DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responding to applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 10/2/2024. Claims 21-22 and 24 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haddock US 2020/0085680 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Figures 1-19 in Haddock discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device (paragraph 0054 discloses shaft 102 is insertable into a vagina or anus, which is for stimulating the prostate) comprising:
a motor (255, paragraph 0069) configured to generate vibration;
an internal structure (212, 214) housing the motor (255); and
a housing (sheath 101) enclosing the internal structure (212, 214),
wherein a shape of the device is changeable (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 2, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the housing (sheath 101) made of a flexible material (paragraph 0061) forms a surface of the device.
Regarding claim 3, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, further comprising a base (112) in which electronics are housed, wherein the base (112) is used as a handle held by a hand of a user.
Regarding claim 4, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, further comprising a flexible neck (119) having a first end coupled to the base (112), the flexible neck (119) allowing changing the shape (paragraph 0058) of the device (100), wherein the shape of the device is changeable before insertion into the rectum of the user such that the shape is retained unless meeting resistance beyond a threshold, and the device is configured to apply pressure and vibration to the prostate to a degree desired by the user according to the shape set by the user.
Regarding claim 5, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, further comprising a tip (102) coupled to a second end of the flexible neck (119).
Regarding claim 6, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the motor (255) is provided at the tip (102) and the tip (102) is configured to provide vibration to the prostate (paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 7, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, further comprising an input unit (134) provided at the base (112), wherein the input unit (134) is configured to receive user input (paragraph 0060) for powering on/off the motor (255) and/or controlling a vibration speed and/or a vibration pattern of the motor (255) .
Regarding claim 8, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the device is configured to provide various preset vibration patterns such that the user can select a desired one of the preset vibration patterns (paragraphs 0084-0085).
Regarding claim 9, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the preset vibration patterns programmable by the user (paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 10, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the device is controllable via an application running on a mobile device that is configured to communicate with the device wirelessly (paragraph 0084).
Regarding independent claim 11, Figures 1-19 in Haddock discloses applicant’s claimed prostate massage device (paragraph 0047, paragraph 0054 discloses shaft 102 is insertable into an anus, which is for stimulating the prostate) comprising:
a flexible neck (119) having a first end and a second end;
a base (112) coupled to the first end of the flexible neck (119); and
a tip (102) coupled to the second end of the flexible neck (119),
wherein a shape of the device is changeable (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 12, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the base (112) is configured to be held by a user (paragraph 0058) when the tip (10) and the flexible neck (119) are inserted into the rectum, and wherein the shape of the device is changeable before insertion into the rectum such that the shape is retained unless meeting resistance beyond a threshold (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 13, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the tip (102) includes a motor (255) configured to generate vibration such that the vibration is applied to the prostate, and wherein the device is configured to apply pressure and vibration to the prostate to a degree desired by a user according to the shape of the device set by the user.
Regarding claim 14, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, further comprising an input unit (134) provided at the base, wherein the input unit (134) is configured to receive user input (paragraph 0060) for powering on/off the motor (255) and/or controlling a vibration speed and/or a vibration pattern of the motor (255).
Regarding claim 15, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the base (112) is wider (see Figure 1a-14c) than the tip (102), and the tip (102) is wider (see Figure 1a-14c) than the flexible neck (119).
Regarding claim 16, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the flexible neck (119) is longer (see Figure 1a-14c) than the base (112).
Regarding claim 17, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the flexible neck (119) is longer (see Figure 1a-14c) than the tip (102.
Regarding independent claim 18, Figures 1-19 in Haddock discloses applicant’s claimed device (paragraph 0054 discloses shaft 102 is insertable into a vagina or anus, which is for stimulating the prostate) comprising:
a base (112) with an input unit (134) for receiving user input;
a flexible neck (119) having a first end coupled to the base (112); and
a tip (102) coupled to a second end of the flexible neck (119) and comprising a motor (255) configured to generate vibration,
wherein the tip (102) is configured to apply the vibration to the prostate when the device is inserted into the rectum of a user.
Regarding claim 19, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein the flexible neck (119) is configured to change its shape (paragraph 0058) while the device is being inserted into the rectum.
Regarding claim 20, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed prostate stimulating device comprising all features as recited in these claims, wherein, in response to the user input:
the motor (255) is turned on or off;
a vibration speed of the motor is controlled; and/or
a vibration pattern of the motor is controlled (see paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 21, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of stimulating a prostate (paragraph 0047) using a vibrating device of claim 11, the method comprising:
bending (paragraph 0058) the flexible neck (119) into a desired shape according to an amount of pressure a user desires against the prostate;
inserting the tip (102) inside a rectum such that the flexible neck (119) takes a shape of the rectum and moves up to reach the prostate; and
causing the tip (102) to deliver stimulation to the prostate by being vibrated by a vibration motor (255).
Regarding claim 22, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of stimulating a prostate using a vibrating the device of claim 1, further comprising turning on the device and/or activating or setting a vibration pattern and/or intensity (paragraphs 0060 & 0084-0085) prior to or after inserting the tip to the rectum.
Regarding claim 23, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of stimulating a prostate using a vibrating the device of claim 1, further comprising changing a vibration intensity and/or pattern (paragraph 0084-0085) while the device is inside the rectum.
Regarding claim 24, Haddock reference, presented above, discloses applicant’s claimed method of reducing prostate inflammation using a vibrating the device of claim 11, the method comprising:
bending (paragraph 0058) the flexible neck (119) into a desired shape;
inserting the tip (102) inside a rectum while a user holds the base (112) of the vibrating device (100);
moving up the vibrating device (100) to reach a prostate such that the flexible neck takes a shape of the rectum; and
causing a targeted vibration motor (255) at the tip (109) to deliver stimulation to the prostate.
Conclusion
/CAMTU T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3786