DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, 13-14, 17-19, 51-52, 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Wang et al. (US 2024/0172167 A1 with priority of CN 202110846337.4 on 7/26/2021)
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Wang discloses an information determining method, performed by a first device, and comprising:
receiving a service request sent by a second device, wherein the service request carries a service type of a ranging/SL positioning (Step 201b: The first device transmits a location service request at a higher layer. The location service request is used for requesting to trigger the first terminal to perform positioning. Optionally, in this embodiment of this application, the location service request includes at least one of the following: a positioning service type (for example, SL UE spontaneous positioning) of the first terminal, para. 0055-0058), and
determining a policy/parameter used to perform the ranging/SL positioning function according to the service type (Step 301: The first device transmits or obtains a first parameter and/or a second parameter provided by a higher layer. The first parameter is used for transmitting the first SL-PRS; and the second parameter is used for selecting the target first resource, para. 0069-0070; the service type is for positioning).
(2) Regarding claim 10:
Wang discloses an information sending method, performed by a second device, and comprising:
sending a service request to a first device, wherein the service request carries a service type of a ranging/SL positioning (Step 201b: The first device transmits a location service request at a higher layer. The location service request is used for requesting to trigger the first terminal to perform positioning. Optionally, in this embodiment of this application, the location service request includes at least one of the following: a positioning service type (for example, SL UE spontaneous positioning) of the first terminal, para. 0055-0058), and the service type is used by the first device to determine a policy/parameter used to perform the ranging/SL positioning (Step 301: The first device transmits or obtains a first parameter and/or a second parameter provided by a higher layer. The first parameter is used for transmitting the first SL-PRS; and the second parameter is used for selecting the target first resource, para. 0069-0070).
(3) Regarding claim 51:
Wang discloses the method of claim 1 above, and further discloses a first terminal, comprising a transceiver and a processor; wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (as shown in FIG. 18, an embodiment of this application further provides a communication device 500, including a processor 501, a memory 502, and a program or instructions stored in the memory 502 and executable on the processor 501. For example, the communication device 500 is a terminal. The program or the instructions, when executed by the processor 501, implement the processes of the embodiments of the positioning method, and can achieve the same technical effects, para. 0588; the radio frequency unit 101 includes, but not limited to, an antenna, at least one amplifier, a transceiver, a coupler, a low noise amplifier, a duplexer, and the like, para. 0593).
(4) Regarding claim 52:
Wang discloses the method of claim 1 above, and further discloses a second terminal comprising a transceiver and a processor; wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured to perform the method according to claim 10 (as shown in FIG. 18, an embodiment of this application further provides a communication device 500, including a processor 501, a memory 502, and a program or instructions stored in the memory 502 and executable on the processor 501. For example, the communication device 500 is a terminal. The program or the instructions, when executed by the processor 501, implement the processes of the embodiments of the positioning method, and can achieve the same technical effects, para. 0588; the radio frequency unit 101 includes, but not limited to, an antenna, at least one amplifier, a transceiver, a coupler, a low noise amplifier, a duplexer, and the like, para. 0593).
(5) Regarding claim 54:
Wang discloses the method of claim 1 above, and further discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, having computer programs stored thereon, wherein the computer programs are executed by a processor to implement the method according to claim 1 (as shown in FIG. 18, an embodiment of this application further provides a communication device 500, including a processor 501, a memory 502, and a program or instructions stored in the memory 502 and executable on the processor 501. For example, the communication device 500 is a terminal. The program or the instructions, when executed by the processor 501, implement the processes of the embodiments of the positioning method, and can achieve the same technical effects, para. 0588; the radio frequency unit 101 includes, but not limited to, an antenna, at least one amplifier, a transceiver, a coupler, a low noise amplifier, a duplexer, and the like, para. 0593).
(6) Regarding claims 5 and 13:
Wang discloses all subject matter of claims 1 and 10, and further discloses the service is a ranging/SL positioning service request (Step 201b: The first device transmits a location service request at a higher layer. The location service request is used for requesting to trigger the first terminal to perform positioning, para. 0055-0056; the examiner interprets the SL-PRS positioning as the claimed ranging/SL positioning service request).
