DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 05 October 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-4 were previously pending; claims 2 and 4 were cancelled by the amendment; and thus, claims 1 and 3 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 05 October 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments (pages 5-7 of the Remarks) allege, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, that the combination of Li and Imanishi does not render obvious the invention recited in claim 1. However, the argument begins by alleging that element 4 of Li corresponds to the claimed “magnet” and that element 5 of Li corresponds to the claimed “braking member”. The grounds of rejection, however, equate element 4 to the braking member and element 5 to the magnet. The argument provides no explanation or evidence as to why the interpretation provided in the grounds of rejection might be improper, and simply proceeds under the assumption that the Applicant’s alternative interpretation is valid. Since this alternative interpretation is not applied in the grounds of rejection, the entirety of the Applicant’s arguments, which rely on said alternative interpretation, are unpersuasive as they do not relate to the actual grounds of rejection.
Further, the arguments based on this alternative interpretation appear to merely argue that the physical structures of Imanishi cannot be integrated with the physical structures of Li (e.g. “…it is not easy to modify the deceleration device of Li to have the above feature”, “it becomes impossible to connect hoses and other members…”, “it is difficult to modify the deceleration device of Li such that…”), and that no motivation exists for said modification (e.g. “…and there is a disincentive to this modification”, “No advantages are found in making this modification, and there is no motivation for one having ordinary skill in the art to make this modification”). First, it is reiterated that this argument is based on a faulty alternative interpretation of the references. Second, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). And third, explicit motivation is found in the references and is provided in the grounds of rejection (see (¶ 0017, 0069 of Imanishi). Thus, since the arguments are not based on the actual grounds of rejection, no evidence is provided in support of the argument’s faulty premise, and motivation for the combination is explicitly provided in the references, this argument is unpersuasive and the previous grounds of rejection are maintained.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 101359865 A), hereinafter referred to as “Li”, in view of Imanishi et al. (US 2019/0393764 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Imanishi”.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses an eddy current deceleration device [2-12] (fig. 1; ¶ 0002-0004) comprising:
two deceleration device main bodies [3,4] each including a braking member [4] fixed to a propeller shaft [1] (fig. 1; ¶ 0021-0023); and
a control unit [8-12] that controls braking states of the two deceleration device main bodies [3,4] (fig. 1; ¶ 0022),
wherein the two deceleration device main bodies [3,4] are arranged in different positions in an axial direction of the propeller shaft [1] (fig. 1; ¶ 0021; the two rotors are axially adjacent to one another), and
wherein the control unit [8-12] is configured to be able to switch among:
a first state in which both of the two deceleration device main bodies [3,4] are in braking states (¶ 0024; both clutches are engaged and “maximum braking torque” is generated);
a second state in which one deceleration device main body [3,4] of the two deceleration device main bodies [3,4] is in a braking state and the other deceleration device main body [3,4] is in a non-braking state (¶ 0023; only one of the clutches is engaged); and
a third state in which both of the two deceleration device main bodies [3,4] are in non-braking states (¶ 0025; neither clutch is engaged).
Li does not disclose the main bodies [3,4] each including a braking member that is fixed to a propeller shaft and has a tubular shape; and a magnet facing toward the braking member in a radial direction of the braking member.
Imanishi discloses an eddy current deceleration device comprising a deceleration device main body (fig. 1), the deceleration device main body including a braking member [1] that is fixed to a propeller shaft [10] and has a tubular shape; and a magnet [3] facing toward the braking member [1] in a radial direction of the braking member [1] (fig. 1; ¶ 0062-0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form each of the deceleration device main bodies of Li having structures including braking members and magnets as taught by Imanishi, in order to provide an electricity generating function while minimizing an increase in the number of components, ensuring smooth rotation during non-braking, and enhancing braking efficiency (¶ 0017, 0069 of Imanishi).
Regarding claim 3, Li, in view of Imanishi, discloses the eddy current deceleration device according to claim 1, as stated above, wherein the control unit [8-12] is configured to be able to place the two deceleration device main bodies [3,4] into braking states alternately and consecutively (¶ 0022; the “control mechanism can independently control the working state of the two sets of rotors, so that the braking torque of the retarder can be controlled in stages”).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Imanishi et al. (US 2021/0036595 A1, US 2018/0138795 A1) discloses an eddy current decelerating apparatus similar to and from the same inventors as the present application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/about-ptab/new-ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/patent-trial-and-appeal-board-pro-bono-program-independent. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final replay that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834