DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to the application filed received on Sept. 30, 2024.
The Oath was received on Sept. 30, 2024.
Claims 1-7, 10-15, 18-19, 21, 24, 28, 36 and 40 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on Sept. 30, 2024 and Dec. 2, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 and 10-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-7, 10 and 12 satisfies the Step 1 because the claim is an article of manufacture.
In Step 2A prong 1, Claim 1 recites “determining a physical random access channel (PRACH) …”, Claim 2 recites “determining that a PRACH in the PRACH window …, “ Claim 3 recites “determining a period and/or length of the PRACH window,” Claim 4 recites “determining the period …,” Claim 5 recites “determining that a PRACH …,” Claim 6 recites “determining a period …,” Claim 7 recites “determining the period …,” Claim 10 recites “determining a configuration …,” Claim 12 recites “determining the configurataion …,” which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are steps that are performed in the human mind. Claim 1-7, 10, and 12 merely involve determining values and updating or replacing values or data. Such steps of determining and updating data are steps that are performed in the human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
In Step 2A prong 2, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because computer-readable storage media and processors are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The elements or steps do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In Step 2B, the claim do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because computer-readable storage media and processors are general purpose computer components, which are well-understood, routine and conventional (see Decasper et al. (U.S. PGPub 2007/0192474) paragraph 0004 where include conventional components such as a processor, a memory (e.g., RAM)... a network interface, such as a conventional modem), performing the steps recited in the claims and are not sufficient to transform a judicial exception into a patentable invention.
Regarding claims 11 and 13 recite “the configuration of candidate cell comprises…”, “the configuration of the RAR search space comprises a control resource set (CORESET)…”, and “the packet header length comprises a packet tunneling header length…” However, these features are a mental process and mere data rearrangement. Therefore, claims 11 and 13 do not add meaningful limitation to the abstract idea.
Accordingly, Claims 1-7 and 10-13 are not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hua Zhou et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20240049182 A1, hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches that a random access method, applied to a terminal device and comprising: determining a physical random access channel (PRACH) window or determining a PRACH burst (Zhou, in Paragraphs [0085] and [0092]-[0095], teaches that the random access preamble (PRACH burst) is transmitted only in a time resource defined in random access configuration. The PRACH configuration index is given by a higher layer parameter prach-ConfigurationIndex or by msgA-PRACH-ConfigurationIndex. The PRACH configuration index are associated with at least one of preamble formats, x and y in f (frame number) mod x=y, subframe numbers, starting symbols, the numbers of PRACH slots in a subframe, the number of time domain PRACH occasions within PRACH slot, slot of time domain PRACH occasions in a PRACH slot, and PRACH duration (FIG. 3). In Paragraph [0093] and [0095], a RA response window (ra-ResponseWindow or MsgB response window: PRACH window) is a time window to monitor a RA response (RAR). The MAC entity starts, in the first PDCCH occasion since an end of the RA preamble transmission, ra-ResponseWindow configured in common RACH configuration (RACH-ConfigCommon). While ra-ResponseWindow is operating, the MAC entity monitors PDCCH transmission in an RAR SpCell identified by an RA-RNTI. Thus, during RA procedure, the PRACH burst and the PRACH window is determined.)
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou further teaches that wherein the determining the PRACH window comprises: determining that a PRACH in the PRACH window is valid (Zhou, in Paragraphs [0126]-[0128], teaches that In a paired spectrum (FDD) or SUL band, all PRACH occasions are valid. In an unpaired spectrum (TDD), the PRACH occasions may follow requirement 1 and requirement 2 below. The requirement 1 is that if tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon is not provided for the UE, the PRACH occasion is valid, when a PRACH occasion in a PRACH slot starts after at least N_gap symbols from the last SS/PBCH block reception symbol without preceding an SS/PBCH block in the PRACH slot. The requirement 2 is that if tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon is provided for the UE, the PRACH occasion in the PRACH slot is valid, when the PRACH occasion is in UL symbols or when the PRACH occasion starts after at least N_gap symbols from the last DL symbol and after at least N_gap symbols from the last SS/PBCH block symbol without preceding SS/PBCH block in PRACH slot. When satisfying this condition, the PRACH in the PRACH window is valid.)