(7) Regarding claims 6 and 14:
Wang discloses all subject matter of claims 1 and 10, and further discloses the ranging/SL positioning request is sent in a ranging/SL positioning service process initiated by the second device (the target message is sent by target device as shown in figure 4).
(8) Regarding claim 7:
Wang discloses all subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses performing a ranging/SL positioning according to the policy/parameter determined; feeding back a ranging/SL positioning result to the second device (Optionally, in this embodiment of this application, the location service request includes at least one of the following: a positioning service type (for example, SL UE spontaneous positioning) of the first terminal; location notification indication information; event reporting information; periodic reporting indication information, para. 0057-0061).
(9) Regarding claims 8 and 19:
Wang discloses all subject matter of claims 1 and 10, and further discloses wherein the first device comprises a first terminal; the second device comprises one of a second terminal, an application server and a core network function (as shown in figure 7, it further discloses the method is between terminal 1 and terminal 2, para. 0485).
(10) Regarding claim 17:
Wang discloses all subject matter of claim 10, and further discloses receiving a ranging/SL positioning result fed back by the first device (Optionally, in this embodiment of this application, the location service request includes at least one of the following: a positioning service type (for example, SL UE spontaneous positioning) of the first terminal; location notification indication information; event reporting information; periodic reporting indication information, para. 0057-0061).
(11) Regarding claim 18:
Wang discloses all subject matter of claim 17, and further discloses the ranging/SL positioning result is determined by the first device performing a ranging/SL positioning according to the policy/parameter determined (Optionally, in this embodiment of this application, the location service request includes at least one of the following: a positioning service type (for example, SL UE spontaneous positioning) of the first terminal; location notification indication information; event reporting information; periodic reporting indication information, para. 0057-0061).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0172167 A1) in view of Hu et al. (US 2025/0133577 A1).
Wang discloses all subject matter of claim 10, but fails to disclose wherein the second device comprises a second terminal, and sending the service request to the first device comprises: sending the service request to the first device via an access and mobility management function (AMF).
However, Hu discloses in other embodiment, the first UE may not transmit the first assistance information to the network. Instead, in response to a mobile originated (MO) location service request received from the first UE or a mobile terminated (MT) location request received from the AMF (para. 0138, 0078).
It is desirable to send the service request to the first device comprises: sending the service request to the first device via an access and mobility management function (AMF) because it extends transmission distance of the service request. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effect filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Hu in the method of Wang for the benefit of extending the transmission distance of the service request.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed.
Claims 2-3, 11, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 21:
The present invention describes a communication system, comprising a first device, a second device and a third device; wherein the first device is configured to receive a service request sent by the second device, the service request carrying a service type of a ranging/SL positioning; and determine a policy/parameter used to perform the ranging/SL positioning according to the service type; and send the service request to the third device; the second device is configured to send the service request to the first device; the third device is configured to receive the service request sent by the first device; determine the policy/parameter used to perform the ranging/SL positioning according to the service type. The closest prior art, Wang et al. (US 2024/0172167 A1) discloses a similar communication system as shown in figure 9, but fails to disclose a first device, a second device and a third device; wherein the first device is configured to receive a service request sent by the second device, the service request carrying a service type of a ranging/SL positioning; and determine a policy/parameter used to perform the ranging/SL positioning according to the service type; and send the service request to the third device; the third device is configured to receive the service request sent by the first device; determine the policy/parameter used to perform the ranging/SL positioning according to the service type.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US 2025/0016731 A1) discloses positioning method and apparatus and terminal.
Shen (US 2025/0203320 A1) discloses method for parameter configuration, and terminal.
Gune et al. (US 12,317,198 B2) discloses sidelink transmission reception reliability.
Blasco Serrano et al. (US 2024/0276595 A1) discloses support for transmitter (TX) profile based device-to-device (D2D) communication.
Karampatsis et al. (US 2026/0164479 A1) discloses establishing a multipath unicast link.
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 9/5/2026