DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to US App. 18/853,215. Claims 1-30 have been examined.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-15, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Cui et al. (US 2021/0378042; included in IDS; hereafter Cui).
Regarding Claim 1,
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
identify a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state [Cui: 0056; in 505, the network implements a TCI state change for the UE and includes a network flag in the TCI state change indicator; 0057; in 510, the UE determines a TCI usage for the network based on the network flag, i.e., whether the network is using the first option or the second option; 0044; the network flag may be used during the triggering of the TCI change to the UE on slot n; in other words, the flag may be transmitted in a same manner as a TCI state change indicator];
determine that the TCI state is a semi-known TCI-state based at least in part on a known TCI state condition not being satisfied and a TCI state prediction condition being satisfied [Cui: TCI state condition == known or unknown; prediction condition == network expectation; 0058; in 515, the UE continues using the old TCI state, i.e., the TCI state the UE was in when it received the TCI state change indicator, for a given span of time; the time span is dependent on whether the TCI state change indicator is MAC CE based or RRC based, whether the TCI state is known or unknown, and the value of the TOk or TOuk parameter; the UE behaves in accordance with the network expectation; 0059; for a MC CE based TCI change, the UE may keep using the old TCI until slot n+THARQ+(3 ms/NR slot length); 0042; if a new release UE enters a network that uses the first option, the network will expect UE behavior in accordance with the first option and will not schedule the UE during Tfirst-SSB; 0044; a network flag may be used to indicate network release information (new or old) to the UE; based on the network release information, the UE may derive which TCI option the network is implementing and behave in accordance therewith … after receiving the information, the UE decides which UE behavior to use during the TCI switching; 0045; a time span for using the old TCI is determined depending on whether the TCI change is MAC CE implemented or RRC implemented, whether the TCI is known or unknown to the UE, and whether TOk or TOuk is equal to 0 or 1; 48-49; 0032; if the target TCI state is unknown, upon receiving the PDSCH carrying a MAC-CE activation command in slot n, the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the target TCI state of the serving cell on which the TCI state switch occurs no later than in slot n+T.sub.HARQ+(3 ms+T.sub.L1-RSRP TO.sub.uk*(T.sub.first-SSB T.sub.SSB-proc))/NR slot length (Equation 3); the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the old TCI state until slot n+T.sub.HARQ+(3 ms+T.sub.L1-RSRP+TO.sub.uk*(T.sub.first-SSB))/NR slot length (Equation 4)]; and
Note:
A semi-known TCI state comprises a known TCI state condition not being satisfied (i.e. an unknown state) and a TCI state prediction condition being satisfied (i.e. network expected UE behavior).
apply a TCI state switching delay timeline that is associated with semi-known TCI states [Cui: switching delay == the time span; 0058; in 520, the UE switches to the new TCI state after the time span].
Regarding Claim 2,
wherein the one or more processors, to identify the TCI state, are configured to identify the TCI state based at least in part on a medium access control control element (MAC CE) that activates or updates the TCI state [Cui: 0058; in 515, the UE continues using the old TCI state, i.e., the TCI state the UE was in when it received the TCI state change indicator, for a given span of time; the time span is dependent on whether the TCI state change indicator is MAC CE based or RRC based, whether the TCI state is known or unknown, and the value of the TOk or TOuk parameter; the UE behaves in accordance with the network expectation; 0059; for a MC CE based TCI change, the UE may keep using the old TCI until slot n+THARQ+(3 ms/NR slot length); 0045; a time span for using the old TCI is determined depending on whether the TCI change is MAC CE implemented or RRC implemented, whether the TCI is known or unknown to the UE, and whether TOk or TOuk is equal to 0 or 1; 48-49; 0032; if the target TCI state is unknown, upon receiving the PDSCH carrying a MAC-CE activation command in slot n, the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the target TCI state of the serving cell on which the TCI state switch occurs no later than in slot n+T.sub.HARQ+(3 ms+T.sub.L1-RSRP TO.sub.uk*(T.sub.first-SSB T.sub.SSB-proc))/NR slot length (Equation 3); the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the old TCI state until slot n+T.sub.HARQ+(3 ms+T.sub.L1-RSRP+TO.sub.uk*(T.sub.first-SSB))/NR slot length (Equation 4)].
