Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 2018/0052501).
Regarding claim 15, the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones teaches a head-mounted wearable device (11000 in Fig. 110A-110E, [0780-0789]), including:
a frame (the frame corresponding to 11008 in Fig. 110B, [0781]) configured to be worn by a user (Fig. 110A, [0780]), including:
a projection system (11010 in Fig. 110B, [0782-0783]) configured to emit internally generated radiation ([0783]);
a world-facing radiation detector (11018 in Fig. 110C, [0784]) figured to detect externally generated radiation ([0784]), the world-facing radiation detector (11018 in Fig. 110C, [0784]) being rigidly coupled (Fig. 110B, [0783, 0784], the exploded view of FIG. 110B shows projectors 11010, which are secured to optics frame 11008; Sensors including the front-facing world cameras 11018 in particular can benefit from being coupled to optics frame 11008 on account of the rigidity of optics frame 11008 being able to maintain the position of the sensors in precise alignment with other sensors or eyepieces 11001 during operation of optical device 11000) to the projection system (11010 in Fig. 110B, [0782-0783]) such that a direction of a chief ray of the world-facing radiation detector is aligned to a direction of a chief ray of the projection system (Fig. 110B-110C, [0783-0784]); and
a waveguide (11001 in Fig. B-C, [0783]).
The embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones does not explicitly point out that the waveguide including an incoupler configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce radiation in the waveguide; and an outcoupler configured to couple the radiation in the waveguide out of the waveguide to produce outcoupled radiation, the outcoupled radiation being emitted from the outcoupler in an output direction toward an eye of the user.
The embodiment of Fig. 20 of Jones teaches that (Fig. 20, [0293-0296]) a waveguide (2000 in Fig. 20, [0293-0296]) including an incoupler (2007 in Fig. 20) configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce radiation in the waveguide (Fig. 20, [0293-0296]); and an outcoupler (2009 in Fig. 20) configured to couple the radiation in the waveguide out of the waveguide to produce outcoupled radiation (Fig. 20, [0293-0296]), the outcoupled radiation being emitted from the outcoupler in an output direction toward an eye of the user (Fig. 20, [0293-0296]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 20 of Jones for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones, the waveguide including an incoupler configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce radiation in the waveguide; and an outcoupler configured to couple the radiation in the waveguide out of the waveguide to produce outcoupled radiation, the outcoupled radiation being emitted from the outcoupler in an output direction toward an eye of the user. The motivation is to improve quality and uniformity in projection display systems (Jones.., [0026]).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones as applied to claim 15 above, and in view of Yamada (US 2015/0277117).
Regarding claim 16, the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones does not teach the following elements.
Yamada teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-2 and Fig. 4-5, [0095-0110]):
(Claim 16) an input light direction rerouter (34b in Fig. 4 or 34b and 35 in Fig. 5, [0099, 0105]) configured to adjust an initial angle of incidence (the incident angle of the input light L in Fig. 4-5) of the internally generated radiation (Fig. 1-2) at a surface of the waveguide (the surface 21b or 21a in Fig. 4-5) to produce radiation directed at an adjusted angle (Fig. 4-5) of incidence at an incoupler (34b or32 in Fig. 4-5) such that the output direction (the direction of the light output from 31 in Fig. 4-5) is aligned to the initial direction of incidence (Fig. 4-5, the input light L and the light output from 31 are aligned to each other either parallelly or non-parallelly in Fig. 4-5).
(Claim 17) the input light direction rerouter (34b and 35 in Fig. 5, [0099, 0105]) includes a retroreflector (35 in Fig. 5) disposed on a side of the waveguide (21 in Fig. 5) in which the projection system is disposed (Fig. 1-2 and Fig. 5).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Yamada for the system of Jones such that in the system of Jones,
(Claim 16) an input light direction rerouter configured to adjust an initial angle of incidence of the internally generated radiation at a surface of the waveguide to produce radiation directed at an adjusted angle of incidence at the incoupler such that the output direction is aligned to the initial direction of incidence.
(Claim 17) the input light direction rerouter includes a retroreflector disposed on a side of the waveguide in which the projection system is disposed.
The motivation is to display a bright and high-quality image (virtual image) (Yamada, [0103, 0107]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Schultz (US 2024/0385364).
Regarding claims 18-19, the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones does not teach the following elements.
