).
To the extent Wilschke does not expressly state that the second tip part is “inseparably” connected to the first tip part, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Wilschke’s guide-and-passage stable movable attachment such that the second tip remains captively retained to the first tip during ordinary handling, coupling, decoupling, disposal, and actuation of the removable tip assembly. Wilschke already teaches a first tip and a second tip slidably coupled together as a tip assembly, a guide received in a passage providing a stable movable attachment between the second tip and the first tip, and removal of the tip assembly from the distal end of the device body after use. Wilschke also teaches that the tip assembly may be coupled to the actuator through the first tip, the second tip, or both. In view of these teachings, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to retain the first and second tips together as a captive, slidably coupled removable tip assembly to preserve Wilschke’s assembled tip-assembly configuration during attachment and removal, reduce the possibility of losing or misplacing one of the cooperating tips, maintain alignment between the slidably coupled tips, simplify handling and disposal of the used distal cutting components as a unit, and reduce the risk of separate handling or partial reuse of one used tip portion in view of Wilschke’s disclosure that the removable tip assembly includes disposable cutting tips and may be removed and disposed of after use. The modification would have been readily feasible because Wilschke already provides the guide-and-passage structure that slidably couples the second tip to the first tip and provides a stable movable attachment between them. The benefit of the modification would have been maintaining Wilschke’s removable and disposable tip assembly as a single assembled unit while preserving longitudinal displacement of the second tip relative to the first tip during actuation.
Also regarding claim 13, with respect to (S1) bringing the second tip part (30) into a detachment position relative to the first tip part (20) by longitudinal displacement of the slide (130) relative to the base body (120); and (S2) subsequently laterally withdrawing the punch tip (10) from the actuation device (100), Wilschke teaches that the second arm, corresponding to the claimed slide, moves longitudinally relative to the first arm, corresponding to the claimed base body, and that this movement carries the second tip relative to the first tip (Wilschke, ¶[0026]: “The second tip is slidably movable with respect to the first tip in cooperation with or as the second arm is slidably movable with respect to the first arm”; disclosing that longitudinal displacement of the slide relative to the base body brings the second tip part into a relative longitudinal position with respect to the first tip part; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 48 of second tip 44 is removably coupled to second arm 18 such that second tip 44 moves with respect to first tip 42 as second arm 18 moves with respect to first arm 12”; disclosing that movement of the slide moves the second tip part relative to the first tip part). Wilschke further teaches release or removal of the assembled tip assembly from the actuation device (Wilschke, ¶[0025]: “the example tip assemblies described herein allow the surgeon or an assistant to quickly and easily couple and release or remove the tip assembly from the device body, for example, using one hand to hold the device and the other hand to engage or disengage the locking mechanism”; disclosing release or removal of the tip assembly from the actuation device; ¶[0039]: “After use of the rongeur during a surgical procedure, the tip assembly can be removed, e.g. released, from the device body as an assembled configuration”; disclosing removal of the assembled tip assembly from the device body).
Wilschke’s FIGS. 11-13 further show the first-arm and second-arm attachment regions as stacked coupling structures. In particular, the second-arm receiving region is illustrated as a through-channel extending through the second arm, while the first-arm receiving region is illustrated as a lower receiving region that does not open through the bottom of the first arm. Accordingly, the illustrated geometry supports top loading of the tip assembly rather than bottom loading. Although the figures do not show the actuator arms in the exact coupling/decoupling position, Wilschke teaches that the second arm moves relative to the first arm and that the second tip moves with the second arm relative to the first tip (Wilschke, ¶[0030]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore understand that, when the actuator arms are positioned for coupling or decoupling, the through-channel of the second arm would align with the receiving region of the first arm to provide a loading path from the top of the second arm, through the second arm, and into the first arm. This is consistent with Wilschke’s disclosed order of coupling, in which the first tip is coupled to the first arm and the second tip is then slidably coupled to the first tip and to the second arm. Thus, Wilschke already teaches or at least suggests a coordinated stacked two-tip/two-tab/two-hole coupling architecture in which longitudinal displacement of the slide relative to the base body places the second tip part in a proper relative position for coupling or removal of the assembled tip assembly.
