DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 10, 12, 14, 15, 24, 30, are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1:it recites source L2 identity, destination L2 identity. Examiner recommends applicant to recite source Layer2 identity, destination Layer 2 identity.
Regarding claim 7: it recites PC5-RRC, Examiner recommends applicant to recite Physical Cell Identity 5-Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC).
Regarding claim 10: it recites source L2 identity, destination L2 identity. Examiner recommends applicant to recite source Layer2 identity, destination Layer 2 identity.
Regarding claim 12: it recites PC5-RRC, Examiner recommends applicant to recite Physical Cell Identity 5-Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC).
Regarding claim 14: it recites PC5-RRC, Examiner recommends applicant to recite Physical Cell Identity 5-Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC).
Regarding claim 15: it recites PC5-RRC, Examiner recommends applicant to recite Physical Cell Identity 5-Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC).
Regarding claim 24: it recites source L2 identity, destination L2 identity. Examiner recommends applicant to recite source Layer2 identity, destination Layer 2 identity.
Regarding claim 30: it recites PC5-RRC, Examiner recommends applicant to recite Physical Cell Identity 5-Radio Resource Control (PC5-RRC).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Observation 1: Claim 5 recites in the first limitation two terms “receiving second indication information sent by at least one of the first remote user terminal or the second remote user terminal, and determining the mapping relationship between the first identification and the second identification according to the second indication information” or “determining the mapping relationship between the first identification and the second identification according to the first identification and a currently available second identification of the relay user terminal”. It is only required by the examiner to reject one term. Furthermore, the applicant introduces more details to the second term in the same claim, examiner is not required to reject second limitation as it is attached on the second term in the first limitation.
Observation 2: Claims 8, and 16 are method claims introducing contingent limitations with terms “in a condition”. Examiner is not required to present evidence of the obviousness because the condition might not be met. Examiner is not required to reject these claims under BRI. See EMPEP 2111.04- II CONTIGENT LIMITATIONs “Therefore "[t]he Examiner did not need to present evidence of the obviousness of the [ ] method steps of claim 1 that are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-12, 14, 16-17, 24, 28, 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (“Wang”, US 20230073469 A1) hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an information processing method, applied to a relay user terminal (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, UE1 is first remote user terminal, UE2 is relay user terminal, base station is second remote user terminal)([abstract, 0056-0065] The relay UE receives a data packet from a source communication device through a first bearer between the source communication device and the relay UE, where the data packet is mapped to the first bearer by the source communication device. The relay UE maps the data packet to a second bearer between the relay UE and a target communication device and transmits the data packet to the target communication device) (Fig. 15, UE1 is first user terminal, UE 3 is second user terminal, L2 UE to UE relay is the relay user terminal), wherein the information processing method comprises:
acquiring a first identification used by a first remote user terminal and a second remote user terminal at a direct communication interface ([0064-0066] That the relay UE maps the data packet to the second bearer between the relay UE and the target communication device and transmits the data packet to the target communication device may be specifically that the relay UE identifies the Uu bearer of the remote UE to which the data packet belongs, maps the data packet to the relay bearer between the relay UE and the base station, and transmits the data packet to the base station.)([0007] A relay UE receives a data packet from a source UE through a PC5 radio link control (RLC) bearer between the source UE and the relay UE, where the data packet is mapped by the source UE to the PC5 RLC bearer; and the relay UE parses the data packet, identifies the target UE corresponding to the data packet, maps the data packet to the relay backhaul bearer between the relay UE and the target UE, and sends the data packet to the target UE)([0059] data of the remote UE on an air interface is transmitted to the base station through the PC5 interface SLRB between the remote UE and the relay UE and the relay forwarding bearer between the relay UE and the base station and then transmitted to a 5G core (5GC) network through the PDU session of the remote UE.)([0054-0060] Fig. 2, Either the source communication device comprises a remote UE and the target communication device comprises a base station or the source communication device comprises a base station and the target communication device comprises a remote UE), wherein the first remote user terminal and the second remote user terminal are in end-to-end communication connection through the relay user terminal (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, UE1 is first remote user terminal, UE2 is relay user terminal, base station is second remote user terminal)([abstract, 0056-0065] The relay UE receives a data packet from a source communication device through a first bearer between the source communication device and the relay UE, where the data packet is mapped to the first bearer by the source communication device. The relay UE maps the data packet to a second bearer between the relay UE and a target communication device and transmits the data packet to the target communication device)([0010-0011] the data packet identifies the source and the destination, identifies the remote UE/source and identifies the base station/target);
