DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/853,252 filed on 10/01/2024 in which claims 1-7 and 9-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (WO 2021/136474 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a method for managing small data transmission (SDT) with a user equipment (UE), the method implemented in a network node of a radio access network (RAN) (Paragraphs [0036] and [0038] small data transmission via RA procedure) and comprising:
determining that the UE should operate in an inactive state (Paragraph [0038] and [0079] RRC_INACTIVE);
receiving a UE capability information element (IE) indicative of whether the UE supports an SDT type that relies on a random access procedure (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] UE reports capability of supporting small data transmission);
generating, based at least on the UE capability IE indicative of whether the UE supports the SDT type, a message that causes the UE to communicate small data in accordance with a capability of the UE for the SDT type (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] after UE capability, provide configured grants); and
transmitting the message to the UE (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] UE performs small data transmissions via configured grants).
2. Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches an apparatus (Figure 3), functioning as a network node of a radio access network (RAN) and configured to manage small data transmission (SDT) with a user equipment (UE) (Paragraphs [0036] and [0038] small data transmission via RA procedure), the apparatus comprising:
processing hardware, configured to:
determine that the UE should operate in an inactive state (Paragraph [0038] and [0079] RRC_INACTIVE);
receive a UE capability information element (IE) indicative of whether the UE supports an SDT type that relies on a random access procedure (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] UE reports capability of supporting small data transmission);
generate, based at least on the UE capability IE indicative of whether the UE supports the SDT type, a message that causes the UE to communicate small data in accordance with a capability of the UE for the SDT type (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] after UE capability, provide configured grants); and
transmit the message to the UE (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] UE performs small data transmissions via configured grants).
3. Regarding claims 2 and 16, Chen teaches, wherein generating the message includes:
generating an indication of the SDT type when the UE and the network node support the SDT type (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] after UE capability for small data transmission, provide configured grants).
4. Regarding claims 3 and 17, Chen teaches, wherein generating the message includes:
generating an SDT configuration specific to the SDT type (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] after UE capability for small data transmission, provide configured grants).
5. Regarding claims 4 and 18, Chen teaches
wherein the SDT type is a first SDT type, further comprising:
prior to generating the message, detecting that the UE does not support a second SDT type that relies on a resource previously allocated to the UE (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] UE supports RRC_INACTIVE; mandatorily support via a RA procedure; optionally supports small data transmission via pre-configured PUSCH resources).
6. Regarding claims 5 and 19, Chen teaches,
wherein generating the message is further based on whether the network node has configured a data radio bearer (DRB) for the UE (Paragraphs [0041] and [0042] DRB).
7. Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches wherein generating the message includes:
generating an indication of the SDT type when: (i) the UE and the network node support
the SDT type and (ii) the network node has configured the DRB for the UE (Paragraphs [0038] to [0042] and [0075] to [0080] after UE capability for small data transmission, provide configured grants).
8. Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches, wherein generating the message includes:
generating an indication of the SDT type when: (i) the UE and the network node support
the SDT type and (ii) the network node has not configured the DRB for the UE (Paragraphs [0038] to [0042] and [0075] to [0080] after UE capability for small data transmission, provide configured grants).
9. Regarding claims 9 and 20, Chen teaches, wherein the RAN stores the
UE capability IE, the method further comprising:
receiving a UE capability identifier; and
identifying, based on the UE capability identifier, the UE capability IE (Paragraphs [0038] to [0042] and [0075] UE reports capability of supporting small data transmission).
10. Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches a method for managing small data transmission (SDT) on a cell, the method implemented in a network node of a radio access network (RAN) and comprising:
determining that the cell should facilitate communication of small data on the cell;
receiving a UE capability information element (IE) indicative of whether the UE supports
an SDT type that relies on a random access procedure (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] UE reports capability of supporting small data transmission);
generating, based at least on whether the network node determines to enable the cell to
facilitate communication according to the SDT type, a data packet that, when received by a user equipment (UE), causes the UE to communicate small data in accordance with a capability of the cell (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] after UE capability, provide configured grants); and
broadcasting the data packet on the cell (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] UE performs small data transmissions via configured grants).
11. Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches, wherein generating the data packet includes:
generating an indication to facilitate communication according to the SDT type when the
network node determines to enable the cell (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] UE supports RRC_INACTIVE; mandatorily support via a RA procedure; optionally supports small data transmission via pre-configured PUSCH resources).
12. Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches, wherein generating the data packet includes:
refraining from generating an indication to facilitate communication according to the SDT type when the network node determines not to enable the cell (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] UE supports RRC_INACTIVE; mandatorily support via a RA procedure; optionally supports small data transmission via pre-configured PUSCH resources).
13. Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches, wherein
the SDT type is a first SDT type, and generating the data packet includes:
generating an indication to facilitate communication according to a second SDT type
when the network node determines not to enable the cell (Paragraphs [0038] and [0075] to [0080] after UE capability, provide configured grants).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2021/136474 A1) in view of Sui et al. (US 2023/0072551 A1).
10. Regarding claims 10 and 21, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the network node is a central unit (CU) of a distributed network node also including a distributed unit (DU).
Sui teaches wherein the network node is a central unit (CU) of a distributed network node also including a distributed unit (DU) (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0108] and [0177] central unit).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the network node is a central unit (CU) of a distributed network node also including a distributed unit (DU) as taught by Sui in the system of Chen for improvements in operation of very low power devices see Paragraph [0001] of Sui.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 2023/0328811 A1) Paragraphs [0049] and [0384]
Lei et al. (US 2022/0182949 A1) small data transfer, power control
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466