DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, it reads as indefinite and unclear due to the remote device serving as the receiving terminal. The previous limitations in the claim disclose a relay device receiving auxiliary information from the remote device and sending it to the network device. However, the "wherein" statement discloses that the auxiliary information is expected by the remote device. The examiner is unclear how the remote device is not serving as the transmitting terminal if it transmitted auxiliary information to the relay device.
Regarding claim 14, it is indefinite due to the relay device seemingly transmitting data to itself. The examiner has interpreted this claim to mean multiple relay devices forwarding information through each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9-10, 12, 14-15, 18-19, 21, 23-24, 27, 29, 45 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng, Peng et al. (US 20230328840 A1, hereinafter referred to as Cheng).
Regarding claim 1, it appears to recite alternative limitations. Accordingly, only one of the recited alternatives needs be taught or suggested by the prior art. Cheng teaches:
a method for configuring discontinuous reception of a direct communication interface in a relay scenario, comprising: a remote terminal receiving a first end-to-end Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling sent by a network device, wherein the first end-to-end RRC signaling carries at least one of the following (Cheng discloses a base station transmitting an RRC message to remote devices . See paragraph [0161]);
second DRX configuration information, wherein the second DRX configuration information is configured to configure a DRX used on the direct communication interface when the remote terminal serves as a receiving terminal (Cheng discloses a DRX configuration associated with a UE-specific configuration for downlink transmission. The examiner interprets this to be when the remote device functions as a receiving terminal, receiving data in the downlink direction from the base station. See paragraphs [0025] and [0143]);
wherein the remote terminal accesses the network device through a relay terminal, and the direct communication interface is a direct communication interface between the remote terminal and the relay terminal (Cheng discloses that the remote device access the base station through a relay device. See paragraph [0193]).
Regarding claim 2, it appears to recite alternative limitations. Accordingly, only one of the recited alternatives needs be taught or suggested by the prior art. Cheng teaches before the remote terminal receiving the first end-to-end radio resource control RRC signaling sent by the network device, the method further comprises: remote terminal sending auxiliary information to the network device through a third end-to-end RRC signaling between the remote terminal and the network device; wherein the auxiliary information is direct communication interface DRX configuration information expected by the remote terminal when the remote terminal serves as the receiving terminal (Cheng discloses a remote device sending DRX information before the RRC message is sent to the remote device. This information is used by the network device to create the RRC message. See paragraphs [0153-0154]).
Regarding claim 4, it appears to recite alternative limitations. Accordingly, only one of the recited alternatives needs be taught or suggested by the prior art. Cheng teaches wherein the first DRX configuration information comprises a DRX configuration for data transmission of the direct communication interface between the remote terminal and the relay terminal in an uplink transmission direction (Cheng discloses that the configuration can indicate the role of device by denoting if it is transmitting an uplink signal. See paragraph [0193]).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng teaches wherein after the remote terminal receiving the first end-to-end radio resource control RRC signaling sent by the network device, the method further comprises: when the remote terminal is a transmitting terminal and the first end-to-end RRC signaling carries the first DRX configuration information, the remote terminal sending the first DRX configuration information to the relay terminal via a PC5 interface RRC signaling (Cheng discloses a UE sending information via relay device through a PC5 interface. See paragraph [0130-0131] and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, it appears to recite alternative limitations. Accordingly, only one of the recited alternatives needs be taught or suggested by the prior art. Cheng teaches the auxiliary information comprises one or more pieces of configuration information, and the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a length of onDuration Timer; a discontinuous reception or transmission cycle; a discontinuous reception or transmission offset; an inactivity timer length; a HARQ round trip time timer length; a HARQ retransmission timer length (Cheng discloses that the DRX information can include the DRX cycle and a DRX active duration, which the examiner interprets as the onDuration length. See Abstract and paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 9, it appears to recite alternative limitations. Accordingly, only one of the recited alternatives needs be taught or suggested by the prior art. Cheng teaches a method for configuring discontinuous reception of a direct communication interface in a relay scenario, comprising: a relay terminal receiving a fourth end-to-end RRC signaling sent by a network device, wherein the fourth end-to-end RRC signaling carries at least one of the following: third DRX configuration information, wherein the third DRX configuration information is configured to configure a DRX used on a direct communication interface when the relay terminal serves as a transmitting terminal; wherein the relay