Wilschke also teaches or at least suggests removal of the assembled tip assembly from the actuation device in a lateral withdrawal direction because Wilschke teaches release or removal of the assembled tip assembly from the distal end of the device body, and Wilschke’s stacked coupling geometry supports a top-loading coupling path for the first and second attachment tabs, such that removal would occur by reversing that top-loading path. However, Wilschke does not expressly teach the claimed method sequence of using longitudinal displacement of the second arm, corresponding to the claimed slide, relative to the first arm, corresponding to the claimed base body, to bring the second tip part into a detachment position relative to the first tip part for subsequent lateral withdrawal of the assembled punch tip from the actuation device.
Kauffman teaches, in the same rongeur removable-tip field, that a removable rongeur tip unit having two slidably engaged tip portions uses a defined relative longitudinal position of the tip portions for lateral attachment and removal of the tip unit from the actuator/handle (Kauffman, FIG. 2A,B; ¶[0023]: “The blade portion 110 and footplate portion 130 are slidable engaged at the rail 134 to form the tip 105...The detachable linkage 150 is configured to engage and disengage by movement in a lateral direction 151 to the longitudinal dimension of the device 100... The detachable linkage 150 is shown in more detail in FIG. 2B, including an upper cleat 123 opposing a lower cleat 143, which slide laterally into slots 113 and 133, respectively to engage the tip 105”; disclosing a two-part removable tip unit and lateral engagement/disengagement of corresponding coupling structures; ¶[0028]: “As the tip 105 slides laterally (perpendicular to the longitudinal dimension of the tip 105 and handle 125) to engage the cleat 123 in the receptacle 113 and the cleat 143 in the receptacle 133”; disclosing lateral movement of the tip unit relative to the actuator/handle; ¶[0026]: “Following a forward movement of the handle slide 120 and blade portion 110, an upper separation 402 of the detachable linkage is offset from a lower separation 404 between the footplate portion 130 and handle base 140”; disclosing that longitudinal movement changes the relative position of the coupling structures from an engagement/removal position to a locked position; ¶[0027]: “the sequence in FIGS. 5A-5D shows a progression through detached, engaged, locked, and actuated. These states follow when a new tip 105 is employed; the reverse applies to remove the tip 105 and install a new one”; disclosing that removal is achieved by reversing the sequence, including returning the tip unit from the locked/actuated position to the engaged/removable position and then laterally removing the tip unit).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Wilschke in view of Kauffman such that detachment includes using longitudinal displacement of the second arm, corresponding to the claimed slide, relative to the first arm, corresponding to the claimed base body, to bring the second tip part into a detachment position relative to the first tip part, thereby aligning the coupling regions of the first and second tips, and subsequently laterally withdrawing the assembled punch tip from the actuation device. Wilschke already teaches a removable two-tip assembly in which the first and second tips are slidably coupled together, the second tip moves longitudinally relative to the first tip as the second arm moves relative to the first arm, the first and second tips are attached to corresponding first and second actuator arms, and the assembled tip assembly is released or removed from the device body. Wilschke further suggests a top-loading coupling/removal path in which the first and second attachment tabs are placed in a coordinated relative position for coupling and removal of the assembled tip assembly. Kauffman teaches, in a removable rongeur-tip context, that a two-part removable tip unit is attached and removed laterally in an aligned engagement/removal position and that longitudinal movement changes the tip unit from that engagement/removal position to a locked/actuated position, with the reverse sequence used for removal. In view of Wilschke’s coordinated two-tip/two-arm removable tip assembly and Kauffman’s teaching of longitudinally positioning a removable rongeur tip unit for aligned lateral removal, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to use Wilschke’s existing relative longitudinal displacement between the second tip and first tip to place the assembled tip assembly in a detachment position and then laterally withdraw the assembled tip assembly from the actuation device. The modification would have been readily feasible because Wilschke already provides the longitudinal sliding relationship between the first and second tips, the corresponding actuator-arm attachment structures, and removable coupling of the assembled tip assembly to the actuation device. The benefit of the modification would have been predictable toolless removal of the assembled tip assembly from the actuation device while preserving Wilschke’s stable, movable attachment between the first and second tips and maintaining the second tip’s longitudinal displacement relative to the first tip during actuation.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilschke et al. (US-20190000488-A1), hereto referred as Wilschke, and further in view of Dopp et al. (US-20010006319-A1), hereto referred as Dopp, and further in view of Kauffman et al. (US-20210338252-A1) as evidence, hereto referred as Kauffman.
