DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US 2022/0109872 A1) in view of Naser et al. (US 2025/0055981 A1) and Yoo et al. (US 2025/0184481 A1) (hereinafter “Yoo II”).
Consider claim 10, Yoo teaches an apparatus for video coding (image encoding apparatus. Fig. 2 and [0095]), the apparatus comprising one or more electronics or processors (a processor. [0096]) arranged to: receive pixel data associated with a current block at an encoder side (The image partitioner 110 may partition an input image (or a picture or a frame) input to the image encoding apparatus 100 into one or more processing units. [0097]) or coded data associated with the current block to be decoded at a decoder side; determine a prediction direction between vertical prediction and horizontal prediction for the current block (a method of deriving a prediction direction of BDPCM based on an intra prediction direction of a current block. [0057]; a method of deriving a prediction direction of BDPCM based on an intra prediction direction of a current block…. Upon determining that BDPCM applies to the current block in step S 1810, the intra prediction mode of the current block is determined (S1820), and the prediction direction of BDPCM may be derived based on the intra prediction mode of the current block (S1830). For example, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is a vertical direction mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be derived as a vertical direction. In contrast, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is a horizontal direction mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be derived as a horizontal direction. When the intra prediction mode of the current block is a non-directional mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be derived as a direction predetermined between the image encoding apparatus and the image decoding apparatus between the horizontal direction and the vertical direction. Alternatively, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is a non-directional mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be determined based on information signaled at a higher level (sequence level, picture level, slice level, etc.) of the block. Alternatively, in the example described with reference to FIG. 10, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is a mode having an absolute angle less than a 34.sup.th mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be defined as a horizontal direction, and, otherwise, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be defined as a vertical direction. Alternatively, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is a mode having an absolute angle equal to or less than the 34.sup.th mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be defined as a horizontal direction, and, otherwise, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be defined as a vertical direction.
As another example, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is a vertical direction mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be derived as a horizontal direction. In contrast, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is a horizontal direction mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be derived as a vertical direction. When the intra prediction mode of the current block is a non-directional mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be derived as a direction predetermined between the image encoding apparatus and the image decoding apparatus between the horizontal direction and the vertical direction. Alternatively, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is a non-directional mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be determined based on information signaled at a higher level (sequence level, picture level, slice level, etc.) of the block. Alternatively, in the example described with reference to FIG. 10, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is a mode having an absolute angle less than a 34.sup.th mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be defined as a vertical direction, and, otherwise, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be defined as a horizontal direction. Alternatively, when the intra prediction mode of the current block is a mode having an absolute angle equal to or less than the 34.sup.th mode, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be defined as a vertical direction, and, otherwise, the prediction direction of BDPCM may be defined as a horizontal direction. [0228] – [0236]); and encode or decode the current block using BDPCM (Block Differential Pulse Coded Modulation) in the prediction direction (encoding a current block by applying BDPCM in an image encoding apparatus. [0193] – [0197]).
However, Yoo does not explicitly teach that the determination of prediction direction is based on a template of the current block or based on decoder side intra mode derivation using statistics or histogram of angle field derived from the template of the current block.
Naser teaches the determination of prediction direction is based on a template of the current block or based on decoder side intra mode derivation using statistics or histogram of angle field derived from the template of the current block (Decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) and/or TIMD may be performed to derive candidate intra-prediction mode(s) for a coding block. For example, the reconstructed pixels surrounding the current block (e.g., template pixels) may be used to derive the intra prediction mode(s). For example, template samples on the top and left directions may be used to derive the intra prediction mode(s). In DIMD, the reconstructed template samples may be analyzed to deduce the directionality of the template. One or more direction mode(s), such as two directional modes, may be selected based on the deduced the directionality of the template. A prediction signal of the current block may be generated from blending those two modes with planar mode…. In TIMD, intra prediction modes may be tested on the template of reconstructed pixels (e.g., reconstructed pixels neighboring a current block). One or more candidate intra prediction modes may be selected from the tested modes (e.g., based on the testing). For example, the two best modes may be selected (e.g., the modes which minimize the sum of absolute transform difference (SATD) between the template of reconstructed pixels and its prediction). The prediction signal may be generated from blending those two modes. [0119] – [0124]. See also [0005] – [0006] and [0140] – [0153]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of using template-based intra mode derivation to select intra prediction modes because such incorporation would minimize the prediction error. [0152].
However, the combination does not explicitly teach determine a prediction direction…for only the vertical prediction and the horizontal prediction.
Yoo II teaches determining a prediction direction between vertical prediction and horizontal prediction…for only the vertical prediction and the horizontal prediction ([0223] – [0230]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of determining a prediction direction between vertical prediction and horizontal prediction…for only the vertical prediction and the horizontal prediction because such incorporation would prevent inefficient multiple selection of the coding mode from occurring. [0224].
Consider claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the apparatus recited in claim 10. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 2, Naser teaches the template comprises one or more sample lines in a neighboring region of the current block (Decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) and/or TIMD may be performed to derive candidate intra-prediction mode(s) for a coding block. For example, the reconstructed pixels surrounding the current block (e.g., template pixels) may be used to derive the intra prediction mode(s). For example, template samples on the top and left directions may be used to derive the intra prediction mode(s). [0119] – [0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of using template-based intra mode derivation to select intra prediction modes because such incorporation would minimize the prediction error. [0152].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486