terminal is a relay terminal used when a remote terminal accesses the network device, and the direct communication interface is a direct communication interface between the remote terminal and the relay terminal (Cheng discloses relay device 115-e receiving an RRC message from the network node after the network has determined the DRX configuration, which is on the RRC message. See paragraph [0141] and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, it appears to recite alternative limitations. Accordingly, only one of the recited alternatives needs be taught or suggested by the prior art. Cheng teaches before the relay terminal receiving the fourth end-to-end RRC signaling sent by the network device, the method further comprises: the relay terminal sending the auxiliary information to the network device through a sixth end-to-end RRC signaling between the relay terminal and the network device;
wherein the auxiliary information is direct communication interface DRX configuration information expected by the relay terminal when the relay terminal serves as the receiving terminal (Cheng discloses send auxiliary information about the DRX configuration to the network device/base station before the base station transmits the RRC signaling. See Figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, it appears to recite alternative limitations. Accordingly, only one of the recited alternatives needs be taught or suggested by the prior art. Cheng teaches the fourth DRX configuration information comprises a DRX configuration of the direct communication interface between the remote terminal and the relay terminal for data transmission in an uplink transmission direction (Cheng discloses a DRX configuration can include an indication of the relay devices role for uplink transmissions. See paragraph [0193]).
Regarding claim 14, Cheng teaches wherein after the relay terminal receiving the fourth end-to-end RRC signaling sent by the network device, the method further comprises: the relay terminal sending the third DRX configuration information to the relay terminal through a PC5 interface RRC signaling (Cheng discloses sending DRX configuration information using PC5 interface RRC signaling. See paragraphs [0017], [0130], [0193] and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claims 1 and 9.
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 2.
Regarding claim 21, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 10.
Regarding claim 23, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 4.
Regarding claim 24, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claims 4 and 12.
Regarding claim 27, it is rejected for the same reasons outlined in claim 7.
Regarding claim 29, Cheng teaches a remote terminal, comprising: a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store program instructions; the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under a control of the processor; the processor is configured to read program instructions in the memory; and the transceiver is configured to perform the method for configuring discontinuous reception of a direct communication interface in a relay scenario according to claim 1 (Cheng discloses a UE with a transceiver, processor and memory working together to execute the process of claim 1. See paragraphs [0032] and [0206]).
Regarding claim 45, Cheng teaches a relay terminal, comprising: a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store program instructions; the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under a control of the processor; the processor is configured to read program instructions in the memory; and the transceiver is configured to perform the method for configuring discontinuous reception of a direct communication interface in a relay scenario according to claim 9 (Cheng discloses a UE with a transceiver, processor and memory working together to execute the process of claim 9. See paragraphs [0006] and [0206]).
Regarding claim 63, Cheng teaches a network device, comprising: a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store program instructions; the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under a control of the processor; the processor is configured to read program instructions in the memory; and the transceiver is configured to perform method for configuring discontinuous reception of a direct communication interface in a relay scenario according to claim 18 (Cheng discloses a base station with a transceiver, processor and memory working together to do the process of claim 18. See paragraphs [0062] and [0091]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Miao, Zhaobang et al. (US 12250637 B2, hereinafter referred to as Miao).
Regarding claim 17, it appears to recite alternative limitations. Accordingly, only one of the recited alternatives needs be taught or suggested by the prior art. Cheng teaches all aspects of the claimed invention except wherein before the relay terminal receiving the fourth end-to-end RRC signaling sent by the network device, the method further comprises: the relay terminal forwarding system information based on fifth DRX configuration information, wherein the fifth DRX configuration information is pre-configured.
In the same field of endeavor, Miao discloses a preconfigured DRX configuration that is then transmitted through a sidelink interface. See paragraph [0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Cheng to incorporate a preconfiguration of the DRX. The motivation to combine is to communicate with a plurality of UE devices more efficiently.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mochizuki, Mitsuru et al. (US 20230292391 A1, COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND COMMUNICATION TERMINAL)
Park, Giwon et al. (US 12701630 B2, METHOD FOR OPERATING SL DRX IN CONSIDERATION OF MODE 1 OPERATION OF TRANSMISSION TERMINAL IN NR V2X)
/C.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464