Regarding Claim 3,
wherein the one or more processors, to identify the TCI state, are configured to identify the TCI state from among TCI states that are in an activated TCI state list [Cui: 0028; A user equipment (UE) may be configured with a list of up to M TCI state configurations within the higher layer parameters for decoding the PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with downlink control information (DCI) for the UE and a given serving cell, where M depends on the capability of the UE; 0031; the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the old TCI state until slot n+THARQ (3 ms+TOk*(Tfirst-SSB))/NR slot length (Equation 2). THARQ represents the timing between the DL data transmission and corresponding acknowledgement, as specified in 3GPP TS 38.213; Tfirst-SSB represents the timing between the MAC CE command being decoded by the UE to the first SSB transmission after, where the SSB shall be the QCL-TypeA or QCL-TypeC for the target TCI state; TSSB-proc=2 ms. Tk=1 if the target TCI state is not in the active TCI state list for the PDSCH, and TOk=0 if the target TCI state is in the active TCI state list for the PDSCH].
Regarding Claim 4,
wherein the one or more processors, to identify the TCI state, are configured to identify the TCI state from among TCI states that are outside an activated TCI state list [Cui: 0028; A user equipment (UE) may be configured with a list of up to M TCI state configurations within the higher layer parameters for decoding the PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with downlink control information (DCI) for the UE and a given serving cell, where M depends on the capability of the UE; 0031; the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the old TCI state until slot n+THARQ (3 ms+TOk*(Tfirst-SSB))/NR slot length (Equation 2). THARQ represents the timing between the DL data transmission and corresponding acknowledgement, as specified in 3GPP TS 38.213; Tfirst-SSB represents the timing between the MAC CE command being decoded by the UE to the first SSB transmission after, where the SSB shall be the QCL-TypeA or QCL-TypeC for the target TCI state; TSSB-proc=2 ms. Tk=1 if the target TCI state is not in the active TCI state list for the PDSCH, and TOk=0 if the target TCI state is in the active TCI state list for the PDSCH].
Regarding Claim 6,
wherein the TCI state prediction condition is satisfied if channel characteristics for a reference signal (RS) resource are predicted within a prediction duration [Cui: 0039; a future release may specify that the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the old TCI state until slot n+THARQ+(3 ms)/NR slot length (Equation 2a); 0040; the first option incorporates the UE behavior from Equation 2a, discussed above; in the time gap 405 spanning from slot n+THARQ+(3 ms/NR slot length) to the end of the TCI switching delay (this delay is a specified value in RAN4 requirement), the UE is not required to receive any DL data and the network will not schedule this UE during this time gap 405; 0041; the second option incorporates the UE behavior from Equation 2 discussed above; in the second option, the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the old TCI state (i.e. the TCI state prior to switching) until slot n+THARQ+(3 ms+TOk*(Tfirst-SSB))/NR slot length; in the time gap 455 spanning from the start of the first SSB block to the end of the TCI switching delay, the UE is not required to receive any DL data and the network will not schedule this UE during this time gap 455].
Regarding Claim 7,
wherein the channel characteristics that are predicted include a Layer 1 RS received power that is reported without receiving the RS or measuring the RS [Cui: 0049; for a MAC CE based TCI change, if the TCI is unknown to the UE and TOuk=0, the UE will keep using the old TCI until slot n+THARQ+((3 ms+TL1-RSRP)/NR slot length); 0048; for a MAC CE based TCI change, if the TCI is unknown to the UE and TOuk=1, the UE will keep using the old TCI until the beginning of a first available SSB after the timing point of (slot n+THARQ+((3 ms+TL1-RSRP)/NR slot length)); 0029; the TCI state is considered “known” by the UE if a set of conditions are met within a period spanning from a last transmission of the RS resource used for the Layer 1 Received Signal Reference Power (L1-RSRP) measurement reporting for the target TCI state to the completion of the active TCI state switch].
Note:
In the case of TCI state being unknown, the old TCI is used from a last transmission of the RS resource used for the Layer 1 Received Signal Reference Power (L1-RSRP) measurement reporting (a) until the beginning of a first available SSB after the timing point of (slot n+THARQ+((3 ms+TL1-RSRP)/NR slot length)) in case of TOuk=1, or (b) until slot n+THARQ+((3 ms+TL1-RSRP)/NR slot length) in case of TOuk=0.
