DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species B, claims 1-15, 17-21, 30-32 in the reply filed on 9/2/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the amendment to claims 1 and 13 defines a contribution over the prior art and qualifies as a Special Technical Feature. This is persuasive and the restriction is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 355. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “anti-clogging mechanism” in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites the limitation “an anti-clogging mechanism.”. The term “mechanism” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which the nozzle is anti-clogged. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of anti-clogging. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “anti-clogging mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification fails to described a structure which is capable of anti-clogging.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 12-15, 17-21, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allaire (US 20190021372).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Allaire teaches an apparatus for freezing a substance (102, fluid, paragraph 0155) comprising: a frame (108); a freezing chamber (120) in fluid communication with a gas (gas, paragraph 0149); a removable freezing module (110) comprising at least one recess portion (164) and a bottom portion (118) in fluid communication with the freezing chamber (paragraph 0153); a controller (automatically controlled, paragraph 0198, 0200); a gas distribution assembly (170) in communication with the controller (paragraph 0198, 0200) and comprising an electronic valve (valve, paragraph 0012, 0198, 0200) for controlling a flow of the gas in the freezing chamber (paragraph 0012, 0198, 0200); a covering assembly movable (136a) along an axis substantially perpendicular to the removable freezing module (fig. 90); wherein the controller is programmed to control a flow of the gas in the freezing chamber by intermittently opening and closing the valve to optimize use of the gas (paragraph 0198, 0200, one of ordinary skill would recognize the controller described is capable of controlling the valve for gas use for the desired use).
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…is programmed to control a flow of the gas in the freezing chamber by intermittently opening and closing the valve to optimize use of the gas”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 2, Allaire teaches the covering assembly comprising a top portion (area including 448) covering a top portion of the removable freezing module (paragraph 0190).
Regarding claim 3, Allaire teaches the top portion comprising a thermic transfer assembly comprising protuberances (448) for increasing thermic transfer to the substance to be frozen (paragraph 0190).
Regarding claim 4, Allaire teaches thermic transfer assembly being removable from the top portion (understood the plate could be removable).
Regarding claim 12 and 13, Allaire teaches the freezing chamber being removable (unnumbered bolts provide for 108 being removable).
Regarding claim 14, Allaire teaches the removable freezing chamber further comprising a bottom portion (174) having an aperture (understood a hole would be formed in 108 to pass 174, fig. 29) to allow passage of the gas distribution assembly.
Regarding claim 15, Allaire teaches the removable freezing chamber further comprising a sealing member (176) for hermetically connecting with the gas distribution assembly.
Regarding claim 17, Allaire teaches gas distribution system assembly
comprising a nozzle (350) comprising a plurality of openings for letting gas flows in the removable freezing chamber, the openings being oriented to disperse gas through a plurality of distinct directions in the removable freezing chamber (paragraph 0176).
Regarding claim 18, Allaire teaches the nozzle being surrounded by a sealing member (fig. 57) to maintain the removable freezing chamber hermetic during operations.
Regarding claim 19, Allaire teaches the nozzle comprising an anti-clogging mechanism (maintenance and repair, paragraph 0176).
Regarding claim 20, Allaire teaches the openings of the nozzle having predetermined dimensions to prevent formation of dry ice (openings of 378).
Regarding claim 21, Allaire teaches all the limitations of claim 21 including a temperature sensor (sensor, paragraph 0012, 0198, 0200) within the gas freezing chamber, the temperature sensor being in communication with the controller (paragraph 0012, 0198, 0200): wherein the controller is being programmed to open or close the valve based on the readings of the temperature sensor and to optimize use of the flow of the gas (paragraph 0012, 0198, 0200). See rejection of claims 1 and 13.
Regarding claim 30, Allaire teaches all the limitations of claim 30 including a bottom portion at least partially covered by a flexible material (the removable mould or freezing module or the removal facilitating mold as called throughout, comprising the freezing cells, would preferably be made from a material supporting extremely cold temperatures or large temperature differences and being thermally conductive, paragraph 0009, one of ordinary skill would recognize a flexible material is capable of being thermally conductive and well known in the art of ice making).
Claim(s) 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allaire (US 20190021372) as applied to claim 30 and in further view of Cran et al (US 20210381738).
Regarding claim 31, Allaire teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the flexible material being silicone.
However, Cran teaches the flexible material being silicone (silicone, paragraph 0052) to provide an efficient ice maker.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the freezing module of Allaire to include the flexible material being silicone in view of the teachings of Cran to provide an efficient ice maker.
Regarding claim 32, the combined teachings teach the flexible material covering all of the bottom portion of the recess portion (6 of Cran).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 5, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Allaire (US 20190021372). The prior art of record teaches a cover assembly in contrast to the claimed features of the covering assembly comprising a vertical expansion and retraction assembly for upwardly and downwardly moving the top portion.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763