DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE102022117232.5, filed on 07/11/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
a. Claim 9 recites the limitation "at least in some sections" in line 9. The term “some sections” in claim 9 is not defined by the claim, the claim does not indicate what fraction, length, or portion of the charging line must lie within the dry area to satisfy the limitation, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
b. Claim 10 recites the limitation "extends predominantly in the vehicle interior area" in line 4. The term “predominantly” has no defined metric in the specification, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
c. Claim 11 recites the limitation “extends in the vehicle interior area at least in an area of a cable connection” in line 3. The term "an area of" in claim 11 fails to specify how large a zone around the cable connection qualifies, and whether "area" refers to a physical region of the vehicle or merely a portion of the cable's length.
d. Claims 12-16 are rejected as depending upon a rejected claim.
5. In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 9-11, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al. (US Patent Publication 2010/0328965) in view of Gere et al. (DE102016003531A1).
a. Regarding claim 9, Grider teaches a hybrid or electric vehicle 108 comprising a body [An automotive vehicle capable of receiving power from an electrical power grid, claim 1; automotive vehicle 108 (electric vehicle, hybrid electric vehicle, etc.) [0019]] which surrounds a vehicle interior area designed as a dry area [cavity formed by a surface 22 of the housing 12; This cavity may shield the blades 20 from, for example, debris, water, etc. [0016]]; lighting assembly 10 fastened on the body [Referring now to FIGS. 1 and 2, an embodiment of an automotive tail lamp assembly 10 may include a housing 12, lamps 14, lamp covers 16, and an electrical port 18 [0015]; battery charger 134 is electrically connected with the charge port 118 and traction battery 126. Power from an electrical grid may thus be passed to the traction battery 136 via the charge port 118 and battery charger 134 [0020]]; charging socket unit 18/118 at least partially integrated in the lighting assembly and/or is adjacent thereto, for connecting an external energy source [electrical port 18 includes several blades 20. The blades 20 are configured to receive an electrical socket similar to those found on household extension cords, and as explained below, may be electrically connected with a charging system for a power storage unit. In other embodiments, the electrical port 28 may be an electrical socket, or any other suitable electrical connector, etc [0015]]; and electric energy storage device 126 that provides energy to drive hybrid or electric vehicle 108 [electrical power stored by the traction battery 136 may be transformed to motive power to move the vehicle 108 [0019]], electric energy storage device 126 electrically connected via a charging line to charging socket unit 118 [battery charger 134 is electrically connected with the charge port 118 and traction battery 126. Power from an electrical grid may thus be passed to the traction battery 136 via the charge port 118 and battery charger 134 [0020]].
Grider does not specifically teach the charging line extends at least in some sections in the vehicle interior area designed as the dry area. Gere teaches charging line 14 extends at least in some sections in the vehicle interior area designed as the dry area [line set 14 is passed through the through-opening 20 beforehand. The line set 14 is thus located on an inner side 22 of the side wall 12 which points inwards in the vehicle transverse direction with respect to the installation position of the side wall 12, such that the line set 14 is located, for example, in an interior of the vehicle body. As a result, the line set 14 can be laid into the interior in a particularly simple manner [0026]; a wet-dry concept of the mounting of the charging socket 10, wherein this concept enables a simplified integration of the charging socket 10, which is configured for example as a hybrid charging socket, into the side wall 12, a reduced body shell outlay and a significantly reduced mounting outlay with regard to accessibility, ergonomy and optimization of the installation of the line set 14, which is also referred to as cable installation [0027]] for the purpose of providing simplified mounting of a charging socket on a side wall of a vehicle and reduced mounting outlay with regard to accessibility, ergonomy and optimization of the charging line installation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Grider to include the charging line that extends at least in some sections in the vehicle interior area designed as the dry area as taught by Gere because doing so would have provided simplified mounting of a charging socket on a side wall of a vehicle and reduced mounting outlay with regard to accessibility, ergonomy and optimization of the charging line installation.
b. Regarding claim 10, Grider in view of Gere teaches (references to Gere) the hybrid or electric vehicle according to claim 9, wherein charging line 14 extends completely in or predominantly in the vehicle interior area [line set 14 is passed through the through-opening 20 beforehand. The line set 14 is thus located on an inner side 22 of the side wall 12 which points inwards in the vehicle transverse direction with respect to the installation position of the side wall 12, such that the line set 14 is located, for example, in an interior of the vehicle body. As a result, the line set 14 can be laid into the interior in a particularly simple manner [0026]; a wet-dry concept of the mounting of the charging socket 10, wherein this concept enables a simplified integration of the charging socket 10, which is configured for example as a hybrid charging socket, into the side wall 12, a reduced body shell outlay and a significantly reduced mounting outlay with regard to accessibility, ergonomy and optimization of the installation of the line set 14, which is also referred to as cable installation [0027]].
c. Regarding claim 11, Grider in view of Gere teaches teaches (references to Gere) the hybrid or electric vehicle according to claim 9, wherein charging line 14 extends in the vehicle interior area at least in an area of a cable connection of charging socket unit 10 [line set 14 is passed through the through-opening 20 beforehand. The line set 14 is thus located on an inner side 22 of the side wall 12 which points inwards in the vehicle transverse direction with respect to the installation position of the side wall 12, such that the line set 14 is located, for example, in an interior of the vehicle body. As a result, the line set 14 can be laid into the interior in a particularly simple manner [0026]; a wet-dry concept of the mounting of the charging socket 10, wherein this concept enables a simplified integration of the charging socket 10, which is configured for example as a hybrid charging socket, into the side wall 12, a reduced body shell outlay and a significantly reduced mounting outlay with regard to accessibility, ergonomy and optimization of the installation of the line set 14, which is also referred to as cable installation [0027]], and/or up to a passage opening of the body, at which the electrical energy storage device or a battery box containing the storage device is arranged; and/or up to the electrical energy storage device or the battery box.