determining a mapping relationship between the first identification and a second identification ([0064-0066] That the relay UE maps the data packet to the second bearer between the relay UE and the target communication device and transmits the data packet to the target communication device may be specifically that the relay UE identifies the Uu bearer of the remote UE to which the data packet belongs, maps the data packet to the relay bearer between the relay UE and the base station, and transmits the data packet to the base station.)([0007] A relay UE receives a data packet from a source UE through a PC5 radio link control (RLC) bearer between the source UE and the relay UE, where the data packet is mapped by the source UE to the PC5 RLC bearer; and the relay UE parses the data packet, identifies the target UE corresponding to the data packet, maps the data packet to the relay backhaul bearer between the relay UE and the target UE, and sends the data packet to the target UE); and
sending the mapping relationship to at least one of the first remote user terminal or the second remote user terminal ([0081] The relay UE receives and parses the data packet sent by the remote UE, and identifies that the data packet is a data packet that needs to be forwarded to the base station through the PC5 RLC bearer/LCID dedicated to forwarding data and exchanging with the remote UE or the relay forwarding indication in the adaptation layer packet header. The relay UE may identify the remote UE Uu SRB/DRB to which the data packet belongs according to either a one-to-one mapping relationship between the Uu SRB/DRB of the remote UE and the PC5 RLC bearer or the Uu bearer identifier or the Uu bearer index of the remote UE contained in the adaptation layer);
wherein the first identification comprises a source L2 identity and a destination L2 identity used by the direct communication interface ([0061-0062][0095-0098] Layer 2 identifier)([0122-0125] UE layer 2 identifier), or the first identification comprises the source L2identity, the destination L2 identity and a transmission type, and
a number of bits of the second identification is less than that of the first identification ([0055-0056] first bearer and second bearer, each has different bits)([0063] The data packet is mapped by the remote UE from a Uu bearer to a PC5 RLC bearer between the remote UE and the relay UE based on a configured mapping relationship to transmit to the relay UE){Uu bearer has 16 bits, PC5 bearer has 8 bits}.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the information processing method according to claim 1,
Wang teaches wherein the acquiring the first identification used by the first remote user terminal and the second remote user terminal at the direct communication interface comprises: receiving the first identification sent by at least one of the first remote user terminal or the second remote user terminal ([0064-0066] That the relay UE maps the data packet to the second bearer between the relay UE and the target communication device and transmits the data packet to the target communication device may be specifically that the relay UE identifies the Uu bearer of the remote UE to which the data packet belongs, maps the data packet to the relay bearer between the relay UE and the base station, and transmits the data packet to the base station.)([0007] A relay UE receives a data packet from a source UE through a PC5 radio link control (RLC) bearer between the source UE and the relay UE, where the data packet is mapped by the source UE to the PC5 RLC bearer; and the relay UE parses the data packet, identifies the target UE corresponding to the data packet, maps the data packet to the relay backhaul bearer between the relay UE and the target UE, and sends the data packet to the target UE)([0059] data of the remote UE on an air interface is transmitted to the base station through the PC5 interface SLRB between the remote UE and the relay UE and the relay forwarding bearer between the relay UE and the base station and then transmitted to a 5G core (5GC) network through the PDU session of the remote UE.)([0054-0060] Fig. 2, Either the source communication device comprises a remote UE and the target communication device comprises a base station or the source communication device comprises a base station and the target communication device comprises a remote UE),
or acquiring, by a lower layer of the relay user terminal, the first identification from an upper layer of the relay user terminal.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the information processing method according to claim 1,