The modified Wilschke teaches claim 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Wilschke teaches wherein the first tip part (20) has a first attachment portion (21) for attachment of the first tip part (20) to a base body (120) of the actuation device (100) (Wilschke, ¶[0026]: “In certain embodiments, the first tip is removably coupled to the first arm and the second tip is removably coupled to the second arm”; disclosing attachment of the first tip part to the first arm, corresponding to the claimed base body of the actuation device; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 46 of first tip 42 is removably coupled to first arm 12”; disclosing the proximal portion or end of the first tip as the first attachment portion for attachment to the first arm).
Also regarding claim 8, with respect to and in the first attachment portion (21) has a first step (28) which serves as a stop for the second tip part (30) on a longitudinal displacement, the modified Wilschke teaches a removable two-tip assembly in which the relative positioning of the first and second tips affects coordination with the corresponding actuator-arm structures, specifically, longitudinal displacement of the second tip part relative to the first tip part (Wilschke, ¶[0026]: “The second tip is slidably movable with respect to the first tip in cooperation with or as the second arm is slidably movable with respect to the first arm”; disclosing longitudinal displacement of the second tip part relative to the first tip part; ¶[0030]: “Tip assembly 40 includes a first or bottom tip 42 and a cooperating second or top tip 44 slidably coupled to first tip 42”; disclosing the first and second tip parts as slidably coupled parts of the same tip assembly). Wilschke’s FIGS. 11-13 further show the first-arm and second-arm attachment regions as stacked coupling structures. In particular, the second-arm receiving region is illustrated as a through-channel extending through the second arm, while the first-arm receiving region is illustrated as a lower receiving region that does not open through the bottom of the first arm. Accordingly, the illustrated geometry supports top loading of the tip assembly rather than bottom loading. Although the figures do not show the actuator arms in the exact coupling/decoupling position, Wilschke teaches that the second arm moves relative to the first arm and that the second tip moves with the second arm relative to the first tip (Wilschke, ¶[0030]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore understand that, when the actuator arms are positioned for coupling or decoupling, the through-channel of the second arm would align with the receiving region of the first arm to provide a loading path from the top of the second arm, through the second arm, and into the first arm. This understanding is further supported by Wilschke’s alternate coupling embodiment, in which rotation of the first tip toward a locked position coordinates movement of a second-tip connector into a corresponding opening of the second arm, thereby showing that Wilschke already contemplated coordinated positioning of first- and second-tip coupling structures during attachment of the assembled tip assembly (Wilschke, ¶[0034]: “As first tip 42 is rotated to the locked position, a second connector 220, e.g., a pin, extending from proximal end 48 of second tip 44 is moved into a corresponding opening 222, e.g., a slot, formed in distal end 22 of second arm 18 such that second connector 220 is positioned within opening 222”). This is consistent with Wilschke’s disclosed order of coupling, in which the first tip is coupled to the first arm and the second tip is then slidably coupled to the first tip and to the second arm. Thus, Wilschke already teaches or at least suggests a coordinated stacked two-tip/two-tab/two-hole coupling architecture in which the assembled tip assembly is aligned and loaded onto the actuator in the proper orientation. However, the modified Wilschke does not expressly teach that the first attachment portion has a first step which serves as a stop for the second tip part on a longitudinal displacement.
