DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, 16-18, 21-24 and 35 are presented for examination.
Claims 2, 3, 6, 13, 14, 16, 18, 21, 23, 24 and 35 are amended.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 15, 19, 20, 25-34 and 36-70 are canceled.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) CN202210351079.7 submitted on April 2nd, 2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on October 1st, 2024 and May 17th, 2026 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment to the specification of the disclosure filed October 1st, 2024 is considered.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., “DATA TRANSMISSION USING FREQUENCY DOMAIN CONFIGURATION INFORMATION”).
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains a legal phraseology “means …” in line 7. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 9-11, 14, 16, 18, 21-24 and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “and/or” in line 5. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to use words (i.e., and, or, etc.) without the slash “/”.
Claim(s) 4, 6, 9-11, 14, 16, 18 and 21-23 recite a similar limitation.
Claim 24 recites a machine claim, “A network device …”, and the list of devices (i.e., a memory, a transceiver, a processor, and a computer program). The body of the claim recites the action steps: “determining …, performing … etc.” performed by the network device.
For clarity and placing the claim into a proper machine claim, it is suggested to replace “A network device …” with “A network device comprising:” so that the aforementioned list of devices, are comprised by the network device, which are performing these actions/steps (see MPEP 2106.03, section I1 ; MPEP 2173.05(p), section II2).
Claim 35 recites a similar limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-14, 16, 22-24 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 2023/0023928 A1) hereinafter “Wang” in view of TANG (US 2020/0214027 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 24,
Wang discloses a network device [see fig. 8, pg. 16, ¶274 lines 1-10, a communication apparatus or network device], comprising a memory [see fig. 8, pg. 16, ¶274 lines 1-10, a memory], a transceiver [see fig. 8, pg. 16, ¶274 lines 1-10, a communication unit], and a processor [see fig. 8, pg. 16, ¶274 lines 1-10, a processing unit];
the memory is configured for storing a computer program [see fig. 8, pg. 16, ¶274 lines 1-10, the memory storing program code];
the transceiver is configured for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor [see fig. 8, pg. 16, ¶274 lines 1-10, the communication unit is configured to receive assistance information of a terminal device];
the processor is configured for reading the computer program in the memory and performing the following operations [see fig. 8, pg. 16, ¶274 lines 1-10, the program code invoked by the processing unit of the network device to perform]:
determining a transmission frequency domain for the network device based on frequency domain configuration information [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set]; and
performing a transmission operation in the transmission frequency domain [see fig. 5: Step “506”, pg. 15, ¶233 lines 1-3, the network device sends the first message to the terminal device based on the target frequency domain information].
Although Wang discloses performing a transmission operation in the transmission frequency domain, Wang does not explicitly teach “the transmission operation comprises one or more of the following: data transmission; information transmission; or signal transmission”.
However Tang discloses determining a transmission frequency domain for the network device based on frequency domain configuration information [see fig. 3: Step(s) “310”/ ”320”, pg. 9, ¶109 lines 1-11; ¶110 lines 1-3, the network device determines, according to the transmission information of the terminal device and the first mapping relationship, at least one transmission frequency band corresponding to the transmission information, wherein the first mapping relationship includes a correspondence between a plurality of pieces of transmission information and a plurality of transmission frequency bands]; and
performing a transmission operation in the transmission frequency domain [see fig. 3: Step(s) “310”/ “320”, pg. 9, ¶113 lines 1-14, the network device determines, according to the transmission information of the terminal device and the first mapping relationship, at least one transmission frequency band corresponding to the transmission information, and in the at least one transmission frequency band, configures a target transmission frequency band for data transmission with the terminal device], wherein the transmission operation [see fig. 3: Step(s) “310”/ “320”, pg. 9, ¶113 lines 1-14, determining, the at least one transmission frequency band corresponding to the transmission information] comprises the following:
data transmission [see fig. 3: Step(s) “330”/ “340”, pg. 9, ¶111 lines 1-2; ¶112 lines 1-3; ¶114 lines 1-13, the network device performs the data transmission with the terminal device on the target transmission frequency band].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the transmission operation comprises one or more of the following: data transmission; information transmission; or signal transmission” as taught by Tang in the system of Wang for delivering a method, which can effectively indicate a transmission frequency band used for data transmission, without producing a large signaling overhead [see Tang, pg. 1, ¶3 lines 1-5].
Regarding Claim 2,
The combined system of Wang and Tang discloses the method of claim 1 [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method of interaction between a network device and a terminal device].
Wang further discloses wherein after determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set], the method [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method] further comprises:
transmitting first information based on a first mode [see fig. 5: Step “506”, pg. 15, ¶233 lines 1-3, the network device sends the first message to the terminal device based on the target frequency domain information], wherein the first information is configured for indicating the transmission frequency domain [see fig. 5: Step “506”, pg. 15, ¶237 lines 1-15, the terminal device receives the first message in the frequency domain resource or the frequency domain location indicated by the target frequency domain information]; and
the first mode [see fig. 5: Step “506”, pg. 15, ¶237 lines 1-15, the terminal device receives the first message on the target frequency domain information] comprises the following:
static or semi-static signaling transmission [see fig. 5: Step “506”, pg. 15, ¶237 lines 1-15, based on the transmission configuration associated with the assistance information of the terminal device].