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches the features defined in the claim 2, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou further teaches that wherein the determining that the PRACH in the PRACH window is valid comprises: determining a period and/or length of the PRACH window (Zhou, in Paragraphs [0100], teaches the length of msgB-ResponseWindow (RAR response window: PRACH window) is determined by SCS (SubCarrier Spacing) for the type 1-PDCCH CSS (Common Search Space) set. Thus, to be valid, the PRACH in the PRACH window is in a period or length of the PRACH window.)
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches the features defined in the claim 3, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou further teaches that wherein the determining the period and/or length of the PRACH window comprises: determining the period and/or length of the PRACH window according to a higher-layer parameter (Zhou, in Paragraphs [0100], teaches that since the length or the period of the PRACH window is determined by SCS (SubCarrier Spacing) for the type 1-PDCCH CSS (Common Search Space) set and SCS is a higher layer parameter (RRC parameter), the length of PRACH window is determined by higher layer parameter.)
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou further teaches that wherein the determining the PRACH burst comprises: determining that a PRACH in the PRACH burst is valid. (Zhou, in Paragraphs [0126]-[0128], teaches that In a paired spectrum (FDD) or SUL band, all PRACH occasions are valid. In an unpaired spectrum (TDD), the PRACH occasions may follow requirement 1 and requirement 2 below. The requirement 1 is that if tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon is not provided for the UE, the PRACH occasion is valid, when a PRACH occasion in a PRACH slot starts after at least N_gap symbols from the last SS/PBCH block reception symbol without preceding an SS/PBCH block in the PRACH slot. The requirement 2 is that if tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon is provided for the UE, the PRACH occasion in the PRACH slot is valid, when the PRACH occasion is in UL symbols or when the PRACH occasion starts after at least N_gap symbols from the last DL symbol and after at least N_gap symbols from the last SS/PBCH block symbol without preceding SS/PBCH block in PRACH slot. When satisfying this condition, the PRACH in the PRACH burst is valid.)
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the features defined in the claim 5, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou further teaches that wherein the determining that the PRACH in the PRACH burst is valid comprises: determining a period and/or duration of the PRACH burst (Zhou, in Paragraph [0085], teaches that the random access preamble (PRACH burst) is transmitted only in a time resource defined in random access configuration. The PRACH configuration index is given by a higher layer parameter prach-ConfigurationIndex or by msgA-PRACH-ConfigurationIndex. The PRACH configuration index are associated with at least one of preamble formats, x and y in f (frame number) mod x=y, subframe numbers, starting symbols, the numbers of PRACH slots in a subframe, the number of time domain PRACH occasions within PRACH slot, slot of time domain PRACH occasions in a PRACH slot, and PRACH duration (FIG. 3). Thus, when the valid condition mentioned in the above is satisfied, the PRACH burst (preamble) is configured and determined by the parameters (mentioned in the above) indicated by PRACH configuration index.)
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou further teaches that wherein the determining the period and/or duration of the PRACH burst comprises: determining the period and/or duration of the PRACH burst according to a higher-layer parameter (Zhou, in Paragraph [0085], teaches that the random access preamble (PRACH burst) is transmitted only in a time resource defined in random access configuration. The PRACH configuration index is given by a higher layer parameter prach-ConfigurationIndex or by msgA-PRACH-ConfigurationIndex. The PRACH configuration index are associated with at least one of preamble formats, x and y in f (frame number) mod x=y, subframe numbers, starting symbols, the numbers of PRACH slots in a subframe, the number of time domain PRACH occasions within PRACH slot, slot of time domain PRACH occasions in a PRACH slot, and PRACH duration (FIG. 3). Thus, when the valid condition mentioned in the above is satisfied, the PRACH burst (preamble) is configured and determined by the parameters (mentioned in the above) indicated by PRACH configuration index. Since the parameters mentioned are all the higher layer parameters such as RRC parameters, the period of PRACH burst (preamble) is determined by higher layer parameters.)