Dopp teaches a sliding assembly in which a protrusion on one sliding member cooperates with a corresponding receiving structure to define a stopped position during relative longitudinal movement (Dopp, ¶[0022]: “The rail assembly includes an anti-rebound mechanism with Stop mechanism 5 including two separate pieces or members 8, 12”; disclosing a stop mechanism for relatively sliding members; ¶[0027]: “Protrusion 36 locks onto intermediate rail 4 by fitting through an aperture of the generally the same shape as protrusion 36, located at the forward portion of the intermediate rail 4”; disclosing a protrusion, i.e., step, on a sliding member; ¶[0027]: “Stop wall 21 prevents further movement of the protrusion 36 into the recess 25”; disclosing that the protrusion is stopped against a corresponding structure during relative movement; ¶[0027]: “With the protrusion 36 abutting the stop wall 21 and being held in place by the prongs 22, 24, a closed position is attained and anti-rebound members 8 and 12 resist re-opening”; disclosing that the protrusion reaches and defines a stopped position; ¶[0029]: “In the closed position, protrusion 36 is receivedly held in recess 25 by prongs 22 and 24 and abuts stop wall 21”; disclosing that the protrusion is held at a defined stopped position).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Wilschke tip assembly in view of Dopp such that the first attachment portion of the first tip includes a protruding first step that serves as a stop for the second tip part during longitudinal displacement. Dopp is analogous art because it is directed to the same problem addressed by the modified Wilschke assembly: defining a reliable, repeatable stopped position during relative longitudinal displacement between slidably interfitted members. Wilschke teaches a removable two-tip assembly in which the second tip slides longitudinally relative to the first tip and in which the first and second tips are coordinated with corresponding first and second actuator-arm attachment structures. Wilschke further suggests that the first and second tip attachment structures are positioned in a coordinated orientation for coupling and removal of the assembled tip assembly. This understanding is consistent with Kauffman, which teaches in the same removable rongeur-tip field that upper and lower coupling structures of a two-tip unit are longitudinally aligned with each other for lateral attachment/detachment to arms of an actuator (Kauffman, FIG. 2A,B; ¶[0023]: “The detachable linkage 150 is shown in more detail in FIG. 2B, including an upper cleat 123 opposing a lower cleat 143, which slide laterally into slots 113 and 133, respectively to engage the tip 105”; ¶[0027]: “the sequence in FIGS. 5A-5D shows a progression through detached, engaged, locked, and actuated. These states follow when a new tip 105 is employed; the reverse applies to remove the tip 105 and install a new one”). Dopp supplies a known mechanical way to define such a reliable, repeatable stopped position between slidably movable members, namely using a stop wall on one member to prevent further movement of a protrusion on the other member. In view of Wilschke’s slidably coupled first and second tips and Dopp’s stop structure for limiting relative longitudinal movement between sliding members at a defined position, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to include Dopp’s stop feature in Wilschke’s first attachment portion to define a repeatable longitudinal position for the second tip part relative to the first tip part. The modification would have been readily feasible because Wilschke already provides a sliding relationship between the first and second tips, and adding a protruding step at a selected position along that sliding interface would have required only routine mechanical design. The benefit of the modification would have been reliably locating the second tip relative to the first tip at a selected longitudinal position while preventing overtravel of the second tip relative to the first tip.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Wilschke in view of Kauffman and Dopp, as discussed with respect to claim 8, teaches wherein the second tip part (30) has a second attachment portion (31) for attachment of the second tip part (30) to a slide (130) of the actuation device (100) (Wilschke, ¶[0026]: “In certain embodiments, the first tip is removably coupled to the first arm and the second tip is removably coupled to the second arm”; disclosing attachment of the second tip part to the second arm, corresponding to the claimed slide of the actuation device; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 48 of second tip 44 is removably coupled to second arm 18 such that second tip 44 moves with respect to first tip 42 as second arm 18 moves with respect to first arm 12”; disclosing the proximal portion or end of the second tip as the second attachment portion for attachment to the slide; ¶[0038]: “a second attachment member 512, the same or similar to first attachment member 502 in certain embodiments, is formed at or near proximal end 48 of second tip 44”; disclosing a second attachment portion of the second tip part).
Also regarding claim 9, with respect to and in the second attachment portion (31) has a second step (38) formed correspondingly to the first step (28), such that a proximal end of the first attachment portion (21) substantially aligns with a proximal end of the second attachment portion (31) when the second tip part (30) stops on the first step (28), the modified Wilschke, as discussed with respect to claim 8, teaches or at least suggests a coordinated stacked two-tip/two-tab/two-hole coupling architecture in which the assembled tip assembly is aligned and loaded onto the actuator in the proper orientation. However, the modified Wilschke does not expressly teach that the second attachment portion has a second step formed correspondingly to the first step such that the proximal ends of the first and second attachment portions substantially align when the second tip part stops on the first step.
