Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The wording of claims 2 and 15: “wherein a quantity of carriers contained in the first carrier set and the second carrier set and different between the first carrier set and the second carrier set is greater than or equal to 3.” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240284426 to Liu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240389129 to Rastegardoost et al (support in Provisional Application No. 63307847).
Referring to claim 1, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 a carrier switching method, comprising:
Determining (Figures 6-7B; Sections 0135-0137) a carrier (Figure 6: carrier 2 is switched to carrier 3; Figure 7A : carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3 and carrier 2 is switched to carrier 4; Figure 7B: carriers 1,2 are switched to carriers 3,4), involved in switching, in a first carrier set (Figure 6: carrier set 1; Figure 7A : carrier set 1; Figure 7B: carrier set 1) for transmitting data before the switching and a second carrier set (Figure 6: carrier set 2; Figure 7A : carrier set 2; Figure 7B: carrier set 2) for transmitting data after the switching, wherein each of the first carrier set and the second carrier set comprises at least one carrier (Figure 6: carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 1,3; Figure 7A : carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 3,4; Figure 7B: carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 3,4), and at least one carrier of carriers contained in the first carrier set is different from carriers contained in the second carrier set (Figure 6: carrier 2 in carrier set 1 of carriers 1,2 is different from carriers 1,3 in carrier set 2; Figure 7A: carriers 1,2 in carrier set 1 are different from carriers 3,4 in carrier set 2; Figure 7B: carriers 1,2 in carrier set 1 are different from carriers 3,4 in carrier set 2). In Figure 6: carrier set 1 comprising carriers 1,2 is used for transmitting data before switching and carrier set 2 comprising carriers 1,3 is used for transmitting data after switching, wherein carriers 2 and 3 are involved in the switching since carrier 2 is switched to carrier 3. In Figure 7A: carrier set 1 comprising carriers 1,2 is used for transmitting data before switching and carrier set 2 comprising carriers 3,4 is used for transmitting data after switching, wherein carriers 1 and 3 are involved in the switching since carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3, and carriers 2 and 4 are involved in the switching since carrier 2 is switched to carrier 4. In Figure 7B: carrier set 1 comprising carriers 1,2 is used for transmitting data before switching and carrier set 2 comprising carriers 3,4 is used for transmitting data after switching, wherein carriers 1,2 and 3,4 are involved in the switching since carriers 1,2 are switched to carriers 3,4. Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
…
Liu et al do not disclose … wherein during carrier switching, a terminal does not transmit data on the carrier involved in the switching.
Rastegardoost et al disclose in Figures 1-32 and Sections 0291-0374 wherein a carrier pair includes a first carrier on a first band switching to a second carrier on a second band during a switching period. For example: carrier pair#1 is carrier 1 on band 1 switching to carrier 2 on band 2, and carrier pair#2 is carrier 1 on band 1 switching to carrier 3 on band 3. Sections 0135-0137, 0139, 0145-0153, 0158-0160, 0162, 0164, 0165, 0169, 0171, 0172, 0189, 0197-0201, 0204, 0209, 0210, 0238-0240, 0242-0244, and 0300-0305: UE does not transmit data during the switching period on any of the two carriers involved in the switching. Section 0293: “The UE may not transmit during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may not transmit on any uplink carrier during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may not transmit during the uplink transmission switching gap/period, on any of two uplink carriers involved in the uplink transmission switching. … The UE may omit (at least a portion, e.g., partially and/or fully) an uplink transmission during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may omit the uplink transmission on any uplink carrier during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may omit the uplink transmission on any of the two uplink carriers involved in the uplink transmission switching during the uplink transmission switching gap/period.”. Sections 0319 and 0400: By not transmitting on the uplink carriers involved in the switching during the switching period, successful uplink transmission and enhanced uplink performance, such as throughput and/or reliability of uplink transmissions, is achieved. Refer to Sections 0046-0416. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein during carrier switching, a terminal does not transmit data on the carrier involved in the switching. One would have been motivated to do so to achieve successful uplink transmission and enhanced uplink performance, since UE does not transmit on uplink carriers during switching to allow uplink carriers to perform the switching.