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches a random access method, applied to a terminal device and comprising: determining a configuration of a candidate cell (Zhou, in Paragraph [0179], teaches that a network initiates a random access (RA) procedure for a handover and/or for establishing time alignment for an SCell addition. During RA procedure, the UE requests uplink resource for uplink transmission of an SR, and/or acquires uplink timing when uplink synchronization status is non-synchronized. Further, UE requests one or more system information blocks (SIBs) such as SIB2, SIB3, etc. Thus, during handover, UE and/or Network initiates a RA procedure to request resource, timing information, and/or system information to configure a new cell.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the features defined in the claim 10, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou further teaches that wherein the configuration of the candidate cell comprises at least one of the following: a configuration of a physical random access channel (PRACH), (Zhou, in Paragraphs [0181]-[0182], teaches that as explained in the above, based on handover, UE or Network initiates RA procedure. For RA procedure in a new cell (target cell), the configuration message 1310 is transmitted, using one or more RRC messages to indicate one or more random access channel (RACH) parameters to the UE. It comprises general parameters for RA procedures (RACH-configGeneral), cell-specific parameters (RACH-ConfigCommon), and/or dedicated parameters (RACH-configDedicated). Further, the RACH parameters provided in the configuration message 1310 indicates one or more PRACH occasions available for transmission of the Msg 1 1311, such as set of PRACH occasions (prach-ConfigIndex), reference signals, preambles, SS/PBCH blocks mapped to a PRACH occasions. Thus, based on this information, PRACH is configure for RA procedure on the target cell.) a configuration of a random access response (RAR) search space, (Zhou, in Paragraph [0187], teaches that when initiating RA procedure on a candidate cell (target cell), the Msg 2 1312 including an RAR is received after or in response to the transmitting of the Msg 1 1311. The Msg 2 1312 is scheduled on the DL-SCH and indicated on a PDCCH using a random access RNTI (RA-RNTI). The Msg 2 1312 includes a time-alignment command that is used by the UE to adjust the UE's transmission timing, a scheduling grant for transmission of the Msg 3 1313, and/or a Temporary Cell RNTI (TC-RNTI). After transmitting a preamble, the UE may start a time window (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow) to monitor a PDCCH for the Msg 2 1312. The UE determines when to start the time window based on a PRACH occasion that the UE uses to transmit the preamble. The PDCCH is in a common search space (e.g., a Type 1-PDCCH common search space) configured by an RRC message. Thus, the common search space is considered as RAR search space based on PDCCH.) a configuration of an initial downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP), a configuration of an initial uplink bandwidth part (UL BWP), (Zhou, in Paragraph [0249], teaches that a base station configures a wireless device with
uplink (UL) bandwidth parts (BWPs) and downlink (DL) BWPs to enable bandwidth adaptation (BA) on a PCell. If carrier aggregation is configured, the base station further configures the wireless device with at least DL BWP(s) (i.e., there may be no ULBWPs in the UL) to enable BA on an SCell. For the PCell, an initial active BWP is the first BWP used for initial access. For the SCell, a first active BWP is a second BWP configured for the wireless device to operate on the SCell activated. In paired spectrum (e.g., FDD), a base station and/or a wireless device independently switches a DL BWP and an UL BWP. In unpaired spectrum (e.g., TDD), a base station and/or a wireless device simultaneously switch a DL BWP and an UL BWP. Further, in Paragraph [0250]-[0251], a base station and/or a wireless device switch a BWP between configured BWPs by means of a DCI or a BWP inactivity timer.) and a configuration of small data transmission (SDT) on the candidate cell (Zhou, in Paragraph [0299]-[0301], teaches that the
wireless device transmits a first message via uplink rando resources in a Non-RRC_CONNECTED state (RRC IDLE/INACTIVE state) during the CG (Configure Granted)-based SDT, where the first message comprises an RRC connection setup request (e.g., for the RRC connection setup procedure) and/or an RRC connection resume request (e.g., for the RRC connection resume procedure). Further, the first message comprises an SDT request message. In response to the first message, the wireless device monitors a PDCCH for a first DCI with one or more RNTIs, where one or more RNTIs such as C-RNTI, SDT-RNTI, P-RNTI are predefined and/or indicated by one or more RRC message for the PDCCH monitoring for the SDT and/or for a Non-RRC_CONNECTED wireless device. The first DCI comprises UL grant(s) that schedule new UL transmission(s), UL (re-)transmissions of the first message, and/or DL grant(s) that schedule new DL transmissions. Thus, the wireless device periodically transmits SDT transport blocks via the configured
uplink resources in non-RRC_CONNECTED state and monitors the PDCCH associated with the SDT configuration in response to the SDT transport blocks transmitted. Therefore, the configuration of SDT is comprised on the candidate cell, when initiating connection setup.)