Dopp further teaches corresponding protrusion and receiving structures that define a stopped position between sliding members (Dopp, ¶[0026]: “member 8 further includes a recess 25 which has prongs 22 and 24 located at its outer periphery, and a stop wall 21, at the rearward portion of the recess 25”; disclosing a receiving recess having a stop wall corresponding to a protruding stop feature; ¶[0027]: “Stop wall 21 prevents further movement of the protrusion 36 into the recess 25”; disclosing that the receiving structure cooperates with protrusion 36 to stop further relative movement; ¶[0027]: “With the protrusion 36 abutting the stop wall 21 and being held in place by the prongs 22, 24, a closed position is attained and anti-rebound members 8 and 12 resist re-opening”; disclosing that the protrusion and corresponding receiving/stop structure define a stopped position; ¶[0029]: “In the closed position, protrusion 36 is receivedly held in recess 25 by prongs 22 and 24 and abuts stop wall 21”; disclosing that the corresponding protrusion/recess structures hold the sliding members at a defined longitudinal position).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Wilschke tip assembly in view of Dopp such that the second attachment portion of the second tip includes a corresponding second step or receiving stop structure formed to cooperate with the first step discussed with respect to claim 8, such that the proximal end of the first attachment portion substantially aligns with the proximal end of the second attachment portion when the second tip part stops on the first step. Wilschke teaches a removable two-tip assembly in which the relative positioning of the first and second tip attachment structures affects coordinated coupling and actuation with the corresponding actuator arms. Wilschke further suggests that the first and second tip attachment structures are positioned in a coordinated orientation for coupling and removal of the assembled tip assembly. This understanding is consistent with Kauffman, which teaches in the same removable rongeur-tip field that upper and lower coupling structures of a two-tip unit are longitudinally aligned with each other for lateral attachment/detachment to arms of an actuator (Kauffman, FIG. 2A,B; ¶[0023]: “The detachable linkage 150 is shown in more detail in FIG. 2B, including an upper cleat 123 opposing a lower cleat 143, which slide laterally into slots 113 and 133, respectively to engage the tip 105”; ¶[0027]: “the sequence in FIGS. 5A-5D shows a progression through detached, engaged, locked, and actuated. These states follow when a new tip 105 is employed; the reverse applies to remove the tip 105 and install a new one”). Dopp supplies a known corresponding stop arrangement for defining a repeatable stopped position, where a protrusion is received in a corresponding recess and abuts a stop wall to prevent further relative movement. In view of Wilschke’s coordinated two-tip/two-arm removable tip assembly and Dopp’s corresponding protrusion/recess stop arrangement, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to include a corresponding second step or receiving stop structure in Wilschke’s second attachment portion to cooperate with the first step and define the relative stopped position of the first and second tip parts. In view of Wilschke’s coordinated two-tip/two-arm coupling architecture, where the first and second tip attachment structures must be in the correct relative position for coupling and removal, and Kauffman’s teaching that upper and lower coupling structures are longitudinally aligned for lateral attachment/detachment, one skilled in the art would have placed Dopp’s stop at the alignment position to ensure that stopping the second tip on the first step brings the first and second attachment portions into the aligned coupling/removal position. The modification would have been readily feasible because Wilschke already provides a sliding relationship between the first and second tips, and adding corresponding stop structures at selected positions along that sliding interface would have required only routine mechanical design. The benefit of the modification would have been reliably placing the proximal ends of the first and second attachment portions at the intended aligned relative position for coupling, detachment, and actuation while preventing overtravel of the second tip relative to the first tip.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Wilschke, as applied to claim 1, teaches a medical punch tip having a first tip part and a second tip part mounted longitudinally displaceably on the first tip part. With respect to wherein a centering device (11) is configured to orient the second tip part (30) relative to the first tip part (20) when, for detachment from an actuation device (100), the second tip part (30) is brought into a detachment position by longitudinal displacement relative to the first tip part (20), the modified Wilschke teaches a guide-and-channel structure that orients and slidably couples the second tip relative to the first tip during longitudinal displacement (Wilschke, ¶[0038]: “Second tip 44 includes a passage or channel 520 formed in a planar surface 522 configured to receive a projection, e.g. a guide 524, formed on a planar surface 526 of first tip 42 that contacts planar surface 522 to slidably couple second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing a guide/channel structure that orients and slidably couples the second tip part relative to the first tip part; ¶[0038]: “Guide 524 positioned within passage 520 provides a stable, movable attachment of second tip 44 to first tip 42”; disclosing that the guide/channel structure maintains a stable movable attachment during relative longitudinal movement). The modified Wilschke further teaches a removable two-tip assembly in which the relative positioning of the first and second tips affects coordination with the corresponding actuator-arm structures (Wilschke, ¶[0026]: “The second tip is slidably movable with respect to the first tip in cooperation with or as the second arm is slidably movable with respect to the first arm”; disclosing longitudinal displacement of the second tip part relative to the first tip part; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 48 of second tip 44 is removably coupled to second arm 18 such that second tip 44 moves with respect to first tip 42 as second arm 18 moves with respect to first arm 12”; disclosing that the second tip moves relative to the first tip in coordination with the actuator arms). Wilschke’s FIGS. 