DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/853485 filed on 10/02/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3-7, 11-12, 31-36, and 38-41 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S 20200083938, Mar. 12, 2020) in view of LI et al. (US 20250047347, Feb. 6, 2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses a method comprising receiving, from a network, information indicating any of one or more metrics and one or more requirements for generating a codebook (page 1, par (0007), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook (generating a codebook) for reporting the CSI);
generating the codebook, comprising one or more first parameters (page 1, par (0007), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook (generating a codebook comprising CSI report) for reporting the CSI (channel state information)),
based on the one or more metrics and any of (i) one or more channel state information related measurements associated with at least a first set of subbands and (ii) one or more measurements associated with a transmission (page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands within the configured bandwidth based on a linear combination of the power coefficient, the phase offset, and the phase change value).
Park discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the one or more first parameters comprise at least one cluster of subbands having a channel state information correlation satisfying a threshold and comprising at least one subband from any of the first set of subbands and a second set of subbands that is based on the first set of subbands; and transmitting, to the network, feedback information comprising the codebook, wherein the codebook comprises (i) at least some of the one or more first parameters and (ii) one or more second parameters associated with the at least some of the one or more first parameters.
LI is the same field of invention teaches wherein the one or more first parameters comprise at least one cluster of subbands having a channel state information correlation satisfying a threshold and comprising at least one subband from any of the first set of subbands and a second set of subbands that is based on the first set of subbands(page 10, par (0112), line 1-10, the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold(satisfying threshold), the number for the simultaneous CSI calculations associated with the CSI report setting for the PMI feedback based at least in part on a number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a periodicity of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of resources in the one or more subsets, a ratio of a total number of resources in the one or more subsets to a total number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of subbands or a size of subbands associated with the CSI report setting);
and transmitting, to the network, feedback information comprising the codebook, wherein the codebook comprises (i) at least some of the one or more first parameters and (ii) one or more second parameters associated with the at least some of the one or more first parameters(page 15, par (0165), line 1-10, receive a channel state information (CSI) report setting indicating to report precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback determined based on a codebook corresponding to a combination of time-division multiplexed CSI reference signal (CSI-RS), and report CSI with the PMI feedback associated with one or more resources in the time-division multiplexed CSI-RS or SSB resources).
Park and LI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the first parameters comprise at least one cluster of subbands having a channel state information correlation satisfying a threshold teaching of Park to include the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold teaching of LI because it is providing an indication of components within a precoding matrix as the subsets of CSI-RS or SSB resources, where different components within the precoding matrix identify different CSI-RS or SSB resources.
2. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 3, Park discloses the one or more channel state information related measurements comprise one or more channel state information correlation coefficients associated with at least the first set of subbands(page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands).
Regarding Claim 4, Park discloses the one or more channel state information correlation coefficients comprise a channel state information correlation coefficient between channel state information associated with two subbands (page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands within the configured bandwidth based on a linear combination of the power coefficient, the phase offset, and the phase change value).
Regarding Claim 5, Park discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
any of the one or more metrics and the one or more requirements for configuring generating a codebook comprises a channel state information correlation coefficient threshold, and wherein the threshold comprises the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold.
LI is the same field of invention teaches any of the one or more metrics and the one or more requirements for configuring generating a codebook comprises a channel state information correlation coefficient threshold, and wherein the threshold comprises the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold (page 10, par (0112), line 1-10, the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold(satisfying threshold), the number for the simultaneous CSI calculations associated with the CSI report setting for the PMI feedback based at least in part on a number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a periodicity of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of resources in the one or more subsets).
Regarding Claim 6, Park discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
any two subbands of the at least one cluster of subbands have a channel state information correlation coefficient satisfying the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold.
LI is the same field of invention teaches any two subbands of the at least one cluster of subbands have a channel state information correlation coefficient satisfying the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold (page 10, par (0112), line 1-10, the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold(satisfying threshold), the number for the simultaneous CSI calculations associated with the CSI report setting for the PMI feedback based at least in part on a number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a periodicity of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of resources in the one or more subsets, a ratio of a total number of resources in the one or more subsets to a total number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of subbands or a size of subbands associated with the CSI report setting).
