DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krebs et al (Pub. No.: US 2019/0216559)
Regarding claims 1, 11, Krebs et al disclose a method of performing lavage comprising steps of:
(a) providing an irrigation fluid to a surgical area [see 0044];
(b) removing via at least one suction line the irrigation fluid and medical waste at the
surgical area to generate a fluid stream in the at least one suction line (suction tool) [see 0044, 0046, 0051];
(c) analyzing the fluid stream via ionizing radiation detection (fluorescent imaging system) to generate a result based on a predetermined criteria (a plan that is generated by the CAS system constitutes the criteria, emphasis added) [see 0053];
(b)generating a feedback signal based on the result, wherein the feedback signal indicates whether the lavage has achieved the predetermined criteria (a plan that is generated by the CAS system constitutes the criteria, emphasis added) [see 0053];
(e) based on the feedback signal, either (1) if the predetermined criteria has not been achieved, repeating steps (a) through (d) until the lavage has achieved the predetermined criteria, or (2) if the predetermined criteria has been achieved, ending the lavage procedure [see 0052-0053] by disclosing the CAS system 100 is able to monitor the debridement of the affected areas to confirm that the affected areas are completely debrided [see 0052]
Regarding claim 2, Krebs et al disclose wherein the ionizing radiation detection indicates a target
material (biofilm inhibiting agent) contained within the fluid stream [see 0053.
Regarding claim 3, Krebs et al disclose wherein the target material includes at least one of a microorganism, debris or non-endogenous protein [see 0044, 0051, 0053].
Regarding claim 4, Krebs et al disclose wherein the ionizing radiation detection is performed in-line on the at least one suction line (suction tool) [see 0044].
Regarding claim 5, Krebs et al disclose wherein the ionizing radiation detection is continuously performed on the fluid stream [see 0059] by disclosing guide the surgeon toward sections of the irrigation area that need additional debridement [see 0059].
Regarding claim 6, Krebs et al disclose wherein the ionizing radiation detection is performed periodically on the fluid stream [see 0059].
Regarding claim 7, Krebs et al disclose wherein the feedback signal triggers a visual indication to a User [see 0053] by disclosing the imaging agent is illuminated using a fluorescent imaging system to label the infected areas, allowing the physician to visualize the infected areas [see 0053].
Regarding claim 8, Krebs et al disclose wherein the visual indication is a light source [see 0053] by disclosing the imaging agent is illuminated using a fluorescent imaging system to label the infected areas, allowing the physician to visualize the infected areas [see 0053].
Regarding claim 9, Krebs et al disclose wherein the visual indication is a symbol on the ionizing radiation detection [see 0053] by disclosing biofilms may be stained using solutions or dyes (for example, methylene blue, congo red, etc.) which can also allow the physician to visualize the area [see 0053].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebs et al (Pub. No.: US 2019/0216559) in view of Leighton et al (Pub. No.: 2020/0164194)
Regarding claim 10, Krebs et al don’t disclose wherein the ionizing radiation detection is performed remotely by obtaining a sample from the fluid stream.
Nonetheless, Leighton et al disclose the ionizing radiation detection performed remotely by obtaining a sample from the fluid stream [see 0038].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Krebs et al and Leighton et al by having the ionizing radiation detection performed remotely by obtaining a sample from the fluid stream; so further analysis can be performed in different locations such as overseas.
Conclusion
/JOEL F BRUTUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797