DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 12/9/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-5 is/are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 10/1/2024 and 12/9/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
An English translation of the Non-Patent Literature Documents citation #2, “Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority Issued in PCT/JP2022/017442 on September 27, 2022”, as noted on the IDS dated 2024-10-01 was not found in the file wrapper. The Examiner has included the reference on the PTO-892.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/1/2024. These drawings are objected.
The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular boxes and circles illustrated in FIG. 23, should be provided with descriptive text labels. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“transmission unit” in claims 1 and 4;
“reception unit” in claims 1 and 4;
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyu et al. US 20240049037 in view of Rastegardoost et al. US 20240389129.
As to claim 1:
Lyu et al. discloses:
A terminal comprising:
a transmission unit configured to report, to a base station, capability information indicating a switching period required for switching between bands,
(“In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability of UL Tx switching per band pair is introduced. UL Tx switching per band pair involves dynamically switching uplink transmission between to bands that have been identified as a band pair. In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability to support UL Tx switching per band pair is indicated by ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16. In particular, ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 in 3GPP TS 38.306 indicates a UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching in case of inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), supplement uplink (SUL), and (NG)EN-DC (E-UTRA NR-dual connectivity) as defined in TS 38.214, TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. The capability signaling for ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 comprises the following parameters: [0108] bandIndexUL1-r16 and bandIndexUL2-r16 indicate the band pair on which UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching. bandindexUL1/bandindexUL2 xx refers to the xxth band entry in the band combination. UE shall indicate support for 2-layer UL MIMO capabilities at least on one of the indicated two bands for UL Tx switching, and only the band where UE supports 2-layer UL MIMO capability can work as carrier2 as defined in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. [0109] uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band combination when dynamic UL Tx switching is configured, as specified in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. UE shall not report the value n210 us for EN-DC band combinations. n35 us represents 35 us, n140 us represents 140 us, and so on, as specified in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3….”; Lyu et al.; 0107-109)
(where
FIG. 6A illustrates “transmission unit”
“In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability to support UL Tx switching per band pair is indicated by ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16. In particular, ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 in 3GPP TS 38.306 indicates a UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching in case of inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), supplement uplink (SUL), and (NG)EN-DC (E-UTRA NR-dual connectivity) as defined in TS 38.214, TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. The capability signaling for ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 comprises the following parameters: [0108] bandIndexUL1-r16 and bandIndexUL2-r16 indicate the band pair on which UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching. bandindexUL1/bandindexUL2 xx refers to the xxth band entry in the band combination. UE shall indicate support for 2-layer UL MIMO capabilities at least on one of the indicated two bands for UL Tx switching, and only the band where UE supports 2-layer UL MIMO capability can work as carrier2 as defined in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. [0109] uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band combination when dynamic UL Tx switching is configured”/FIG. 1 maps to “configured to report, to a base station, capability information indicating a switching period required for switching between bands”, where FIG. 1 illustrates “base station”, where “configured” maps to “configured”, “UE shall indicate support” maps to “report”, “the capability to support UL Tx switching per band pair is indicated by ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16. In particular, ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 in 3GPP TS 38.306 indicates a UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching in case of inter-band carrier aggregation… The capability signaling for ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 comprises the following parameters: … [0109] uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band combination when dynamic UL Tx switching is configured” maps to “capability signaling” maps to “capability information”, “uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band” maps to “information indicating a switching period required for switching between bands”
in a transmission switching scheme in which at least one antenna
(where
FIG. 6A illustrates “one antenna , connections to antennas 340x
FIG. 6A/switch 322x and “f1”, “f2” and “f3” maps to “one antenna
FIG. 6A/switch 322x and “f1, “f2” and “f3” maps to “the plurality of antenna
a reception unit …
(see FIG 6B)
Lyu et al. teaches a UE indicating support for capability associated with uplink switching period and teaches switching associated with antennas for a plurality of bands.