Wang teaches wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the first identification and the second identification comprises: receiving second indication information sent by at least one of the first remote user terminal or the second remote user terminal, and determining the mapping relationship between the first identification and the second identification according to the second indication information ([0064-0066] That the relay UE maps the data packet to the second bearer between the relay UE and the target communication device and transmits the data packet to the target communication device may be specifically that the relay UE identifies the Uu bearer of the remote UE to which the data packet belongs, maps the data packet to the relay bearer between the relay UE and the base station, and transmits the data packet to the base station.)([0007] A relay UE receives a data packet from a source UE through a PC5 radio link control (RLC) bearer between the source UE and the relay UE, where the data packet is mapped by the source UE to the PC5 RLC bearer; and the relay UE parses the data packet, identifies the target UE corresponding to the data packet, maps the data packet to the relay backhaul bearer between the relay UE and the target UE, and sends the data packet to the target UE)([0059] data of the remote UE on an air interface is transmitted to the base station through the PC5 interface SLRB between the remote UE and the relay UE and the relay forwarding bearer between the relay UE and the base station and then transmitted to a 5G core (5GC) network through the PDU session of the remote UE.)([0054-0060] Fig. 2, Either the source communication device comprises a remote UE and the target communication device comprises a base station or the source communication device comprises a base station and the target communication device comprises a remote UE)([0102-0108] the relay UE receives relay communication configuration information sent by the base station and performs data transmission based on the relay communication configuration information n, the relay communication configuration information includes at least one of the following: relay Uu BH bearer configuration, PC5 RLC bearer configuration, or a bearer mapping relationship)(Fig. 15, UE1 is first user terminal, UE 3 is second user terminal, L2 UE to UE relay is the relay user terminal),
; or
determining the mapping relationship between the first identification and the second identification according to the first identification and a currently available second identification of the relay user terminal; wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the first identification and the second identification according to the first identification and the currently available second identification of the relay user terminal comprises: determining a currently unoccupied candidate second identification as the currently available second identification of the relay user terminal; and for the first identification, selecting the second identification from the currently available second identification of the relay user terminal; and determining the mapping relationship between the first identification and the second identification according to the second identification.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the information processing method according to claim 1,
Wang teaches wherein the sending the mapping relationship between the first identification and the second identification to at least one of the first remote user terminal or the second remote user terminal comprises at least one of the following operations:
sending the mapping relationship to the first remote user terminal through a first PC5-RRC signaling between the relay user terminal and the first remote user terminal ([0075] the remote UE and the relay UE, through a PC5 RRC signaling)([0158] For an L2 UE-to-UE relay, the source UE and the target UE can establish a unicast link (L2 link/PC5-S link) through the relay UE, perform PC5 RRC signaling exchange)([0163] UE1 generates a PC5-S/PC5 RRC signaling message for a source target UE pair {UE1, UE3})([0165, 0170] identifying through the source UE based on a PC5 RRC signaling informing the mapping relationship); or
sending the mapping relationship to the second remote user terminal through a second PC5-RRC signaling between the relay user terminal and the second remote user terminal.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the information processing method according to claim 1,
Wang teaches wherein in a condition that the relay user terminal performs data transmission with the first remote user terminal through the direct communication interface, the second identification information is carried in a protocol data unit (PDU) header of an adaptation layer ([0091] a manner in which the base station maps the Uu bearer of the remote UE to the relay bearer between the base station and the relay UE includes at least one of the following: the base station maps the remote UE Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) to a relay Uu BH bearer dedicated to forwarding the Uu bearer data of the remote UE; the base station maps the Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) of the remote UE to a Uu RLC bearer associated with a relay UE PDU session dedicated for data forwarding; or the base station delivers the Uu bearer data packet of the remote UE to an adaptation layer to make the data packet processed by the adaptation layer, adds an adaptation layer packet header to the data packet, and maps the data packet to a relay Uu BH bearer dedicated for data forwarding)([0093, 0172, 0223]); or
in a condition that the relay user terminal performs data transmission with the second remote user terminal through the direct communication interface, the second identification is carried in the PDU header of the adaptation layer.