Regarding Claim 9,
wherein the channel characteristics are predicted based at least in part on a preference for using the RS resource as a Type D quasi-co-location source without transmitting a Layer 1 RS received power report, and wherein the preference is not transmitted [Cui: 0032; if the target TCI state is unknown, upon receiving the PDSCH carrying a MAC-CE activation command in slot n, the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the target TCI state of the serving cell on which the TCI state switch occurs no later than in slot n+THARQ+(3 ms+TL1-RSRP TOuk*(Tfirst-SSB TSSB-proc))/NR slot length (Equation 3); the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the old TCI state until slot n+THARQ+(3 ms+TL1-RSRP+TOuk*(Tfirst-SSB))/NR slot length (Equation 4); TL1-RSRP represents the time for an L1-RSRP measurement for Rx beam refinement, and is defined as TL1-RSPR_Measurement_Period_SSB for an SSB as specified in clause 9.5.4.1 or TL1-RSPR_Measurement_Period_CSI-RS for CSI-RS as specified in clause 9.5.4.2, subject to various other considerations as defined in 3GPP TS38.133 section 8.10.3; TOuk=1 for a CSI-RS based L1-RSRP measurement, and TOuk=0 for an SSB based L1-RSRP measurement when the TCI state switching involves QCL-TypeD; TOuk=1 when the TCI state switching involves other QCL types].
Regarding Claim 10,
wherein the prediction duration is preconfigured for a specified prediction scenario [Cui: 0040; FIG. 4a shows a first timing diagram 400 for a TCI state change according to a first option; the first option incorporates the UE behavior from Equation 2a, discussed above; 0041; FIG. 4b shows a second timing diagram 450 for a TCI state change according to a second option; the second option incorporates the UE behavior from Equation 2 discussed above].
Regarding Claim 11,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine that the TCI state is capable of being a semi-known TCI state without signaling from a network entity 0032; if the target TCI state is unknown, upon receiving the PDSCH carrying a MAC-CE activation command in slot n, the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the target TCI state of the serving cell on which the TCI state switch occurs no later than in slot n+T.sub.HARQ+(3 ms+T.sub.L1-RSRP TO.sub.uk*(T.sub.first-SSB T.sub.SSB-proc))/NR slot length (Equation 3); the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the old TCI state until slot n+T.sub.HARQ+(3 ms+T.sub.L1-RSRP+TO.sub.uk*(T.sub.first-SSB))/NR slot length (Equation 4)].
Regarding Claim 12,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine that the TCI state is capable of being a semi-known TCI state based at least in part on signaling from a network entity [Cui: 0044; a network flag may be used to indicate network release information (new or old) to the UE; based on the network release information, the UE may derive which TCI option the network is implementing and behave in accordance therewith; in other exemplary embodiments, the network flag may be used to indicate a TCI usage (new or old) directly; the network flag may be used during the triggering of the TCI change to the UE on slot n].
Regarding Claim 13,
wherein the signaling includes a radio resource configuration message that indicates that the UE is able to determine whether the TCI state is capable of being a semi-known TCI state [0045; the TCI switch may be implemented via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or a radio resource control (RRC) activation command; 0044; a network flag may be used to indicate network release information (new or old) to the UE; based on the network release information, the UE may derive which TCI option the network is implementing and behave in accordance therewith; in other exemplary embodiments, the network flag may be used to indicate a TCI usage (new or old) directly; the network flag may be used during the triggering of the TCI change to the UE on slot n].
Regarding Claim 14,
wherein the signaling includes a TCI state activation command [0045; the TCI switch may be implemented via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or a radio resource control (RRC) activation command].
Regarding Claim 15,
wherein the signaling includes a medium access control control element message that is dedicated to activating TCI states and that is associated with semi-known TCI states [0045; the TCI switch may be implemented via a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or a radio resource control (RRC) activation command; 0044; a network flag may be used to indicate network release information (new or old) to the UE; based on the network release information, the UE may derive which TCI option the network is implementing and behave in accordance therewith; in other exemplary embodiments, the network flag may be used to indicate a TCI usage (new or old) directly; the network flag may be used during the triggering of the TCI change to the UE on slot n].