Referring to claim 2, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein a quantity of carriers contained in
the first carrier set and the second carrier set (Figure 6: carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 1,3; Figure 7A : carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 3,4; Figure 7B: carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 3,4) and different between the first carrier set and the second carrier set is greater than or equal to 3 (refer to 35 U.S.C. 112(b)). Each of carrier set 1 and carrier set 2 have a quantity of carriers. The number of carriers that are different between carrier set 1 and carrier set 2 can be any number. Figure 6: 1 carrier (carrier 2) in carrier set 1 of carriers 1,2 is different from carriers 1,3 in carrier set 2; Figure 7A: 2 carriers (carriers 1,2) in carrier set 1 are different from carriers 3,4 in carrier set 2; Figure 7B: 2 carriers (carriers 1,2) in carrier set 1 are different from carriers 3,4 in carrier set 2. However, the number of carriers that are different between carrier set 1 and carrier set 2 can be any number, including the claimed “greater than or equal to 3”. Sections 0103-0105, 0146, 0165, 0169, 0171, 0243, 0244, 0276, 0277, and 0304 disclose that carrier set 1 and carrier set 2 comprises any number of carriers, so the number of carriers that are different between carrier set 1 and carrier set 2 can be any number. Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 3, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein determining the carrier, involved
in the switching, in the first carrier set for transmitting data before the switching and the second
carrier set for transmitting data after the switching comprises:
When each carrier contained in the first carrier set is configured for one-port transmission (Sections 0036 and 0073: each carrier can use one port for transmission) and each carrier contained in the second carrier set is also configured for one-port transmission (Sections 0036 and 0073: each carrier can use one port for transmission), determining a carrier from the first carrier set as a switched-from carrier (Figure 6: carrier 2; Figure 7A: carrier 1,2) involved in the switching, and determining a carrier from the second carrier set as a switched-to carrier (Figure 6: carrier 3; Figure 7A: carrier 3,4) involved in the switching.
Using the determined switched-from carrier and the determined switched-to carrier as
carriers involved in the switching. In Figure 6: carrier 2 is a switched-from carrier and carrier 3 is a switched-to carrier since carrier 2 is switched to carrier 3. In Figure 7A: carrier 1 is a switched-from carrier and carrier 3 is a switched-to carrier since carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3, and carrier 2 is a switched-from carrier and carrier 4 is a switched-to carrier since carrier 2 is switched to carrier 4. Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 4, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein determining the carrier, involved
in the switching, in the first carrier set for transmitting data before the switching and the second
carrier set for transmitting data after the switching comprises:
When the second carrier set comprises a first carrier of a first band (Figure 7A: carrier 3 on band C), the first carrier set comprises a second carrier of a second band (Figure 7A: carrier 1 on band A) and a third carrier of a third band (Figure 7A: carrier 2 on band B), and when each of the first carrier, the second carrier and the third carrier is configured for one-port transmission (Sections 0036 and 0073: each carrier can use one port for transmission), determining the carrier involved in the switching comprises:
Using the second carrier as the switched-from carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 1 on band A), and using the first carrier as the switched-to carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 3 on band C). In Figure 7A: carrier 1 on band A is a switched-from carrier and carrier 3 on band C is a switched-to carrier since carrier 1 on band A is switched to carrier 3 on band C.
Or, using the third carrier as the switched-from carrier, and using the first carrier as the
switched-to carrier (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 5, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein determining the carrier, involved
in the switching, in the first carrier set for transmitting data before the switching and the second
carrier set for transmitting data after the switching comprises:
When the second carrier set comprises a second carrier of a second band (Figure 7A: carrier 3 on band C) and a third carrier of a third band (Figure 7A: carrier 4 on band D) and the first carrier set comprises a first carrier of a first band (Figure 7A: carrier 1 on band A) and when each of the second carrier, the third carrier and the first carrier is configured for one-port transmission (Sections 0036 and 0073: each carrier can use one port for transmission), determining the carrier involved in the switching comprises:
Using the first carrier as the switched-from carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 1 on band A), and using the second carrier as the switched-to carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 3 on band C). In Figure 7A: carrier 1 on band A is a switched-from carrier and carrier 3 on band C is a switched-to carrier since carrier 1 on band A is switched to carrier 3 on band C.