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the information processing method according to claim 8,
Wang teaches wherein the PDU header of the adaptation layer further comprises at least one of the following: a bearer identification of an end-to-end direct communication interface between the first remote user terminal and the second remote user terminal; or a logical channel identification (LCID) of the end-to-end direct communication interface between the first remote user terminal and the second remote user terminal ([0086, 0108, 0110] logical channel Identifier, LCID)([0093][0172]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches an information processing method, applied to a first remote user terminal or a second remote user terminal,
wherein the first remote user terminal is in end-to-end communication connection with the second remote user terminal through a relay user terminal (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, UE1 is first remote user terminal, UE2 is relay user terminal, base station is second remote user terminal)([abstract, 0056-0065] The relay UE receives a data packet from a source communication device through a first bearer between the source communication device and the relay UE, where the data packet is mapped to the first bearer by the source communication device. The relay UE maps the data packet to a second bearer between the relay UE and a target communication device and transmits the data packet to the target communication device) (Fig. 15, UE1 is first user terminal, UE 3 is second user terminal, L2 UE to UE relay is the relay user terminal), the information processing method comprises:
acquiring a mapping relationship between a first identification ([0064-0066] That the relay UE maps the data packet to the second bearer between the relay UE and the target communication device and transmits the data packet to the target communication device may be specifically that the relay UE identifies the Uu bearer of the remote UE to which the data packet belongs, maps the data packet to the relay bearer between the relay UE and the base station, and transmits the data packet to the base station.)([0007] A relay UE receives a data packet from a source UE through a PC5 radio link control (RLC) bearer between the source UE and the relay UE, where the data packet is mapped by the source UE to the PC5 RLC bearer; and the relay UE parses the data packet, identifies the target UE corresponding to the data packet, maps the data packet to the relay backhaul bearer between the relay UE and the target UE, and sends the data packet to the target UE)([0059] data of the remote UE on an air interface is transmitted to the base station through the PC5 interface SLRB between the remote UE and the relay UE and the relay forwarding bearer between the relay UE and the base station and then transmitted to a 5G core (5GC) network through the PDU session of the remote UE.)([0054-0060] Fig. 2, Either the source communication device comprises a remote UE and the target communication device comprises a base station or the source communication device comprises a base station and the target communication device comprises a remote UE), and a second identification; determining a protocol data unit (PDU) header format of an adaptation layer according to the mapping relationship ([0091] a manner in which the base station maps the Uu bearer of the remote UE to the relay bearer between the base station and the relay UE includes at least one of the following: the base station maps the remote UE Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) to a relay Uu BH bearer dedicated to forwarding the Uu bearer data of the remote UE; the base station maps the Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) of the remote UE to a Uu RLC bearer associated with a relay UE PDU session dedicated for data forwarding; or the base station delivers the Uu bearer data packet of the remote UE to an adaptation layer to make the data packet processed by the adaptation layer, adds an adaptation layer packet header to the data packet, and maps the data packet to a relay Uu BH bearer dedicated for data forwarding)([0093, 0172, 0223][0068, 0082-0083, 0168-0169]);
wherein the first identification comprises a source L2 identity and a destination L2 identity used by a direct communication interface ([0061-0062][0095-0098] Layer 2 identifier)([0122-0125] UE layer 2 identifier),, or the first identification-information comprises the source L2 identity, the destination L2 identity and a transmission type, and
the number of bits of the second identification is less than that of the first identification ([0055-0056] first bearer and second bearer, each has different bits)([0063] The data packet is mapped by the remote UE from a Uu bearer to a PC5 RLC bearer between the remote UE and the relay UE based on a configured mapping relationship to transmit to the relay UE){Uu bearer has 16 bits, PC5 bearer has 8 bits}.