Regarding Claim 21,
wherein the TCI state switching delay timeline associated with semi-known TCI states does not include a first delay for measuring a channel state information reference signal (RS) or a synchronization signal block and does not include a second delay for reporting a Layer 1 RS received power measurement [Cui: 0038; In 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3Nslot; 0041; in the second option, the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the old TCI state (i.e. the TCI state prior to switching) until slot n+THARQ+(3 ms+TOk*(Tfirst-SSB))/NR slot length; in the time gap 455 spanning from the start of the first SSB block to the end of the TCI switching delay, the UE is not required to receive any DL data and the network will not schedule this UE during this time gap 455; 0029; the TCI state is considered “known” by the UE if a set of conditions are met within a period spanning from a last transmission of the RS resource used for the Layer 1 Received Signal Reference Power (L1-RSRP) measurement reporting for the target TCI state to the completion of the active TCI state switch].
Note:
A last transmission of the RS resource used for the Layer 1 Received Signal Reference Power (L1-RSRP) measurement reporting happens before HARQ-ACK in slot n. Tfirst-SSB is before time gap 455.
Regarding Claim 22,
wherein the TCI state switching delay timeline associated with semi-known TCI states does not include a first delay for measuring a channel state information reference signal (RS) and does not include a second delay for reporting a Layer 1 RS received power measurement [Cui: 0038; in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3Nslot; 0041; in the second option, the UE shall be able to receive the PDCCH with the old TCI state (i.e. the TCI state prior to switching) until slot n+THARQ+(3 ms+TOk*(Tfirst-SSB))/NR slot length; in the time gap 455 spanning from the start of the first SSB block to the end of the TCI switching delay, the UE is not required to receive any DL data and the network will not schedule this UE during this time gap 455; 0029; the TCI state is considered “known” by the UE if a set of conditions are met within a period spanning from a last transmission of the RS resource used for the Layer 1 Received Signal Reference Power (L1-RSRP) measurement reporting for the target TCI state to the completion of the active TCI state switch].
Note:
A last transmission of the RS resource used for the Layer 1 Received Signal Reference Power (L1-RSRP) measurement reporting happens before HARQ-ACK in slot n. Tfirst-SSB is before time gap 455.
Regarding 25, which recites a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication having the same claim limitations as those in claim 1 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 1 is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 16-19, 23-24, 26-27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2020/0229161; hereafter Raghavan).
Regarding Claim 8,
Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3Nslot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui does not teach that the channel characteristics are predicted based at least in part on transmitting a preference for using the RS resource as a Type D quasi-co-location source without transmitting a Layer 1 RS received power report.
Raghavan teaches:
wherein the channel characteristics are predicted based at least in part on transmitting a preference for using the RS resource as a Type D quasi-co-location source without transmitting a Layer 1 RS received power report [Raghavan: transmitting a preference == reported UE capability; 0022; when the UE would transmit a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information in slot n corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ where u is the SCS configuration for the PUCCH … after a UE receives an initial higher layer configuration of TCI states and before reception of the activation command, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the SS/PBCH block determined in the initial access procedure with respect to ‘QCL-TypeA’, and when applicable, also with respect to ‘QCL-TypeD’; 0023; where the threshold is based on reported UE capability for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location, the UE assumes that the TCI state or the QCL assumption for the PDSCH is identical to the TCI state or QCL assumption whichever is applied for the CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission; 0024; the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) in the TCI state with respect to the QCL type parameter(s) given by the indicated TCI state if the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than a threshold timeDurationForQCL, where the threshold is based on reported UE capability [13, TS 38.306]; 0035; the UE may signal one or more of the following UE capability parameters; 0042; maxNumberDL-RS-QCL-TypeD indicates the maximum number of downlink RS resources used for QCL type D in the active TCI states and active spatial relation information, which is optional; 0060; 0072; in these embodiments, a known TCI state comprises a TCI state in which the gNB has received a layer one (L1) reference signal receive power (RSRP) (L1-RSRP) measurement report or a layer three (L3) RSRP (L3-RSRP) measurement report for the new TCI state from the UE within a predetermined time].
