DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
As to claim 4: The claim recites in part “means for transforming the user interface of the main unit between a first mode and a second mode” and is interpreted in the above noted manner. In other words, the cap member 900 disclosed in page 11, lines 25-27 (as well as any equivalents of such a cap) is considered to be the structure that corresponds to such a means.
As to claims 6-12: Each of said claims depend ultimately from claim 4 and accordingly each is also indicated in the same manner as claim 4 for the reasons noted previously above.
As to claim 6: The claim additionally recites “means for receiving a signal wirelessly” and is also interpreted in the above manner. In other words, the disclosed “Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or other wireless standards” (and their equivalents) disclosed in page 7, lines 14-16 is considered to be the structure that corresponds to such a means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fadell et al. US PG-PUB 2016/0161138 A1 (hereafter Fadell), prior art of record as indicated on the IDS filed 1 October 2024.
As to claim 1: Fadell discloses an environmental sensor system (see fig. 5 and 8A-8C) comprising a plurality of sensor assemblies (100, 100’; see figs. 8A-8C and ¶ 63) which include one or more base units (702; see fig. 5 and ¶ 47) and one or more main units (108; see fig. 5 and ¶ 34), where the main unit (108) is selectively engageable by hand with the base unit (see fig. 4 and ¶ 45).
As to claim 2: Fadell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the base unit (702) comprises a first set of environmental sensors (not labeled but see ¶ 50 regarding the disclosed sensors), and the main unit (108) comprises a second set of environmental sensors (not labeled but see ¶ 34 regarding the disclosed sensors).
As to claim 3: Fadell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the main unit comprises a display screen (102; see fig. 1A and ¶ 34) and user interface (see ¶ 41).
As to claim 4: Fadell discloses the system of claim 1, comprising actuation means (106; see ¶ 36) for transforming the user interface of the main unit between a first mode and a second mode (see ¶ 36).
As to claim 5: Fadell discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the first mode comprises detailed information for display which is targeted at an adult or sophisticated user of the system, while the second mode displays a subset of the information shown in the first mode (see ¶ 45).
As to claim 6: Fadell discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the actuation means (106; see ¶ 36) comprises means for receiving a signal wirelessly from an associated computing device or web service (see ¶ 50).
As to claim 7: Fadell discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the actuation means (106; see ¶ 36) comprises a physical or capacitive switch provided at the body of the main unit (see ¶ 35).
As to claim 8: Fadell discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the actuation means (106; see ¶ 36) comprises a selectively attachable physical actuator member (see ¶ 35 and 36).
As to claim 9: Fadell discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the selectively attachable physical actuator member comprises a cap member (104; see fig. 1A and ¶ 35) which is selectively attachable to an upper portion of the main unit (see ¶ 35 and 36).
As to claim 14: Fadell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the main unit (108; see fig. 5 and ¶ 34) and the base unit (702; see fig. 5 and ¶ 47) are each provided with cooperating electrical actuators which enable communication of power and data between them (see ¶ 36).
As to claim 15: Fadell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the base unit (702; see fig. 5 and ¶ 47) and/or the main unit (108; see fig. 5 and ¶ 34) are configured to communicate with a remote data platform (see ¶ 50).
As to claim 16: Fadell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a base unit (702; see fig. 5 and ¶ 47) is provided with a location identifier and the base unit and main unit are configured to share this location identifier when they are connected (see ¶ 63; each base and main unit has a unique identifier regarding its designation as a master or slave unit).
As to claim 17: Fadell discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the location ID is stored at a remote platform (see fig. 10 and ¶ 72).
As to claim 18: Fadell discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the base unit (702; see fig. 5 and ¶ 47) and main unit (108; see fig. 5 and ¶ 34) are configured to exchange network credentials upon connection, such that the main unit may automatically join a network when coupled with a base unit (see ¶ 72).
As to claim 19: Fadell discloses the system of claim 1, being coupled with other devices with can affect air quality, and can generate control signals for these devices based on the air quality readings and/or recommended actions (see figs. 8A-8C and ¶ 61).
As to claim 20: Fadell discloses a method of sensing environmental parameters (see ¶ 34), comprising providing a plurality of sensor assemblies (100, 100’; see figs. 8A-8C and ¶ 63) which comprise one or more base units (702; see fig. 5 and ¶ 47) and one or more main units (108; see fig. 5 and ¶ 34), where the main unit (108) is selectively engageable by hand with the base unit (see fig. 4 and ¶ 45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadell et al. US PG-PUB 2016/0161138 A1 (hereafter Fadell), prior art of record as indicated on the IDS filed 1 October 2024 in view of Crescini et al. US PG-PUB 2017/0184560 A1 (hereafter Crescini).