Or, using the first carrier as the switched-from carrier, and using the third carrier as the
switched-to carrier (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 6, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein determining the carrier, involved
in the switching, in the first carrier set for transmitting data before the switching and the second
carrier set for transmitting data after the switching comprises:
When the second carrier set comprises a first carrier of a first band (Figure 7A: carrier 3 on band C) and a second carrier of a second band (Figure 7A: carrier 4 on band D) and the first carrier set comprises a first carrier of a first band (Figure 7A: carrier 1 on band A) and a third carrier of
a third band (Figure 7A: carrier 2 on band B) and when each of the first carrier, the second carrier and the third carrier is configured for one-port transmission (Sections 0036 and 0073: each carrier can use one port for transmission), determining the carrier involved in the switching comprises:
Using the third carrier as the switched-from carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 2 on band B), and using the second carrier as the switched-to carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 4 on band D). In Figure 7A: carrier 2 on band B is a switched-from carrier and carrier 4 on band D is a switched-to carrier since carrier 2 on band B is switched to carrier 4 on band D.
Or, using the first carrier in the first carrier set as a first switched-from carrier, and using the
second carrier as a first switched-to carrier, and using the third carrier as a second switched-from
carrier and using the first carrier in the second carrier set as the second switched-to carrier (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 7, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein determining the carrier, involved
in the switching, in the first carrier set for transmitting data before the switching and the second
carrier set for transmitting data after the switching comprises:
When the second carrier set comprises a first carrier of a first band (Figure 7A: carrier 3 on band C) and a second carrier of a second band (Figure 7A: carrier 4 on band D) and the first carrier set comprises a third carrier of a third band (Figure 7A: carrier 1 on band A) and a fourth carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 2 on band B) of a fourth band; and when each of the first carrier, the second carrier, the third carrier and the fourth carrier is configured for one-port transmission (Sections 0036 and 0073: each carrier can use one port for transmission), determining the carrier involved in the switching comprises:
Using the third carrier as a first switched-from carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 1 on band A), using the first carrier as a first switched-to carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 3 on band C), using the fourth carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 2 on band B) as a second switched-from carrier, and using the second carrier as a second switched-to carrier (Figure 7A: carrier 4 on band D). In Figure 7A: carrier 1 on band A is a switched-from carrier and carrier 3 on band C is a switched-to carrier since carrier 1 on band A is switched to carrier 3 on band C, and carrier 2 on band B is a switched-from carrier and carrier 4 on band D is a switched-to carrier since carrier 2 on band B is switched to carrier 4 on band D.
Or, using the third carrier as a first switched-from carrier, using the second carrier as a first
switched-to carrier, using the fourth carrier as a second switched-from carrier, and using the first
carrier as a second switched-to carrier (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 8, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein determining the carrier involved in the switching comprises:
Determining carrier switching relationship between carriers in the first carrier set and
carriers in the second carrier set. Sections 0092, 0120-0153, 0202, 0203, 0222, 0264, and 0290: BS transmits DCI to UE indicating switching information as shown in Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier of a first carrier set to a second carrier of a carrier set for a duration of carrier switching. The switching information indicates the carriers of each carrier set. For example in Tables 6a-6b and Figure 7A: the switching information indicates switching from first carrier index 1 of carrier set 1 to third carrier index 3 of carrier set 2 for a first duration of carrier switching, and switching from second carrier index 2 of carrier set 1 to fourth carrier index 4 of carrier set 2 for a second duration of carrier switching.
