DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 2020/0382180) in view of Ren et al (US 2020/0036425). a) Regarding claims 7 and 10, Wang et al disclose a terminal (501 in Fig. 5) comprising:
a processor that (Fig. 6; Pub [0087]), when a codebook is configured, determines a precoder based on the codebook, the codebook being a non-coherent codebook or a partial-coherent codebook for transmission using antenna ports (Fig. 4C and 4D; Pub [0033], [0062]); and
a transmitter that performs uplink (UL) full power transmission based on the precoder (608 in Fig. 6; Pub [0104], [0062]).
Wang et al disclose codebook selection transmission precoding matrix indexed (TPMIs) to enable full power uplink transmissions according to four antenna ports. Wang et al did not explicitly teach using more than four antenna ports.
However, Ren et al disclose information transmission method including transmit TPMI corresponding to a codebook of eight antenna ports (Pub [0139]). TPMI is commonly and widely used for uplink data measurement for predefined codebook selection to optimize channel use in a communication system. To increase the number of antenna port would allow higher data capacity. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to adapt the TPMI corresponding to a codebook of eight antenna ports of Ren et al with the full power uplink transmission system of Wang et al to support more than four antenna ports. By doing so, increase data capacity, optimize signal quality and throughput in a precoding process of a wireless communication system. b) Regarding claim 11, Wang et al disclose a base station comprising (510 in Fig. 5; Pub [0075]):
a transmitter that transmits, to a terminal (501), information for configuring a codebook that is a non-coherent codebook or a partial-coherent codebook for transmission using four antenna ports (Fig. 4C and 4D; Pub [0030], [0033], [0062]; UE configuring precoder in accordance of the BS); and
a receiver that receives uplink (UL) full power transmission that is transmitted based on a precoder determined based on the codebook (Pub [0062]; UE to transmit, BS inherently to receive).
Wang et al disclose codebook selection transmission precoding matrix indexed (TPMIs) to enable full power uplink transmissions according to four antenna ports. Wang et al did not explicitly teach using more than four antenna ports.
However, Ren et al disclose information transmission method including transmit TPMI corresponding to a codebook of eight antenna ports (Pub [0139]). TPMI is commonly and widely used for uplink data measurement for predefined codebook selection to optimize channel use in a communication system. To increase the number of antenna port would allow higher data capacity. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to adapt the TPMI corresponding to a codebook of eight antenna ports of Ren et al with the full power uplink transmission system of Wang et al to support more than four antenna ports. By doing so, increase data capacity, optimize signal quality and throughput in a precoding process of a wireless communication system. c) Regarding claim 12, Wang et al disclose a system comprising a terminal (501 in Fig. 5) and a base station (510), wherein:
the terminal comprises: a processor that (Fig. 6; Pub [0087]), when a codebook is configured, determines a precoder based on the codebook, the codebook being a non-coherent codebook or a partial-coherent codebook for transmission using four antenna ports (Fig. 4C and 4D; Pub [0033], [0062]); and a transmitter that performs uplink (UL) full power transmission based on the precoder (608 in Fig. 6; Pub [0104], [0062]), and
the base station comprises: a receiver that receives the UL full power transmission (Pub [0062]; UE to transmit, BS inherently to receive).
Wang et al disclose codebook selection transmission precoding matrix indexed (TPMIs) to enable full power uplink transmissions according to four antenna ports. Wang et al did not explicitly teach using more than four antenna ports.
However, Ren et al disclose information transmission method including transmit TPMI corresponding to a codebook of eight antenna ports (Pub [0139]). TPMI is commonly and widely used for uplink data measurement for predefined codebook selection to optimize channel use in a communication system. To increase the number of antenna port would allow higher data capacity. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to adapt the TPMI corresponding to a codebook of eight antenna ports of Ren et al with the full power uplink transmission system of Wang et al to support more than four antenna ports. By doing so, increase data capacity, optimize signal quality and throughput in a precoding process of a wireless communication system. d) Regarding claim 8, Wang et al disclose wherein when full power transmission mode 1 is configured, the precoder is a full-coherent precoder (Pub [0033]).
e) Regarding claim 9, Wang et al disclose wherein the transmitter transmits capability information indicating support of full power transmission mode 1 using more than four antenna ports (Pub [0037-0038], [0047-0048]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0039031 Rahman et al disclose capability signaling to enable full power uplink transmission. US 11,502,732 Bengtsson et al disclose channel estimation and precoders.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chieh Fan can be reached on 571-272-3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
December 5, 2025
/EVA Y PUENTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632