DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 01, 2024 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Drawings
The drawings filed on October 01, 2024 are accepted.
Specification
The specification filed July October 01, 2024 is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-12 and 18-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoyos et al. US 2016/0232401 A1 [hereinafter Hoyos].
As per claim 1, 15 and 17, Hoyos teaches an information processing apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions [figure 2A]; and
at least one processor [figure 2A] configured to execute the instructions to:
detect a hand presenting a reading target object including identification information of a user [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081]; and
read biometric information from an image obtained by imaging the detected hand and read the identification information from the reading target object presented by the hand [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
As per claims 2, 16 and 18, Hoyos further teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to determine whether quality of the biometric information is equal to or higher than a predetermined value and read the identification information when determining that the quality is equal to or higher than the predetermined value [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
As per claim 3, Hoyos further teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to detect the hand from an image obtained by imaging the hand presenting the reading target object on a predetermined mounting table [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
As per claim 4, Hoyos further teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to detect the hand presenting the reading target object on a predetermined mounting table based on distance measurement data acquired from a distance measurement sensor [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
As per claim 5, Hoyos further teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to detect the hand presenting the reading target object based on pressure data acquired from a pressure sensor provided on a predetermined mounting table [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
As per claim 6, Hoyos further teaches the apparatus further comprising guide unit for guiding the hand and the reading target object to a state in which the biometric information can be read from the hand and the identification information can be read from the reading target object [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
As per claim 7, Hoyos further teaches the apparatus wherein the guide unit generates guidance information for guiding the hand and the reading target object and causes the guidance information to be output using a character, an image, a voice, or vibration [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
As per claim 8, Hoyos further teaches the apparatus wherein the guide unit is configured using a finger guide member having a shape corresponding to a shape of a finger, and guides the finger of the hand presenting the reading target object to a predetermined mounting table [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
As per claim 10, Hoyos further teaches the apparatus wherein the guide unit displays a position of a region from which the biometric information can be read and a position of a region from which the identification information can be read on a predetermined mounting table [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
As per claim 11, Hoyos further teaches the apparatus wherein the guide unit includes a groove that guides a finger of the hand gripping the reading target object [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
As per claim 12, Hoyos further teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to control biometric authentication of the user using the biometric information and the identification information [paragraphs 0071-0074 and 0081].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BEEMNET W. DADA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/BEEMNET W DADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435