Determining the carrier involved in the switching according to the carrier switching
relationship. Based on the switching information in DCI as shown in Tables 6a-14 and Figure 7A, UE switches from first carrier index 1 of carrier set 1 to third carrier index 3 of carrier set 2 for a first duration of carrier switching, and switches from second carrier index 2 of carrier set 1 to fourth carrier index 4 of carrier set 2 for a second duration of carrier switching. Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 9, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein the carrier switching relationship
comprises at least one of the following information:
Correspondence between transmission channels (transmission links) used by different carriers to transmit data. Sections 0069, 0096, 0100, 0101, 0135-0137, 0145-0146, 0148, 0150, 0152, 0158-0160, 0162, 0197, 0198, 0226, 0234, 0238-0240, 0242, 0266, 0274, 0275, 0292, and 0300-0303: BS transmits DCI to UE indicating switching information, wherein the switching information indicates a transmission link corresponding to at least one of the N carriers is switched to transmission links corresponding to the R carriers, and also indicates information such as a total number of transmission links corresponding to the N carriers, the number of transmission links corresponding to each of the N carriers, a total number of transmission links corresponding to the R carriers, and the number of transmission links corresponding to each of the R carriers. Switching information can be, for example: a total of two transmission links corresponding to two carriers are switched to another carrier, or a total of two transmission links corresponding to two carriers are switched to two transmission links corresponding to another two carriers.
A determined carrier switching pair comprising two carriers (Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier to a second carrier) for performing the switching. Sections 0092, 0120-0153, 0202, 0203, 0222, 0264, and 0290: BS transmits DCI to UE indicating switching information as shown in Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier to a second carrier for a duration of carrier switching. For example in Tables 6a-6b: the switching information indicates switching from first carrier index 1 to third carrier index 3 for a first duration of carrier switching, and switching from second carrier index 2 to fourth carrier index 4 for a second duration of carrier switching.
A switching order among different carrier switching pairs (not in reference; claim only requires “at least one of the following methods”). Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 10, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein the carrier switching relationship
is determined by at least one of the following methods:
Determination based on preset carrier switching pair information (indicated in Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier to a second carrier). Sections 0092, 0120-0153, 0202, 0203, 0222, 0264, and 0290: BS transmits DCI to UE indicating switching information as shown in Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier to a second carrier for a duration of carrier switching. For example in Tables 6a-6b: the switching information indicates switching from first carrier index 1 to third carrier index 3 for a first duration of carrier switching, and switching from second carrier index 2 to fourth carrier index 4 for a second duration of carrier switching.
Determination based on a rule of minimum signal loss (not in reference; claim only requires “at least one of the following methods”).
Determination according to a scheduling signaling of DCI (scheduling information of DCI). Sections 0092, 0120-0153, 0202, 0203, 0222, 0264, and 0290: BS transmits DCI to UE indicating switching information as shown in Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier to a second carrier for a duration of carrier switching. For example in Tables 6a-6b: the switching information indicates switching from first carrier index 1 to third carrier index 3 for a first duration of carrier switching, and switching from second carrier index 2 to fourth carrier index 4 for a second duration of carrier switching. Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 11, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein the carrier switching pair
information (Tables 6a-14) comprises:
Carrier information before the switching (Tables 6a-14: carrier before switching); carrier information after the switching (Tables 6a-14: carrier after switching); carrier switching information involved in the switching (Tables 6a-14: duration of carrier switching). Sections 0092, 0120-0153, 0202, 0203, 0222, 0264, and 0290: BS transmits DCI to UE indicating switching information as shown in Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier to a second carrier for a duration of carrier switching. For example in Tables 6a-6b: the switching information indicates switching from first carrier index 1 to third carrier index 3 for a first duration of carrier switching, and switching from second carrier index 2 to fourth carrier index 4 for a second duration of carrier switching. Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 12, Liu et al do not disclose wherein determination based on the rule of minimum signal loss comprises: determining a carrier switching group according to at least one carrier for transmitting data before the switching and at least one carrier for transmitting data after the switching, wherein the carrier switching group comprises a carrier before the switching and a carrier after the switching; determining a signal interruption duration when performing carrier switching of each carrier switching group; according to a rule that the signal interruption duration is shortest, determining the carrier switching group for involved in the switching. However, this limitation is based on claim 10, wherein the limitation “determination based on a rule of minimum signal loss” is not disclosed by Liu et al, since claim 10 only requires “at least one of the following methods”.