Schultz teaches the following elements (Fig. 2A-4, [0054-0064]):
(Claim 18) an incoupler (30 in Fig. 2A-2B and 4) of a waveguide (20 in Fig. 2A-2B and 4) is a first incoupler (30 in Fig. 2A-2B and 4); wherein the waveguide further includes a second incoupler (16 in Fig. 2A-2B and 4) configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce the radiation in the waveguide (Fig. 2A-2B and Fig. 4); and wherein the first incoupler (30 in Fig. 2A-2B and 4) and the second incoupler (60 in Fig. 2A-2B and 4) is disposed on the waveguide such that the output direction (the direction of corresponding to 130 in Fig. 2A-2B and 4) is substantially parallel to (Fig. 2A-2B and 4) an initial angle of incidence (the direction of corresponding to 106 and/or 104 in Fig. 2A-2B and 4) independent of a rotation of the waveguide about either the first incoupler or the second incoupler (the rotation of 20 around the vertical center axis of 30 and 16, and the vertical center axis of 30 and 16 is parallel to the direction z in Fig. 2A-2B and 4).
(Claim 19) the outcoupler (34, or 34 and 22 in Fig. 2A-2B and 4) has a two-dimensional geometry (Fig. 3D, [0063, 0062]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Schultz for the system of Jones such that in the system of Jones,
(Claim 18) the incoupler of the waveguide is a first incoupler; wherein the waveguide further includes a second incoupler configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce the radiation in the waveguide; and wherein the first incoupler and the second incoupler is disposed on the waveguide such that the output direction is substantially parallel to an initial angle of incidence independent of a rotation of the waveguide about either the first incoupler or the second incoupler.
(Claim 19) the outcoupler has a two-dimensional geometry.
The motivation is to provide at least two wavelength range light paths within a single thickness of substrate while reducing crosstalk (Schultz, [0007]).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Tervo (US 2018/0292653).
Regarding claims 20-21, the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones teaches that the projection system (11010 in Fig. 110B, [0782-0783]) could be positioned between eyepieces ([0782]). The embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones does not teach the following elements.
Tervo teaches the following elements (Fig. 3, 9, and 11-13, [0034-0035, 0042-0048]):
(Claim 20) am incoupler (340/905/1105/1205 in Fig. 3, 9 and 11-13) is located at an exit pupil of a split pupil, bi-ocular optical system (Fig. 3, 9 and 11-13).
(Claim 21) the incoupler (340/905/1105/1205 in Fig. 3, 9 and 11-13) includes facets (Fig. 11-12) configured to direct incident light to either of a first side of a waveguide or a second side of the waveguide (Fig. 2 and Fig. 13).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Tervo for the system of Jones such that in the system of Jones,
(Claim 20) the incoupler is located at an exit pupil of a split pupil, bi-ocular optical system.
(Claim 21) the incoupler includes facets configured to direct incident light to either of a first side of the waveguide or a second side of the waveguide.
The motivation is to provide near-eye display with increased uniformity and reduced cross-coupling between colors (Tervo, [0030]).
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 2018/0052501) in view of Yamada (US 2015/0277117).
Regarding claim 1, the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones teaches a head-mounted wearable device (11000 in Fig. 110A-110E, [0780-0789]), including:
a frame (the frame corresponding to 11008 in Fig. 110B, [0781]) configured to be worn by a user (Fig. 110A, [0780]), including:
a projection system (11010 in Fig. 110B, [0782-0783]) configured to emit internally generated radiation ([0783]);
a world-facing radiation detector (11018 in Fig. 110C, [0784]) figured to detect externally generated radiation ([0784]), the world-facing radiation detector (11018 in Fig. 110C, [0784]) being rigidly coupled (Fig. 110B, [0783, 0784], the exploded view of FIG. 110B shows projectors 11010, which are secured to optics frame 11008; Sensors including the front-facing world cameras 11018 in particular can benefit from being coupled to optics frame 11008 on account of the rigidity of optics frame 11008 being able to maintain the position of the sensors in precise alignment with other sensors or eyepieces 11001 during operation of optical device 11000) to the projection system (11010 in Fig. 110B, [0782-0783]) such that a direction of a chief ray of the world-facing radiation detector is aligned to a direction of a chief ray of the projection system (Fig. 110B-110C, [0783-0784]); and
a waveguide (11001 in Fig. B-C, [0783]).
The embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones does not explicitly point out that the waveguide including an incoupler configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce radiation in the waveguide; and an outcoupler configured to couple the radiation in the waveguide out of the waveguide to produce outcoupled radiation, the outcoupled radiation being emitted from the outcoupler in an output direction toward an eye of the user.
