DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on October 2, 2024. Claims 1-30 are currently pending and ready for examination.
Relevant Technical Information Submittal Requirement
Requirement — Overview
The applicant is required to submit copies of non-patent literature and relevant technical information as set forth below.
Basis for Requirement
35 U.S.C. § 131 provides:
The Director shall cause an examination to be made of the application and the alleged new invention; and if on such examination it appears that the applicant is entitled to a patent under the law, the Director shall issue a patent therefor.
37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a) provides:
In the course of examining or treating a matter in a pending or abandoned application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111 or 371 (including a reissue application), in a patent, or in a reexamination proceeding, the examiner or other Office employee may require the submission, from individuals identified under § 1.56(c), or any assignee, of such information as may be reasonably necessary to properly examine or treat the matter, for example:
….
(iii) Related information: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign), by any of the inventors, that relates to the claimed invention.
(iv) Information used to draft application: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used to draft the application.
(v) Information used in invention process: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used in the invention process, such as by designing around or providing a solution to accomplish an invention result.
…
(viii) Technical information known to applicant. Technical information known to applicant concerning the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or concerning the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Background
The applicant has stated in a publicly available European Telecommunication Standards Institute (ETSI) record that the present application, Application No. 18/853,554 (“the Application”) identified by the foreign family application, “WO2022CN93264,” “may be or may become ESSENTIAL in relation to at least the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the attached IPR Information Statement Annex.”1
Necessity for this Requirement.
This Requirement is issued pursuant to the Director’s duty and authority to examine patent applications. See 35 U.S.C. § 131; 37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a). The ETSI record indicates the applicant likely possesses information relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) that is necessary for a more complete understanding of the invention and its context. See MPEP § 704.11. Such information may include non-patent literature and technical materials (e.g., contribution papers or Tdocs) authored, generated, or submitted by the applicant or others that form the basis of, or resulted from, the claimed invention.
Applicant is Required to Submit:
Copies of any non-patent literature relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which satisfies any of the following criteria:
Authored by any of the inventors and related to the claimed invention,
Used to draft the present application, or
Used in the invention process (for example, used to design around prior art or to provide a solution that enabled the claimed invention); and
Any technical information known to the applicant relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which concerns the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Instructions to Applicant
A complete reply to this Requirement is a reply to each enumerated requirement for information giving either the information required or a statement that the information required to be submitted is unknown and/or is not readily available to the applicant. There is no requirement for the applicant to show that the required information was not, in fact, readily attainable, but the applicant is required to make a good faith attempt to obtain the information and to make a reasonable inquiry once the information is requested. See MPEP § 704.12(b).
This Requirement is subject to the provisions of 37 CFR §§ 1.134, 1.135 and 1.136 and is accorded the same period for reply as the action on the merits sent with this Requirement. See MPEP § 704.13 (third paragraph). EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136 (a).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 2, 2024, March 25, 2026 and on July 9, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 recites on line 4 the limitation “receive the first message.” In view of the dependency of this claim to claim 12 directed to a network node, the above limitation appear indefinite as it requires the claimed apparatus to both transmit and receive the same message.
For the purpose of examination in this Office Action, the limitation is construed to mean “transmit the first message.”
An appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-21 and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kung et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US2022/0217644) (“Kung”).
Regarding claim 1, Kung discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (See, Fig. 3, #300; and ¶[0043], “As shown in FIG. 3, the communication device 300 in a wireless communication system can be utilized for realizing the UEs”), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 3, #308);
memory coupled with the processor (Fig. 3, #310); and
instructions (Fig. 3, #312) stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (¶[0043], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300.”):
receive a first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating a first set of power control parameters (See, ¶[0506], the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries) for determining PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) and/or αb,f,c(j);” and ¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping from sri-PUSCH-PowerControlId in SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl between a set of values for the SRI field in the DCI format [5, TS 38.212] and a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd that map to a set of P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet values and determines the values of αb,f,c(j) from the p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId value that is mapped to the SRI field value”) associated with a first transmission reception point (Fig. 19, #1905; ¶[0552], the UE receives a UL grant, wherein the UL grant is indicative of a first PUSCH transmission on a first TRP of a first cell”) and a second set of power control parameters (¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). … using a pathloss reference signal with pathloss reference signal ID (PL RS ID)=0, and/or using a closed loop index l=0. In some examples, the reference format (and/or the set of power control parameters) may be indicative of the pathloss reference signal with PL RS ID=0, and/or the closed loop index l=0.”) associated with a second transmission reception point (¶[0552], “the UE receives a UL grant, wherein the UL grant is indicative of … a second PUSCH transmission on a second TRP of the first cell.”), wherein at least the second set of power control parameters are associated with virtual power headroom reporting (See, Fig. 19, #1910, ; ¶[0552], “the UE may determine the second PH, based on the reference PUSCH transmission, for the second TRP;” ¶[0444], A PH report that is computed using a reference PUSCH transmission may be a virtual PH;” and ¶[0414], “In NR Rel-17 (e.g., NR release 17), with introduction of multi-TRP and multi-PUSCH transmission (e.g., transmission of data via multiple PUSCHs, multiple TRPs and/or multiple PUCCHs), power control may be handled separately among different TRPs (e.g., different TRPs in a single cell)”.); and
