Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because, in line 1, “Provided is” should be deleted and “serving beverages a method” should be “serving beverages and a method”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In page 3, line 1, “is configured to move in consist of the” is grammatically incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “moveable beverage dispensing head that is tiltable and elevatable” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from claim 4. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “to move in consist of the lateral” is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 5 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacFarlane et al. (2020/0375388; cited prior art) in view of Brogna et al. (5000345).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the MacFarlane et al. reference discloses a method of operating and an autonomous retail kiosk (110) for serving beverages, comprising: two or more production workcells and a transfer station having a staging rack (para. [0341]), wherein; each production workcell comprises; a beverage dispenser for dispensing liquid (204; para. [0324]), a presentation station (209; para. [0321]) for presenting a beverage to a consumer, a robotic arm (231; para. [0323]) for moving beverages between the beverage dispenser, the presentation station and the transfer station; and wherein said transfer station is configured to receive a beverage container from a first robotic arm (231; paras. [0323, 0326, 0328]) within a first workcell and deliver the beverage container to a second robotic arm (232; para. [0413]) within a second workcell, thereby moving the beverage container from the first workcell to the second workcell (robotic arms 231 and 232 are capable of moving beverages between any point within their respective workcells. The MacFarlane et al. reference doesn’t disclose the transfer station/staging rack being a carousel for distributing beverage containers. The Brogna et al. reference discloses another automated drinkmaker system having a carousel to move beverage containers to individual stations. One advantage being greater immunity from contamination of the system by drink spills from other drinks which have been processed (col. 2, lines 29-36) and/or as another well-known conveyance system for beverage containers within the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the MacFarlane et al. device to substitute a carousel for the staging rack as, for example, taught by the Brogna et al. reference in order to handle beverage containers while decreasing contamination possibilities and it would be obvious to try a carousel for container transfer without unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the planes in which each robotic arm is configured to move in consist of the lateral, vertical and transverse planes. Robotic arms (231, 232) are capable of moving in all the defined planes. See para’s [0412 – 0426].
Regarding claims 3 and 12, further comprising one or more beverage makers configured to provide a beverage to the beverage dispenser. See brewing station (202), grinding station (203), milk foaming station (204). See para. [0324].
Regarding claim 5, wherein the presentation station comprises a rotating platform. See paragraph [0729].
Regarding claim 6, wherein the kiosk comprises two substantially identical production workcells with bilateral symmetry. See Figure 1 showing substantially identical production workcells (110).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, wherein each robotic arm (231, 232) is configured to: move a beverage container from a beverage container dispenser to a beverage dispenser, move the beverage container from the beverage dispenser to the carousel, and move the beverage container from the carousel to a presentation station. See para’s [0326-0328] and [0490].
Regarding claim 8, further comprising a beverage container lidding station (i.e., lidding bay) comprising a beverage container lidder which serves the two or more production workcells, or wherein each of the two or more production workcells further comprises one or more beverage container lidding stations each comprising a beverage container lidder. See para. [0413].
Regarding claim 9, further comprising a beverage disposal receptacle (11510) for receiving a waste beverage from a robotic arm. See para. [0395].
Regarding claim 10, wherein the carousel is further configured to receive a beverage container from a robotic arm and deliver the beverage container to the same robotic arm, thereby acting to store the beverage container. The carousel in modified MacFarlane et al. takes place of the staging rack in the transfer station and would receive containers from the robotic arms (231, 232).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, see para’s [0413, 0513, 0520, 0522].
Regarding claim 16, see para’s [0357, 0645-0648].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacFarlane et al., as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Smith et al. (6648025).
Regarding claim 4, modified MacFarlane et al. discloses the invention (discussed supra), but doesn’t disclose wherein the beverage dispenser is a moveable beverage dispensing head that is tiltable and elevatable. The Smith et al. reference discloses another automatic beverage dispenser (10) having a tiltable and elevatable dispensing head (200; col. 5, lines 26 – 57) to vary the height and angle of the nozzle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the MacFarlane et al. device to have a tiltable and elevatable dispensing head as, for example, taught by the Smith et al. in order to accommodate different size containers and reduce foaming by directing the fluid toward the side of the container when filling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Jennings et al. (7577498) reference discloses a robotic beverage server (400) having multiple robotic serving arms (226).
The Trigell et al. (6112948) reference discloses an automatic beverage dispenser (Figure 1) having a height adjustable dispensing head (Figure 4).
The Goulet et al. (6053359) reference discloses an automatic beverage dispenser having a carousel (20) to move the beverage containers within the system.
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753