The embodiment of Fig. 20 of Jones teaches that (Fig. 20, [0293-0296]) a waveguide (2000 in Fig. 20, [0293-0296]) including an incoupler (2007 in Fig. 20) configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce radiation in the waveguide (Fig. 20, [0293-0296]); and an outcoupler (2009 in Fig. 20) configured to couple the radiation in the waveguide out of the waveguide to produce outcoupled radiation (Fig. 20, [0293-0296]), the outcoupled radiation being emitted from the outcoupler in an output direction toward an eye of the user (Fig. 20, [0293-0296]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 20 of Jones for the system of the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones such that in the system of the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones, the waveguide including an incoupler configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce radiation in the waveguide; and an outcoupler configured to couple the radiation in the waveguide out of the waveguide to produce outcoupled radiation, the outcoupled radiation being emitted from the outcoupler in an output direction toward an eye of the user. The motivation is to improve quality and uniformity in projection display systems (Jones.., [0026]).
The embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones does not teach that an input light direction rerouter configured to adjust an initial direction of incidence of the internally generated radiation at a surface of the waveguide to produce radiation directed at an adjusted angle of incidence at the incoupler such that the output direction is aligned to the initial direction of incidence.
Yamada teaches that (Fig. 1-2 and Fig. 4-5, [0095-0110]) an input light direction rerouter (34b in Fig. 4 or 34b and 35 in Fig. 5, [0099, 0105]) configured to adjust an initial angle of incidence (the incident angle of the input light L in Fig. 4-5) of the internally generated radiation (Fig. 1-2) at a surface of the waveguide (the surface 21b or 21a in Fig. 4-5) to produce radiation directed at an adjusted angle (Fig. 4-5) of incidence at an incoupler (34b or32 in Fig. 4-5) such that the output direction (the direction of the light output from 31 in Fig. 4-5) is aligned to the initial direction of incidence (Fig. 4-5, the input light L and the light output from 31 are aligned to each other either parallelly or non-parallelly in Fig. 4-5)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Yamada for the system of Jones such that in the system of Jones, an input light direction rerouter configured to adjust an initial angle of incidence of the internally generated radiation at a surface of the waveguide to produce radiation directed at an adjusted angle of incidence at the incoupler such that the output direction is aligned to the initial direction of incidence. The motivation is to display a bright and high-quality image (virtual image) (Yamada, [0103, 0107]).
Regarding claims 4-6, 8-9 and 11, the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones does not teach the following elements.
Yamada teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-2 and Fig. 4-5, [0095-0110]):
(Claim 4) the input light direction rerouter (34b and 35 in Fig. 5, [0099, 0105]) includes a retroreflector (35 in Fig. 5) disposed on a side of the waveguide (21 in Fig. 5) in which the projection system is disposed (Fig. 1-2 and Fig. 5).
(Claim 5) the input light direction rerouter (34b in Fig. 4 or 34b and 35 in Fig. 5, [0099, 0105]) includes a retroreflector (34b in Fig. 4 or 34b in Fig. 5, [0099, 0105]) disposed on a surface of the waveguide (21b in Fig. 4-5) on a side (the left side of 21 in Fig. 4-5) opposite a side to which the projection system is disposed (Fig. 4-5, Fig. 1-2).
(Claim 6) the surface of the waveguide (21b in Fig. 4-5) on which the retroreflector (34b in Fig. 4 or 34b in Fig. 5, [0099, 0105]) is disposed is opposite a surface of the waveguide (21a in Fig. 4-5) on which the incoupler (32 in Fig. 4-5) is disposed.
(Claim 8) the internally generated radiation (the light corresponding to L in Fig. 4-5) passes through the surface of the waveguide (21a in Fig. 4-5) on which the incoupler (32 in Fig. 4-5) is disposed prior to (Fig. 4-5) reflecting from the retroreflector (34b in Fig. 4 or 34b in Fig. 5, [0099, 0105]).
(Claim 9) the internally generated radiation (the light corresponding to L in Fig. 4-5) passes through the incoupler (32 in Fig. 4-5) prior to reflecting from the retroreflector (34b in Fig. 4 or 34b in Fig. 5, [0099, 0105]).
(Claim 11) the incoupler (32 in Fig. 4) of a waveguide (21 in Fig. 4) is a first incoupler (32 in Fig. 4); wherein the waveguide further includes a second incoupler (34a in Fig. 4) configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce the radiation in the waveguide (Fig. 4); and wherein the first incoupler (32 in Fig. 4) and the second incoupler (34a in Fig. 4) is disposed on the waveguide such that the output direction (the direction of the light output from 31 in Fig. 4) is substantially parallel to (Fig. 4) an initial angle of incidence (the direction of corresponding to the incident angle of L in Fig. 4) independent of a rotation of the waveguide about either the first incoupler or the second incoupler (the rotation of 21 around the vertical center axis of 32 and 34a, and the vertical center axis of 32 and 34a is parallel to the direction of L in Fig. 4).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Yamada for the system of Jones in view of Yamada such that in the system of Jones in view of Yamada,
(Claim 4) the input light direction rerouter includes a retroreflector disposed on a side of the waveguide in which the projection system is disposed.