Regarding Claim 7, Park discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
determining the at least one cluster of subbands based on which of the one or more channel state information correlation coefficients satisfy the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold.
LI is the same field of invention teaches determining the at least one cluster of subbands based on which of the one or more channel state information correlation coefficients satisfy the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold (page 10, par (0112), line 1-10, the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold(satisfying threshold), the number for the simultaneous CSI calculations associated with the CSI report setting for the PMI feedback based at least in part on a number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a periodicity of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of resources in the one or more subsets, a ratio of a total number of resources in the one or more subsets to a total number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of subbands or a size of subbands associated with the CSI report setting).
9. (Cancelled).
10. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 11, Park discloses one or more channel state information related measurements associated with at least a first set of subbands comprises one or more estimated channel matrices for at least the first set of subbands (page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands within the configured bandwidth).
Regarding Claim 12, Park discloses performing one or more measurements of reference signals associated with at least the first set of subbands; and estimating one or more channel matrices for at least the first set of subbands based on the one or more measurements(page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands within the configured bandwidth based on a linear combination of the power coefficient, the phase offset, and the phase change value)).
13. (Cancelled).
14. (Cancelled).
15. (Cancelled).
16. (Cancelled).
17. (Cancelled).
18. (Cancelled).
19. (Cancelled).
20. (Cancelled).
21. (Cancelled).
22. (Cancelled).
23. (Cancelled).
24. (Cancelled).
25. (Cancelled).
26. (Cancelled).
27. (Cancelled).
28. (Cancelled).
29. (Cancelled).
30. (Cancelled).
Regarding Claim 31, Park discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising circuitry, including a transmitter, a receiver, a processor and memory, configured to receive, from a network, information indicating any of one or more metrics and one or more requirements for generating a codebook(page 1, par (0007), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook (generating a codebook) for reporting the CSI);
generate the codebook, comprising one or more first parameters, based on the one or more metrics and any of (i) one or more channel state information related measurements associated with at least a first set of subbands and (ii) one or more measurements associated with a transmission(page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands within the configured bandwidth based on a linear combination of the power coefficient, the phase offset, and the phase change value).
Park discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wherein the one or more first parameters comprise at least one cluster of subbands having a channel state information correlation satisfying a threshold and comprising at least one subband from any of the first set of subbands and a second set of subbands that is based on the first set of subbands; and transmit, to the network, feedback information comprising the codebook, wherein the codebook comprises (i) at least some of the one or more first parameters and (ii) one or more second parameters associated with the at least some of the one or more first parameters.
LI is the same field of invention teaches wherein the one or more first parameters comprise at least one cluster of subbands having a channel state information correlation satisfying a threshold and comprising at least one subband from any of the first set of subbands and a second set of subbands that is based on the first set of subbands(page 10, par (0112), line 1-10, the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold(satisfying threshold), the number for the simultaneous CSI calculations associated with the CSI report setting for the PMI feedback based at least in part on a number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a periodicity of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of resources in the one or more subsets, a ratio of a total number of resources in the one or more subsets to a total number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of subbands or a size of subbands associated with the CSI report setting);
and transmit, to the network, feedback information comprising the codebook, wherein the codebook comprises (i) at least some of the one or more first parameters and (ii) one or more second parameters associated with the at least some of the one or more first parameters(page 15, par (0165), line 1-10, receive a channel state information (CSI) report setting indicating to report precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback determined based on a codebook corresponding to a combination of time-division multiplexed CSI reference signal (CSI-RS), and report CSI with the PMI feedback associated with one or more resources in the time-division multiplexed CSI-RS or SSB resources).
Park and LI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the first parameters comprise at least one cluster of subbands having a channel state information correlation satisfying a threshold teaching of Park to include the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold teaching of LI because it is providing an indication of components within a precoding matrix as the subsets of CSI-RS or SSB resources, where different components within the precoding matrix identify different CSI-RS or SSB resources.
Regarding Claim 32, Park discloses the one or more channel state information related measurements comprise one or more channel state information correlation coefficients associated with at least the first set of subbands(page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands).
Regarding Claim 33, Park discloses the one or more channel state information correlation coefficients comprise a channel state information correlation coefficient between channel state information associated with two subbands(page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands within the configured bandwidth based on a linear combination of the power coefficient, the phase offset, and the phase change value).
