DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatterjee et al. (US 2021/0203449 A1) in view of Tseng et al. (US 2022/0078697 A1). Regarding claims 1, 7, 13, Chatterjee et al. discloses a method, implemented in a user equipment (UE) communicating with a radio access network (RAN) node, for monitoring a downlink control channel during a random access small data transmission (RA-SDT) session(See Fig 1 items 110 and 101, Para 23-26), the method comprising: receiving, at the UE and from the RAN node, a random access procedure message including a temporary identifier for the UE; monitoring, at the UE and during the RA-SDT session, the downlink control channel using the temporary identifier (See Fig 1 items 110 and 101, Para 23-26. Para 60, and Para 208 teaches UE receiving a C-RNTI and monitoring PDCCH for RA-SDT procedure). Chatterjee et al. does not disclose a method, wherein receiving, at the UE and from the RAN node, an indication to end the RA-SDT session; responsive to the receiving of the indication, stopping, at the UE, the monitoring of the downlink control channel using the temporary identifier; and responsive to the receiving of the indication, retaining the temporary identifier. However Tseng et al. discloses a method, wherein receiving, at the UE and from the RAN node, an indication to end the RA-SDT session; responsive to the receiving of the indication, stopping, at the UE, the monitoring of the downlink control channel using the temporary identifier (Para 233-237 teaches of receiving a message and terminating the RA-SDT procedure.); and responsive to the receiving of the indication, retaining the temporary identifier (Para 236 teaches of UE preforming CG-SDT procedure with the same C-RNTI ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of sending signaling to a UE to terminate a RA-SDT procedure of Tseng et al. with the system of Chatterjee et al. in order to provide a system that reduces network congestion by clearing random access queues from idle devices that finished small payload burst. Regarding claims 2, 8, 16, Chatterjee et al. discloses a method, the method further comprising: receiving, at the UE and from the RAN node, downlink control information (DCI) using the temporary identifier; wherein the monitoring of the downlink control channel includes: monitoring the downlink control channel according to the DCI(See Fig 1 items 110 and 101, Para 23-26. Para 60, and Para 208 teaches UE receiving a RNTI and monitoring PDCCH for RA-SDT procedure). Regarding claims 3, 9, 17, Tseng et al. discloses a method, the method further comprising: responsive to the receiving of the indication, releasing the temporary identifier (Para 233-237 teaches of receiving a message and terminating the RA-SDT procedure. Para 236 teaches UE preforming CG-SDT procedure with the same C-RNTI or a new C-RNTI). Motivation to combine is the same as indicated in claim 1 above. Regarding claims 4, 10, 18, Chatterjee et al. discloses a method, wherein the temporary network identifier is a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) (See Fig 1 items 110 and 101, Para 23-26. Para 60, and Para 208 teach UE receiving a C-RNTI and monitoring PDCCH for RA-SDT procedure). Regarding claims 5, 11, 19, Tseng et al. discloses a method, wherein the temporary identifier is a first temporary identifier, and the method further comprises: monitoring, after the stopping, the downlink control channel using a second temporary identifier (Para 233-237 teaches of receiving a message and terminating the RA-SDT procedure. Para 236 teaches UE preforming CG-SDT procedure with the same C-RNTI or a new C-RNTI). Motivation to combine is the same as indicated in claim 1 above. Regarding claims 6, 12, 20, Tseng et al. discloses a method, wherein the second temporary identifier is a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) (Para 357 teaches Monitoring Short Messages transmitted with P-RNTI over DCI).
Conclusion
/AJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467