Note:
In an unknown TCI state, a gNB has not received L1-RSRP measurement report, while the use of QCL type D arises from reported UE capability.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Raghavan in order to ensure successful reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH with a new TCI state [Raghavan: 0003].
Regarding Claim 16,
Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui does not teach that the one or more processors are configured to transmit an applicability indication that indicates that the UE is applicable to using semi-known TCI states.
Raghavan teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit an applicability indication that indicates that the UE is applicable to using semi-known TCI states [Raghavan: applicability indication == configure to perform receive beam refinement; 0022; when the UE would transmit a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information in slot n corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3Nslotsubframe,μ where u is the SCS configuration for the PUCCH; 0071; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is a known TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry may be configured to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; in these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state. In these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is a known TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Raghavan in order to ensure successful reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH with a new TCI state [Raghavan: 0003].
Regarding Claim 17,
Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui does not teach that the applicability indication also indicates a preference for which TCI states are to be associated with a semi-known status.
Raghavan teaches:
wherein the applicability indication also indicates a preference for which TCI states are to be associated with a semi-known status [Raghavan: 0015; when the target TCI state is known, the UE is not given additional time for Rx beam refinement for the new TCI state and is expected to switch and receive with the new TCI state after the TCI state switching delay; 0066; in these embodiments, the switching delay allows time for the UE to begin receiving with a new TCI state and to allow additional time for the UE to perform beam refinement when the TCI state is unknown; 0071; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is a known TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry may be configured to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; in these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state. In these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is a known TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Raghavan in order to ensure successful reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH with a new TCI state [Raghavan: 0003].
Regarding Claim 18,
Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui does not teach that the one or more processors are configured to transmit a preference indication of a preference for which TCI states are to be associated with a semi-known status.
Raghavan teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit a preference indication of a preference for which TCI states are to be associated with a semi-known status [Raghavan: 0015; when the target TCI state is known, the UE is not given additional time for Rx beam refinement for the new TCI state and is expected to switch and receive with the new TCI state after the TCI state switching delay; 0066; in these embodiments, the switching delay allows time for the UE to begin receiving with a new TCI state and to allow additional time for the UE to perform beam refinement when the TCI state is unknown; 0071; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is a known TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry may be configured to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; in these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state. In these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is a known TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Raghavan in order to ensure successful reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH with a new TCI state [Raghavan: 0003].
Regarding Claim 19,
Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui does not teach that he one or more processors are configured to transmit, in an acknowledgement of a TCI state activation command, an association indication that indicates whether a semi-known status is associated with the TCI state.
Raghavan teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit, in an acknowledgement of a TCI state activation command, an association indication that indicates whether a semi-known status is associated with the TCI state [Raghavan: 0015; when the target TCI state is known, the UE is not given additional time for Rx beam refinement for the new TCI state and is expected to switch and receive with the new TCI state after the TCI state switching delay; 0066; in these embodiments, the switching delay allows time for the UE to begin receiving with a new TCI state and to allow additional time for the UE to perform beam refinement when the TCI state is unknown; 0071; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is a known TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry may be configured to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; in these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state. In these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is a known TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Raghavan in order to ensure successful reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH with a new TCI state [Raghavan: 0003].
Regarding Claim 23,
Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui does not teach that the TCI state switching delay timeline includes a dedicated delay for Layer 1 measurement reporting for semi-known TCI states.
Raghavan teaches:
wherein the TCI state switching delay timeline includes a dedicated delay for Layer 1 measurement reporting for semi-known TCI states [Raghavan: 0066; in these embodiments, the switching delay allows time for the UE to begin receiving with a new TCI state and to allow additional time for the UE to perform beam refinement when the TCI state is unknown; 0071; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is a known TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry may be configured to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; in these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state. In these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is a known TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Raghavan in order to ensure successful reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH with a new TCI state [Raghavan: 0003].
Regarding Claim 24,
Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui does not teach that the one or more processors are configured to reduce a beam sweeping factor in response to the TCI state being a semi-known TCI state.