Regarding Claim 34, Park discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
any of the one or more metrics and the one or more requirements for generating a codebook comprises a channel state information correlation coefficient threshold, and wherein the threshold comprises the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold.
LI is the same field of invention teaches any of the one or more metrics and the one or more requirements for generating a codebook comprises a channel state information correlation coefficient threshold, and wherein the threshold comprises the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold (page 10, par (0112), line 1-10, the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold(satisfying threshold), the number for the simultaneous CSI calculations associated with the CSI report setting for the PMI feedback based at least in part on a number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a periodicity of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of resources in the one or more subsets).
Regarding Claim 35, Park discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
any two subbands of the at least one cluster of subbands have a channel state information correlation coefficient satisfying the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold.
LI is the same field of invention teaches any two subbands of the at least one cluster of subbands have a channel state information correlation coefficient satisfying the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold (page 10, par (0112), line 1-10, the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold(satisfying threshold), the number for the simultaneous CSI calculations associated with the CSI report setting for the PMI feedback based at least in part on a number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a periodicity of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of resources in the one or more subsets, a ratio of a total number of resources in the one or more subsets to a total number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of subbands or a size of subbands associated with the CSI report setting).
Regarding Claim 36, Park discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
the circuitry is configured to determine the at least one cluster of subbands based on which of the one or more channel state information correlation coefficients satisfy the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold.
LI is the same field of invention teaches the circuitry is configured to determine the at least one cluster of subbands based on which of the one or more channel state information correlation coefficients satisfy the channel state information correlation coefficient threshold (page 10, par (0112), line 1-10, the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold(satisfying threshold), the number for the simultaneous CSI calculations associated with the CSI report setting for the PMI feedback based at least in part on a number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a periodicity of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of resources in the one or more subsets, a ratio of a total number of resources in the one or more subsets to a total number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of subbands or a size of subbands associated with the CSI report setting).
Regarding Claim 38, Park discloses one or more channel state information related measurements associated with at least a first set of subbands comprises one or more estimated channel matrices for at least the first set of subbands(page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands within the configured bandwidth).
Regarding Claim 39, Park discloses the circuitry is configured to perform one or more measurements of reference signals associated with at least the first set of subbands; and estimate one or more channel matrices for at least the first set of subbands based on the one or more measurements(page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands within the configured bandwidth based on a linear combination of the power coefficient, the phase offset, and the phase change value)).
Regarding Claim 40, Park discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
the second set of subbands that is based on the first set of subbands comprises any of (i) the second set of subbands being derived from the first set of subbands and (ii) the second set of subbands comprising some subbands of the first set of subbands.
LI is the same field of invention teaches the second set of subbands that is based on the first set of subbands comprises any of (i) the second set of subbands being derived from the first set of subbands and (ii) the second set of subbands comprising some subbands of the first set of subbands (page 10, par (0112), line 1-10, the CSI and other CSI processing operations in one or more symbols is less than or equal to the threshold(satisfying threshold), the number for the simultaneous CSI calculations associated with the CSI report setting for the PMI feedback based at least in part on a number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a periodicity of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of resources in the one or more subsets, a ratio of a total number of resources in the one or more subsets to a total number of the CSI-RS or SSB resources, a number of subbands or a size of subbands associated with the CSI report setting).
Regarding Claim 41, Park discloses any of the one or more metrics and the one or more requirements for generating a codebook comprises any of one or more channel state information correlation coefficients thresholds, an activation command, a trigger to configure the codebook, and a trigger to update a codebook(page 1, par (0008), line 1-10, the CSI include selection information indicating a plurality of codewords used for generating a precoding matrix in a codebook for reporting the CSI, and a power coefficient, a phase offset, and a phase shift value applied to each of the plurality of codewords in terms of a configured bandwidth, and the precoding matrix generated in units of subbands within the configured bandwidth based on a linear combination of the power coefficient, the phase offset, and the phase change value).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claim 8 is incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 31 would be allowable if (i) claim 37 is incorporated into the independent claim 31.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
LIU (US 20230370215, Nov. 16, 2023) teaches Method and Device in Nodes Use For Wireless Communication.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464