Lyu et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
configured to receive, from the base station, information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs.
However, Rastegardoost et al. further teaches an antenna port/rrc message/switching period capability which includes:
(“FIG. 23A and FIG. 23B show examples of UL Tx switching period location. The UL Tx switching period (also referred to as time mask and/or switching time mask) for switching between two uplink carriers is shown in FIG. 23A and FIG. 23B. An UL Tx switching period may be applicable for an uplink band pair. For example, the uplink band pair may be associated with an inter-band UL CA configuration and/or SUL configuration and/or dual connectivity (e.g., NR-DC and/or EN/DC and/or NE-DC and/or MR-DC). The two uplink carriers may be in different bands with different carrier frequencies. A capability information indicating UL Tx switching period/gap (e.g., uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod, N.sub.Tx1-Tx2) may be present for the respective band combination associated with the two uplink carriers and/or sent to the network. For example, NR UL carrier 1 is capable of one transmit antenna connector and NR UL carrier 2 is capable of two transmit antenna connectors, e.g., with 3 dB boosting on the maximum output power when the capability uplinkTxSwitchingPowerBoosting is present and the IE powerboosting TxSwitching is set to 1. The UE may support the switch between single layer transmission with one antenna port and two-layer transmission with two antenna ports on the two uplink carriers following the scheduling commands and/or rank adaptation. In an example, both single layer and two-layer transmission with 2 antenna ports, and single layer transmission with 1 antenna port may be supported on NR UL carrier 2.”; Rastegardoost et al.; 0291)
“antenna ports…antenna port” maps to “
configured to receive, from the base station, information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs.
(“A wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more cells may comprise two or more uplink carriers. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a first parameter, of a first uplink carrier associated with a first frequency band, indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured in the first uplink carrier. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a second parameter, of a second uplink carrier associated with a second frequency band, indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured in the second uplink carrier. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating switching of a transmission antenna across a plurality of uplink carriers comprising a first uplink carrier, associated with a first frequency band, and a second uplink carrier, associated with a second frequency band.”; Rastegardoost et al.; 0408)
(where
“wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more cells may comprise two or more uplink carriers. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a first parameter, of a first uplink carrier associated with a first frequency band, indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured in the first uplink carrier”/FIG. 1B maps to “configured to receive, from the base station, information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs”, where “receive…configuration parameters”/”indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured” maps to “configured to receive”, FIG. 1B illustrates “base station”, “one or more cells” maps to “information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs”
Rastegardoost et al. teaches receiving an RRC message for configuring an antenna switching period associated with uplink carriers associated with a cell.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna port/rrc message/switching period capability of Rastegardoost et al. into Lye et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lyu et al. to include the antenna port/rrc message/switching period capability as taught by the processing/communications of Rastegardoost et al., the benefits of improved control signaling (Lyu et al.; Abstract) with improved user experience (Rastegardoost et al.; 0247) are achieved.
