DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “umbilical tether drive”, “drive element” and “drive motor”, as required in claim 1; “at least one protrusion” engaging with the spaced apart annular disk, as required in claim 2; protrusions engaging catch structures, as required in claim 3; and the “flexible interconnected links”, as required in claim 17, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 8, recited “a second sensor” and “second control unit” is indefinite because how could be a second sensor and a second control unit if a first sensor and a first control unit are not required. Regarding claim 10, recited “a second power supply” is indefinite because how could be second power supply without a first power supply. Regarding claim 13, recited “a third control unit” is indefinite because how could be a third control unit without first and second control units. Regarding claim 14, the claim is indefinite because inherits the same issues of claim 13 because of its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roscoe (US 2009/0014036).
Claim 21
Roscoe discloses a system capable of controlling temperature and humidity conditions in a pipe, the system comprising an air conditioning apparatus configured to discharge air into a pipe; at least one sensor configured to detect temperature and/or air velocity; and a control unit/arrangement capable to adjust the air conditions in the pipe based on the data from the at least one sensor (see [0029]).
Claim 22
Roscoe further discloses the control unit is configured to adjust the temperature of the air discharged into the pipe, and/or the velocity of the air discharge into the pipe (see [0029], [0048] and abstract). The control blowing means is capable to adjust and detect air velocity.
Claim 23
Roscoe further discloses the control unit is configured to adjust the air velocity in the pipe by controlling the dimension of an orifice positioned in the pipe. Roscoe discloses the control valve arrangement that open or close valve (see [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motzo (US 2016/0256903) in view of Zink (US 2015/0000760) (both references provided by the applicant).
Claim 1
Motzo discloses a system for positioning an umbilical supply line, the system comprising an umbilical supply line (62); a plurality of spaced apart annular disk assemblies (61), wherein each annular disk assembly defines an aperture (defined by area of the disk where the umbilical supply line passes through) through which the umbilical supply line is positioned (see figure 6); and a reeling apparatus/winch-pulled tool (see [0037]) comprising an axle that receives the umbilical supply line therearound. Motzo does not disclose an umbilical tether drive system comprising at least one drive element driven by a drive motor, as required. However, Zink discloses an apparatus for insertion into a tank comprising an umbilical tether drive (102) comprising a drive element (146) driven by a motor (144), wherein the drive element has plurality of protrusions (140) (see [0032] and [0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motzo including a drive element driven by a drive motor as taught by Zink for self-displacement of the umbilical supply line.
Claim 3
Zink further discloses upon movement of the drive element, at least one of the plurality of protrusions (140) engage one of a plurality of catch structures (138) positioned on the umbilical supply line (see [0032]).
Claim 4
Zink further discloses the umbilical tether drive system further comprises a power supply (114); and a control unit (166) that communicates with the power supply and at least one drive motor (see [0049], [0032] and [0050]).
Claim 5
Zink further discloses the umbilical tether drive system further comprises at least one sensor/actuator (166) that detects/controls a position/angle of the umbilical supply line, or direction of movement of the umbilical supply line (see [0049]).
Claim 8
Motzo further discloses a sensor capable to detect position of a centralizer in a pipe, or to adjust air conditions in the pipe based on the data from the sensor (see [0061]-[0063]).
Claim 9
Motzo further discloses a centralizer (see [0077]).
Claim 12
Motzo further discloses the centralizer further comprises an application device for dispensing a fluid (see [0092]).
Claim 13
Motzo further discloses a control unit capable to control the movement of the centralizer (see [0062]-[0064]).
Claim 14
Motzo further discloses the control unit of the drive system and the control unit are capable to synchronize deployment and retraction/position of the umbilical supply line and the centralizer (see [0062]-[0067]).
Claim 15
Motzo further discloses the plurality of spaced apart annular disk assemblies (61) further comprise a plurality of angularly spaced rollers mounted generally on and extending radially therefrom an outer perimeter of each of the annular disk assemblies (see figure 6).
Claim 16
Motzo further discloses the plurality of spaced apart annular disk assemblies are positioned along the length of the umbilical supply line (see figure 6).
Claim 17
Motzo further discloses a plurality of flexible interconnected links (defined by connections between the disk assemblies as shown in figure 6) that couple two adjacent annular disk assemblies.
Claim 18
Motzo further discloses the reeling apparatus/winch-pulled tool is configured to rotate such that when the reeling apparatus is rotated in a first direction, the umbilical supply line is unwound during deploying of the umbilical supply line and when the reeling apparatus is rotated in a second direction, the umbilical supply is positioned around the reel during retracting of the umbilical supply line. The normal function of a winch-pulled tool is to unwound a line attach and to wound around a reel or the winch-pulled tool.
Claim 19
Motzo further discloses the system positions the umbilical supply line in a pipe (defined by pipe that encloses the umbilical supply line) (see figure 6).
Claim 20
Motzo discloses a system for positioning an umbilical supply line, the system comprising an umbilical supply line (62) (see figure 6) and a reeling apparatus/winch-pulled tool (see [0037]) comprising an axle that receives the umbilical supply line therearound. Motzo does not disclose the umbilical supply line including a plurality of catch structures positioned on, affixed to, and/or connected to the umbilical supply line; and an umbilical tether drive system comprising at least one drive element driven by a drive motor. However, Zink discloses an apparatus for insertion into a tank comprising an umbilical tether drive (102) comprising a drive element (146) driven by a motor (144), wherein the drive element has plurality of protrusions (140) (see [0032] and [0033]). Zink further discloses the drive element comprising plurality of protrusions (140) complementary in shape with plurality of catch structures (138) positioned on the umbilical supply line (see [0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motzo including a drive element driven by a drive motor as taught by Zink for self-displacement of the umbilical supply line. After Motzo is modified by Zink, when the drive element is driven by the drive motor, the umbilical tether drive system will deploy and/or retract the umbilical supply line from the reeling apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6, 7 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736