DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 6, 9, 11, 13 and 14 are amended.
Claim(s) 15-20 are new.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) 63/329,343 submitted on April 8th, 2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on October 1st, 2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al. (US 2024/0373497 A1) hereinafter “Dai” in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0087615 A1) hereinafter “Park”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Dai discloses a method [see fig. 8, pg. 9, ¶127 lines 1-3, a method for data and signaling transmission], implemented in a first radio access network (RAN) node communicating with a second RAN node [see fig. 8, pg. 9, ¶127 lines 1-3, implemented in a receiving base station (BS) or radio access network (RAN) node, and in a last serving BS or RAN node], for managing small data transmission (SDT) configuration for a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 8, pg. 9, ¶127 lines 1-3, for data and signaling transmission], the method [see fig. 8, pg. 9, ¶127 lines 1-3, the method] comprising:
receiving [see fig. 8: Step “806”, pg. 9, ¶129 lines 1-11, obtaining], at the first RAN node and from the second RAN node [see fig. 8: Step “806”, pg. 9, ¶129 lines 1-11, by the receiving BS from the last serving BS], a first SDT configuration for the UE [see fig. 8: Step “806”, pg. 9, ¶129 lines 1-11, an indication associated with a downlink non-SDT transmission, upon the last serving BS ending the SDT procedure, and in response to at least one of arrival of downlink non-SDT data and arrival of downlink non-SDT signaling]; and
transmitting [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, transmitting], from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to the receiving of the first SDT configuration [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, by the receiving BS to the UE after receiving the RRC release message with the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission], a downlink message [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, the RRC release message].
Although Dai discloses transmitting a downlink message, Dai does not explicitly teach the message including: “in a first instance, omitting an SDT information element from the downlink message to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration, and in a second instance, including a second SDT configuration in the SDT information element to indicate that the UE is to update the first SDT configuration”.
However Park discloses receiving [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, receiving], at the first RAN node and from the second RAN node [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, by a base station central unit control plane (e.g., CU-CP, base station CU-CP, gNB-CU-CP, etc.) from a base station central unit user plane (e.g., CU-UP, base station CU-UP, gNB-CU-UP, etc.)], a first SDT configuration for the UE [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, an indication message indicating completion of the SDT procedure];
transmitting [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, sending], from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to the receiving of the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, by the base station central unit control plane (e.g., CU-CP, base station CU-CP, gNB-CU-CP, etc.), to the wireless device, based on the indication message], a downlink message [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, a radio resource control (RRC) release message], including [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶349 lines 1-17, indicating]:
in a first instance [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶349 lines 1-17, in an example], omitting an SDT information element from the downlink message to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶349 lines 1-17, that the wireless device stays in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state], and in a second instance [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶349 lines 1-17, in an example], including a second SDT configuration in the SDT information element to indicate that the UE is to update the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶349 lines 1-17, the RRC release message comprises configuration parameters for suspension of an RRC connection].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message including: “in a first instance, omitting an SDT information element from the downlink message to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration, and in a second instance, including a second SDT configuration in the SDT information element to indicate that the UE is to update the first SDT configuration” as taught by Park in the system of Dai for existing technologies to avoid causing interruption during SDT procedures and prevent deteriorating communication reliability and/or increasing signaling overhead(s) [see Park, pg. 27, ¶256 lines 2-5].
Regarding Claim 2,
The combined system of Dai and Park discloses the method of claim 1.
Dai further discloses wherein the receiving of the first SDT configuration for the UE [see fig. 8: Step(s) “206”/ “806”, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-5; pg. 9, ¶129 lines 1-11, in response to at least one of arrival of downlink non-SDT data and arrival of downlink non-SDT signaling, the last serving BS ends the SDT procedure, and transmits an indication associated with a downlink non-SDT transmission to the receiving BS] includes:
transmitting [see fig. 8: Step(s) “202”/ “802”, pg. 5, ¶77 lines 1-13, in response to receiving the RRC resume request message associated with the SDT, the receiving BS transmits], from the first RAN node to the second RAN node [see fig. 8: Step(s) “202”/ “802”, pg. 5, ¶77 lines 1-13, to the last serving BS for at least a partial UE context retrieval from the last serving BS], a request for a UE context [see fig. 8: Step(s) “202”/ “802”, pg. 5, ¶77 lines 1-13, a first retrieve UE context request message]; and
receiving [see fig. 8: Step(s) “204”/ “804”, pg. 5, ¶78 lines 3-10, obtaining], at the first RAN node and from the second RAN node [see fig. 8: Step(s) “204”/ “804”, pg. 5, ¶78 lines 3-10, by the receiving BS from the last serving BS], a response to the request for the UE context [see fig. 8: Step(s) “204”/ “804”, pg. 5, ¶78 lines 3-10, a retrieve UE context failure message in response to the first retrieve UE context request message], the response including the first SDT configuration for the UE [see fig. 8: Step(s) “204”/ “804”, pg. 5, ¶78 lines 3-10, the retrieve UE context failure message including the at least partial UE context of the UE].
