DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 9/30/2024 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pappalardo (US 2014/0117044).
Regarding claim 1, Pappalardo discloses a mixer (14, [0052]) for mixing at least two materials (22a, 22b, [0053]), the mixer being configured to be connected to a cartridge (via 20 on 12), and the mixer comprising: a mixer housing (42); a mixing element (14) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end,, a longitudinal axis extending therebetween (ends of 14 in 42), first and second entry openings arranged at the first end and an outlet opening arranged at the second end (openings, 48, 50), the mixing element further being arranged at least partly within the mixer housing (14 within 42 and [0055]); an alignment element (56 and 38) configured to align the mixer at a predetermined angle relative to the cartridge; and a connection element (20) configured to connect the mixer to the cartridge by a form-fitting connection (via 16), and the connection element being a click connection or a snap lock connection ([0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Pappalardo discloses the connection element is arranged at the mixer housing (20 on 42, 52).
Regarding claim 3, Pappalardo discloses a release element configured to release the connection to detach the mixer from the cartridge (via 64, 66).
Regarding claim 4, Pappalardo discloses the release element is arranged at the mixer housing (see fig.1-2, fig.11-14).
Regarding claim 5, Pappalardo discloses the release element is a wing configured to be pressed against or pulled away from the connection element to release the connection element (see shape of 70, 16, 20).
Regarding claim 6, Pappalardo discloses release element is one of two release elements arranged opposite from one another that are configured to release the connection of the connection element (see fig.14).
Regarding claim 7, Pappalardo discloses the connection element is arranged at the release element (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 8, Pappalardo discloses the alignment element is arranged at the mixer housing (see 56 on 42).
Regarding claim 9, Pappalardo discloses the alignment element further comprises at least one alignment surface (see surface of 56).
Regarding claim 10, Pappalardo discloses a mixing and dispensing assembly (fig.1-26) for mixing and dispensing at least two materials ([0053]) comprising: a mixer (14) to mix the at least two elements and a cartridge (12), the mixer comprising a mixer housing (42), a mixing element having a first end and a second end opposite the first end, a longitudinal axis extending therebetween (ends of 14), first and second entry openings arranged at the first end and an outlet opening arranged at the second end (openings, 48, 50), the mixing element further being arranged at least partly within the mixer housing ([0055]), an alignment element (56) configured to align the mixer at a predetermined angle relative to the cartridge (via 38), and a connection element (16, 66) configured to connect the mixer to the cartridge by a form-fitting connection (see fig.1-2), the connection element is a click connection or a snap lock connection ([0052]).
Regarding claim 11, Pappalardo discloses the cartridge comprises a cartridge head having at least two outlet openings, with the cartridge head further being configured to be connected to the mixer at the predetermined angle (cartridge head having 36a, 36b).
Regarding claim 12, Pappalardo discloses the cartridge comprises connection elements complementary to the connection element and configured to engage with the connection element (via 40).
Regarding claim 13, Pappalardo discloses the cartridge further comprises an alignment portion configured to rest on the alignment element of the mixer (via 56 on 38).
Regarding claim 14, Pappalardo discloses the alignment portion comprises at least one alignment surface configured to align the cartridge with respect to the mixer by leaning against the alignment element of the mixer (see fig.1-2, shape of 56 and 38).
Regarding claim 15, Pappalardo discloses a click connection to detach the mixer from the cartridge (via 66 and 40).
Regarding claim 16, Pappalardo discloses the release element is arranged at an outer surface of the mixer housing (see location of 20).
Regarding claim 17, Pappalardo discloses the connection element is arranged at the release element at a surface facing the cartridge (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 18, Pappalardo discloses the alignment element is arranged at an outer surface of the mixer housing, between the two release elements (see fig.14).
Regarding claim 19, Pappalardo discloses the cartridge head comprises connection elements complementary to the connection element and configured to engage with the connection element (see fig.14, via plurality of 144 and 130).
Regarding claim 20, Pappalardo discloses the alignment portion comprises at least one alignment surface configured to align the cartridge with respect to the mixer by leaning against the at least one alignment surface of the alignment element of the mixer (see fig.1).
State of the Prior Arts
Regarding claims 1 and 10, the prior arts to Pappalardo (US 2014/0117044), Hauser (US 2008/0083782), Suchan (US 2006/0157508), Brown (US 2005/0035153), Pappalardo (US 10,641,423), Euro (DE 202006004738 U1), Greter (US 2011/0121035) and Bender (WO 2010117266 A1) as cited in PTO-892, either individually or in combination are disclosing/teaching significant pertinent structures or features to the applicant’s claimed invention with regard to a mixer for mixing at least two materials connected to a cartridge having a mixer housing; a mixing element with a first end and a second end opposite the first end, a longitudinal axis extending therebetween, first and second entry openings arranged at the first end and an outlet opening arranged at the second end, the mixing element further being arranged at least partly within the mixer housing; an alignment element to align the mixer at a predetermined angle relative to the cartridge; and a connection element to connect the mixer to the cartridge by a form-fitting connection, and the connection element being a click connection or a snap lock connection. It appears that claims 1 and 10 do not provide any inventive concept over the cited prior arts.
Conclusion
/BOB ZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754