transmit a second message (Fig. 19, #1910, “PHR MAC CE”) comprising a first power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “First PH, associated with first TRP”) and a second power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “Second PH, associated with second TRP”), the first power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “First PH, associated with first TRP”) generated by the UE for a first uplink transmission (¶[0348], “If a UE determines that a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE computes the Type 1 power headroom report as
PHtype1b,f,c (i, j,qd, l) = PCMAX,f,c(i) −{PO_PUSCHb,f,c(j) + 10log10 (2μ ٠ MRB,b,f,cPUSCH(i) + αb,f,c(j) ٠ PLb,f,c (qd) + ΔTF,b,f,c(i) + fb,f,c (i,l)}[dB]
where PCMAX,f,c(i). PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j), MRB,b,f,cPUSCH(i), αb,f,c(j), PLb,f,c(qd), ΔTF,b,f,c(i) and fb,f,c(i,l) are defined in Clause 7.1.1.”) associated with a first reference signal resource index (See. ¶[0434], “a DL signaling (e.g., DCI) indicates one codepoint (e.g., SRS Resource Indicator (SRI)) associated with one or more UL TCI states (e.g., one or more activated UL TCI states);” and ¶[05111] “the term “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “one or more activated TCI states” and/or “group of one or more activated TCI states”.) using the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry ….among one or more indexes of one or more entries);” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping from …for the SRI field in the DCI format ,,,and a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd that map to a set of P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet values and determines the values of αb,f,c(j) from the p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId value that is mapped to the SRI field value”), and the second power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “Second PH, associated with second TRP”) generated by the UE for a reference uplink transmission (See, ¶[0552], “the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” and ¶[0426] “If the UE determines to compute a Type 1 PH for the TRP of the cell based on a reference PUSCH transmission (e.g., the Type 1 PH may correspond to a virtual PH), the measured value (e.g., an i-th Type 1 PH of the TRP) may be determined (e.g., derived) based on the following formula (defined in 3GPP TS 38.213, V16.2.0):
PHtype1b,f,c (i, j,qd, l) = ṔCMAX,f,c(i) − {PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) + αb,f,c(j) ٠ PLb,f,c(qd) + fb,f,c(i, l)}[dB]”) associated with a second reference signal resource index (¶[0434], “a DL signaling (e.g., DCI) indicates one codepoint (e.g., SRS Resource Indicator (SRI)) associated with one or more UL TCI states;”) using the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the instructions (Fig. 3, #312) are further executable by the processor (Fig. 3, #308) to receive the first message by being executable by the processor to (¶[0043], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300.”):
receive the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating a transmission configuration indicator configuration (¶[0433], “The UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell based on whether or not a DL signaling (e.g., Downlink Control Indicator (DCI)) indicates a codepoint associated with two UL TCI states (e.g., two activated UL TCI states)”) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state (¶[0433], “Two activated UL TCI states and/or two UL beams may be associated with two activated TRPs of the cell;”) and the reference uplink transmission is associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state (¶[0511], “a TRP (mentioned in the present disclosure) may be associated with one or more activated TCI states … associated with a cell. In some examples, one, some and/or all instances of the term “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “one or more activated TCI states”).
Regarding claim 3/1, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the instructions (Fig. 3, #312) are further executable by the processor (Fig. 3, #308) to receive the first message by being executable by the processor to (¶[0043], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300.”):
receive the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating an uplink bandwidth part configuration (See, ¶¶[0225]-[0226], “”a set of PO_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) values are provided by a set of p0 in P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet indicated by a respective set of p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId for active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c … .. if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping …. a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId …. to the SRI field value;” ¶[0426], “the measured value (e.g., an i-th Type 1 PH of the TRP);” and ¶[0420], “The measured value may be determined (e.g., derived) based on a bandwidth of a PUSCH resource assignment on an active UL Bandwidth Part (BWP) (e.g., an active UL BWP of the TRP) of the cell.”) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… may comprise an entry…. among one or more indexes of one or more entries);”;” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping … a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd … to the SRI field value”) and that the reference uplink transmission is associated with the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 4/1, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the instructions (Fig. 3, #312) are further executable by the processor (Fig. 3, #308) to receive the first message by being executable by the processor to (¶[0043], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300.”):
receive the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating a serving cell configuration (See, ¶¶[0225]-[0226], “”a set of PO_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) values are provided by a set of p0 in P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet indicated by a respective set of p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId for active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c … .. if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping …. a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId …. to the SRI field value;” and ¶[0473] ….For PHs determined (e.g., derived and/or calculated) based on real transmissions, the MAC CE comprises a (UE) maximum transmit power (e.g., a nominal (UE) maximum transmit power), wherein the (UE) maximum transmit power may be associated with a TRP and/or a cell associated with a PH.) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… may comprise an entry…. among one or more indexes of one or more entries);”;” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping … a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd … to the SRI field value”) and that the reference uplink transmission is associated with the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 5/1, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first set of power control parameters and the second set of power control parameters comprise a pathloss reference signal parameter (See, ¶[0500], “different pathloss reference signals associated with different TRPs of the cell may be indicated to the UE (e.g., the UE may be configured with the different pathloss reference signals associated with the different TRPs of the cell). In an example, the different pathloss reference signals may comprise a first pathloss reference signal associated with the first TRP and a second pathloss reference signal associated with the second TRP;” and ¶[0506], “additionally, the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a pathloss reference signal with pathloss reference signal ID (PL RS ID)=0”).
