DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 10/1/2024 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 10/1/2024 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #114bis-e R3-220839 (hereinafter, 3GPP).
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP teaches a method, implemented in a second radio access network (RAN) node (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Receiving gNB]) communicating with a first RAN node (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Last Serving gNB]), for transferring user equipment (UE) configuration parameters (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Step 3 Retrieve UE context Response]), the method comprising:
receiving, at the second RAN node and from the UE (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Step 1]), an update message for a RAN notification area associated with the UE; (Page 2 “The UE sends an RRCResumeRequest as well as UL SDT data and/or UL SDT signalling to the receiving gNB.”)
responsive to receiving the update message, transmitting, from the second RAN node to the first RAN node, a UE context request message; (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Step 2 Retrieve UE context Request])
receiving, at the second RAN node and from the first RAN node, a UE context response message including small data transmission (SDT) configuration parameters for configuring the UE and non-SDT configuration parameters for configuring the UE. (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Step 3 Retrieve UE context Response] and Page 4 “normal context relocation including SDT”)
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP teaches wherein the UE context response message includes the at least the portion of the SDT configuration parameters in an SDT information element associated with a RAN notification area procedure. (3GPP Fig. XX.2-1 [Step 3] and Page 2 “The last serving gNB decides to relocate UE context for SDT and responds with the RETRIEVE UE CONTEXT RESPONSE”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 Meeting #114bis-e R3-220839 (hereinafter, 3GPP) in view of Xiong et al. (WO-2022/031358-A1 hereinafter, Xiong).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP teaches a method, implemented in a first radio access network (RAN) node (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Last Serving gNB]) communicating with a second RAN node (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Receiving gNB]), for transferring user equipment (UE) configuration parameters (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Step 3 Retrieve UE context Response]), the method comprising:
receiving, at the first RAN node and from the second RAN node, a UE context request message; (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Step 2 Retrieve UE context Request]) and
transmitting, from the first RAN node to the second RAN node, a UE context response message including at least a portion of the SDT configuration parameters and the non-SDT configuration parameters. (Page 2 Figure XX.2-1 [Step 3 Retrieve UE context Response] and Page 4 “normal context relocation including SDT”)
3GPP differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting transmitting, from the first RAN node to the UE, SDT configuration parameters for configuring the UE and non-SDT configuration parameters for configuring the UE.
In an analogous art, Xiong teaches a physical random-access channel resource partitioning for small data transmission (Abstract) that includes transmitting, from the first RAN node to the UE, SDT configuration parameters for configuring the UE and non-SDT configuration parameters for configuring the UE. (Page 12 [0046] and Claim 2)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of 3GPP after modifying it to incorporate the ability to transmit SDT configuration parameters and non-SDT configuration parameters to a UE from a first RAN node of Xiong since the general operation of the 5G network configuring the UE for communicating SDT and non-SDT is outside of the scope of the 3GPP paper, yet required in order to be able to differentiate SDT operation from non-SDT operation. (Xiong Page 11 [0043])
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP in view of Xiong teaches transmitting, from the first RAN (3GPP Fig. 1 [Last Serving gNB]) to the UE, a release downlink message for releasing a protocol associated with controlling radio resources and including the SDT configuration parameters. (3GPP Fig. 1 [Step 4] and Page 5 “Proposal 2: For SDT without anchor relocation, adopt Solution 1, i.e. use RETRIEVE UE CONTXT FAILURE to deliver partial context, and enhance UE CONXEXT RELEASE to carry the PDCP-C PDU of RRCRelease message when the last serving gNB decides to end the SDT session.”)
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP in view of Xiong teaches wherein the UE context response message includes the at least the portion of the SDT configuration parameters in an SDT information element associated with a RAN notification area procedure. (3GPP Fig. XX.2-1 [Step 3] and Page 2 “The last serving gNB decides to relocate UE context for SDT and responds with the RETRIEVE UE CONTEXT RESPONSE”)
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP in view of Xiong teaches wherein the portion of the SDT configuration parameters is a first portion of the SDT configuration parameters (3GPP Page 5 Fig. 1 [Step 3] “Partial Context (including SDT RLC config.)”), and the transmitting of the UE context response message includes: omitting a second portion of the SDT configuration parameters from the UE context response message. (3GPP Fig. 1 [Step 3] and Page 4 “And between Solution 1 and 2, the only difference is whether we use "FAILURE" or "RESPONSE" message as a reply from the last serving gNB” i.e. the Examiner sees these messages as interchangeable/equivalent at this time since the same information is being provided in them)
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP in view of Xiong teaches the method further comprising:
configuring, at the first RAN node, the SDT configuration parameters for the UE; (3GPP Page 11 “If the old NG-RAN node decides to keep the UE context in case of periodic RNAU or in case of SDT, it shall store the Allocated C-RNTI IE and the Access PCI IE in the UE Context ID IE, as described in TS 38.300 [9].” And “If the SDT Configuration IE is included in the RETRIEVE UE CONTEXT FAILURE message, the new NG-RAN node shall consider that the old NG-RAN node decides to keep the UE context for SDT and use this information to allocate necessary resources and establish Xn-U bearers for data forwarding, as described in TS 38.300 [9].”)