As to claim 2:
Lyu et al. discloses:
wherein the transmission unit reports the capability information indicating a switching period, for each combination of bands for performing switching in band combinations…
(“In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability of UL Tx switching per band pair is introduced. UL Tx switching per band pair involves dynamically switching uplink transmission between to bands that have been identified as a band pair. In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability to support UL Tx switching per band pair is indicated by ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16. In particular, ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 in 3GPP TS 38.306 indicates a UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching in case of inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), supplement uplink (SUL), and (NG)EN-DC (E-UTRA NR-dual connectivity) as defined in TS 38.214, TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. The capability signaling for ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 comprises the following parameters: [0108] bandIndexUL1-r16 and bandIndexUL2-r16 indicate the band pair on which UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching. bandindexUL1/bandindexUL2 xx refers to the xxth band entry in the band combination. UE shall indicate support for 2-layer UL MIMO capabilities at least on one of the indicated two bands for UL Tx switching, and only the band where UE supports 2-layer UL MIMO capability can work as carrier2 as defined in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. [0109] uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band combination when dynamic UL Tx switching is configured, as specified in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. UE shall not report the value n210 us for EN-DC band combinations. n35 us represents 35 us, n140 us represents 140 us, and so on, as specified in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3….”; Lyu et al.; 0107-109)
As to claim 4:
Lyu et al. discloses:
A base station comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive, from a terminal, capability information indicating a switching period required for switching between bands,
(“In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability of UL Tx switching per band pair is introduced. UL Tx switching per band pair involves dynamically switching uplink transmission between to bands that have been identified as a band pair. In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability to support UL Tx switching per band pair is indicated by ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16. In particular, ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 in 3GPP TS 38.306 indicates a UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching in case of inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), supplement uplink (SUL), and (NG)EN-DC (E-UTRA NR-dual connectivity) as defined in TS 38.214, TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. The capability signaling for ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 comprises the following parameters: [0108] bandIndexUL1-r16 and bandIndexUL2-r16 indicate the band pair on which UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching. bandindexUL1/bandindexUL2 xx refers to the xxth band entry in the band combination. UE shall indicate support for 2-layer UL MIMO capabilities at least on one of the indicated two bands for UL Tx switching, and only the band where UE supports 2-layer UL MIMO capability can work as carrier2 as defined in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. [0109] uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band combination when dynamic UL Tx switching is configured, as specified in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. UE shall not report the value n210 us for EN-DC band combinations. n35 us represents 35 us, n140 us represents 140 us, and so on, as specified in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3….”; Lyu et al.; 0107-109)
(where
FIG. 3 illustrates “reception unit”
“In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability to support UL Tx switching per band pair is indicated by ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16. In particular, ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 in 3GPP TS 38.306 indicates a UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching in case of inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), supplement uplink (SUL), and (NG)EN-DC (E-UTRA NR-dual connectivity) as defined in TS 38.214, TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. The capability signaling for ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 comprises the following parameters: [0108] bandIndexUL1-r16 and bandIndexUL2-r16 indicate the band pair on which UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching. bandindexUL1/bandindexUL2 xx refers to the xxth band entry in the band combination. UE shall indicate support for 2-layer UL MIMO capabilities at least on one of the indicated two bands for UL Tx switching, and only the band where UE supports 2-layer UL MIMO capability can work as carrier2 as defined in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. [0109] uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band combination when dynamic UL Tx switching is configured”/FIG. 1 maps to “configured to report, to a base station, capability information indicating a switching period required for switching between bands”, where FIG. 1 illustrates “base station”, where “configured” maps to “configured”, “UE shall indicate support” maps to “report”, “the capability to support UL Tx switching per band pair is indicated by ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16. In particular, ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 in 3GPP TS 38.306 indicates a UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching in case of inter-band carrier aggregation… The capability signaling for ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 comprises the following parameters: … [0109] uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band combination when dynamic UL Tx switching is configured” maps to “capability signaling” maps to “capability information”, “uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band” maps to “information indicating a switching period required for switching between bands”
in a transmission switching scheme in which at least one antenna plurality of antenna
(where
FIG. 6A illustrates “one antenna , connections to antennas 340x
FIG. 6A/switch 322x and “f1”, “f2” and “f3” maps to “one antenna
FIG. 6A/switch 322x and “f1, “f2” and “f3” maps to “the plurality of antenna
a transmission unit …
(see FIG 3)
Lyu et al. teaches a UE indicating support for capability associated with uplink switching period and teaches switching associated with antennas for a plurality of bands.
Lyu et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
configured to receive, from the base station, information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs.