Regarding claim 6/5, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 5 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first set of power control parameters and the second set of power control parameters further comprise a nominal power parameter, an alpha value parameter (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “the UE may determine PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) and/or αb,f,c(j) based on the entry, wherein PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) and/or αb,f,c(j) may be used to determine the PH (and/or the transmission power).”), and a close loop index parameter (See, ¶[0386], “For per TRP closed-loop power control for PUSCH, further study the following alternatives when the “closedLoopindex” values are different;” and ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a pathloss reference signal with pathloss reference signal ID (PL RS ID)=0, and/or using a closed loop index l=0.”).
Regarding claim 7/6, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 5 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first set of power control parameters and the second set of power control parameters further comprise a power management maximum power reduction parameter (See, ¶[0565], “the UE may determine the maximum transmit power based on a RRC configured power from a network, a MPR associated with modulation scheme and transmission bandwidth, an A-MPR configured by a network;” and ¶[0564], “the UE may determine the reference maximum transmit power based on a RRC configured power from a network, maximum power reduction (MPR) being 0”.).
Regarding claim 8/1, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first uplink transmission comprises an actual uplink transmission (See, Fig. 19, #1910; and ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission”.).
Regarding claim 9/1, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first uplink transmission comprises a reference uplink transmission (While Kung provides an example of the specific timing between the PHR triggering and the PUSCH transmission (see, e.g., ¶[0559] In one embodiment, the first PUSCH transmission is performed before transmitting the PHR MAC CE. In an example in which the real PUSCH transmission is the first PUSCH transmission, the first PH is based on the first PUSCH transmission based on the UE performing the first PUSCH transmission before transmitting the PHR MAC CE.), Kung discloses for different timing situation, the first PUSCH can also be a reference PUSCH. See, Fig. 14; and ¶[0488], “the multi-TRP PHR MAC CE may be a single-cell PHR MAC CE. ….The MAC CE may comprise a V field indicating whether …the first PH level and/or the second PH level are computed based on a reference transmission (e.g., a reference PUSCH transmission or a reference SRS transmission). ….The first V field may indicate whether …. the first PH “PH PCell_1” is computed based on a reference transmission.”).
Regarding claim 10/1, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first power headroom report and the second power headroom report are a first type of power headroom report (¶[0005], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first Type 1 power headroom (PH), associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission and is indicative of a second Type 1 PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission) that indicates a difference between a maximum transmit power of the UE and an estimated power of an uplink transmission (See, ¶[0565], “the real PUSCH transmission is the first PUSCH transmission, wherein the UE determines (e.g., calculates) the first PH based on a difference between a maximum transmit power (e.g., a UE maximum transmit power) and an estimated power for the first PUSCH transmission;” and ¶[0564], “the UE determines (e.g., calculates) the second PH based on a difference between a reference maximum transmit power (e.g., a reference UE maximum transmit power) and a power for the reference PUSCH transmission.”).
Regarding claim 12, Kung discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (See, Fig. 3, #300; and ¶[0043], “the communication device 300 in a wireless communication system can be utilized for realizing … the base station (or AN) 100 in FIG. 1”), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 3, #308);
memory coupled with the processor (Fig. 3, #310); and
instructions (Fig. 3, #312) stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (¶[0043], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300.”):
transmit a first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant,” received by a UE and transmitted by the network) indicating a first set of power control parameters (See, ¶[0506], the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries) for determining PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) and/or αb,f,c(j);” and ¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping from sri-PUSCH-PowerControlId in SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl between a set of values for the SRI field in the DCI format [5, TS 38.212] and a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd that map to a set of P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet values and determines the values of αb,f,c(j) from the p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId value that is mapped to the SRI field value”) associated with a first transmission reception point (Fig. 19, #1905; ¶[0552], the UE receives a UL grant, wherein the UL grant is indicative of a first PUSCH transmission on a first TRP of a first cell”) and a second set of power control parameters (¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). … using a pathloss reference signal with pathloss reference signal ID (PL RS ID)=0, and/or using a closed loop index l=0. In some examples, the reference format (and/or the set of power control parameters) may be indicative of the pathloss reference signal with PL RS ID=0, and/or the closed loop index l=0.”) associated with a second transmission reception point (¶[0552], “the UE receives a UL grant, wherein the UL grant is indicative of … a second PUSCH transmission on a second TRP of the first cell.”), wherein at least the second set of power control parameters are associated with virtual power headroom reporting (See, Fig. 19, #1910, ; ¶[0552], “the UE may determine the second PH, based on the reference PUSCH transmission, for the second TRP;” ¶[0444], A PH report that is computed using a reference PUSCH transmission may be a virtual PH;” and ¶[0414], “In NR Rel-17 (e.g., NR release 17), with introduction of multi-TRP and multi-PUSCH transmission (e.g., transmission of data via multiple PUSCHs, multiple TRPs and/or multiple PUCCHs), power control may be handled separately among different TRPs (e.g., different TRPs in a single cell)”.); and
receive a second message (Fig. 19, #1910, “PHR MAC CE” transmitted by a UE and received by the network) comprising a first power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “First PH, associated with first TRP”) and a second power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “Second PH, associated with second TRP”), the first power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “First PH, associated with first TRP”) generated by a user equipment (UE) for a first uplink transmission (¶[0348], “If a UE determines that a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE computes the Type 1 power headroom report as
