DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes legal phraseology. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 102.
Additionally, the text within the drawings is illegible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear what is meant by “a prior delignification reaction” as it relates to the “delignification of biomass” recited in claim 1. Is Applicant intending to introduce an additional, distinct delignification reaction or specify that the feedstock further comprises a dissolved hemicellulose which is also obtained from the delignification of biomass as recited in claim 1? For the purposes of examination, the office has adopted the latter interpretation.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear how the claim step recited therein relates to the overall method of claim 1. The claim specifies a pretreatment step to remove “sulfuric acid present in a crude bio-oil.” From where does this crude bio-oil originate and/or how does it relate to the material being processed in claim 1? For the purposes of examination, the office has interpreted the crude bio-oil as being equivalent to the lignin-rich feedstock obtained from delignification of biomass as introduced in claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "said alkaline salt" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant may have intended for claim 9 to depend from claim 8 instead of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 2015/0099868).
Regarding claims 1-6, 11 and 13-16, Yang discloses a method for producing biofuel comprising (see [0003]):
a) providing a lignin-rich feedstock, wherein the lignin-rich feedstock comprises more than 95 wt.% of lignin-based compounds (e.g., oligomers) obtained from delignification of biomass (see [0023]; [0076]; [0082], the concentration of lignin being within or overlapping the ranges of claims 1-6); and
b) performing a hydrodeoxygenation (HDO) reaction on the feedstock (see [0024]).
HDO is carried out in the presence of hydrogen under conditions (i.e., temperature, pressure, time) which are conducive to the production of jet fuel and provide high yields of aromatics and/or aliphatic hydrocarbons (see [0018]; [0080]; [0083]-[0084]; [0178]). Example 5 illustrates conditions including a hydrogen pressure of 5-6 MPa (50-60 bar) and a temperature of 250°C (see [0178]).
Yang does not explicitly disclose the TAN, viscosity, or char content of the resulting fuel product. However, given that HDO reaction is carried out under conditions in line with those claimed on a feedstock having the claimed properties, it is reasonably expected that the resulting product would have properties that, at the very least, overlap with those claimed. Furthermore, as noted above, Yang discloses tailoring conditions to optimize the yield of aromatic and/or aliphatic hydrocarbons, in particular C7 to C9 cyclohexane derivatives in the jet fuel range (see [0179]) and explicitly notes that HDO results in a substantial reduction in oxygen content (and thus, a decrease in TAN) (see [0079]). Therefore, based on the facts of record in Yang, a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily optimize reaction conditions to provide a product having the desired fuel properties, including those in line with the claimed TAN, viscosity, and char content. The claimed properties are not considered to provide a patentably distinguishing feature over Yang, absent objective evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses wherein the feedstock further comprises a dissolved hemicellulose resulting from the delignification of biomass (see [0086]).
Regarding claim 12, Yang does not explicitly disclose an HDO temperature of about 350°C, but, as noted above, suggests optimizing HDO conditions to produce the desired yield of jet fuel range products. A person of ordinary skill in the art would readily optimize the reaction conditions, including temperature, which provide the desired yield of product. Absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results, the claimed temperature is not considered to patentably distinguish the instant claims over the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses recovering the upgraded oil (see [0029]).
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses a method for producing biofuel comprising (see [0003]):
a) providing a liquid lignin-rich feedstock obtained from a delignification process which separates cellulose from lignin and hemicellulose and depolymerizes lignin and hemicellulose into mainly monomers and dimers thereof (see [0023]; [0076]; [0086]; [0198]; [0216], teaching the claimed LHDO feedstock); and
b) performing a hydrodeoxygenation (HDO) reaction on the feedstock (see [0024]).
HDO is carried out in the presence of hydrogen under conditions (i.e., temperature, pressure, time) which are conducive to the production of jet fuel and provide high yields of aromatics and/or aliphatic hydrocarbons (see [0018]; [0080]; [0083]-[0084]; [0178]). Example 5 illustrates conditions including a hydrogen pressure of 5-6 MPa (50-60 bar) and a temperature of 250°C (see [0178]).
Yang does not explicitly disclose the TAN or viscosity of the resulting fuel product. However, given that HDO reaction is carried out under conditions in line with those claimed on a feedstock in line with that claimed, it is reasonably expected that the resulting product would have properties that, at the very least, overlap with those claimed. Furthermore, as noted above, Yang discloses tailoring conditions to optimize the yield of aromatic and/or aliphatic hydrocarbons, in particular C7 to C9 cyclohexane derivatives in the jet fuel range (see [0179]) and explicitly notes that HDO results in a substantial reduction in oxygen content (and thus, a decrease in TAN) (see [0079]). Therefore, based on the facts of record in Yang, a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily optimize reaction conditions to provide a product having the desired fuel properties, including those in line with the claimed TAN and viscosity. The claimed properties are not considered to provide a patentably distinguishing feature over Yang, absent objective evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 19, Yang does not explicitly disclose that the feedstock contains at most 2% of aldehyde-containing compounds. However, it is considered that selecting a suitable material to subject to the HDO reaction which produces the desired jet fuel product, as stated in Yang, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and associated with a reasonable expectation of success. Absent a showing of new or unexpected results, the claimed aldehyde concentration is not considered to patentably distinguish the instant claims over the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses that HDO results in a substantial reduction in oxygen content from the lignin intermediates (see [0079]), which is considered to teach and/or suggest the claimed conversion of substantially all carboxylic acids, given that carboxylic acids are oxygen containing compounds.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, as applied to the claims above, in view of Geigle et al (US 2019/0390405).
Regarding claims 8-10, Yang does not disclose wherein the method comprises a pretreatment procedure using an alkaline salt for the removal of sulfuric acid. It is noted, however, the Yang discloses the delignification step entailing treatment with sulfuric acid (see [0023]; Example 1, 3).
Geigle, like Yang, is directed to processing lignocellulosic material to separate lignin, which then may be subjected to HDO reaction(s) (see Abstract; [0600]). Delignification entails treatment with sulfuric acid, wherein the reaction solution may be completely neutralized with a calcium hydroxide neutralizing agent (see [0519]-[0520]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the instant claimed invention to modify the process of Yang by mixing the delignification process effluent with calcium hydroxide, as suggested by Geigle, in order to neutralize the stream prior to subsequent treatment/conversion steps.
Conclusion
/Renee Robinson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772