Regarding Claim 3,
The combined system of Dai and Park discloses the method of claim 1.
Dai further discloses wherein the first RAN node is a first base station including a first distributed unit (DU) and a first central unit (CU) and the second RAN node is a second base station with a second DU and a second CU [see pg. 8, ¶112 lines 1-9, each CU-UP unit and the at least one DU are connected by an interface F1-U as specified in 3GPP standard documents].
Regarding Claim 4,
Dai discloses the method of claim 3.
Dai does not explicitly teach wherein: “the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration”.
However Park discloses the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration [see pg. 37, ¶351 lines 1-11, the configuration message comprises an information element requesting to report the completion of the SDT procedure].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message including: “the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration” as taught by Park in the system of Dai for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5,
Dai discloses the method of claim 3.
Dai does not explicitly teach wherein: “in a third instance, transmitting the downlink message comprises omitting an SDT DU configuration to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration”.
However Park discloses in a third instance [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶349 lines 1-17, in an example], transmitting the downlink message comprises omitting an SDT DU configuration to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶349 lines 1-17, the RRC release message indicates that the wireless device stays in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message including: “in a third instance, transmitting the downlink message comprises omitting an SDT DU configuration to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration” as taught by Park in the system of Dai for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6,
The combined system of Dai and Park discloses the method of claim 1.
Dai further discloses wherein the downlink message is a release message for a protocol associated with controlling radio resources [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, an RRC release message with the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission].
Regarding Claim 7,
Dai discloses a method [see fig. 8, pg. 9, ¶127 lines 1-3, a method for data and signaling transmission], implemented in a first radio access network (RAN) node communicating with a second RAN node [see fig. 8, pg. 9, ¶127 lines 1-3, implemented in a receiving base station (BS) or radio access network (RAN) node, and in a last serving BS or RAN node], for managing small data transmission (SDT) configuration for a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 8, pg. 9, ¶127 lines 1-3, for data and signaling transmission], the method [see fig. 8, pg. 9, ¶127 lines 1-3, the method] comprising:
receiving [see fig. 8: Step “806”, pg. 9, ¶129 lines 1-11, obtaining], at the first RAN node and from the second RAN node [see fig. 8: Step “806”, pg. 9, ¶129 lines 1-11, by the receiving BS from the last serving BS], a UE context message including a first SDT configuration for the UE [see fig. 8: Step “806”, pg. 9, ¶129 lines 1-11, an indication associated with a downlink non-SDT transmission, upon the last serving BS ending the SDT procedure, and in response to at least one of arrival of downlink non-SDT data and arrival of downlink non-SDT signaling]; and
in a first instance [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, after receiving the RRC release message with the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission], transmitting [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, transmitting], from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to the receiving of the first SDT configuration [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, by the receiving BS to the UE], a downlink message [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, the RRC release message].
Although Dai discloses transmitting a downlink message, Dai does not explicitly teach the message including “a second SDT configuration in an SDT information element in the downlink message to indicate that the UE is to update the first SDT configuration”; and “in a second instance, transmitting, from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to the receiving of the first SDT configuration, the downlink message, comprising omitting the SDT information element to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration”.
