DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US 2013/0336819).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Kobayashi, Figures 2-5 and Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner below)
Kobayashi et al. (Koba) discloses:
A blower, comprising:
a motor (3) including a motor shaft (9) (See Koba, Paragraphs [0028] & [0030]);
a centrifugal fan (2) connected to the motor shaft (9) and rotated about an axis (C) of the motor shaft (9) by output of the motor (3) (See Koba, Paragraphs [0028] & [0030]); and
a motor casing (8) including a cylindrical part (6) covering the motor (3) from a side opposite to the centrifugal fan (2) in a direction of the axis (C) (See Koba, Paragraphs [0028]-[0030]), wherein
the motor casing (8) includes;
outside of an outside surface of the cylindrical part (6), a flanged rib (A and/or B) extending outward in a radial direction of the axis (C) and
outside of the outside surface of the cylindrical part (6), an outer circumferential rib (20) that is annularly shaped when viewed from the direction of the axis (C) and extends in the direction of the axis (C), and the outer circumferential rib (20) includes a slit (22a-b) penetrating the outer circumferential rib (20) in the radial direction. (See Koba, Paragraphs [0031]-[0032]).
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Kobayashi, Figures 2-5 and Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner above)
Koba discloses:
wherein the flanged rib (A) extends in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the axis (C).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Kobayashi, Figures 2-5 and Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner above)
Koba discloses:
wherein the flanged rib (A) is annularly shaped when viewed from the direction of the axis (C).
In Reference to Claim 5
(See Kobayashi, Figures 2-5 and Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner above)
Koba discloses:
wherein the flanged rib (A) is provided on the outer circumferential rib (20) on an outermost side in the radial direction.
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Kobayashi, Figures 2-5 and Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner above)
Koba discloses:
wherein the flanged ribs (A) comprises a plurality of flanged ribs (A and B).
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Kobayashi, Figures 2-5 and Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner above)
Koba discloses:
further comprising a scroll casing (5) including the centrifugal fan incorporated, a suction port opening on a side opposite to the motor (3) across the centrifugal fan in the direction of the axis (C), and a discharge port (4) opening in a direction intersecting the direction of the axis (C). (See Koba, Paragraph [0028]).
In Reference to Claim 9
(See Kobayashi, Figures 2-5 and Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner above)
Koba discloses:
wherein the flanged rib (A) is provided at a position corresponding to a nose part (11) of the scroll casing (5).
In Reference to Claim 10
(See Kobayashi, Figures 2-5 and Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner above)
Koba discloses:
wherein the motor casing further includes,
a flange (7) which is provided over the entire circumference of the outside surface of the cylindrical part (6) and extends outward in the radial direction from the outside surface of the cylindrical part (6) and
a slope (See Koba, Fig. 5) which is provided between the cylindrical part (6) and the outer circumferential rib (20) and is formed to extend in the circumferential direction,
the outer circumferential rib (20) extends in the direction of the axis (C) from the flange (7), and
the slope is formed so as to approach the flange (7) in the direction of the axis (C) as approaching the slit (22a-b) in a circumferential direction of the axis (C).
The Examiner notes that in the interpretation of claim 10, the flanged rib is (B) as annotated by Examiner in claim 1 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746