PHtype1b,f,c (i, j,qd, l) = PCMAX,f,c(i) −{PO_PUSCHb,f,c(j) + 10log10 (2μ ٠ MRB,b,f,cPUSCH(i) + αb,f,c(j) ٠ PLb,f,c (qd) + ΔTF,b,f,c(i) + fb,f,c (i,l)}[dB]
where PCMAX,f,c(i). PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j), MRB,b,f,cPUSCH(i), αb,f,c(j), PLb,f,c(qd), ΔTF,b,f,c(i) and fb,f,c(i,l) are defined in Clause 7.1.1.”) associated with a first reference signal resource index (See. ¶[0434], “a DL signaling (e.g., DCI) indicates one codepoint (e.g., SRS Resource Indicator (SRI)) associated with one or more UL TCI states (e.g., one or more activated UL TCI states);” and ¶[05111] “the term “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “one or more activated TCI states” and/or “group of one or more activated TCI states”.) using the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry ….among one or more indexes of one or more entries);” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping from …for the SRI field in the DCI format ,,,and a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd that map to a set of P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet values and determines the values of αb,f,c(j) from the p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId value that is mapped to the SRI field value”), and the second power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “Second PH, associated with second TRP”) generated by the UE for a reference uplink transmission (See, ¶[0552], “the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” and ¶[0426] “If the UE determines to compute a Type 1 PH for the TRP of the cell based on a reference PUSCH transmission (e.g., the Type 1 PH may correspond to a virtual PH), the measured value (e.g., an i-th Type 1 PH of the TRP) may be determined (e.g., derived) based on the following formula (defined in 3GPP TS 38.213, V16.2.0):
PHtype1b,f,c (i, j,qd, l) = ṔCMAX,f,c(i) − {PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) + αb,f,c(j) ٠ PLb,f,c(qd) + fb,f,c(i, l)}[dB]”) associated with a second reference signal resource index (¶[0434], “a DL signaling (e.g., DCI) indicates one codepoint (e.g., SRS Resource Indicator (SRI)) associated with one or more UL TCI states;”) using the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 13/12, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 12 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the instructions (Fig. 3, #312) are further executable by the processor (Fig. 3, #308) to transmit the first message by being executable by the processor to (¶[0043], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300.”):
transmit the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating a transmission configuration indicator configuration (¶[0433], “The UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell based on whether or not a DL signaling (e.g., Downlink Control Indicator (DCI)) indicates a codepoint associated with two UL TCI states (e.g., two activated UL TCI states)”) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state (¶[0433], “Two activated UL TCI states and/or two UL beams may be associated with two activated TRPs of the cell;”) and the reference uplink transmission is associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state (¶[0511], “a TRP (mentioned in the present disclosure) may be associated with one or more activated TCI states … associated with a cell. In some examples, one, some and/or all instances of the term “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “one or more activated TCI states”).
Regarding claim 14/12, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 12 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the instructions (Fig. 3, #312) are further executable by the processor (Fig. 3, #308) to transmit the first message by being executable by the processor to (¶[0043], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300.”):
transmit the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating an uplink bandwidth part configuration (See, ¶¶[0225]-[0226], “”a set of PO_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) values are provided by a set of p0 in P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet indicated by a respective set of p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId for active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c … .. if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping …. a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId …. to the SRI field value;” ¶[0426], “the measured value (e.g., an i-th Type 1 PH of the TRP);” and ¶[0420], “The measured value may be determined (e.g., derived) based on a bandwidth of a PUSCH resource assignment on an active UL Bandwidth Part (BWP) (e.g., an active UL BWP of the TRP) of the cell.”) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… may comprise an entry…. among one or more indexes of one or more entries);”;” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping … a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd … to the SRI field value”) and that the reference uplink transmission is associated with the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 15/12, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 12 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the instructions (Fig. 3, #312) are further executable by the processor (Fig. 3, #308) to transmit the first message by being executable by the processor to (¶[0043], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300.”):
transmit the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating a serving cell configuration (See, ¶¶[0225]-[0226], “”a set of PO_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) values are provided by a set of p0 in P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet indicated by a respective set of p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId for active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c … .. if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping …. a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId …. to the SRI field value;” and ¶[0473] ….For PHs determined (e.g., derived and/or calculated) based on real transmissions, the MAC CE comprises a (UE) maximum transmit power (e.g., a nominal (UE) maximum transmit power), wherein the (UE) maximum transmit power may be associated with a TRP and/or a cell associated with a PH.) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… may comprise an entry…. among one or more indexes of one or more entries);”;” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping … a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd … to the SRI field value”) and that the reference uplink transmission is associated with the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 16/12, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 12 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first set of power control parameters and the second set of power control parameters comprise a pathloss reference signal parameter (See, ¶[0500], “different pathloss reference signals associated with different TRPs of the cell may be indicated to the UE (e.g., the UE may be configured with the different pathloss reference signals associated with the different TRPs of the cell). In an example, the different pathloss reference signals may comprise a first pathloss reference signal associated with the first TRP and a second pathloss reference signal associated with the second TRP;” and ¶[0506], “additionally, the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a pathloss reference signal with pathloss reference signal ID (PL RS ID)=0”).