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches the features defined in the claim 10, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou further teaches that wherein the determining the configuration of the candidate cell comprises: determining the configuration of the candidate cell according to a parameter on a serving cell (Zhou, in Paragraphs [0240], teaches that during an RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, a serving cell provides NAS mobility information, a security input, and/or configuration parameters of a plurality of SCell, depending on UE capabilities, where the serving cell denotes a PCell. Thus, the candidate cell during handover is configured, according to a parameter on serving cell.)
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches the features defined in the claim 11, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhou further teaches that wherein the configuration of the RAR search space comprises a control resource set (CORESET) associated with the RAR search space (Zhou, in Fig. 26 and 27 and in Paragraphs [0187] and [0240], teaches that in Paragraph [0187], RAR search space is configured based on PDCCH in a common search space such as a Type 1-PDCCH common search space configured by an RRC message. Thus, RAR search space is the PDCCH common search space. In Paragraph [0240], a pdcch- ConfigCommon IE comprises parameters of COESET#0 (controlResourceSetZero) which can be used in any common or UE-specific search spaces. A value of the controlResourceSetZero is interpreted like the corresponding bits in MIB pdcch-ConfigSIB1. A pdcch-ConfigCommon IE may comprise parameters of an additional common control resource set in common-ControlResourceSet which is configured and used for any common or UE-specific search space. If the network configures this field, it uses a ControlResourceSetld other than 0 for this ControlResourceSet. The network configures the commonControlResourceSet in SIB1 so that it is contained in the bandwidth of CORESET#0. A pdcch-ConfigCommon IE comprises parameters of a list of additional common search spaces in common-SearchSpaceList. Parameters of a search space may be implemented based on example of FIG. 27. A pdcch-ConfigCommon IE indicates, from a list of search spaces, a search space for paging (pagingSearchSpace ), a search space for random access procedure (ra-SearchSpace: RAR search space), a search space for SIB1 message (searchSpaceSIB1), a common search space#0 (searchSpaceZero), and one or more other search spaces. Thus, the configuration of the RAR search space comprises a control resource set (CORESET) associated with the RAR search space.).
Claims 14-15, 18-19, 21, 24, 28, 36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anil Agiwal et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20240373499 A1, hereinafter “Agiwal”).
Regarding claim 14, Agiwal teaches a random access method, applied to a terminal device and comprising: determining, according to a cell switch indication, to initiate random access on a candidate cell (Agiwal, in Table 1 and 2 and in Paragraphs [0067]-[0071] and [0085]-[0096], teaches that as described in Paragraphs [0067]-[0070], UE can be one of RRC state: RRC IDLE, RRC INACTIVE, and RRC CONNECTED. For each RRC state, UE monitors Short Message (can be considered as cell switch indication (the detail information can be found in Table 1&2)) transmitted with paging-radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) over DCI (paging PDCCH)). Based on this information, UE performs neighbor cell measurement and cell (re-)selection procedure. Then, in RRC IDLE state or RRC INACTIVE state, by acquiring system information and sending SI (System Information) request, UE initializes the random access (RA) procedure and in RRC CONNECTED state, by acquiring system information, UE initializes the RA procedure, as described in Paragraphs [0067]-[0070] and [0065]. Thus, according to the cell switch indication (Short Message), UE determines to initialize a RA procedure.)
Regarding claim 15, Agiwal teaches the features defined in the claim 14, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Agiwal further teaches that wherein the cell switch indication is carried by a paging physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); or wherein the cell switch indication is carried by a paging message; or wherein the cell switch indication is carried by a system information block (SIB) (Agiwal, in Table 1&2 and in Paragraphs [0068]-[0071] and [0085]-[0096], teaches that in RRC_IDLE state or in RRC_INACTIVE state, UE, to perform cell reselection and to initialize RA procedure, UE monitors the Short Message (Cell Switch Indication) transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI (paging PDCCH). Further, if paging message is transmitted using PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel), the PDCCH (DCI) is addressed to P-RNTI, to perform cell reselection. Thus, when paging message is received using PDSCH, the Short Message is received with P-RNTI over DCI. Further, as described in short message controls system information modification as shown in Table 2 and PDSCH carries system information. Further, in RRC_INACTIVE state or RRC_IDLE state, since UE receives a short message (controlling SIBs and SIB is carried by PDSCH (paging message)) transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI (paging PDCCH) to perform cell reselection. Thus, the cell switching indication is included in paging PDCCH, paging message, or SIB.)