However, Rastegardoost et al. further teaches an antenna port/rrc message/switching period capability which includes:
(“FIG. 23A and FIG. 23B show examples of UL Tx switching period location. The UL Tx switching period (also referred to as time mask and/or switching time mask) for switching between two uplink carriers is shown in FIG. 23A and FIG. 23B. An UL Tx switching period may be applicable for an uplink band pair. For example, the uplink band pair may be associated with an inter-band UL CA configuration and/or SUL configuration and/or dual connectivity (e.g., NR-DC and/or EN/DC and/or NE-DC and/or MR-DC). The two uplink carriers may be in different bands with different carrier frequencies. A capability information indicating UL Tx switching period/gap (e.g., uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod, N.sub.Tx1-Tx2) may be present for the respective band combination associated with the two uplink carriers and/or sent to the network. For example, NR UL carrier 1 is capable of one transmit antenna connector and NR UL carrier 2 is capable of two transmit antenna connectors, e.g., with 3 dB boosting on the maximum output power when the capability uplinkTxSwitchingPowerBoosting is present and the IE powerboosting TxSwitching is set to 1. The UE may support the switch between single layer transmission with one antenna port and two-layer transmission with two antenna ports on the two uplink carriers following the scheduling commands and/or rank adaptation. In an example, both single layer and two-layer transmission with 2 antenna ports, and single layer transmission with 1 antenna port may be supported on NR UL carrier 2.”; Rastegardoost et al.; 0291)
“antenna ports…antenna port” maps to “
configured to receive, from the base station, information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs.
(“A wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more cells may comprise two or more uplink carriers. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a first parameter, of a first uplink carrier associated with a first frequency band, indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured in the first uplink carrier. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a second parameter, of a second uplink carrier associated with a second frequency band, indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured in the second uplink carrier. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating switching of a transmission antenna across a plurality of uplink carriers comprising a first uplink carrier, associated with a first frequency band, and a second uplink carrier, associated with a second frequency band.”; Rastegardoost et al.; 0408)
(where
“wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more cells may comprise two or more uplink carriers. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a first parameter, of a first uplink carrier associated with a first frequency band, indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured in the first uplink carrier”/FIG. 1B maps to “configured to receive, from the base station, information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs”, where “receive…configuration parameters”/”indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured” maps to “configured to receive”, FIG. 1B illustrates “base station”, “one or more cells” maps to “information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs”
Rastegardoost et al. teaches receiving an RRC message for configuring an antenna switching period associated with uplink carriers associated with a cell.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna port/rrc message/switching period capability of Rastegardoost et al. into Lye et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lyu et al. to include the antenna port/rrc message/switching period capability as taught by the processing/communications of Rastegardoost et al., the benefits of improved control signaling (Lyu et al.; Abstract) with improved user experience (Rastegardoost et al.; 0247) are achieved.
As to claim 5:
Lyu et al. discloses:
A communication method executed by a terminal, the communication method comprising:
reporting, to a base station, capability information indicating a switching period required for switching between bands,
(“In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability of UL Tx switching per band pair is introduced. UL Tx switching per band pair involves dynamically switching uplink transmission between to bands that have been identified as a band pair. In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability to support UL Tx switching per band pair is indicated by ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16. In particular, ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 in 3GPP TS 38.306 indicates a UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching in case of inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), supplement uplink (SUL), and (NG)EN-DC (E-UTRA NR-dual connectivity) as defined in TS 38.214, TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. The capability signaling for ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 comprises the following parameters: [0108] bandIndexUL1-r16 and bandIndexUL2-r16 indicate the band pair on which UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching. bandindexUL1/bandindexUL2 xx refers to the xxth band entry in the band combination. UE shall indicate support for 2-layer UL MIMO capabilities at least on one of the indicated two bands for UL Tx switching, and only the band where UE supports 2-layer UL MIMO capability can work as carrier2 as defined in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. [0109] uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band combination when dynamic UL Tx switching is configured, as specified in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. UE shall not report the value n210 us for EN-DC band combinations. n35 us represents 35 us, n140 us represents 140 us, and so on, as specified in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3….”; Lyu et al.; 0107-109)