responsive to the configuring, including the at least the portion of the SDT configuration parameters in the UE context response message. (Page 5 Fig. 1 [Step 3 “Partial Context including SDT RLC config”] and Page 11 “If the Old NG-RAN node to New NG-RAN node Resume Container IE is included in the RETRIEVE UE CONTEXT FAILURE message, the new NG-RAN node should transparently forward the content of this IE to the UE as described in TS 38.300 [9]. If the SDT Configuration IE is included in the RETRIEVE UE CONTEXT FAILURE message, the new NG-RAN node shall consider that the old NG-RAN node decides to keep the UE context for SDT and use this information to allocate necessary resources and establish Xn-U bearers for data forwarding, as described in TS 38.300 [9].”)
Regarding claim 13, the limitations of claim 13 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claim 1. (see additional structure in Xiong Fig. 7 [700, 710 and 706] and Page 22 [0088-0089])
Regarding claim 15-18, the limitations of claims 15-18 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claim 3-6.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Xiong as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Ahluwalia et al. (US-2024/0163760 hereinafter, Ahluwalia).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, 3GPP in view of Xiong teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 13 above, but differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting transmit, from the first RAN node to the UE, a reconfiguration downlink message for reconfiguring a protocol associated with controlling radio resources including the non-SDT configuration parameters.
In an analogous art, Ahluwalia teaches a device and method for configuring a user device for small data transmission (Abstract) that includes transmitting, from the first RAN node (Fig. 1 [106]) to the UE (Fig. 1 [102]), a reconfiguration downlink message for reconfiguring a protocol associated with controlling radio resources including the non-SDT (Page 4 [0063]) configuration parameters. (Page 4 [0067-0069] and Fig. 1 [107b & 109])
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of 3GPP in view of Xiong after modifying it to incorporate the ability to transmit a reconfiguration downlink message for reconfiguration a protocol of Ahluwalia since it enables the user device to be prepared to send SDT or non-SDT information at a later time and because the transmission occurred during an inactive mode, the power consumption at the user device is maintained at a minimum. (Ahluwalia Page 4 [0063])
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of Ahluwalia.
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP teaches the limitations of claim 7 above, but differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting transmitting, from the second RAN node to the UE, a downlink message including the SDT configuration parameters in an SDT configuration information element of the downlink message.
In an analogous art, Ahluwalia teaches a device and method for configuring a user device for small data transmission (Abstract) that includes transmitting, from the second RAN node (Fig. 1 [104]) to the UE (Fig. 1 [102]), a downlink message including the SDT configuration parameters in an SDT configuration information element of the downlink message. (Fig. 1 [109] and Page 4 [0063])
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of 3GPP \after modifying it to incorporate the ability to transmit a downlink message with the SDT configuration parameters from the second RAN node to the UE of Ahluwalia since it enables the user device to be prepared to send SDTs and allows the configuration during an inactive mode at the UE which keeps power consumption at a minimum. (Ahluwalia Page 4 [0063])
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP in view of Ahluwalia teaches wherein the downlink message includes a request to release a protocol associated with controlling radio resources. (Ahluwalia Page 3 [0036] “the target node is configured to: receive an small data transmission, SDT radio resource control, RRC transfer message comprising an RRC release message comprising a new next hop chaining counter NCC and inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier I-RNTI for a further SDT communication session; and forward the RRC release message to the user device.” And Page 5 [0077])
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP in view of Ahluwalia teaches transmitting, from the second RAN node to the UE, a downlink message including the non-SDT configuration parameters. (Page 4 [0063 and 0067-0069] and Fig. 1 [107b & 109])
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP in view of Ahluwalia teaches wherein the update message includes a request to resume a protocol associated with controlling radio resources. (3GPP Page 5 Fig. 1 [RRCResumeRequest], Page 2 Fig. XX.2-1 [Step 1] and “The UE sends an RRCResumeRequest as well as UL SDT data and/or UL SDT signalling to the receiving gNB”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-12,588,093 to Liu et al. which discloses a method and system for configuring a UE for small data transmissions with a base station in order to save power/resources. (Abstract and Claim 1)
US-2022/0201659 to Agiwal which discloses a method and system for configuring resources for SDT in a wireless communication system. (Abstract)
/Matthew C Sams/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646