11-13 further show the first-arm and second-arm attachment regions as stacked coupling structures. In particular, the second-arm receiving region is illustrated as a through-channel extending through the second arm, while the first-arm receiving region is illustrated as a lower receiving region that does not open through the bottom of the first arm. Accordingly, the illustrated geometry supports top loading of the tip assembly rather than bottom loading. Although the figures do not show the actuator arms in the exact coupling/decoupling position, Wilschke teaches that the second arm moves relative to the first arm and that the second tip moves with the second arm relative to the first tip (Wilschke, ¶[0030]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would therefore understand that, when the actuator arms are positioned for coupling or decoupling, the through-channel of the second arm would align with the receiving region of the first arm to provide a loading path from the top of the second arm, through the second arm, and into the first arm. Thus, Wilschke already teaches or at least suggests a coordinated stacked two-tip/two-tab/two-hole coupling architecture in which the assembled tip assembly is aligned and loaded onto the actuator in the proper orientation. However, the modified Wilschke does not expressly teach that the guide/channel structure includes a stop or registration structure that orients the second tip relative to the first tip specifically at a detachment position for detachment from the actuation device.
Dopp teaches a sliding assembly in which a protrusion on one sliding member cooperates with a corresponding receiving structure to register, locate, and hold the sliding members at a defined stopped position during relative longitudinal movement (Dopp, ¶[0022]: “The rail assembly includes an anti-rebound mechanism with Stop mechanism 5 including two separate pieces or members 8, 12”; disclosing a stop mechanism for relatively sliding members; ¶[0027]: “Protrusion 36 locks onto intermediate rail 4 by fitting through an aperture of the generally the same shape as protrusion 36, located at the forward portion of the intermediate rail 4”; disclosing a protrusion and corresponding receiving structure for locating one sliding member relative to another; ¶[0027]: “Stop wall 21 prevents further movement of the protrusion 36 into the recess 25”; disclosing that the protrusion is stopped against a corresponding structure during relative movement; ¶[0027]: “With the protrusion 36 abutting the stop wall 21 and being held in place by the prongs 22, 24, a closed position is attained and anti-rebound members 8 and 12 resist re-opening”; disclosing that the protrusion reaches and is held at a defined stopped position; ¶[0029]: “In the closed position, protrusion 36 is receivedly held in recess 25 by prongs 22 and 24 and abuts stop wall 21”; disclosing that the corresponding protrusion/recess/stop-wall structure registers and holds the sliding members at a defined position). Under the claim interpretation set forth above, 112(f), Dopp’s protrusion and corresponding receiving/stop structure is equivalent to the disclosed first-step/second-step centering structure because both arrangements use complementary mechanical surfaces between relatively sliding members to register, locate, and orient the movable member at a defined stopped position.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Wilschke tip assembly in view of Dopp such that the guide/channel sliding interface of the first and second tips includes complementary protrusion and receiving/stop surfaces, corresponding to or at least equivalent to the disclosed first-step/second-step centering structure, to orient the second tip relative to the first tip at a repeatable detachment position. Wilschke already teaches a guide/channel structure that orients and slidably couples the second tip relative to the first tip, and Wilschke further suggests that the first and second tip attachment structures are positioned in a coordinated orientation for coupling and removal of the assembled tip assembly. This understanding is consistent with Kauffman, which teaches in the same removable rongeur-tip field that upper and lower coupling structures of a two-tip unit are longitudinally aligned with each other for lateral attachment/detachment to arms of an actuator (Kauffman, FIG. 2A,B; ¶[0023]: “The detachable linkage 150 is shown in more detail in FIG. 2B, including an upper cleat 123 opposing a lower cleat 143, which slide laterally into slots 113 and 133, respectively to engage the tip 105”; ¶[0027]: “the sequence in FIGS. 5A-5D shows a progression through detached, engaged, locked, and actuated. These states follow when a new tip 105 is employed; the reverse applies to remove the tip 105 and install a new one”). Dopp supplies a known mechanical way to register and hold relatively sliding members at a repeatable stopped position, namely using a protrusion and corresponding receiving/stop structure to prevent further relative movement at a defined position. Although Dopp is directed to drawer-slide rails, its stop and registration teaching is reasonably pertinent because Dopp addresses controlled relative travel between slidably interfitted members and uses a protrusion/receiving-structure arrangement to locate one sliding member relative to another at a defined position. In view of Wilschke’s guide/channel sliding interface between the first and second tips and Dopp’s stop/registration structure for locating slidably movable members, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to include Dopp’s stop feature in Wilschke’s guide/channel sliding interface to provide a centering device that orients the second tip part relative to the first tip part at a repeatable detachment position. The modification would have been readily feasible because Wilschke already provides a guide-and-channel sliding interface between the first and second tips, and adding a protruding stop feature at a selected position along that sliding interface would have required only routine mechanical design. The benefit of the modification would have been reliably orienting the first and second tip attachment structures at the intended relative longitudinal position for detachment while reducing misregistration and preventing overtravel of the second tip relative to the first tip.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilschke et al. (US-20190000488-A1), hereto referred as Wilschke, and further in view of Sunadome et al. (US-20040051221-A1), hereto referred as Sunadome.