Regarding Claim 3,
The combined system of Wang and Tang discloses the method of claim 1 [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method of interaction between a network device and a terminal device].
Wang further discloses wherein determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the frequency domain configuration information [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, determining the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set] comprises:
determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on frequency domain configuration information on a network device side [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set].
Regarding Claim 4,
The combined system of Wang and Tang discloses the method of claim 3 [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method of interaction between a network device and a terminal device].
Wang further discloses wherein determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the frequency domain configuration information on the network device side [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set] comprises:
determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on a first frequency domain [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information];
the first frequency domain is a frequency domain indicated in the frequency domain configuration information on the network device side [see fig. 5: Step “503”, pg. 15, ¶226 lines 1-4, the terminal device sends the fourth message to the network device, where the fourth message includes the assistance information of the terminal device].
Regarding Claim 10,
Wang discloses the method of claim 9 [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method of interaction between a network device and a terminal device].
Wang does not explicitly teach determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the fourth frequency domain and/or the fifth frequency domain comprises: “determining a bandwidth of the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on a sum of bandwidths of the fourth frequency domain and the fifth frequency domain”.
However Tang discloses determining a bandwidth of the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on a sum of bandwidths of the fourth frequency domain and the fifth frequency domain [see pg. 7, ¶90 lines 1-8, it is assumed that the system bandwidth includes 8 BWPs, the first control information is DCI, and the transmission information is DCI Size. The first control information includes a preset bit, and the value of the bit is used to indicate the frequency band information of the target transmission frequency band in which the terminal device will perform the data transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “determining a bandwidth of the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on a sum of bandwidths of the fourth frequency domain and the fifth frequency domain” as taught by Tang in the system of Wang for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11,
The combined system of Wang and Tang discloses the method of claim 3 [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method of interaction between a network device and a terminal device].
Wang further discloses wherein determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the frequency domain configuration information on the network device side [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set] comprises:
determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the frequency domain configuration information on the network device side [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set], as well as a first parameter used for characterizing a load of the network device [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, and the configuration information set];
the first parameter [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the configuration information set] comprises the following:
a size of the load [see pg. 14, ¶223 lines 1-18, the configuration information set is explicitly associated with a quantity of repeated transmission times].
Regarding Claims 12 and 35,
Wang discloses a terminal [see fig. 9, pg. 17, ¶287 lines 1-10, a communication apparatus or terminal device], comprising a memory [see fig. 9, pg. 17, ¶287 lines 1-10, a memory], a transceiver [see fig. 9, pg. 17, ¶287 lines 1-10, a communication unit], and a processor [see fig. 9, pg. 17, ¶287 lines 1-10, a processing unit];
the memory is configured for storing a computer program [see fig. 9, pg. 17, ¶287 lines 1-10, the memory storing program code];
the transceiver is configured for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor [see fig. 9, pg. 17, ¶287 lines 1-10, the communication unit is configured to receive assistance information of a terminal device];
the processor is configured for reading the computer program in the memory and performing the following operations [see fig. 9, pg. 17, ¶287 lines 1-10, the program code invoked by the processing unit of the network device to perform]:
determining a transmission frequency domain for a network device [see fig. 5: Step “502”, pg. 14, ¶221 lines 1-3, the terminal device determines target frequency information based on the configuration information set and the assistance information]; and
performing a transmission operation between the terminal and the network device in the transmission frequency domain [see fig. 5: Step “503”, pg. 15, ¶226 lines 1-4, the terminal device sends the fourth message to the network device, where the fourth message includes the assistance information of the terminal device].
Although Wang discloses performing a transmission operation between the terminal and the network device in the transmission frequency domain, Wang does not explicitly teach “the transmission operation comprises one or more of the following: data transmission; information transmission; or signal transmission”.
However Tang discloses determining a transmission frequency domain for a network device [see fig. 2: Step(s) “220”/ “230”, pg. 3, ¶52 lines 1-4, the terminal device determines at least one transmission frequency band corresponding to transmission information according to the transmission information of the terminal device and a first mapping relationship]; and
performing a transmission operation between the terminal and the network device in the transmission frequency domain [see fig. 2: Step(s) “230”/ “240”, pg. 4, ¶65 lines 1-3, the terminal device determines a target transmission frequency band for the data transmission from the at least one transmission frequency band], wherein the transmission operation [see fig. 2: Step(s) “220”/ “230”, pg. 3, ¶52 lines 1-4, determining, the at least one transmission frequency band corresponding to transmission information] comprises the following:
data transmission [see fig. 2: Step(s) “230”/ “240”, pg. 5, ¶71 lines 1-4, the terminal device performs the data transmission with the network device on the target transmission frequency band according to the first control information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the transmission operation comprises one or more of the following: data transmission; information transmission; or signal transmission” as taught by Tang in the system of Wang for delivering a method, which can effectively indicate a transmission frequency band used for data transmission, without producing a large signaling overhead [see Tang, pg. 1, ¶3 lines 1-5].
