DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
a. AI does not disclose or suggest any lens or optical fiber anywhere in its disclosure, nor does it suggest that these elements could or should be added, let alone "a fiber optic device configured to conduct the light received by the lens," recited in claim 1. The skilled person in the art would understand that inserting a lens and a fiber optic device into AI's direct measurement optical path would inevitably introduce free-space-to-fiber-core coupling losses,
power fluctuations due to fiber bending, and additional alignment errors, directly undermining the high-precision measurement goal that AI pursues. AI teaches fixed, direct measurement and discourages adopting the separate receiver solution of the present application. Thus, the skilled person in the art would not have motivations to modify AI when the prior art teaches away from a certain modification.
The technical problem that AI seeks to solve is "increasing the testing speed and accuracy of diffraction efficiency" (paragraph [0005]), and its fixed bench-type design is completely unrelated to "multi-position monitoring" or "portable measurement." Paragraph [0003] of the present application identifies that the core defects of existing waveguide measurement devices are that they are "non-portable, expensive, have poor measurement convenience, and insufficient measurement precision" - precisely the fundamental problems that the present application solves by its decoupled structure of "receiver device (including a lens) + fiber optic device + detection device." Thus, AI is disclosing a fixed, high-precision measurement system and does not recognize or suggest the portability concerns addressed by the present application. The Examiner's proposed combination of the above references improperly relies on hindsight.
Inbar discloses a multi-channel optical power monitoring system for an optical fiber communications network. Its lens (e.g., collimator lens 118-1; see paragraph [0020]) is used to collimate light from a point source at the end of an optical fiber into a parallel beam. In contrast, the lens in claim 1 of the present application is configured to receive light coupled out from a large- area region of a waveguide out-coupling grating. The two designs are completely different in optical path design, spot size, reception mode, and application scenario. Inbar's lens provides a point light source, whereas the lens of the present application provides an area light source. The skilled person in the art would have no motivation to directly apply a point-light-source receiving structure to measuring light from a large-area waveguide out-coupling grating, and the Examiner has not demonstrated that such an application would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
a. (Examiner’s response) Examiner notes AI does not address the limitation of "a fiber optic device configured to conduct the light received by the lens", but rather Inbar address this limitation. Inbar teaches a detection device (fig 1, 170) comprising a lens i.e. receiver device (fig 1, 118) and a fiber optic device configured to conduct light received by the lens (0020, lines 5-6 & 10-15). AI provides the motivation that it would have been obvious to try to measure the receiving light from a waveguide to determine the efficiency of the wave guide. Exemplary rationales of a prima facie case obviousness include teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results See MPEP 2143.I (A) & (G). The test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art, and all teachings in the prior art must be considered to the extent that they are in analogous arts 2143.01 II. Examiner further notes AI does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed invention; therefore, it does not teach away. See MPEP 2143.01.I.
AI, in the same field of endeavor as Gao Tek of power meters, teaches a power meter’s ability to detect light from a waveguide (fig 1, 6). AI teaches it will be understood by those skilled in the art, for the grating diffraction efficiency testing device and method provided by the invention, it also can make various improvements without departing from the content of the invention (pg. 8, ¶ 7). Examiner notes AI provides an Obvious to try rationale – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. See MPEP 2143.01.I.E. Examiner notes one of ordinary skill would understand the known option of placing a power meter next to a fiber acquire optical characteristics of the fiber. Therefore, the waveguide comprising a diffraction grating (fig 1,7) does not depart from the scope of measuring wavelengths outcoupled from a waveguide.
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Based upon the principle of reversibility, if light goes from the fiber to the lens, then light may travel back through lens to the fiber in the exact same manner. Applicant has not provided any evidence as to why a collimating lens would not be able to transfer light towards the fiber. When the reference relied on expressly anticipates or makes obvious all of the elements of the claimed invention, the reference is presumed to be operable. Once such a reference is found, the burden is on applicant to rebut the presumption of operability. In re Sasse, 629 F.2d 675, 207 USPQ 107 (CCPA 1980). See also MPEP § 716.07. See also In re Antor Media Corp., 689 F.3d 1282, 103 USPQ2d 1555 (Fed. Cir. 2012). Specifically, in In re Antor Media Corp.
b. Applicant submits that claim 1 is non-obvious over the proposed combination of Frank, AI, Gao Tek, and Inbar. The specific reasons are as follows. Applicant does not agree with the Examiner's assertion regarding the combination of Frank, AI, and Gao Tek. Frank discloses an AR display system, the focus of which is image light coupling and virtual image formation; it does not involve waveguide performance measurement anywhere. AI actually discloses a fixed bench-type testing device that uses a beam splitter, a prism, and optical power meters to directly receive light, aiming to "improve testing accuracy"; it has no lens and no optical fiber, and its fixed laboratory design is fundamentally different in system architecture from the portable measurement device of the present application.