The modified Wilschke teaches claim 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Wilschke, as applied to claim 1, teaches wherein the first tip part (20) has a first attachment portion (21) for attachment of the first tip part (20) to a base body (120) of the actuation device (100), and the second tip part (30) has a second attachment portion (31) for attachment of the second tip part (30) to a slide (130) of the actuation device (100) (Wilschke, ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 46 of first tip 42 is removably coupled to first arm 12”; disclosing a first attachment portion of the first tip for attachment to the first arm, corresponding to the claimed base body; ¶[0030]: “a proximal portion or end 48 of second tip 44 is removably coupled to second arm 18 such that second tip 44 moves with respect to first tip 42 as second arm 18 moves with respect to first arm 12”; disclosing a second attachment portion of the second tip for attachment to the second arm, corresponding to the claimed slide).
Also regarding claim 11, with respect to wherein the second attachment portion (31) protrudes laterally on both sides over the first attachment portion (21) transversely to a longitudinal extent of the punch tip (10), the modified Wilschke teaches first and second attachment members provided at the proximal ends of the respective first and second tips, with the second attachment member being “the same or similar” to the first attachment member. In particular, Wilschke teaches that “a first attachment member 502 is formed at or near proximal end 46 of first tip 42,” that “first attachment member 502 includes a tab 504 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 506,” and that “[t]ab 504 is slidably positioned within a hole 508 formed in distal end 16 of first arm 12 having a suitable shape configured to accept tab 504” (Wilschke, ¶[0038]; disclosing a first attachment portion having a generally circular tab received in a corresponding first-arm hole). Wilschke further teaches that, “[w]ith first tip 42 coupled to first arm 12, second tip 44 is slidably coupled to first tip 42 and to second arm 18,” that “a second attachment member 512, the same or similar to first attachment member 502 in certain embodiments, is formed at or near proximal end 48 of second tip 44,” that “second attachment member 512 includes a second tab 514 having a generally circular shape attached to a base portion 516,” and that “[s]econd tab 514 is slidably positioned within a hole 518 formed in distal end 22 of second arm 18 having a shape configured to accept tab 514” (Wilschke, ¶[0038]; disclosing a second attachment portion having a generally circular tab received in a corresponding second-arm hole, where the second attachment member may be the same as or merely similar to the first attachment member).
Thus, Wilschke expressly contemplates that the first and second attachment members need not be identical, because Wilschke teaches that the second attachment member may be “the same or similar” to the first attachment member. A same-profile but different-size attachment member remains “similar” to the other attachment member, particularly where both attachment members retain the same general tab-and-base coupling profile and are used for corresponding coupling to actuator-arm holes. However, Wilschke does not expressly teach that the second attachment portion protrudes laterally on both sides over the first attachment portion transversely to the longitudinal extent of the punch tip.