Referring to claim 13, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein the scheduling signaling of the
DCI carries a switching indicator, wherein the switching indicator comprises:
A switched-to carrier (carrier after switching) involved in the switching, and a switched-from carrier (carrier before switching) used before the switching, wherein a transmission channel (transmission link) corresponding to the switched-from carrier is converted into a transmission channel (transmission link) corresponding to the switched-to carrier after the switching. Sections 0092, 0120-0153, 0202, 0203, 0222, 0264, and 0290: BS transmits DCI to UE indicating switching information as shown in Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier to a second carrier for a duration of carrier switching. For example in Tables 6a-6b: the switching information indicates switching from first carrier index 1 to third carrier index 3 for a first duration of carrier switching, and switching from second carrier index 2 to fourth carrier index 4 for a second duration of carrier switching. Sections 0135-0137, 0139, 0145-0153, 0158-0160, 0162, 0164, 0165, 0169, 0171, 0172, 0189, 0197-0201, 0204, 0209, 0210, 0238-0240, 0242-0244, and 0300-0305: transmission links of a carrier before switching is converted into a transmission link of a carrier after switching. For example: one transmission link corresponding to one carrier is switched to another carrier; before switching, the number of transmission links corresponding to carrier 1 is 1, and the number of transmission links corresponding to carrier 2 is 1; after switching, carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3, and the number of transmission links corresponding to carrier 3 is 1. (claimed “wherein a transmission channel corresponding to the switched-from carrier is converted into a transmission channel corresponding to the switched-to carrier after the switching”). For another example: a total of two transmission links corresponding to two carriers are switched to another carrier; before switching, the number of transmission links of carrier 1 is 1, and the number of transmission links of carrier 2 is 1; after switching, carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3, and the number of transmission links of carrier 3 is 2 (claimed “wherein a transmission channel corresponding to the switched-from carrier is converted into a transmission channel corresponding to the switched-to carrier after the switching”).
Or, a switched-from carrier (carrier before switching) used before the switching, wherein the transmission channel corresponding to the switched-from carrier is converted into the transmission channel corresponding to the switched-to carrier after the switching. Sections 0135-0137, 0139, 0145-0153, 0158-0160, 0162, 0164, 0165, 0169, 0171, 0172, 0189, 0197-0201, 0204, 0209, 0210, 0238-0240, 0242-0244, and 0300-0305: transmission links of a carrier before switching is converted into a transmission link of a carrier after switching. For example: one transmission link corresponding to one carrier is switched to another carrier; before switching, the number of transmission links corresponding to carrier 1 is 1, and the number of transmission links corresponding to carrier 2 is 1; after switching, carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3, and the number of transmission links corresponding to carrier 3 is 1. (claimed “wherein a transmission channel corresponding to the switched-from carrier is converted into a transmission channel corresponding to the switched-to carrier after the switching”). For another example: a total of two transmission links corresponding to two carriers are switched to another carrier; before switching, the number of transmission links of carrier 1 is 1, and the number of transmission links of carrier 2 is 1; after switching, carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3, and the number of transmission links of carrier 3 is 2 (claimed “wherein a transmission channel corresponding to the switched-from carrier is converted into a transmission channel corresponding to the switched-to carrier after the switching”). Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 14, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 a carrier switching method, comprising:
Determining (Figures 6-7B; Sections 0135-0137) by a network-side device (BS) a carrier (Figure 6: carrier 2 is switched to carrier 3; Figure 7A : carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3 and carrier 2 is switched to carrier 4; Figure 7B: carriers 1,2 are switched to carriers 3,4), involved in switching, in a scheduled first carrier set (Figure 6: carrier set 1; Figure 7A : carrier set 1; Figure 7B: carrier set 1) for transmitting data before the switching and a scheduled second carrier set (Figure 6: carrier set 2; Figure 7A : carrier set 2; Figure 7B: carrier set 2) for transmitting data after the switching, wherein each of the first carrier set and the second carrier set comprises at least one carrier (Figure 6: carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 1,3; Figure 7A : carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 3,4; Figure 7B: carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 3,4), and at least one carrier of carriers contained in the first carrier set is different from carriers contained in the second carrier set (Figure 6: carrier 2 in carrier set 1 of carriers 1,2 is different from carriers 1,3 in carrier set 2; Figure 7A: carriers 1,2 in carrier set 1 are different from carriers 3,4 in carrier set 2; Figure 7B: carriers 1,2 in carrier set 1 are different from carriers 3,4 in carrier set 2). In Figure 6: carrier set 1 comprising carriers 1,2 is used for transmitting data before switching and carrier set 2 comprising carriers 1,3 is used for transmitting data after switching, wherein carriers 2 and 3 are involved in the switching since carrier 2 is switched to carrier 3. In Figure 7A: carrier set 1 comprising carriers 1,2 is used for transmitting data before switching and carrier set 2 comprising carriers 3,4 is used for transmitting data after switching, wherein carriers 1 and 3 are involved in the switching since carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3, and carriers 2 and 4 are involved in the switching since carrier 2 is switched to carrier 4. In Figure 7B: carrier set 1 comprising carriers 1,2 is used for transmitting data before switching and carrier set 2 comprising carriers 3,4 is used for transmitting data after switching, wherein carriers 1,2 and 3,4 are involved in the switching since carriers 1,2 are switched to carriers 3,4. Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
…
Liu et al do not disclose … wherein during carrier switching, the network-side device does not receive data on the carrier involved in the switching.
Rastegardoost et al disclose in Figures 1-32 and Sections 0291-0374 wherein a carrier pair includes a first carrier on a first band switching to a second carrier on a second band during a switching period. For example: carrier pair#1 is carrier 1 on band 1 switching to carrier 2 on band 2, and carrier pair#2 is carrier 1 on band 1 switching to carrier 3 on band 3. Sections 0135-0137, 0139, 0145-0153, 0158-0160, 0162, 0164, 0165, 0169, 0171, 0172, 0189, 0197-0201, 0204, 0209, 0210, 0238-0240, 0242-0244, and 0300-0305: UE does not transmit data during the switching period on any of the two carriers involved in the switching. Section 0293: “The UE may not transmit during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may not transmit on any uplink carrier during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may not transmit during the uplink transmission switching gap/period, on any of two uplink carriers involved in the uplink transmission switching. … The UE may omit (at least a portion, e.g., partially and/or fully) an uplink transmission during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may omit the uplink transmission on any uplink carrier during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may omit the uplink transmission on any of the two uplink carriers involved in the uplink transmission switching during the uplink transmission switching gap/period.”. Sections 0319 and 0400: By not transmitting on the uplink carriers involved in the switching during the switching period, successful uplink transmission and enhanced uplink performance, such as throughput and/or reliability of uplink transmissions, is achieved. Refer to Sections 0046-0416. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein during carrier switching, the network-side device does not receive data on the carrier involved in the switching. One would have been motivated to do so to achieve successful uplink transmission and enhanced uplink performance, since UE does not transmit on uplink carriers during switching to allow uplink carriers to perform the switching.
Referring to claim 15, refer to the rejection of claim 2.
Referring to claim 16, refer to the rejection of claim 3.
Referring to claim 17, refer to the rejection of claim 8.
Referring to claim 18, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 wherein the carrier switching
relationship comprises at least one of the following information:
Correspondence between transmission channels (transmission links) used by different carriers to transmit data. Sections 0069, 0096, 0100, 0101, 0135-0137, 0145-0146, 0148, 0150, 0152, 0158-0160, 0162, 0197, 0198, 0226, 0234, 0238-0240, 0242, 0266, 0274, 0275, 0292, and 0300-0303: BS transmits DCI to UE indicating switching information, wherein the switching information indicates a transmission link corresponding to at least one of the N carriers is switched to transmission links corresponding to the R carriers, and also indicates information such as a total number of transmission links corresponding to the N carriers, the number of transmission links corresponding to each of the N carriers, a total number of transmission links corresponding to the R carriers, and the number of transmission links corresponding to each of the R carriers. Switching information can be, for example: a total of two transmission links corresponding to two carriers are switched to another carrier, or a total of two transmission links corresponding to two carriers are switched to two transmission links corresponding to another two carriers.