Raghavan teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to reduce a beam sweeping factor in response to the TCI state being a semi-known TCI state [Raghavan: 0066; in these embodiments, the switching delay allows time for the UE to begin receiving with a new TCI state and to allow additional time for the UE to perform beam refinement when the TCI state is unknown; 0071; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is a known TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry may be configured to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; in these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state. In these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is a known TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Raghavan in order to ensure successful reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH with a new TCI state [Raghavan: 0003].
Regarding Claim 26,
A network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
transmit a configuration that includes a capability for determining whether a TCI state is a semi-known TCI state [Cui: 0056; in 505, the network implements a TCI state change for the UE and includes a network flag in the TCI state change indicator; 0057; in 510, the UE determines a TCI usage for the network based on the network flag, i.e., whether the network is using the first option or the second option; 0044; the network flag may be used during the triggering of the TCI change to the UE on slot n; in other words, the flag may be transmitted in a same manner as a TCI state change indicator].
Note:
A semi-known TCI state comprises a known TCI state condition not being satisfied (i.e. an unknown state) and a TCI state prediction condition being satisfied (i.e. network expected UE behavior).
However, Cui does not teach that receive a preference indication that indicates a preference associated with determining whether a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is semi-known.
Raghavan teaches:
receive a preference indication that indicates a preference associated with determining whether a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is semi-known [Raghavan: 0015; when the target TCI state is known, the UE is not given additional time for Rx beam refinement for the new TCI state and is expected to switch and receive with the new TCI state after the TCI state switching delay; 0066; in these embodiments, the switching delay allows time for the UE to begin receiving with a new TCI state and to allow additional time for the UE to perform beam refinement when the TCI state is unknown; 0071; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is a known TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry may be configured to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; in these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state. In these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is a known TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Raghavan in order to ensure successful reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH with a new TCI state [Raghavan: 0003].
Regarding Claim 27,
Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui does not teach that the one or more processors, to receive the preference indication, are configured to receive the preference indication in an acknowledgement of a TCI state activation command
Raghavan teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the preference indication, are configured to receive the preference indication in an acknowledgement of a TCI state activation command [Raghavan: 0015; when the target TCI state is known, the UE is not given additional time for Rx beam refinement for the new TCI state and is expected to switch and receive with the new TCI state after the TCI state switching delay; 0066; in these embodiments, the switching delay allows time for the UE to begin receiving with a new TCI state and to allow additional time for the UE to perform beam refinement when the TCI state is unknown; 0071; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is a known TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry may be configured to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; in these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state. In these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is a known TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Raghavan in order to ensure successful reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH with a new TCI state [Raghavan: 0003].
Regarding Claim 29,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to apply a TCI state switching delay timeline associated with semi-known TCI states [Cui: switching delay == the time span; 0058; in 520, the UE switches to the new TCI state after the time span].
Regarding Claim 30,
Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui does not teach that the configuration reduces a beam sweeping factor for semi-known TCI states.
Raghavan teaches:
wherein the configuration reduces a beam sweeping factor for semi-known TCI states [Raghavan: 0066; in these embodiments, the switching delay allows time for the UE to begin receiving with a new TCI state and to allow additional time for the UE to perform beam refinement when the TCI state is unknown; 0071; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; if the new TCI state for the PDCCH is a known TCI state for the PDCCH, the processing circuitry may be configured to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDCCH with the new TCI state; in these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is an unknown TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to configure the UE to perform receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state. In these embodiments, if the new TCI state for the PDSCH is a known TCI state for the PDSCH, the processing circuitry is to refrain from configuring the UE to perform the receive beam refinement prior to decoding the PDSCH with the new TCI state].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Raghavan in order to ensure successful reception of a PDCCH or a PDSCH with a new TCI state [Raghavan: 0003].
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui in view of Nokia et al., “Big CR to TS 38.133 on HST FR2 RRM Core Requirements,” 3GPP TSG RAN WG4 Meeting #102-e, R4-2206016, electronic, Feb. 21 – Mar. 3, 2022 (hereafter 3GPP6016).
Regarding Claim 5,
Cui teaches that in 515, the UE continues using the old TCI state, i.e., the TCI state the UE was in when it received the TCI state change indicator, for a given span of time; the time span is dependent on whether the TCI state change indicator is MAC CE based or RRC based, whether the TCI state is known or unknown, and the value of the TOk or TOuk parameter; the UE behaves in accordance with the network expectation [Cui: 0058].
