DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Clm 4: This claim recites “each of one or more of the compliant mechanisms is configured to approximate a Watt's mechanism, a Robert's mechanism, a Double 4-Bar mechanism, a Lambda mechanism, or a Peaucellier-Lipkin mechanism”. It is unclear to the Examiner as to what structure is being required by “configured to approximate” the listed mechanisms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 11-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Lipton et al. (US 10850406).
Re Clm 1: Lipton et al. disclose a drive shaft member (900, 1401) comprising: anisotropic mechanisms (compliant structure) that are interconnected and distributed circumferentially around a longitudinal centerline of the drive shaft member (see figs), wherein each of the anisotropic mechanisms is configured to accommodate extension of the anisotropic mechanism parallel to the longitudinal centerline (fig 14a [Wingdings font/0xE0] fig 14b), and wherein the anisotropic mechanisms combine to transmit a torque along the longitudinal centerline (torque transmission disclosed throughout specification).
Re Clm 2: Lipton et al. disclose a drive shaft member wherein the anisotropic mechanisms comprise compliant mechanisms (as described).
Re Clm 3: Lipton et al. disclose wherein each of the compliant mechanisms is configured to approximate a straight line mechanism (SLM) configured to constrain a point in the SLM to move substantially parallel to the longitudinal centerline (again, linear expansion from configuration in 14a to expansion configuration in 14b).
Re Clm 4 (as best understood): Lipton et al. disclose wherein each of one or more of the compliant mechanisms is configured to approximate a Watt's mechanism, a Robert's mechanism, a Double 4-Bar mechanism, a Lambda mechanism, or a Peaucellier-Lipkin mechanism. Examiner notes that the linear expansion of the compliant mechanism of the prior art appears to be configured to approximate one of the known listed mechanisms.
Re Clm 8: Lipton et al. disclose comprising a monolithic structure comprising the compliant mechanisms (see figs), wherein the monolithic structure has a constant thickness perpendicular to the longitudinal centerline. Examiner notes that the reference notes that the cylinder shown in figs 14a-g have a 1.58, wall-thickness.
Re Clm 11: Lipton et al. disclose a annular rings (annular structure), wherein each of the annular rings is formed from a respective subset of the anisotropic mechanisms (see structure of 1401).
Re Clm 12: Lipton et al. disclose wherein the anisotropic mechanisms are arranged to approximate a cylinder (as shown and described).
Re Clm 18: Lipton et al. disclose wherein the anisotropic mechanisms are arranged in a pattern comprising mirror symmetries (1401-1 and 1401-2 are mirrored next to each other) and/or rotational symmetries.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20, 23-25, 27, 29, 32-33, and 37 are allowed. Examiner notes that the prior art fails to disclose concentric first and second drive shaft members with anisotropic mechanisms where a second torque on the second drive shaft is independent of a first torque on the first drive shaft.
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Examiner notes that the prior art fails to disclose flat panel portions that extend parallel to the longitudinal centerline, wherein each flat panel portion comprises a respective subset of the anisotropic mechanisms, and wherein the drive shaft member has a cross section with a polygonal exterior perimeter.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN P MASINICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678