However Park discloses receiving [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, receiving], at the first RAN node and from the second RAN node [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, by a base station central unit control plane (e.g., CU-CP, base station CU-CP, gNB-CU-CP, etc.) from a base station central unit user plane (e.g., CU-UP, base station CU-UP, gNB-CU-UP, etc.)], a UE context message including a first SDT configuration for the UE [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, an indication message indicating completion of the SDT procedure];
in a first instance [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, in an example], transmitting [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, sending], from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to the receiving of the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, by the base station central unit control plane (e.g., CU-CP, base station CU-CP, gNB-CU-CP, etc.), to the wireless device, based on the indication message], a downlink message [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, a radio resource control (RRC) release message], comprising including a second SDT configuration in an SDT information element in the downlink message to indicate that the UE is to update the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶349 lines 1-17, comprising configuration parameters for suspension of an RRC connection]; and
in a second instance [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, in an example], transmitting [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, sending], from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to the receiving of the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, by the base station central unit control plane (e.g., CU-CP, base station CU-CP, gNB-CU-CP, etc.), to the wireless device, based on the indication message], the downlink message [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, the radio resource control (RRC) release message], comprising omitting the SDT information element to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶349 lines 1-17, indicating that the wireless device stays in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message including: “a second SDT configuration in an SDT information element in the downlink message to indicate that the UE is to update the first SDT configuration”; and “in a second instance, transmitting, from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to the receiving of the first SDT configuration, the downlink message, comprising omitting the SDT information element to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration” as taught by Park in the system of Dai for existing technologies to avoid causing interruption during SDT procedures and prevent deteriorating communication reliability and/or increasing signaling overhead(s) [see Park, pg. 27, ¶256 lines 2-5].
Regarding Claim 8,
Dai discloses the method of claim 7.
Dai does not explicitly teach wherein the updating of the first SDT configuration includes at least one of: “(i) modifying the first SDT configuration based on the second SDT configuration”; or “(ii) replacing the first SDT configuration with the second SDT configuration”.
However Park discloses the updating of the first SDT configuration includes of:
(i) modifying the first SDT configuration based on the second SDT configuration [see pg. 8, ¶350 lines 1-9, the SDT procedure comprises at least one of an initial uplink data transmission, an initial downlink data transmission, the at least one subsequent data transmission, and/or the like].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message including: “the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration” as taught by Park in the system of Dai for the same motivation as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 11,
The combined system of Dai and Park discloses the method of claim 7.
Dai further discloses wherein the first RAN node is a first base station including a first distributed unit (DU) and a first central unit (CU) and the second RAN node is a second base station with a second DU and a second CU [see pg. 8, ¶112 lines 1-9, each CU-UP unit and the at least one DU are connected by an interface F1-U as specified in 3GPP standard documents].
Regarding Claim 12,
Dai discloses the method of claim 11.
Dai does not explicitly teach wherein: “the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration”.
However Park discloses the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration [see pg. 37, ¶351 lines 1-11, the configuration message comprises an information element requesting to report the completion of the SDT procedure].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message including: “the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration” as taught by Park in the system of Dai for the same motivation as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 13,
The combined system of Dai and Park discloses the method of claim 7.
Dai further discloses wherein the downlink message is a release message for a protocol associated with controlling radio resources [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, an RRC release message with the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission].
Regarding Claim 14,
Dai discloses an apparatus [see fig. 9, pg. 9, ¶133 lines 1-14, an apparatus “900”], functioning as a first radio access network (RAN) node communicating with a second RAN node and configured to manage small data transmission (SDT) configuration for a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 9, pg. 9, ¶133 lines 1-14, including a RAN node (e.g., a receiving BS, a last serving BS, the DU of a BS, the CU-CP of a BS, or the CU-UP of a BS)], the apparatus [see fig. 9, pg. 9, ¶133 lines 1-14, the apparatus “900” or RAN node] comprising:
a transceiver [see fig. 9, pg. 9, ¶135 lines 1-9, at least one transceiver “902”]; and
processing hardware [see fig. 9, pg. 9, ¶135 lines 1-9, processor “904”], configured to [see fig. 9, pg. 9, ¶135 lines 1-9, implemented to]:
receive [see fig. 8: Step “806”, pg. 9, ¶129 lines 1-11, obtaining], at the first RAN node and from the second RAN node [see fig. 8: Step “806”, pg. 9, ¶129 lines 1-11, by the receiving BS from the last serving BS], a UE context message including a first SDT configuration for the UE [see fig. 8: Step “806”, pg. 9, ¶129 lines 1-11, an indication associated with a downlink non-SDT transmission, upon the last serving BS ending the SDT procedure, and in response to at least one of arrival of downlink non-SDT data and arrival of downlink non-SDT signaling]; and
in a first instance [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, after receiving the RRC release message with the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission], transmit [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, transmitting], from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to reception of the first SDT configuration [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, by the receiving BS to the UE], a downlink message [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, the RRC release message].