(Claim 5) the input light direction rerouter includes a retroreflector disposed on a surface of the waveguide on a side opposite a side to which the projection system is disposed.
(Claim 6) the surface of the waveguide on which the retroreflector is disposed is opposite a surface of the waveguide on which the incoupler is disposed.
(Claim 8) the internally generated radiation passes through the surface of the waveguide on which the incoupler is disposed prior to reflecting from the retroreflector.
(Claim 9) the internally generated radiation passes through the incoupler prior to reflecting from the retroreflector.
(Claim 11) the incoupler of the waveguide is a first incoupler; wherein the waveguide further includes a second incoupler configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce the radiation in the waveguide; and wherein the first incoupler and the second incoupler is disposed on the waveguide such that the output direction is substantially parallel to an initial angle of incidence independent of a rotation of the waveguide about either the first incoupler or the second incoupler.
The motivation is to display a bright and high-quality image (virtual image) (Yamada, [0103, 0107]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Yamada as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Schultz (US 2024/0385364).
Regarding claim 12, the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones does not teach the following elements.
Schultz teaches the following elements (Fig. 2A-4, [0054-0064]):
(Claim 12) the outcoupler (34, or 34 and 22 in Fig. 2A-2B and 4) has a two-dimensional geometry (Fig. 3D, [0063, 0062]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Schultz for the system of Jones in view of Yamada such that in the system of Jones in view of Yamada,
(Claim 12) the outcoupler has a two-dimensional geometry.
The motivation is to provide at least two wavelength range light paths within a single thickness of substrate while reducing crosstalk (Schultz, [0007]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Yamada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tervo (US 2018/0292653).
Regarding claims 13-14, the embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones teaches that the projection system (11010 in Fig. 110B, [0782-0783]) could be positioned between eyepieces ([0782]). The embodiment of Fig. 110A-110E of Jones does not teach the following elements.
Tervo teaches the following elements (Fig. 3, 9, and 11-13, [0034-0035, 0042-0048]):
(Claim 13) am incoupler (340/905/1105/1205 in Fig. 3, 9 and 11-13) is located at an exit pupil of a split pupil, bi-ocular optical system (Fig. 3, 9 and 11-13).
(Claim 14) the incoupler (340/905/1105/1205 in Fig. 3, 9 and 11-13) includes facets (Fig. 11-12) configured to direct incident light to either of a first side of a waveguide or a second side of the waveguide (Fig. 2 and Fig. 13).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Tervo for the system of Jones in view of Yamada such that in the system of Jones in view of Yamada,
(Claim 13) the incoupler is located at an exit pupil of a split pupil, bi-ocular optical system.
(Claim 14) the incoupler includes facets configured to direct incident light to either of a first side of the waveguide or a second side of the waveguide.
The motivation is to provide near-eye display with increased uniformity and reduced cross-coupling between colors (Tervo, [0030]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or suggests all the combination of a head-mounted wearable device as set forth in claims 2-3.
Regarding claims 2-3, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a head-mounted wearable device recited in claim 1, wherein “a difference in direction between a chief ray of the world-facing radiation detector and a chief ray of the projection system is specified as a fixed value” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Regarding claim 7, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a head-mounted wearable device recited in claim 6, wherein “the retroreflector includes a prism” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Regarding claim 10, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a head-mounted wearable device recited in claim 5, wherein “the retroreflector forms a part of the surface of the waveguide opposite to surface of the waveguide on which the incoupler is disposed” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Claims 22-26 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 22-26, none of the prior art discloses or suggests that a head-mounted wearable device, including: a frame configured to be worn by a user, including: a nose bridge; and
a waveguide including: an incoupler configured to couple the internally generated radiation into the waveguide to produce radiation in the waveguide; and an outcoupler configured to couple the radiation in the waveguide out of the waveguide to produce outcoupled radiation, the outcoupled radiation being emitted from the outcoupler in an output direction toward an eye of the user, wherein “the nose bridge, including: a projection system configured to emit internally generated radiation; a world-facing radiation detector configured to detect externally generated radiation, the world-facing radiation detector being rigidly coupled to the projection system; and a rigid frame enclosing the projection system and the world-facing radiation detector” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Conclusion
/Shan Liu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871