Regarding Claim 13,
The combined system of Wang and Tang discloses the method of claim 12 [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method of interaction between a network device and a terminal device].
Wang further discloses wherein determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set], the method [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method] comprises:
receiving first information transmitted from the network device based on a first mode [see fig. 5: Step “506”, pg. 15, ¶233 lines 1-3, the network device sends the first message to the terminal device based on the target frequency domain information], wherein the first information is configured for indicating the transmission frequency domain for the network device [see fig. 5: Step “506”, pg. 15, ¶237 lines 1-15, the terminal device receives the first message in the frequency domain resource or the frequency domain location indicated by the target frequency domain information]; and
determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the first information [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set];
the first mode [see fig. 5: Step “506”, pg. 15, ¶237 lines 1-15, the terminal device receives the first message on the target frequency domain information] comprises the following:
static or semi-static signaling transmission [see fig. 5: Step “506”, pg. 15, ¶237 lines 1-15, based on the transmission configuration associated with the assistance information of the terminal device].
Regarding Claim 14,
The combined system of Wang and Tang discloses the method of claim 12 [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method of interaction between a network device and a terminal device].
Wang further discloses wherein determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, determining the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set] comprises:
determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on frequency domain configuration information [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, determining the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set];
wherein determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the frequency domain configuration information [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, determining the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set] comprises:
determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the frequency domain configuration information on the network device side and/or the frequency domain configuration information on a terminal side [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set].
Regarding Claim 16,
The combined system of Wang and Tang discloses the method of claim 14 [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method of interaction between a network device and a terminal device].
Wang further discloses wherein determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the frequency domain configuration information on the network device side and/or the frequency domain configuration information on the terminal side [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set] comprises:
determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on a first frequency domain [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information];
the first frequency domain is a frequency domain indicated in the frequency domain configuration information on the network device side and/or the frequency domain configuration information on the terminal side [see fig. 5: Step “503”, pg. 15, ¶226 lines 1-4, the terminal device sends the fourth message to the network device, where the fourth message includes the assistance information of the terminal device].
Regarding Claim 22,
Wang discloses the method of claim 21 [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method of interaction between a network device and a terminal device].
Wang does not explicitly teach determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the fourth frequency domain and/or the fifth frequency domain comprises: “determining a bandwidth of the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on a sum of bandwidths of the fourth frequency domain and the fifth frequency domain”.
However Tang discloses determining a bandwidth of the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on a sum of bandwidths of the fourth frequency domain and the fifth frequency domain [see pg. 7, ¶90 lines 1-8, it is assumed that the system bandwidth includes 8 BWPs, the first control information is DCI, and the transmission information is DCI Size. The first control information includes a preset bit, and the value of the bit is used to indicate the frequency band information of the target transmission frequency band in which the terminal device will perform the data transmission].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “determining a bandwidth of the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on a sum of bandwidths of the fourth frequency domain and the fifth frequency domain” as taught by Tang in the system of Wang for the same motivation as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding Claim 23,
The combined system of Wang and Tang discloses the method of claim 14 [see fig. 5, pg. 14, ¶217 lines 1-6, the method of interaction between a network device and a terminal device].
Wang further discloses wherein determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the frequency domain configuration information on the network device side and/or the frequency domain configuration information on the terminal side [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set] comprises:
determining the transmission frequency domain for the network device based on the frequency domain configuration information on the network device side and/or the frequency domain configuration information on the terminal side [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the network device determines the target frequency domain information based on the assistance information in the second message and the configuration information set], as well as a first parameter used for characterizing a load of the network device [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, and the configuration information set];
the first parameter [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 15, ¶231 lines 1-4, the configuration information set] comprises the following:
a size of the load [see pg. 14, ¶223 lines 1-18, the configuration information set is explicitly associated with a quantity of repeated transmission times].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 9, 17, 18 and 21 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: CHEN (US 2021/0068085 A1); see fig(s). 3 and 4, pgs. 6-9, ¶116-¶161.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469
1 A machine is a "concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices." Digitech, 758 F.3d at 1348-49, 111 USPQ2d at 1719 (quoting Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S. 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650, 657 (1863)). This category "includes every mechanical device or combination of mechanical powers and devices to perform some function and produce a certain effect or result." Nuijten, 500 F.3d at 1355, 84 USPQ2d at 1501 (quoting Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. 252, 267, 14 L. Ed. 683, 690 (1854)).
2 IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005)