Sunadome teaches using different transverse sizes in a stacked coupling arrangement so that similar coupling structures correspond to their intended positions along an insertion direction. Sunadome teaches that “relative positioning is performed by shapes of through holes which are formed in a plurality of members to be pierced that are fitted onto bosses upstanding from a main member, and the shape of the bosses along an inserting direction thereof” (Sunadome, ¶[0033]; disclosing that relative positioning of stacked components is controlled by corresponding shapes of holes and bosses along an insertion direction). Sunadome further teaches that “[t]he shapes of the through holes of the members to be pierced are set in accordance with the shapes of the bosses, and the sizes and shapes of the through holes correspond to the positions where the respective members are fitted onto the bosses,” and that “[t]he attachment sequence of the members to be pierced which are to be attached to the main member is taken into consideration” so that the through holes correspond to the boss width dimensions, wherein “[t]he width dimensions are dimensions in a direction perpendicular to the inserting direction” (Sunadome, ¶[0034]; disclosing that transverse size differences are selected to correspond to intended stacked positions and attachment sequence). Sunadome further teaches that the stacked through holes are different sizes and coaxially placed, specifically that “[t]he through holes 17 and 17 are larger than the through holes 18 and 18, and the through holes 16 and 16 are larger than the through holes 17 and 17” and that, “[w]hen the first member to be pierced 13, the second member to be pierced 14, and the third member to be pierced 15 are stacked, the through holes 16, 16, 17, 17, 18, and 18 are coaxially placed” (Sunadome, ¶[0043]; disclosing same-axis stacked coupling openings having different transverse sizes). Sunadome further teaches corresponding width relationships between the stepped boss portions and through holes (Sunadome, ¶¶[0050]-[0052]; disclosing that stepped coupling portions and corresponding receiving holes are sized to fit intended stacked positions). Accordingly, Sunadome teaches that similar stacked coupling features may be given different transverse sizes so that each coupling feature keys to its intended position in a stacked insertion arrangement.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the modified Wilschke in view of Sunadome such that the second attachment portion protrudes laterally on both sides over the first attachment portion transversely to the longitudinal extent of the punch tip. Wilschke already teaches a removable two-tip rongeur assembly having first and second generally circular attachment tabs and corresponding first- and second-arm holes arranged in a common proximal coupling region. Wilschke also expressly teaches that the second attachment member may be “the same or similar” to the first attachment member, thereby contemplating non-identical but similar attachment members. Sizing Wilschke’s second generally circular tab larger than the first generally circular tab while preserving the same general tab-and-base coupling profile would implement Wilschke’s disclosed “similar” alternative rather than contradicting Wilschke’s coupling architecture. Sunadome is analogous art because it addresses the same problem presented by Wilschke’s coordinated stacked coupling architecture: ensuring that stacked coupling structures are received in their intended positions and in the correct assembly orientation. Sunadome solves that problem by using similar, corresponding coupling features with different transverse sizes along an insertion direction so that each component keys to its intended stacked position. In view of Wilschke’s two-tip/two-arm coupling architecture, in which the first tip must couple to the first arm and the second tip must couple to the second arm, and Sunadome’s teaching that same-axis stacked coupling structures can be keyed by different transverse dimensions corresponding to their intended positions, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to size Wilschke’s first attachment tab and corresponding first-arm hole smaller, and to size Wilschke’s second attachment tab and corresponding second-arm hole larger.
The modification would have preserved Wilschke’s existing “same or similar” generally circular tab profile while providing a keyed size relationship for the stacked coupling structures. For example, in the top-loading arrangement suggested by Wilschke’s stacked first-arm and second-arm receiving regions, the smaller first attachment tab could pass through the larger second-arm through-channel and seat in the smaller first-arm hole, while the larger second attachment tab would seat in the larger second-arm hole and would be prevented from passing into or seating in the smaller first-arm hole. More generally, even apart from the particular top-loading path, the different transverse sizes would ensure that the first and second attachment portions correspond to their intended first-arm and second-arm positions and would reduce the possibility of incorrect or inverted coupling of the assembled tip assembly. The modification would have been readily feasible because Wilschke already provides first and second attachment tabs and corresponding receiving holes, and Sunadome merely supplies a known sizing relationship for similar stacked coupling features. The modification would have required only routine dimensional selection of the existing Wilschke tab-and-hole structures. The benefit of the modification would have been preserving Wilschke’s removable two-tip assembly while ensuring proper positioning and orientation of the tip assembly during attachment to the actuator and reducing incorrect or inverted coupling.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to AARON MERRIAM whose telephone number is (703) 756-
5938. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:00 am - 4:00 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Jason Sims can be reached on (571)272-4867. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AARON MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791