Applicant does not agree with the Examiner's assertion that there is a motivation to combine the four references. Frank (AR display), Al (fixed laboratory testing), Gao Tek (optical fiber communication), and Inbar (point-source collimation) belong to different technical fields, each solving its own independent problem. The Examiner's combination requires extracting "direct reception" from AI and then replacing it with Inbar's "lens-fiber" system, which directly negates AI's core design; extracting "display waveguide" from Frank and then measuring its performance goes beyond Frank's technical scope; extracting "power meter" from Gao Tek and applying it to a different scenario ignores technical incompatibilities. This is not an "improvement" but a fundamental alteration of the core technical path of each cited reference. Under MPEP 2143, a combination that changes the basic working principle of a prior art reference is not obvious Examiner's reasoning is essentially a hindsight reconstruction based on the present application's solution, which KSR explicitly prohibits as improper hindsight.
b. (Examiner’s response) Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Al, in the same field of endeavor as Frank of waveguides with in/out coupling gratings, teaches a detection device i.e. power meter receiving light coupled out of a predetermined region of a waveguide. Examiner notes the known work of measuring power from waveguides via a power meter would be applicable to Frank’s waveguide since the measurements may provide efficiency measurements for Frank’s grating based upon market incentives of quality control of waveguides. Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. SEE MPEP 2143.I.
Examiner notes one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually. In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the movement device being configured to be able to move” “an off-axis field generating device configured to assist” “a second rotation device configured to be able to rotate the waveguide” “a reflection device configured to reflect” “the third rotation device or the second linear displacement device configured to be moved” “a third linear displacement device configured to move” in claims 1, 2, & 4-8.
Applicant teaches the movement device can be a linear displacement device, such as a linear
motor, a screw module, etc. it can also be a device that realizes rotary motion, swing motion,
etc., such as a servo motor, a pendulum cylinder, a piezoelectric ceramic rotation device, and
the like (0051).
Applicant teaches the third rotation device 604 is a servo motor, a pendulum cylinder,
a piezoelectric ceramic rotation device, or the like (0070).
Applicant teaches the second rotation device 601 1s a servo motor, a pendulum cylinder, a piezoelectric ceramic rotation device, or the like (0058).
Applicant teaches the reflection device 602 is an emitting mirror, a prism, or the like (0066).
Applicant recites the off-axis field generating device comprises the reflection device (claim 6).
Applicant teaches the linear displacement device may be a linear motor, a screw module (0051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao Tek, “Fiber Optical Power Meters”, https://gaotek.com/category/fiber-optics/fiber-testers/power-meter/ hereafter Gao Tek in view of Inbar US 20150055202 in further view of AI CN113218627.
With respect to claim 1, Gao Tek teaches a waveguide measurement device, comprising:
a detection device (fig 1) “power meters” being configured to be able to calculate an intensity “measure intensity” of the light (pg. 1, ¶ 1, line 1).
Gao Tek does not teach a lens being configured to receive light and a fiber optic device configured to conduct the light received by the lens.
Inbar, in the same field of endeavor as Gao Tek of power meters, provides prior art teaching a detection device (fig 1, 170) comprising a lens i.e. receiver device (fig 1, 118) and a fiber optic device (fig 2, 112), wherein the fiber optic device is configured to conduct light received by the lens (0020, lines 5-6 & 10-15). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine a fiber optic device and lens with Gao Tek’s detection device to conveniently monitor light at different locations due to the flexibility of the fiber.
The combination does not teach receiving light coupled out of a predetermined region of a waveguide.