(where
FIG. 6A illustrates “transmission unit”
“In 3GPP NR Release 16, the capability to support UL Tx switching per band pair is indicated by ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16. In particular, ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 in 3GPP TS 38.306 indicates a UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching in case of inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), supplement uplink (SUL), and (NG)EN-DC (E-UTRA NR-dual connectivity) as defined in TS 38.214, TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. The capability signaling for ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 comprises the following parameters: [0108] bandIndexUL1-r16 and bandIndexUL2-r16 indicate the band pair on which UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching. bandindexUL1/bandindexUL2 xx refers to the xxth band entry in the band combination. UE shall indicate support for 2-layer UL MIMO capabilities at least on one of the indicated two bands for UL Tx switching, and only the band where UE supports 2-layer UL MIMO capability can work as carrier2 as defined in TS 38.101-1 and TS 38.101-3. [0109] uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band combination when dynamic UL Tx switching is configured”/FIG. 1 maps to “configured to report, to a base station, capability information indicating a switching period required for switching between bands”, where FIG. 1 illustrates “base station”, where “configured” maps to “configured”, “UE shall indicate support” maps to “report”, “the capability to support UL Tx switching per band pair is indicated by ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16. In particular, ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 in 3GPP TS 38.306 indicates a UE supports dynamic UL Tx switching in case of inter-band carrier aggregation… The capability signaling for ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 comprises the following parameters: … [0109] uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band combination when dynamic UL Tx switching is configured” maps to “capability signaling” maps to “capability information”, “uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod-r16 indicates the length of UL Tx switching period per pair of UL bands per band” maps to “information indicating a switching period required for switching between bands”
in a transmission switching scheme in which at least one antenna
(where
FIG. 6A illustrates “one antenna , connections to antennas 340x
FIG. 6A/switch 322x and “f1”, “f2” and “f3” maps to “one antenna
FIG. 6A/switch 322x and “f1, “f2” and “f3” maps to “the plurality of antenna
Lyu et al. teaches a UE indicating support for capability associated with uplink switching period and teaches switching associated with antennas for a plurality of bands.
Lyu et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
configured to receive, from the base station, information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs.
However, Rastegardoost et al. further teaches an antenna port/rrc message/switching period capability which includes:
(“FIG. 23A and FIG. 23B show examples of UL Tx switching period location. The UL Tx switching period (also referred to as time mask and/or switching time mask) for switching between two uplink carriers is shown in FIG. 23A and FIG. 23B. An UL Tx switching period may be applicable for an uplink band pair. For example, the uplink band pair may be associated with an inter-band UL CA configuration and/or SUL configuration and/or dual connectivity (e.g., NR-DC and/or EN/DC and/or NE-DC and/or MR-DC). The two uplink carriers may be in different bands with different carrier frequencies. A capability information indicating UL Tx switching period/gap (e.g., uplinkTxSwitchingPeriod, N.sub.Tx1-Tx2) may be present for the respective band combination associated with the two uplink carriers and/or sent to the network. For example, NR UL carrier 1 is capable of one transmit antenna connector and NR UL carrier 2 is capable of two transmit antenna connectors, e.g., with 3 dB boosting on the maximum output power when the capability uplinkTxSwitchingPowerBoosting is present and the IE powerboosting TxSwitching is set to 1. The UE may support the switch between single layer transmission with one antenna port and two-layer transmission with two antenna ports on the two uplink carriers following the scheduling commands and/or rank adaptation. In an example, both single layer and two-layer transmission with 2 antenna ports, and single layer transmission with 1 antenna port may be supported on NR UL carrier 2.”; Rastegardoost et al.; 0291)
“antenna ports…antenna port” maps to “
configured to receive, from the base station, information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs.