Regarding claim 17/16, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 16 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first set of power control parameters and the second set of power control parameters further comprise a nominal power parameter, an alpha value parameter (See, e.g., ¶[0506], “the UE may determine PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) and/or αb,f,c(j) based on the entry, wherein PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) and/or αb,f,c(j) may be used to determine the PH (and/or the transmission power).”), and a close loop index parameter (See, ¶[0386], “For per TRP closed-loop power control for PUSCH, further study the following alternatives when the “closedLoopindex” values are different;” and ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a pathloss reference signal with pathloss reference signal ID (PL RS ID)=0, and/or using a closed loop index l=0.”).
Regarding claim 18/17, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first set of power control parameters and the second set of power control parameters further comprise a power management maximum power reduction parameter (See, ¶[0565], “the UE may determine the maximum transmit power based on a RRC configured power from a network, a MPR associated with modulation scheme and transmission bandwidth, an A-MPR configured by a network;” and ¶[0564], “the UE may determine the reference maximum transmit power based on a RRC configured power from a network, maximum power reduction (MPR) being 0”.).
Regarding claim 19/12, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 12 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first uplink transmission comprises an actual uplink transmission (See, Fig. 19, #1910; and ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission”.).
Regarding claim 20/12, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 12 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first uplink transmission comprises a reference uplink transmission (While Kung provides an example of the specific timing between the PHR triggering and the PUSCH transmission (see, e.g., ¶[0559] In one embodiment, the first PUSCH transmission is performed before transmitting the PHR MAC CE. In an example in which the real PUSCH transmission is the first PUSCH transmission, the first PH is based on the first PUSCH transmission based on the UE performing the first PUSCH transmission before transmitting the PHR MAC CE.), Kung discloses for different timing situation, the first PUSCH can also be a reference PUSCH. See, Fig. 14; and ¶[0488], “the multi-TRP PHR MAC CE may be a single-cell PHR MAC CE. ….The MAC CE may comprise a V field indicating whether …the first PH level and/or the second PH level are computed based on a reference transmission (e.g., a reference PUSCH transmission or a reference SRS transmission). ….The first V field may indicate whether …. the first PH “PH PCell_1” is computed based on a reference transmission.”).
Regarding claim 21/12, Kung discloses an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that the first power headroom report and the second power headroom report are a first type of power headroom report (¶[0005], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first Type 1 power headroom (PH), associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission and is indicative of a second Type 1 PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission) that indicates a difference between a maximum transmit power of the UE and an estimated power of an uplink transmission (See, ¶[0565], “the real PUSCH transmission is the first PUSCH transmission, wherein the UE determines (e.g., calculates) the first PH based on a difference between a maximum transmit power (e.g., a UE maximum transmit power) and an estimated power for the first PUSCH transmission;” and ¶[0564], “the UE determines (e.g., calculates) the second PH based on a difference between a reference maximum transmit power (e.g., a reference UE maximum transmit power) and a power for the reference PUSCH transmission.”).
Regarding claim 23, Kung discloses a method for wireless communication (Fig. 19) at a user equipment (UE) (See, Fig. 3, #300; and ¶[0043], “As shown in FIG. 3, the communication device 300 in a wireless communication system can be utilized for realizing the UEs”), comprising:
receive a first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating a first set of power control parameters (See, ¶[0506], the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries) for determining PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) and/or αb,f,c(j);” and ¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping from sri-PUSCH-PowerControlId in SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl between a set of values for the SRI field in the DCI format [5, TS 38.212] and a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd that map to a set of P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet values and determines the values of αb,f,c(j) from the p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId value that is mapped to the SRI field value”) associated with a first transmission reception point (Fig. 19, #1905; ¶[0552], the UE receives a UL grant, wherein the UL grant is indicative of a first PUSCH transmission on a first TRP of a first cell”) and a second set of power control parameters (¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). … using a pathloss reference signal with pathloss reference signal ID (PL RS ID)=0, and/or using a closed loop index l=0. In some examples, the reference format (and/or the set of power control parameters) may be indicative of the pathloss reference signal with PL RS ID=0, and/or the closed loop index l=0.”) associated with a second transmission reception point (¶[0552], “the UE receives a UL grant, wherein the UL grant is indicative of … a second PUSCH transmission on a second TRP of the first cell.”), wherein at least the second set of power control parameters are associated with virtual power headroom reporting (See, Fig. 19, #1910, ; ¶[0552], “the UE may determine the second PH, based on the reference PUSCH transmission, for the second TRP;” ¶[0444], A PH report that is computed using a reference PUSCH transmission may be a virtual PH;” and ¶[0414], “In NR Rel-17 (e.g., NR release 17), with introduction of multi-TRP and multi-PUSCH transmission (e.g., transmission of data via multiple PUSCHs, multiple TRPs and/or multiple PUCCHs), power control may be handled separately among different TRPs (e.g., different TRPs in a single cell)”.); and
transmit a second message (Fig. 19, #1910, “PHR MAC CE”) comprising a first power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “First PH, associated with first TRP”) and a second power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “Second PH, associated with second TRP”), the first power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “First PH, associated with first TRP”) generated by the UE for a first uplink transmission (¶[0348], “If a UE determines that a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE computes the Type 1 power headroom report as