Regarding claim 18, Agiwal teaches the features defined in the claim 14, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Agiwal further teaches that wherein the determining, according to the cell switch indication, to initiate random access on the candidate cell comprises: determining, by the terminal device according to the cell switch indication, to initiate random access on the candidate cell when determining that one of the following conditions is satisfied: detecting a wake-up signal (WUS), detecting a paging early indication (PEI), detecting a paging PDCCH, and detecting that a paging message contains an identifier of the terminal device (Agiwal, in Paragraph [0097] and in Fig. 10-17, teaches that a PO can be monitored by several UEs. If there is paging message (PDSCH) for a UE, several UEs receive the PDCCH (paging PDCCH) including DCI and Short message (cell switch indication) addressed to P-RNTI in the PO and they receive and decode PDSCH. This increases the UE's power consumption as UE has to wake up for receiving and decoding PDSCH even when there is no paging message for UE. UE also has to wake up earlier (early paging Indication: PEI) to acquire several SSB bursts to decode PDSCH for paging message. Note that UE can identify whether the paging is there for it or not by checking its UE ID in the paging message received in PDSCH. The examples are shown in Fig 10-17. Upon receiving this information, UE, as shown in the above, according to the cell switch indication, initialize RA procedure, based on cell reselection procedure.)
Regarding claim 19, Agiwal teaches the features defined in the claim 14, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Agiwal further teaches that wherein the detecting the WUS comprises: detecting a signal or channel corresponding to the WUS, or detecting an indication in a signal or channel corresponding to the WUS; or wherein the detecting the PEI comprises: detecting a signal or channel corresponding to the PEI, or detecting an indication in a signal or channel corresponding to the PEI (Agiwal, in Fig. 10-17 and in Paragraph [0454], teaches that as shown in Fig. 10-17 and in Paragraph [0454], UE receives wakeup signal (WUS) or early paging indication (PEI) configuration from gNB for paging monitoring. Configuration is received in system information or RRC signaling message. WUS or PEI precedes the PF (Paging Frame)/PO (Paging Occasion). WUS or PEI is a PDCCH addressed to pre-defined RNTI or an RNTI signaled by gNB for PEI. In this case, WUS monitoring occasions or PEI monitoring occasions are referred as PDCCH monitoring occasions for WUS or PEI.)
Regarding claim 21, Agiwal teaches the features defined in the claim 14, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Agiwal further teaches that after the determining, according to the cell switch indication, to initiate random access on the candidate cell, further comprising: initiating, by the terminal device, random access after a first delay, a second delay or a third delay, wherein the third delay is the larger one of the first delay and a second delay, or the third delay is a sum of the first delay and the second delay (Agiwal, in Table 1&2 and in Paragraphs [0068]-[0071], teaches that in RRC INACTIVE/IDLE state, UE monitors and receives Short Message (cell switch indication) transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI and performs cell reselection procedure, acquires system information (SI), and sends SI request. Further, UE wakes up at every DRX cycle for short period to receive paging, to receive SI update notification, and to receive emergency notification. Also, to receive SI update and emergency notification, UE monitors PO (paging occasion) in paging DRX cycle and monitors at least one PO in SI modification period. By receiving SI update notification, RA procedure is initiated by UE. Thus, to initiate RA procedure, the DRX cycles applied is considered as the first delay (hereinafter, call as DRX delay) and the SI modification periods applied is considered as the second delay (hereinafter, call as SI modification delay). Further, since, as described in Paragraph [0071], both DRX cycles and SI modification periods are applied to monitor PO, the third delay is considered as the delay (hereinafter, call as total delay) that is sum of both DRX cycles and SI modification periods applied to initiate RA procedure.)