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the information processing method according to claim 10,
Wang teaches wherein the acquiring the mapping relationship between the first identification and the second identification comprises: receiving the mapping relationship sent by the relay user terminal ([0081] The relay UE receives and parses the data packet sent by the remote UE, and identifies that the data packet is a data packet that needs to be forwarded to the base station through the PC5 RLC bearer/LCID dedicated to forwarding data and exchanging with the remote UE or the relay forwarding indication in the adaptation layer packet header. The relay UE may identify the remote UE Uu SRB/DRB to which the data packet belongs according to either a one-to-one mapping relationship between the Uu SRB/DRB of the remote UE and the PC5 RLC bearer or the Uu bearer identifier or the Uu bearer index of the remote UE contained in the adaptation layer); or determining the mapping relationship according to the first identification and the second identification.
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the information processing method according to claim 11,
Wang teaches wherein the receiving the mapping relationship sent by the relay user terminal comprises:
acquiring the first identification ([0064-0066] That the relay UE maps the data packet to the second bearer between the relay UE and the target communication device and transmits the data packet to the target communication device may be specifically that the relay UE identifies the Uu bearer of the remote UE to which the data packet belongs, maps the data packet to the relay bearer between the relay UE and the base station, and transmits the data packet to the base station.)([0007] A relay UE receives a data packet from a source UE through a PC5 radio link control (RLC) bearer between the source UE and the relay UE, where the data packet is mapped by the source UE to the PC5 RLC bearer; and the relay UE parses the data packet, identifies the target UE corresponding to the data packet, maps the data packet to the relay backhaul bearer between the relay UE and the target UE, and sends the data packet to the target UE)([0059] data of the remote UE on an air interface is transmitted to the base station through the PC5 interface SLRB between the remote UE and the relay UE and the relay forwarding bearer between the relay UE and the base station and then transmitted to a 5G core (5GC) network through the PDU session of the remote UE.)([0054-0060] Fig. 2, Either the source communication device comprises a remote UE and the target communication device comprises a base station or the source communication device comprises a base station and the target communication device comprises a remote UE); and at least one of the following operations:
sending second indication information and the first identification to the relay user terminal through a first direct communication interface radio resource control (PC5-RRC) signaling between the first remote user terminal and the relay user terminal ([0064-0066] That the relay UE maps the data packet to the second bearer between the relay UE and the target communication device and transmits the data packet to the target communication device may be specifically that the relay UE identifies the Uu bearer of the remote UE to which the data packet belongs, maps the data packet to the relay bearer between the relay UE and the base station, and transmits the data packet to the base station.)([0007] A relay UE receives a data packet from a source UE through a PC5 radio link control (RLC) bearer between the source UE and the relay UE, where the data packet is mapped by the source UE to the PC5 RLC bearer; and the relay UE parses the data packet, identifies the target UE corresponding to the data packet, maps the data packet to the relay backhaul bearer between the relay UE and the target UE, and sends the data packet to the target UE)([0059] data of the remote UE on an air interface is transmitted to the base station through the PC5 interface SLRB between the remote UE and the relay UE and the relay forwarding bearer between the relay UE and the base station and then transmitted to a 5G core (5GC) network through the PDU session of the remote UE.)([0054-0060] Fig. 2, Either the source communication device comprises a remote UE and the target communication device comprises a base station or the source communication device comprises a base station and the target communication device comprises a remote UE)([0102-0108] the relay UE receives relay communication configuration information sent by the base station and performs data transmission based on the relay communication configuration information n, the relay communication configuration information includes at least one of the following: relay Uu BH bearer configuration, PC5 RLC bearer configuration, or a bearer mapping relationship)(Fig. 15, UE1 is first user terminal, UE 3 is second user terminal, L2 UE to UE relay is the relay user termina), and receiving the mapping relationship sent by the relay user terminal through the first PC5-RRC signaling ([0075] the remote UE and the relay UE, through a PC5 RRC signaling)([0158] For an L2 UE-to-UE relay, the source UE and the target UE can establish a unicast link (L2 link/PC5-S link) through the relay UE, perform PC5 RRC signaling exchange)([0163] UE1 generates a PC5-S/PC5 RRC signaling message for a source target UE pair {UE1, UE3})([0165, 0170] identifying through the source UE based on a PC5 RRC signaling informing the mapping relationship);
or sending the second indication information and the first identification to the relay user terminal through a second PC5-RRC signaling between the second remote user terminal and the relay user terminal, and receiving the mapping relationship sent by the relay user terminal through the second PC5-RRC signaling.