Although Dai discloses transmitting a downlink message, Dai does not explicitly teach the message including “a second SDT configuration in an SDT information element in the downlink message to indicate that the UE is to update the first SDT configuration”; and “in a second instance, transmit, from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to reception of the first SDT configuration, the downlink message omitting the SDT information element to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration”.
However Park discloses receive [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, receiving], at the first RAN node and from the second RAN node [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, by a base station central unit control plane (e.g., CU-CP, base station CU-CP, gNB-CU-CP, etc.) from a base station central unit user plane (e.g., CU-UP, base station CU-UP, gNB-CU-UP, etc.)], a UE context message including a first SDT configuration for the UE [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, an indication message indicating completion of the SDT procedure];
in a first instance [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, in an example], transmit [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, sending], from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to reception of the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, by the base station central unit control plane (e.g., CU-CP, base station CU-CP, gNB-CU-CP, etc.), to the wireless device, based on the indication message], a downlink message including a second SDT configuration in an SDT information element in the downlink message to indicate that the UE is to update the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, a radio resource control (RRC) release message comprising configuration parameters for suspension of an RRC connection]; and
in a second instance [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, in an example], transmit [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, sending], from the first RAN node to the UE and responsive to reception of the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, by the base station central unit control plane (e.g., CU-CP, base station CU-CP, gNB-CU-CP, etc.), to the wireless device, based on the indication message], the downlink message omitting the SDT information element to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration [see fig. 30, pg. 36, ¶346 lines 1-14, the radio resource control (RRC) release message indicating that the wireless device stays in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message including: “in a first instance, omitting an SDT information element from the downlink message to indicate that the UE is to maintain the first SDT configuration, and in a second instance, including a second SDT configuration in the SDT information element to indicate that the UE is to update the first SDT configuration” as taught by Park in the system of Dai for existing technologies to avoid causing interruption during SDT procedures and prevent deteriorating communication reliability and/or increasing signaling overhead(s) [see Park, pg. 27, ¶256 lines 2-5].
Regarding Claim 15,
Dai discloses the apparatus of claim 14.
Dai does not explicitly teach wherein the updating of the first SDT configuration includes at least one of: “(i) modifying the first SDT configuration based on the second SDT configuration”; or “(ii) replacing the first SDT configuration with the second SDT configuration”.
However Park discloses the updating of the first SDT configuration includes of:
(i) modifying the first SDT configuration based on the second SDT configuration [see pg. 8, ¶350 lines 1-9, the SDT procedure comprises at least one of an initial uplink data transmission, an initial downlink data transmission, the at least one subsequent data transmission, and/or the like].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message including: “the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration” as taught by Park in the system of Dai for the same motivation as set forth in claim 14.
Regarding Claim 18,
The combined system of Dai and Park discloses the method of claim 14.
Dai further discloses wherein the first RAN node is a first base station including a first distributed unit (DU) and a first central unit (CU) and the second RAN node is a second base station with a second DU and a second CU [see pg. 8, ¶112 lines 1-9, each CU-UP unit and the at least one DU are connected by an interface F1-U as specified in 3GPP standard documents].
Regarding Claim 19,
Dai discloses the method of claim 18.
Dai does not explicitly teach wherein: “the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration”.
However Park discloses the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration [see pg. 37, ¶351 lines 1-11, the configuration message comprises an information element requesting to report the completion of the SDT procedure].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the message including: “the second SDT configuration comprises an SDT DU configuration” as taught by Park in the system of Dai for the same motivation as set forth in claim 14.
Regarding Claim 20,
The combined system of Dai and Park discloses the method of claim 14.
Dai further discloses wherein the downlink message is a release message for a protocol associated with controlling radio resources [see fig. 8: Step “807”, pg. 9, ¶132 lines 1-14, an RRC release message with the indication associated with the downlink non-SDT transmission].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 16 and 17 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Palat et al. (US 2022/0039192 A1); see fig. 8, pgs. 14-15, ¶184-¶199.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469