PHtype1b,f,c (i, j,qd, l) = PCMAX,f,c(i) −{PO_PUSCHb,f,c(j) + 10log10 (2μ ٠ MRB,b,f,cPUSCH(i) + αb,f,c(j) ٠ PLb,f,c (qd) + ΔTF,b,f,c(i) + fb,f,c (i,l)}[dB]
where PCMAX,f,c(i). PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j), MRB,b,f,cPUSCH(i), αb,f,c(j), PLb,f,c(qd), ΔTF,b,f,c(i) and fb,f,c(i,l) are defined in Clause 7.1.1.”) associated with a first reference signal resource index (See. ¶[0434], “a DL signaling (e.g., DCI) indicates one codepoint (e.g., SRS Resource Indicator (SRI)) associated with one or more UL TCI states (e.g., one or more activated UL TCI states);” and ¶[05111] “the term “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “one or more activated TCI states” and/or “group of one or more activated TCI states”.) using the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry ….among one or more indexes of one or more entries);” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping from …for the SRI field in the DCI format ,,,and a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd that map to a set of P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet values and determines the values of αb,f,c(j) from the p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId value that is mapped to the SRI field value”), and the second power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “Second PH, associated with second TRP”) generated by the UE for a reference uplink transmission (See, ¶[0552], “the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” and ¶[0426] “If the UE determines to compute a Type 1 PH for the TRP of the cell based on a reference PUSCH transmission (e.g., the Type 1 PH may correspond to a virtual PH), the measured value (e.g., an i-th Type 1 PH of the TRP) may be determined (e.g., derived) based on the following formula (defined in 3GPP TS 38.213, V16.2.0):
PHtype1b,f,c (i, j,qd, l) = ṔCMAX,f,c(i) − {PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) + αb,f,c(j) ٠ PLb,f,c(qd) + fb,f,c(i, l)}[dB]”) associated with a second reference signal resource index (¶[0434], “a DL signaling (e.g., DCI) indicates one codepoint (e.g., SRS Resource Indicator (SRI)) associated with one or more UL TCI states;”) using the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 24/23, Kung discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 23 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that receiving the first message comprises:
receiving the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating a transmission configuration indicator configuration (¶[0433], “The UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell based on whether or not a DL signaling (e.g., Downlink Control Indicator (DCI)) indicates a codepoint associated with two UL TCI states (e.g., two activated UL TCI states)”) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state (¶[0433], “Two activated UL TCI states and/or two UL beams may be associated with two activated TRPs of the cell;”) and the reference uplink transmission is associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state (¶[0511], “a TRP (mentioned in the present disclosure) may be associated with one or more activated TCI states … associated with a cell. In some examples, one, some and/or all instances of the term “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “one or more activated TCI states”).
Regarding claim 25/23, Kung discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 23 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that receiving the first message comprises:
receiving the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating an uplink bandwidth part configuration (See, ¶¶[0225]-[0226], “”a set of PO_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) values are provided by a set of p0 in P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet indicated by a respective set of p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId for active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c … .. if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping …. a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId …. to the SRI field value;” ¶[0426], “the measured value (e.g., an i-th Type 1 PH of the TRP);” and ¶[0420], “The measured value may be determined (e.g., derived) based on a bandwidth of a PUSCH resource assignment on an active UL Bandwidth Part (BWP) (e.g., an active UL BWP of the TRP) of the cell.”) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… may comprise an entry…. among one or more indexes of one or more entries);”;” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping … a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd … to the SRI field value”) and that the reference uplink transmission is associated with the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 26/23, Kung discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 23 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that receiving the first message comprises:
receiving the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating a serving cell configuration (See, ¶¶[0225]-[0226], “”a set of PO_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) values are provided by a set of p0 in P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet indicated by a respective set of p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId for active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c … .. if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping …. a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId …. to the SRI field value;” and ¶[0473] ….For PHs determined (e.g., derived and/or calculated) based on real transmissions, the MAC CE comprises a (UE) maximum transmit power (e.g., a nominal (UE) maximum transmit power), wherein the (UE) maximum transmit power may be associated with a TRP and/or a cell associated with a PH.) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… may comprise an entry…. among one or more indexes of one or more entries);”;” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping … a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd … to the SRI field value”) and that the reference uplink transmission is associated with the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 27, Kung discloses a method for wireless communication (Fig. 19) at a network node (See, Fig. 1, #100; Fig. 2, #210; and Fig. 3, #300; and ¶[0043], “the communication device 300 in a wireless communication system can be utilized for realizing … the base station (or AN) 100 in FIG. 1”), comprising:
transmitting a first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant,” received by a UE and transmitted by the network) indicating a first set of power control parameters (See, ¶[0506], the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries) for determining PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) and/or αb,f,c(j);” and ¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping from sri-PUSCH-PowerControlId in SRI-PUSCH-PowerControl between a set of values for the SRI field in the DCI format [5, TS 38.212] and a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd that map to a set of P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet values and determines the values of αb,f,c(j) from the p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId value that is mapped to the SRI field value”) associated with a first transmission reception point (Fig. 19, #1905; ¶[0552], the UE receives a UL grant, wherein the UL grant is indicative of a first PUSCH transmission on a first TRP of a first cell”) and a second set of power control parameters (¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). … using a pathloss reference signal with pathloss reference signal ID (PL RS ID)=0, and/or using a closed loop index l=0. In some examples, the reference format (and/or the set of power control parameters) may be indicative of the pathloss reference signal with PL RS ID=0, and/or the closed loop index l=0.”) associated with a second transmission reception point (¶[0552], “the UE receives a UL grant, wherein the UL grant is indicative of … a second PUSCH transmission on a second TRP of the first cell.”), wherein at least the second set of power control parameters are associated with virtual power headroom reporting (See, Fig. 19, #1910, ; ¶[0552], “the UE may determine the second PH, based on the reference PUSCH transmission, for the second TRP;” ¶[0444], A PH report that is computed using a reference PUSCH transmission may be a virtual PH;” and ¶[0414], “In NR Rel-17 (e.g., NR release 17), with introduction of multi-TRP and multi-PUSCH transmission (e.g., transmission of data via multiple PUSCHs, multiple TRPs and/or multiple PUCCHs), power control may be handled separately among different TRPs (e.g., different TRPs in a single cell)”.); and
receiving a second message (Fig. 19, #1910, “PHR MAC CE” transmitted by a UE and received by the network) comprising a first power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “First PH, associated with first TRP”) and a second power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “Second PH, associated with second TRP”), the first power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “First PH, associated with first TRP”) generated by a user equipment (UE) for a first uplink transmission (¶[0348], “If a UE determines that a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission then, for PUSCH transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c, the UE computes the Type 1 power headroom report as
PHtype1b,f,c (i, j,qd, l) = PCMAX,f,c(i) −{PO_PUSCHb,f,c(j) + 10log10 (2μ ٠ MRB,b,f,cPUSCH(i) + αb,f,c(j) ٠ PLb,f,c (qd) + ΔTF,b,f,c(i) + fb,f,c (i,l)}[dB]
where PCMAX,f,c(i). PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j), MRB,b,f,cPUSCH(i), αb,f,c(j), PLb,f,c(qd), ΔTF,b,f,c(i) and fb,f,c(i,l) are defined in Clause 7.1.1.”) associated with a first reference signal resource index (See. ¶[0434], “a DL signaling (e.g., DCI) indicates one codepoint (e.g., SRS Resource Indicator (SRI)) associated with one or more UL TCI states (e.g., one or more activated UL TCI states);” and ¶[05111] “the term “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “one or more activated TCI states” and/or “group of one or more activated TCI states”.) using the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry ….among one or more indexes of one or more entries);” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping from …for the SRI field in the DCI format ,,,and a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd that map to a set of P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet values and determines the values of αb,f,c(j) from the p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId value that is mapped to the SRI field value”), and the second power headroom report (Fig. 19, #1910, “Second PH, associated with second TRP”) generated by the UE for a reference uplink transmission (See, ¶[0552], “the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” and ¶[0426] “If the UE determines to compute a Type 1 PH for the TRP of the cell based on a reference PUSCH transmission (e.g., the Type 1 PH may correspond to a virtual PH), the measured value (e.g., an i-th Type 1 PH of the TRP) may be determined (e.g., derived) based on the following formula (defined in 3GPP TS 38.213, V16.2.0):
PHtype1b,f,c (i, j,qd, l) = ṔCMAX,f,c(i) − {PO_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) + αb,f,c(j) ٠ PLb,f,c(qd) + fb,f,c(i, l)}[dB]”) associated with a second reference signal resource index (¶[0434], “a DL signaling (e.g., DCI) indicates one codepoint (e.g., SRS Resource Indicator (SRI)) associated with one or more UL TCI states;”) using the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 28/27, Kung discloses a method comprising all of the recited elements of claim 27 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that transmitting the first message comprises:
transmitting the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating a transmission configuration indicator configuration (¶[0433], “The UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell based on whether or not a DL signaling (e.g., Downlink Control Indicator (DCI)) indicates a codepoint associated with two UL TCI states (e.g., two activated UL TCI states)”) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state (¶[0433], “Two activated UL TCI states and/or two UL beams may be associated with two activated TRPs of the cell;”) and the reference uplink transmission is associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state (¶[0511], “a TRP (mentioned in the present disclosure) may be associated with one or more activated TCI states … associated with a cell. In some examples, one, some and/or all instances of the term “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “one or more activated TCI states”).
Regarding claim 29/27, Kung discloses a method comprising all of the recited elements of claim 27 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that transmitting the first message comprises:
transmitting the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating an uplink bandwidth part configuration (See, ¶¶[0225]-[0226], “”a set of PO_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) values are provided by a set of p0 in P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet indicated by a respective set of p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId for active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c … .. if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping …. a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId …. to the SRI field value;” ¶[0426], “the measured value (e.g., an i-th Type 1 PH of the TRP);” and ¶[0420], “The measured value may be determined (e.g., derived) based on a bandwidth of a PUSCH resource assignment on an active UL Bandwidth Part (BWP) (e.g., an active UL BWP of the TRP) of the cell.”) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… may comprise an entry…. among one or more indexes of one or more entries);”;” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping … a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd … to the SRI field value”) and that the reference uplink transmission is associated with the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Regarding claim 30/27, Kung discloses a method comprising all of the recited elements of claim 27 as discussed above.