Al, in the same field of endeavor as Gao Tek of power meters, teaches a power meter receiving light coupled out of a predetermined region of a waveguide (fig 1, 6) (abstract, lines 1-5). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try to measure the power of light from a waveguide via the combination’s detection device to determine the efficiency of the waveguide with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 2 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao Tek, “Fiber Optical Power Meters”, https://gaotek.com/category/fiber-optics/fiber-testers/power-meter/ hereafter Gao Tek in view of Inbar US 20150055202 in further view of Al CN113218627 in further view of Thorlabs, “Align Fiber Collimators to Create Free Space Between Single Mode Fibers | Thorlabs Insights”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gztPwrKodq8 Apr 1, 2021 hereafter Thorlabs.
With respect to claim 2 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach a movement device on which the receiver device is provided, the movement device being configured to be able to move the receiver device.
Thorlabs, in the field of endeavor of optical mounts, teaches a kinematic mount i.e. movement device configured to move a receiver device i.e. collimator (fig 1). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Thorlab’s movement device with the combination’s receiver device as convenient means of holding/moving optics in a desired location without tediously controlling the optics by hand.
With respect to claim 9 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach an aperture device being located on the light incident side of the lens, and the aperture device being opposite to the lens.
Thorlabs, in the field of endeavor of optical fibers, implicitly teaches an aperture device (fig 2 & 3) located opposite of a lens (fig 2). Examiner notes based upon the principle of reversibility of light the aperture is capable of receiving light at the incident side, wherein Thorlab implicitly teaches a fiber receiving incident light (fig 3). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Thorlab’s aperture with the combination’s lens to help direct light towards the lens while protecting the lens from dirt and unwanted debris.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao Tek, “Fiber Optical Power Meters”, https://gaotek.com/category/fiber-optics/fiber-testers/power-meter/ hereafter Gao Tek in view of Inbar US 20150055202 in further view of Al CN113218627 in further view of Thorlabs, “Align Fiber Collimators to Create Free Space Between Single Mode Fibers | Thorlabs Insights”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gztPwrKodq8 Apr 1, 2021 hereafter Thorlabs in further view of Standa, “Motorized Optical Mount”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFMYd2VqFeM, Dec 21, 2012 hereafter Standa.
With respect to claim 3 according to claim 2, the combination does not teach a first linear displacement device and a first rotation device, the first rotation device and the first linear displacement device being connected and secured to each other, the receiver device being provided on the first rotation device or the first linear displacement device.
Standa, in the field of endeavor of optical mounts, teaches a first linear displacement device being connected and secured to a rotation device (fig 1). Standa implicitly teaches the linear displacement device comprises holes which optics may be mounted on. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Standa’s linear displacement device and first rotation device with the combination’s receiver device to precisely hold/move optics in a desired location without tediously controlling the optics by hand.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Gao Tek, “Fiber Optical Power Meters”, https://gaotek.com/category/fiber-optics/fiber-testers/power-meter/ hereafter Gao Tek in view of Inbar US 20150055202 in further view of AI CN113218627 in further view of Standa, “Motorized Optical Mount”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFMYd2VqFeM, Dec 21, 2012 hereafter Standa.
With respect to claim 4 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach an off-axis field generating device.
Standa, in the field of endeavor of optical mounts, teaches an off-axis generating device comprising a first linear displacement device being connected and secured to a rotation device (fig 1). Standa implicitly teaches the linear displacement device comprises holes which optics may be mounted on. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Standa’s linear displacement device and first rotation device with the combination’s receiver device to precisely hold/move optics in a desired location without tediously controlling the optics by hand. Examiner further notes optics such as a waveguide may be attached to Standa’s off-axis field device to provide alignment of light entering the waveguide which would affect light exiting out of the waveguide.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao Tek, “Fiber Optical Power Meters”, https://gaotek.com/category/fiber-optics/fiber-testers/power-meter/ hereafter Gao Tek in view of Inbar US 20150055202 in further view of AI CN113218627 in further view of Liu CN 111122120.