A determined carrier switching pair comprising two carriers (Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier to a second carrier) for performing the switching. Sections 0092, 0120-0153, 0202, 0203, 0222, 0264, and 0290: BS transmits DCI to UE indicating switching information as shown in Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier to a second carrier for a duration of carrier switching. For example in Tables 6a-6b: the switching information indicates switching from first carrier index 1 to third carrier index 3 for a first duration of carrier switching, and switching from second carrier index 2 to fourth carrier index 4 for a second duration of carrier switching.
A switching order among different carrier switching pairs (not in reference; claim only requires “at least one of the following methods”).
And/or wherein the carrier switching pair information comprises: carrier information before the switching (Tables 6a-14: carrier before switching); carrier information after the switching (Tables 6a-14: carrier after switching); carrier switching information involved in the switching (Tables 6a-14: duration of carrier switching). Sections 0092, 0120-0153, 0202, 0203, 0222, 0264, and 0290: BS transmits DCI to UE indicating switching information as shown in Tables 6a-14 for switching from a first carrier to a second carrier for a duration of carrier switching. For example in Tables 6a-6b: the switching information indicates switching from first carrier index 1 to third carrier index 3 for a first duration of carrier switching, and switching from second carrier index 2 to fourth carrier index 4 for a second duration of carrier switching. Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
Referring to claim 20, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 a terminal (UE) comprising:
A memory (memory 1320, 1420), a transceiver (transceiver 1101, 1330), a processor (processor 1310, 1410), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (memory 1320, 1420 stores a computer program with instructions); the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (transceiver 1101, 1330 transmits and receives data controlled by processor 1310, 1410); the processor is configured to read a computer program in the memory and perform the following operations (memory 1320, 1420 stores a computer program with instructions executed by processor 1310, 1410 to perform UE functions):
Determining (Figures 6-7B; Sections 0135-0137) a carrier (Figure 6: carrier 2 is switched to carrier 3; Figure 7A : carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3 and carrier 2 is switched to carrier 4; Figure 7B: carriers 1,2 are switched to carriers 3,4), involved in switching, in a first carrier set (Figure 6: carrier set 1; Figure 7A : carrier set 1; Figure 7B: carrier set 1) for transmitting data before the switching and a second carrier set (Figure 6: carrier set 2; Figure 7A : carrier set 2; Figure 7B: carrier set 2) for transmitting data after the switching, wherein each of the first carrier set and the second carrier set comprises at least one carrier (Figure 6: carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 1,3; Figure 7A : carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 3,4; Figure 7B: carrier set 1 has 2 carriers 1,2 and carrier set 2 has 2 carriers 3,4), and at least one carrier of carriers contained in the first carrier set is different from carriers contained in the second carrier set (Figure 6: carrier 2 in carrier set 1 of carriers 1,2 is different from carriers 1,3 in carrier set 2; Figure 7A: carriers 1,2 in carrier set 1 are different from carriers 3,4 in carrier set 2; Figure 7B: carriers 1,2 in carrier set 1 are different from carriers 3,4 in carrier set 2). In Figure 6: carrier set 1 comprising carriers 1,2 is used for transmitting data before switching and carrier set 2 comprising carriers 1,3 is used for transmitting data after switching, wherein carriers 2 and 3 are involved in the switching since carrier 2 is switched to carrier 3. In Figure 7A: carrier set 1 comprising carriers 1,2 is used for transmitting data before switching and carrier set 2 comprising carriers 3,4 is used for transmitting data after switching, wherein carriers 1 and 3 are involved in the switching since carrier 1 is switched to carrier 3, and carriers 2 and 4 are involved in the switching since carrier 2 is switched to carrier 4. In Figure 7B: carrier set 1 comprising carriers 1,2 is used for transmitting data before switching and carrier set 2 comprising carriers 3,4 is used for transmitting data after switching, wherein carriers 1,2 and 3,4 are involved in the switching since carriers 1,2 are switched to carriers 3,4. Refer to Sections 0030-0342.