However, Cui does no teach that known TCI state conditions include: a TCI state switch command is received within 1280 milliseconds after a last reference signal for beam reporting or measurement; at least one Layer 1 reference signal received power report is transmitted for the TCI state before receiving the TCI state switch command; the TCI state remains detectable during a TCI state switching period; and a synchronization signal block associated with the TCI state remains detectable during the TCI state switching period.
3GPP6016 teaches:
wherein known TCI state conditions include: a TCI state switch command is received within 1280 milliseconds after a last reference signal for beam reporting or measurement; at least one Layer 1 reference signal received power report is transmitted for the TCI state before receiving the TCI state switch command; the TCI state remains detectable during a TCI state switching period; and a synchronization signal block associated with the TCI state remains detectable during the TCI state switching period [3GPP6016: p. 15; incorporated Sec. 8.10.2 of R4-2206856; the TCI state is known if the following conditions are met: during the period from the last transmission of the RS resource used for the L1-RSRP measurement reporting for the target TCI state to the completion of active TCI state switch, where the RS resource for L1-RSRP measurement is the RS in target TCI state or QCLed to the target TCI state; TCI state switch command is received within 1280 ms upon the last transmission of the RS resource for beam reporting or measurement; the UE has sent at least 1 L1-RSRP report for the target TCI state before the TCI state switch command; the TCI state remains detectable during the TCI state switching period; the SSB associated with the TCI state remain detectable during the TCI switching period; SNR of the TCI state ≥ -3dB; otherwise, the TCI state is unknown].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and 3GPP6016 in order to introduce additional TCI switching delay for UE to perform fine downlink timing tracking [3GPP6016: p. 1].
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui in view Zhu et al. (US 2021/0058131; hereafter Zhu).
Regarding Claim 20,
Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui does not teach that the one or more processors are configured to transmit a prediction duration indication of a preference for a prediction duration in which a prediction is to be made.
Zhu teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit a prediction duration indication of a preference for a prediction duration in which a prediction is to be made [Zhu: 0272: Fig. 21; If TCIx is unknown to the UE, the UE would perform the provided interpolation-based beam search method to quickly find a receive beam for TCIx; 0296; in one example of use case 1, a fast receive beam selection under unknown TCI state switch is provided; 0297; the provided interpolation based fast receive beam selection strategy can be applied here; 0622; in step 5702, the UE checks whether it is time to reconfigure the “type” of the beam search/selection strategy, and the corresponding procedure is identical to those described in step 5302a/b in FIGS. 53A and 53B, and 5502 in FIG. 55; 0694; received signal power on one beam can be used to interpolate/predict that on another beam].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Zhu in order to duce the search complexity, access delay, and outage rate [Zhu: 0297].
Claim(s) 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui-Raghavan in view Zhu et al. (US 2021/0058131; hereafter Zhu).
Regarding Claim 28,
In Cui-Raghavan combination, Cui teaches that in 3GPP TS38.214 section 5.1.5, it is specified that when the HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the activation command is transmitted in slot n, the indicated mapping between TCI states and codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ should be applied starting from the first slot that is after slot n+3N.sub.slot [Cui: 0038].
However, Cui-Raghavan does not teach that the preference indication includes a preference for a prediction duration in which a prediction is to be made.
Zhu teaches:
wherein the preference indication includes a preference for a prediction duration in which a prediction is to be made [Zhu: 0272: Fig. 21; If TCIx is unknown to the UE, the UE would perform the provided interpolation-based beam search method to quickly find a receive beam for TCIx; 0296; in one example of use case 1, a fast receive beam selection under unknown TCI state switch is provided; 0297; the provided interpolation based fast receive beam selection strategy can be applied here; 0622; in step 5702, the UE checks whether it is time to reconfigure the “type” of the beam search/selection strategy, and the corresponding procedure is identical to those described in step 5302a/b in FIGS. 53A and 53B, and 5502 in FIG. 55; 0694; received signal power on one beam can be used to interpolate/predict that on another beam].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Zhu in order to duce the search complexity, access delay, and outage rate [Zhu: 0297].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See WO 2021/029138 [Figs. 12, 14, 17].
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468