(“A wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more cells may comprise two or more uplink carriers. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a first parameter, of a first uplink carrier associated with a first frequency band, indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured in the first uplink carrier. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a second parameter, of a second uplink carrier associated with a second frequency band, indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured in the second uplink carrier. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating switching of a transmission antenna across a plurality of uplink carriers comprising a first uplink carrier, associated with a first frequency band, and a second uplink carrier, associated with a second frequency band.”; Rastegardoost et al.; 0408)
(where
“wireless device may receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more cells. The one or more cells may comprise two or more uplink carriers. The wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating a first parameter, of a first uplink carrier associated with a first frequency band, indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured in the first uplink carrier”/FIG. 1B maps to “configured to receive, from the base station, information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs”, where “receive…configuration parameters”/”indicating whether an antenna switching period is configured” maps to “configured to receive”, FIG. 1B illustrates “base station”, “one or more cells” maps to “information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs”
Rastegardoost et al. teaches receiving an RRC message for configuring an antenna switching period associated with uplink carriers associated with a cell.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the antenna port/rrc message/switching period capability of Rastegardoost et al. into Lye et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lyu et al. to include the antenna port/rrc message/switching period capability as taught by the processing/communications of Rastegardoost et al., the benefits of improved control signaling (Lyu et al.; Abstract) with improved user experience (Rastegardoost et al.; 0247) are achieved.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lyu et al. US 20240049037 in view of Rastegardoost et al. US 20240389129 and in further view of Rastegardoost et al. US 20240357681 (hereinafter “Rastegardoost2”).
As to claim 3:
Lyu et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the reception unit receives the information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs …, for each serving cell, or…
However, Rastegardoost2 further teaches a serving cells capability which includes:
wherein the reception unit receives the information related to a cell in which the switching period occurs …, for each serving cell, or…
(“FIG. 27 shows an example of signaling between UE and the base station for transfer of UE capability information and configuration of uplink Tx switching. As shown in the figure, the UE may receive the UE capability enquiry that may indicate a request for UL Tx switching across more than two bands (e.g., N bands, N>2). In an example, the UE capability enquiry may indicate a request for simultaneous/dual UL Tx switching of both UEs UL Tx chains/antennas. The UE may send the UE capability information indicating the UE capability for supported band combinations and/or supported UL Tx switching mode and/or whether the UE supports UL Tx switching across more than two bands and/or whether the UE supports simultaneous/dual UL Tx switching. For example, the UE capability information may indicate one or more UL Tx switching periods/gaps per band pair/combination. The one or more UL Tx switching periods/gaps may comprise a first period for switching a first UL Tx chain/antenna and/or a second period for switching a second UL Tx chain/antenna and/or a third period for switching the first UL Tx chain/antenna and the second UL Tx chain/antenna. In response, the UE may receive one or more RRC messages indicating configuration of one or more serving cells comprising more than two uplink carriers (e.g., UL carrier 1, UL carrier 2, . . . , UL carrier M, M>2), wherein the uplink carriers are in/belong to more than two frequency bands, e.g., based on the UE supported band combination. For example, M may be equal to N. For example, M may be different from N. For example, the one or more RRC messages may indicate which carrier is associated with and/or configured with which band. For example, each of M carriers may be associated with at least one of N bands. For example, each of N bands may be associated with at least one of M carriers. The UE may transmit uplink transmissions via the uplink carriers and/or based on the UL Tx switching configuration. For example, the UE may omit (part of) uplink transmissions based on switching of either UL Tx chain/antennas and/or simultaneous/dual switching both UL Tx chains/antennas, e.g., based on the first period and/or the second period and/or the third period.”; Rastegardoost et al.; 0362)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the serving cells capability of Rastegardoost2. into Lye et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lyu et al. to include the serving cells capability as taught by the processing/communications of Rastegardoost2, the benefits of improved control signaling (Lyu et al.; Abstract) with improved configuration (Rasteardoost2; Abstract) are achieved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20230232420 – teaches switching period associated with band combination (see para. 0153).
US 20240250799 – teaches switching associated with a plurality of bands (see FIG. 29)
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464