…
Liu et al do not disclose … wherein during carrier switching, the terminal does not transmit data on the carrier involved in the switching.
Rastegardoost et al disclose in Figures 1-32 and Sections 0291-0374 wherein a carrier pair includes a first carrier on a first band switching to a second carrier on a second band during a switching period. For example: carrier pair#1 is carrier 1 on band 1 switching to carrier 2 on band 2, and carrier pair#2 is carrier 1 on band 1 switching to carrier 3 on band 3. Sections 0135-0137, 0139, 0145-0153, 0158-0160, 0162, 0164, 0165, 0169, 0171, 0172, 0189, 0197-0201, 0204, 0209, 0210, 0238-0240, 0242-0244, and 0300-0305: UE does not transmit data during the switching period on any of the two carriers involved in the switching. Section 0293: “The UE may not transmit during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may not transmit on any uplink carrier during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may not transmit during the uplink transmission switching gap/period, on any of two uplink carriers involved in the uplink transmission switching. … The UE may omit (at least a portion, e.g., partially and/or fully) an uplink transmission during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may omit the uplink transmission on any uplink carrier during the uplink transmission switching gap/period. The UE may omit the uplink transmission on any of the two uplink carriers involved in the uplink transmission switching during the uplink transmission switching gap/period.”. Sections 0319 and 0400: By not transmitting on the uplink carriers involved in the switching during the switching period, successful uplink transmission and enhanced uplink performance, such as throughput and/or reliability of uplink transmissions, is achieved. Refer to Sections 0046-0416. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … wherein during carrier switching, the terminal does not transmit data on the carrier involved in the switching. One would have been motivated to do so to achieve successful uplink transmission and enhanced uplink performance, since UE does not transmit on uplink carriers during switching to allow uplink carriers to perform the switching.
Referring to claim 26, Liu et al disclose in Figures 1-14 a network-side device (BS), comprising:
A memory (memory 1320, 1420), a transceiver (transceiver 1201, 1330), a processor (processor 1310, 1410), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (memory 1320, 1420 stores a computer program with instructions); the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (transceiver 1201, 1330 transmits and receives data controlled by processor 1310, 1410); the processor is configured to read a computer program in the memory and perform the following operations (memory 1320, 1420 stores a computer program with instructions executed by processor 1310, 1410 to perform BS functions). Refer to the rejection of claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20230232420 to Babaei et al disclose in Figures 1-32 and Sections 0232, 0246-0248, 0260-0262, 0278, 0299, 0311-0312, and 0323 disclose wherein a wireless device receives a DCI comprising scheduling information for transmission of a first uplink transmission via a first cell/carrier and a second uplink transmission via a second cell/carrier; the wireless device determines the location of a switching gap/period for switching from the first uplink transmission to the second uplink transmission; uplink transmission on any of the first cell/carrier and the second cell/carrier may not be performed during the switching gap/period based on the determined location of the switching gap/period. Refer to Sections 0037-0381.
U.S. Publication No. 20200092045 to Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-14 and Sections 0032, 0053, 0075, and 0139 wherein the network uses RRC Reconfiguration to switch UE between two ULs; the old carrier that the UE is using before the switch and the new carrier that the UE switches to, may have different numerologies, transmission durations or carrier bandwidth. Refer to Sections 0067-0177.
U.S. Publication No. 20230164802 to Hu et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0026, 0114, 0147, and 0149 wherein UE does not send the uplink transmission on two uplink carriers before and after switching within a predetermined time interval when the uplink carrier is switched. Refer to Sections 0072-0220.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
August 3, 2026