With respect to claim 10 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach the fiber optic device comprises a fiber body and a fiber core, the fiber core being connected to one end of the fiber body, and the detection device being coupled to the other end of the fiber body, the fiber core being provided opposite to the lens.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor as Gao Tek of power meters (abstract, lines 14-15 Liu), implicitly teaches a lens (fig 1, 160) is located opposite of the distal end of a fiber body (fig 1, 180), wherein the fiber body is configured to direct light towards a power meter (fig 1, 200) i.e. detection device. Liu further teaches the fiber is a single mode fiber ,therefore, it is understood the fiber has a core and cladding. Examiner notes one of ordinary skill would understand the fiber core which runs through the length of the fiber body is connect to an end of the fiber body via the cladding which surrounds the core. Liu further teaches the detection device (fig 1, 200) is coupled to the other end of the fiber body. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try to combine Lui’s fiber body with combination’s lens and detection device to accurately detect the power of light due to proper optical alignment.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frank WO 2020069400 in view of Al CN113218627 in further view of Gao Tek, “Fiber Optical Power Meters”, https://gaotek.com/category/fiber-optics/fiber-testers/power-meter/ hereafter Gao Tek in further view Inbar US 20150055202.
With respect to claim 1, Frank teaches a waveguide measurement device, comprising:
a predetermined region of the waveguide (fig 21C, 2174).
Frank does not teach a detection device being configured to calculate an intensity of the light coupled out of the predetermined region of the waveguide.
Al, in the same field of endeavor as Frank of waveguides with in/out coupling gratings, teaches a detection device i.e. power meter receiving light coupled out of a predetermined region of a waveguide (fig 1, 6) (abstract, lines 1-5).
AI does not teach a detection device being configured to calculate an intensity.
Gao Tek, in the field of endeavor of measuring optical power (0106, lines 20-21 Frank), teaches a detection device i.e. power meter configured to calculate the intensity of light (pg. 1, ¶ 1, line 1). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to try to combine Gao Tek’s detection device with Frank’s waveguide to determine the efficiency of Frank’s waveguide for quality purpose with a reasonable expectation of success.
The combination does not teach a lens being configured to receive light and a fiber optic device configured to conduct the light received by the lens.
Inbar, in the field of endeavor of power meters, provides prior art teaching a detection device (fig 1, 170) comprising a lens i.e. receiver device (fig 1, 118) and a fiber optic device (fig 2, 112), wherein the fiber optic device is configured to conduct light received by the lens (0020, lines 5-6 & 10-15). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine a fiber optic device and lens with the combination’s detection device to conveniently monitor light at different locations of the combination’s waveguide due to the flexibility of the fiber.
Claim(s) 4 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frank WO 2020069400 in view of Al CN113218627 in further view of Gao Tek, “Fiber Optical Power Meters”, https://gaotek.com/category/fiber-optics/fiber-testers/power-meter/ hereafter Gao Tek in further view Inbar US 20150055202 in further view of Standa, “Motorized Optical Mount”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFMYd2VqFeM Dec 21, 2012 hereafter Standa
With respect to claim 4 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach an off-axis field generating device.
Standa, in the field of endeavor of optical mounts, teaches an off-axis generating device comprising a first linear displacement device being connected and secured to a rotation device (fig 1). Standa implicitly teaches the linear displacement device comprises holes which optics may be mounted on. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Standa’s linear displacement device and first rotation device with the combination’s receiver device to precisely hold/move optics in a desired location without tediously controlling the optics by hand. Examiner further notes optics such as a waveguide may be attached to Standa’s off-axis field device to provide alignment of light entering the waveguide which would affect light exiting out of the waveguide.
With respect to claim 6 according to claim 4, the combination teaches the waveguide measurement device wherein the off-axis field generating device comprises a reflection device (fig 21C, 2130 Frank) configured to reflect collimated light so that the collimated light “collimating mirror” (0191, line 28 Frank) is incident obliquely “oblique angle of incidence” (0088, line 4) (fig 21C, 2160 Frank) onto an in-coupling grating (fig 21C, 2146 Frank) of the waveguide.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, & 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or to include the limitation(s) and any intervening claims into the base claim. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “wherein the off-axis field generating device comprises a second rotation device configured to be able to rotate the waveguide about a center of an in-coupling grating of the waveguide”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 5.
As to claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “second linear displacement device and a third rotation device, the third rotation device and the second linear displacement device being connected and secured to each other, the reflection device being provided on the third rotation device or the second linear displacement device configured to be moved parallel to the waveguide
and to be rotated”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 7.
As to claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “a third linear displacement device configured to move the waveguide so that the light reflected by the reflection device is configured to be incident obliquely onto the in-coupling grating of the waveguide.”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAURICE C SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2877