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the information processing method according to claim 12,
Wang teaches wherein the acquiring the first identification comprises:
acquiring, by an upper layer of the first remote user terminal, the first identification through a ProSe communication-signalling (PC5-S) signaling process and sending third indication information carrying the first identification to a lower layer of the first remote user terminal, and the lower layer of the first remote user terminal acquires the first identification through the third indication information ([0068-0069] first, the upper layer of the remote UE generates a data packet, maps the data packet or Uu RRC signaling or a Uu RRC message to the PDCP entity of the corresponding Uu DRB/SRB based on 5G Uu QoS processing rules and/or bearer configuration, and performs Uu PDCP layer operations such as header compression, encryption, completion guarantee, and packet encapsulation. Next, the remote UE maps a Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer between the remote UE and the relay UE. Next, after mapping the Uu PDCP PDU to the PC5 RLC bearer based on a mapping relationship which is configured by the base station or pre-configured or predefined, between the Uu bearer and the PC5 RLC bearer, the remote UE performs RLC/MAC/physical (PHY) layer processing and transmits the data packet to the relay UE through a sidelink resource)([0163]),; or
acquiring the first identification through an end-to-end PC5-RRC signaling interaction process performed by the lower layer of the first remote user terminal.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches the information processing method according to claim 10,
Wang teaches wherein in a condition that the first remote user terminal performs data transmission through the direct communication interface, the second identification is carried in a protocol data unit (PDU) header of an adaptation layer ([0091] a manner in which the base station maps the Uu bearer of the remote UE to the relay bearer between the base station and the relay UE includes at least one of the following: the base station maps the remote UE Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) to a relay Uu BH bearer dedicated to forwarding the Uu bearer data of the remote UE; the base station maps the Uu bearer data packet (PDCP PDU) of the remote UE to a Uu RLC bearer associated with a relay UE PDU session dedicated for data forwarding; or the base station delivers the Uu bearer data packet of the remote UE to an adaptation layer to make the data packet processed by the adaptation layer, adds an adaptation layer packet header to the data packet, and maps the data packet to a relay Uu BH bearer dedicated for data forwarding)([0093, 0172, 0223]); or
in a condition that the second remote user terminal performs data transmission with the relay user terminal through the direct communication interface, the second identification is carried in the PDU header of the adaptation layer.
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches the information processing method according to claim 16,
Wang teaches wherein the PDU header of the adaptation layer further comprises at least one of the following: a bearer identification of an end-to-end direct communication interface between the first remote user terminal and the second remote user terminal; or a logical channel identification (LCID) ([0086, 0108, 0110] logical channel Identifier, LCID)([0093][0172]) of the end-to-end direct communication interface between the first remote user terminal and the second remote user terminal.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 5.
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 7.
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 8.
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 9.
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the reason for the allowable subject matter in claim 13,
The prior art on record (“Wang”, US 20230073469 A1) fails to fairly teach or suggest determining a currently unoccupied candidate second identification as a currently available second identification of the relay user terminal; and for the first identification, selecting the second identification from the currently available second identification of the relay user terminal; determining the mapping relationship between the first identification and the second identification according to the second identification.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FADI HAJ SAID whose telephone number is (571)272-2833. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Follansbee can be reached on 571-272-3964. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FADI HAJ SAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444