Regarding claim 24, Agiwal teaches the features defined in the claim 21, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Agiwal further teaches that wherein a value of the first delay is predefined, a value of the first delay is indicated by a bit in a paging PDCCH, a value of the first delay is indicated by a field in a paging message, or a value of the first delay is indicated by a field in a SIB, or wherein a value of the second delay is predefined, a value if the second delay is indicated by a bit in a paging PDCCH, a value of the second delay is indicated by a field in a paging message, or a value of the second delay is indicated by a field in a SIB (Agiwal, in Paragraphs [0068]-[0071],[0074]-[0076], and [0081], teaches that as described in Paragraphs [0074]-[0076] and [0081], for the first delay, namely, the DRX delay, the default DRX cycle in RRC INACTIVE/IDLE state, is broadcasted by the system information such as SIB 1. Further, UE specific DRX cycle value is determined or configured by NAS or RRC. Further, as described in Paragraphs [0068]-[0071], by monitoring or receiving Short Message transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI in paging PDCCH or PDCCH with paging message in PDSCH, UE monitors POs in paging DRX cycle and the first delay is occurred. Similarly, for the second delay, namely, the SI modification delay, the SI modification period is indicated by Short Message transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI in paging PDCCH or PDCCH with paging message in PDSCH as shown Table 2 (based on SI modification indication, it is obtained from SIB1). By receiving this information, as described in Paragraphs [0071], UE monitors POs in SI modification period and the second delay occurred.)
Regarding claim 28, Agiwal teaches the features defined in the claim 24, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Agiwal further teaches that wherein the value of the first delay is greater than or equal to a minimum interval reported by the terminal device (Agiwal, in Paragraphs [0074]-[0076], teaches for the first delay, namely, DRX delay, the UE specific DRX cycle values are configured by RRC or NAS (Non-Access Stratum) and the default DRX cycle value is broadcasted in SIB. UE determine the shortest one among UE specific DRX cycle value and the default DRX cycle value and this shortest one becomes the DRX cycle of the UE and UE report this to the network (as described in TS124.301 V8.9.0, section 5.5.1.2.4). Thus, since the first delay value, namely, the DRX delay is composed by one or more cycles, the first delay is greater than or equal to a minimum interval (shortest DRX cycle for UE).).
Regarding claim 36, Agiwal teaches the features defined in the claim 28, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Agiwal further teaches that wherein the value of the second delay is greater than or equal to a switch time of the candidate cell (Agiwal, in Table 1&2 and in Paragraphs [0068]-[0071], teaches that in RRC INACTIVE/IDLE state, UE monitors and receives Short Message (cell switch indication) transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI in paging PDCCH or PDCCH with paging message in PDSCH. Based on this, UE performs neighboring cell measurements and cell reselection procedure. Further, UE acquires system information and sends SI request to switch a cell before initiating RA procedure in a target cell as described in Paragraph [0065] and [0068]-[0071]. For this, since UE monitors and receives POs during SI modification periods (in Paragraph [0071]), the second delay, namely, SI modification delay is greater than or equal to the cell switch time.).
Regarding claim 40, Agiwal teaches the features defined in the claim 14, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Agiwal further teaches that after the determining, according to the cell switch indication, to initiate random access on the candidate cell, further comprising: starting a first timer when receiving the cell switch indication; and determining to initiate random access on a serving cell when the first timer expires (Agiwal, in Fig. 18 and in Paragraphs [0690]-[0716], teaches that as describe in Paragraph [0690], in the scenario, the Timer T350 (the first timer) is running when receiving handover command (cell switch indication). UE needs to send SI request in target cell. For this, Fig. 18 shows the UE operation on on-Demand SI request in accordance. If the timer T350 is not running, UE start timer T350 with the timer value set to the onDemandSIB-RequestProhibitTimer (at step 1831), initiate transmission of the DedicatedSIBRequest message at step 1832, acquire the requested SI messages corresponding to the requested SIB at 1833. Then, at step 1840 and 1850, UE receives RRCReconfiguration message with reconfigurationWithSync IE in SpCellConfigof MCG. Further, if the reconfiguration message includes reconfigurationWithSync IE in SpCellConfig of MCG (namely, receiving handover command (cell switch indication)), UE stops T350 (at step 1861) and perform RA procedure toward the target SpCell of MCG (candidate cell) at step 1862. Thus, based on cell switch indication (handover command), the first timer (T350) is running and stopped to initiate RA procedure in the candidate cell (target cell).)
Conclusion
/JAEYOUNG KWAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472