As to claim 10: Fadell teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 8, including a main unit (108; see fig. 5 and ¶ 34) and a selectively attachable physical actuator member (see ¶ 35 and 36), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the main unit and the selectively attachable physical actuator member are each provided with cooperating magnetic members for urging the members together and to ensure correct alignment when the members are placed together.
However, Crescini teaches that a main unit (38; see fig. 1 and ¶ 23) and another component (20) may be each provided with cooperating magnetic members for urging the members together and to ensure correct alignment when the members are placed together (see ¶ 23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fadell such that the main unit and the selectively attachable physical actuator member are each provided with cooperating magnetic members for urging the members together and to ensure correct alignment when the members are placed together because such a construction is an art recognized means of achieving the useful and predictable result of attaching parts that separate one another as suggested in Crescini ¶ 23 and allows for each of said components to be attached to a variety of locations depending on the desired application such as further suggested in ¶ 24 and 25 of Crescini which thus improves the flexibility of Fadell’s device by allowing it to be applied in a variety of locations.
As to claim 13: Fadell teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 1, including a main unit (108; see fig. 5 and ¶ 34) and a base unit (702; see fig. 5 and ¶ 47), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the main unit and the base unit are each provided with cooperating magnetic members for urging the members together and to ensure correct alignment when the members are placed together.
However, Crescini teaches that a main unit (38; see fig. 1 and ¶ 23) and another component (20) may be each provided with cooperating magnetic members for urging the members together and to ensure correct alignment when the members are placed together (see ¶ 23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fadell such that the main unit and the base unit are each provided with cooperating magnetic members for urging the members together and to ensure correct alignment when the members are placed together because such a construction is an art recognized means of achieving the useful and predictable result of attaching parts that separate one another as suggested in Crescini ¶ 23 and allows for each of said components to be attached to a variety of locations depending on the desired application such as further suggested in ¶ 24 and 25 of Crescini which thus improves the flexibility of Fadell’s device by allowing it to be applied in a variety of locations.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadell et al. US PG-PUB 2016/0161138 A1 (hereafter Fadell), prior art of record as indicated on the IDS filed 1 October 2024 in view of Sim et al. US PG-PUB 2019/0170716 A1 (hereafter Sim).
As to claim 11: Fadell teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 8, including a main unit (38; see fig. 1 and ¶ 23) and the selectively attachable physical actuator member (see ¶ 35 and 36), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the main unit and the selectively attachable physical actuator member are provided with proximity air gap radio communication means, most preferably with a cooperating near field communication (NFC) tag and reader.
However, Sim teaches that components of a sensor unit may be provided with proximity air gap radio communication means, most preferably with a cooperating near field communication (NFC) tag and reader (see ¶ 90).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fadell such that the main unit and the selectively attachable physical actuator member are provided with proximity air gap radio communication means, most preferably with a cooperating near field communication (NFC) tag and reader because such a construction is an art recognized means of achieving both the useful and predictable results of either wirelessly receiving charging for power purposes and/or communicating over distance, such as suggested in ¶ 90 in Sim, which would thus allow Fadell’s device to be remotely powered or receive and send information to and from a remote site for further processing.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadell et al. US PG-PUB 2016/0161138 A1 (hereafter Fadell), prior art of record as indicated on the IDS filed 1 October 2024 in view of Sim et al. US PG-PUB 2019/0170716 A1 (hereafter Sim) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Iyer US PG-PUB 2019/0249896 A1 (hereafter Iyer).
As to claim 12: Fadell teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as described above regarding claim 11, including a selectively attachable physical actuator member (see Fadell ¶ 35 and 36), but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the selectively attachable physical actuator member comprises a tag provided with a unique ID, and the user interface mode is selected based on the ID.
However, Iyer teaches that a sensing member may comprise a tag provided with a unique ID (see ¶ 28), and the user interface mode is selected based on the ID (see ¶ 29).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Fadell’s system such that the selectively attachable physical actuator member comprises a tag provided with a unique ID, and the user interface mode is selected based on the ID because such a construction allows for a unique ID identifier to allow only for certain authorized personnel to access the sensor system in the event of altering conditions that can affect the operation of the sensing system, such as suggested in ¶ 29 of Iyer and thus prevents a user from inadvertently altering conditions that could negatively impact the operation of Fadell’s device.
Conclusion
/JOHN M ROYSTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2855