Kung further discloses that transmitting the first message comprises:
transmitting the first message (Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant”) indicating a serving cell configuration (See, ¶¶[0225]-[0226], “”a set of PO_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c(j) values are provided by a set of p0 in P0-PUSCH-AlphaSet indicated by a respective set of p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId for active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell c … .. if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping …. a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSetId …. to the SRI field value;” and ¶[0473] ….For PHs determined (e.g., derived and/or calculated) based on real transmissions, the MAC CE comprises a (UE) maximum transmit power (e.g., a nominal (UE) maximum transmit power), wherein the (UE) maximum transmit power may be associated with a TRP and/or a cell associated with a PH.) identifying that the first uplink transmission is associated with the first set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a first PH, associated with the first TRP, based on a real PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters …… may comprise an entry…. among one or more indexes of one or more entries);”;” and “¶[0237], “if a DCI format scheduling the PUSCH transmission includes a SRI field, the UE obtains a mapping … a set of indexes provided by p0-PUSCH-AlphaSedd … to the SRI field value”) and that the reference uplink transmission is associated with the second set of power control parameters (Fig. 19, #1910; ¶[0552], “ Based on the UL grant, the PHR MAC CE is indicative of a second PH, associated with the second TRP, based on a reference PUSCH transmission;” ¶[0506], “the PH (and/or the transmission power) may be determined (e.g., derived) using a set of power control parameters (e.g., a default set of power control parameters). …… the set of power control parameters may comprise an entry (e.g., an entry with a first lowest index, such as where the entry has the lowest index among one or more indexes of one or more entries)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kung in view of Lim et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US2023/0007599)(“ Lim”).
Regarding claim 11/1, Kung teaches an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Kung further teaches that the instructions (Fig. 3, #312) are further executable by the processor (Fig. 3, #308) to receive the first message by being executable by the processor to (¶[0043], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300.”):
receive the first message (See, Fig. 19, #1905, “UL Grant;” and ¶[0063], “an uplink grant for this Serving Cell has been received on the PDCCH”.).
Kung, however, fails to teach explicitly the first message reception is according to a single frequency network configuration.
Lim teaches receiving the first message according to a single frequency network configuration (See, Lim, ¶[0467], “Representative PDCCH repetitive transmission methods include … an SFN method of repeatedly transmitting one CORESET by configuring a plurality of TCI states;” and ¶[0516], [Method 1-5] PDCCH Transmission Applying Plurality of TCI States for all CCEs in Same PDCCH Candidate Group (SFN Manner).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Power Headroom Reporting taught by Kung to incorporate the above teaching of Lim in order to improve the reliability of the uplink grant, i.e., PDCCH, reception by utilizing a single frequency network (SFN) manner of PDCCH transmission (See, e.g., Lim, ¶ [0517] “In Method 1-5, to improve a PDCCH reception performance without PDCCH repetitive transmission”.).
Regarding claim 22/12, Kung teaches an apparatus comprising all elements recited in claim 12 as discussed above.
Kung further teaches that the instructions (Fig. 3, #312) are further executable by the processor (Fig. 3, #308) to transmit the first message by being executable by the processor to (¶[0043], “The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300.”):
Kung, however, fails to teach explicitly the first message transmission is according to a single frequency network configuration.
Lim teaches transmitting the first message according to a single frequency network configuration (See, Lim, ¶[0467], “Representative PDCCH repetitive transmission methods include … an SFN method of repeatedly transmitting one CORESET by configuring a plurality of TCI states;” and ¶[0516], [Method 1-5] PDCCH Transmission Applying Plurality of TCI States for all CCEs in Same PDCCH Candidate Group (SFN Manner).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Power Headroom Reporting taught by Kung to incorporate the above teaching of Lim in order to improve the reliability of the uplink grant, i.e., PDCCH, reception by utilizing a single frequency network (SFN) manner of PDCCH transmission (See, e.g., Lim, ¶ [0517] “In Method 1-5, to improve a PDCCH reception performance without PDCCH repetitive transmission”.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
1) Ling et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2025/0212136 ) teaches various aspects pertinent to the claimed invention, including TCI, multi-PHR w/ virtual PHR (See, e.g., ¶¶[0014] and [0049], throughout the entire reference);
2) Yuan et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2024/0049143) teaches various aspects pertinent to the claimed invention, including the power control parameter sets (See, e.g., ¶¶[0192], [0288] and [0422]); and
3) Gong et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2020/0068497) teaches various aspects pertinent to the claimed invention, including the power control parameter sets (See, e.g., ¶[0177]).
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 August 17, 2026
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 See Qualcomm Incorporated’s IPR Information Statement and IPR Licensing Declaration and IPR
Information Statement Annex, ISLD-202212-022, pp 1 & 2 (listing the Application as “WO2022CN93264”), Retrieved from the Internet<URL: https://ipr.etsi.org/IPRDetails.aspx?IPRD_ID=7302&IPRD_TYPE_ID=2&MODE=2&sessionkey=63d616> (Year: 2022). A copy of the ISLD-202212-022 is being provided herewith.