d. Regarding claim 13, Grider in view of Gere teaches (references to Gere) the hybrid or electric vehicle according to claim 9, wherein body wall 12, which is part of the body, separates the vehicle interior area from a body exterior area representing a wet area [line set 14 is passed through the through-opening 20 beforehand. The line set 14 is thus located on an inner side 22 of the side wall 12 which points inwards in the vehicle transverse direction with respect to the installation position of the side wall 12, such that the line set 14 is located, for example, in an interior of the vehicle body. As a result, the line set 14 can be laid into the interior in a particularly simple manner [0026]; a wet-dry concept of the mounting of the charging socket 10, wherein this concept enables a simplified integration of the charging socket 10, which is configured for example as a hybrid charging socket, into the side wall 12, a reduced body shell outlay and a significantly reduced mounting outlay with regard to accessibility, ergonomy and optimization of the installation of the line set 14, which is also referred to as cable installation [0027]].
e. Regarding claim 14, Grider in view of Gere teaches (references to Gere) the hybrid or electric vehicle according to claim 13, wherein passage opening 20 is provided in body wall 12, which passage opening 20 couples the vehicle interior area to body exterior area 21, and charging socket unit 10 closes passage opening 20 [line set 14 is passed through the through-opening 20 beforehand. The line set 14 is thus located on an inner side 22 of the side wall 12 which points inwards in the vehicle transverse direction with respect to the installation position of the side wall 12, such that the line set 14 is located, for example, in an interior of the vehicle body. As a result, the line set 14 can be laid into the interior in a particularly simple manner [0026]; a wet-dry concept of the mounting of the charging socket 10, wherein this concept enables a simplified integration of the charging socket 10, which is configured for example as a hybrid charging socket, into the side wall 12, a reduced body shell outlay and a significantly reduced mounting outlay with regard to accessibility, ergonomy and optimization of the installation of the line set 14, which is also referred to as cable installation [0027]].
f. Regarding claim 16, Grider in view of Gere teaches (references to Grider) the hybrid or electric vehicle according to claim 9 wherein charging socket unit 18/118 is arranged in lighting assembly 10 [[Referring now to FIGS. 1 and 2, an embodiment of an automotive tail lamp assembly 10 may include a housing 12, lamps 14, lamp covers 16, and an electrical port 18 [0015]; battery charger 134 is electrically connected with the charge port 118 and traction battery 126. Power from an electrical grid may thus be passed to the traction battery 136 via the charge port 118 and battery charger 134 [0020]; electrical port integrated with a lamp assembly of a plug-in vehicle. The lamp assembly may be, for example, a tail lamp assembly [0013]] or is arranged, in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle, in front of the lighting assembly.
8. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al. (US Patent Publication 2010/0328965) in view of Gere et al. (DE102016003531A1) and Feng (CN204178749U).
a. Regarding claim 12, Grider in view of Gere teaches the hybrid or electric vehicle according to claim 9. Grider in view of Gere does not specifically teach the charging line is a flat band line.
Feng teaches charging line 1, 2 is a flat band line [As shown in FIG. 1, a new type of electric vehicle interior cable, comprising an insulator 1 covered conductor 2, is characterized in that: the conductor 1 is composed of a plurality of flat square copper strips; Claim 1] for the purpose of providing an electric vehicle power cable with reduced overall cable dimensions, improved flexibility and mechanical strength to save space and for more convenient installation and production.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Grider in view of Gere to include the charging line that is a flat band line as taught by Feng because doing so would have provided an electric vehicle power cable with reduced overall cable dimensions, improved flexibility and mechanical strength to save space and for more convenient installation and production.
9. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al. (US Patent Publication 2010/0328965) in view of Gere et al. (DE102016003531A1) and Peirone et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0361317).
a. Regarding claim 15, Grider in view of Gere teaches the hybrid or electric vehicle according to claim 9. Grider in view of Gere does not specifically teach the vehicle interior area is a baggage compartment of the vehicle. Peirone teaches the vehicle interior area is baggage compartment 8 of vehicle 1 [electric/electronic unit 5 is arranged in a luggage compartment 8, provided in particular at the rear end of the vehicle 1 [0016]; vehicle 1 further comprises an electric/electronic unit 5 for recharging the battery pack 2. The electric/electronic unit 5 comprises a transformer for converting the alternating current into direct current, and/or for varying the voltage of the direct current during recharging operations carried out by means of a socket or connector 6 (schematically illustrated), which can be connected to an external electric power source, provided in suitable recharging stations [0015]] for the purpose of providing an electronic unit with a charging socket and charging line arranged in the rear luggage compartment of the vehicle for convenient placement of the electric unit and ensuring the safety of occupants in the event of a rear impact.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle taught by Grider in view of Gere to include the vehicle interior area that is a baggage compartment of the vehicle as taught by Peirone because doing so would have provided a charging socket arranged in the rear luggage compartment of the vehicle for convenient placement of the electric unit and charging socket and ensuring the safety of occupants in the event of a rear impact.
Conclusion
/J. R. L./
Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612