Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s amendment and request for reconsideration of application 18/853,574 filed on June 23, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: information processing device, control device, a carrier machine information acquisition device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSO (US 20240112459 A1) in view of GÖTLIND (US 20230243638 A1).
Regarding claim 1, HOSO discloses a work machine (¶0007, “a working machine”) for loading a target object onto a carrier machine (¶0007, “performs a loading work to a container”), comprising:
an external measuring device (¶0007, “The container measurement system includes: a distance image acquisition part” ) that measures a surrounding environment of a body of the work machine (¶0007, “for acquiring a distance image of the container”, examiner construes container is surrounding environment of a body of the work machine since the container is located outside the work machine. FIG. 1 shows the working machine 20 and the container 12 on the vehicle 10);
an information processing device (¶0037, “The image processing part 61”) that recognizes the carrier machine present around the body based on a measurement result of the external measuring device (¶0037, “preprocesses the image acquired by the two-dimensional information acquisition section 42”, ¶0033, “The two-dimensional information acquisition section 42 acquires (captures) two-dimensional information (image) showing the container 12”); and
a control device that controls an operation of the body based on a recognition result of the information processing device (¶0056, “The three-dimensional information about the container 12 is adoptable for … automatic operation of the working machine 20”); and
a carrier machine information acquisition device (¶0038, “The position coordinate estimation part 62”) that acquires a position (¶0038, “extracts (recognizes, estimates) positions of feature points F (F1 to F8) in the image and positions of links L (L1 to L9) in the image”) and vehicle class information of the carrier machine from an external source (¶0038, “a program for extracting a specific shape from an image. For instance, the program adopts a deep learning technique. In this manner, the position coordinate estimation part 62 acquires two-dimensional information including the image showing the container 12”. Examiner construes the image from the camera as external source. FIG. 4 shows the shape of the container taken by a camera 40 shown in FIG. 3), wherein the information processing device corrects a recognition result of the carrier machine based on the position and the vehicle class information of the carrier machine acquired by the carrier machine information acquisition device (FIG. 8, S7 superimpose shape of container and two dimensional coordinates, S8, detect three dimensional shape of the container, S12, specify kind of container, S13, correct the three dimensional information about the container”),
wherein the control device controls the operation of the body based on the corrected recognition result of the carrier machine (¶0056, “The three-dimensional information about the container 12 is adoptable … for automatic operation of the working machine”).
HOSO does not explicitly, but GÖTLIND teaches Performing wireless communication with a fleet management (FMS) (¶0124, “communicate using wireless communication with a remote platform.. fleet server”) lidar (¶011, “lidar”), information of the carrier machine including type (¶0010, “receiving an identifier for the trailer to be measured, the method further comprises causing measurement guidance to be provided to a driver of the vehicle to measure the identified trailer using the vehicle.”) and dimensions (¶0151, “measuring trailer dimensions ”).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the loading into the carrier machine disclosed in HOSO with the dimension of the trailer taught in GÖTLIND with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an optimization measurement accuracy so as to mitigate, obviate, alleviate, or eliminate various issues.
Regarding claim 2, HOSO discloses wherein the information processing device includes: a recognition section that recognizes the carrier machine from the measurement result of the lidar and calculates a recognition area as an area where the recognized carrier machine is present (FIG. 4, ¶0045, “three-dimensional information about the container 12 detected by the feature point position detection part 66”);
an area estimation section that calculates an estimated area as an area where the carrier machine is estimated to be present based on the position and the vehicle class information of the carrier machine acquired by the carrier machine information acquisition device (FIG. 8, S1-S12); and
a correction section that corrects the recognition area based on the estimated area (FIG. 8, S13).
Regarding claim 5, HOSO discloses wherein the carrier machine information acquisition device further acquires information on a position adjustment amount of the carrier machine, wherein the area estimation section calculates the estimated area using the position adjustment amount acquired by the carrier machine information acquisition device (¶0055).
Regarding claim 12, Hoso teaches wherein the lidar acquires point cloud data of the surrounding environment as the measurement result, wherein the information processing device further includes a filter section that extracts the point cloud data within a predetermined area including the estimated area from the point cloud data acquired by the external measuring device, wherein the recognition section recognizes the carrier machine from the point cloud data extracted by the filter section and calculates the recognition area (¶0034).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSO (US 20240112459 A1) in view of GÖTLIND (US 20230243638 A1) and further in view of KAWANISHI (JPWO2021124445A1).
Regarding claim 3, HOSO does not explicitly disclose but, KAWANISHI teaches wherein the information processing device calculates a confidence of the recognition result by comparing the recognition area with the estimated area, wherein the correction section corrects the recognition area according to the calculated confidence (page 13, lines 9-17).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the loading into the carrier machine disclosed in HOSO with the confidence level taught in KAWANISHI with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in the success of gripping posture of the machine at different positions.
Claims 4, 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSO (US 20240112459 A1), GÖTLIND (US 20230243638 A1) in view of KAWANISHI (JPWO2021124445A1) as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Lewis (US 20160223350).
Regarding claim 4, HOSO does not explicitly but, Lewis teaches wherein the information processing device calculates an overlap degree indicating a degree of overlap between the recognition area and the estimated area as the confidence, wherein the correction section corrects the recognition area according to the calculated overlap degree (¶0089).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the loading into the carrier machine disclosed in HOSO with the degree of overlap taught in Lewis with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in efficiency through accurate navigation and thus, dangers of injury or property damage resulting from a collision can be mitigated.
Regarding claim 6, Lewis further teaches wherein the information processing device further includes a task acquisition section that acquires a next task to be performed by the work machine (¶0104), wherein the correction section changes a correction method of the recognition area according to the acquired task (¶0179).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the loading into the carrier machine disclosed in HOSO with the task acquisition section taught in Lewis with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in efficiency through accurate navigation and thus, dangers of injury or property damage resulting from a collision can be mitigated.
Regarding claim 7, Lewis further teaches wherein when a loading task for loading the target object onto the carrier machine is acquired, the correction section corrects the recognition area such that the recognition area becomes an area encompassing the recognition area and the estimated area (¶0104, 0051)).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the loading into the carrier machine disclosed in HOSO with the loading task taught in Lewis with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in efficiency through accurate navigation and thus, dangers of injury or property damage resulting from a collision can be mitigated.
Regarding claim 8, Lewis further teaches comprising a bucket that holds the target object, wherein the carrier machine information acquisition device further acquires information regarding a position adjustment amount of the carrier machine, wherein when a loading task for loading the target object onto the carrier machine is acquired, the correction section calculates a position of the bucket when loading the target object from the bucket onto the carrier machine based on the position adjustment amount acquired by the carrier machine information acquisition device, the recognition area, and the estimated area, wherein the control device controls a loading operation of the target object onto the carrier machine based on the position of the bucket calculated by the correction section (Fig. 21, ¶0209).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the loading into the carrier machine disclosed in HOSO with the position adjustment amount of the carrier machine taught in Lewis with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in efficiency through accurate navigation and thus, dangers of injury or property damage resulting from a collision can be mitigated.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSO (US 20240112459 A1), GÖTLIND (US 20230243638 A1) in view of KAWANISHI (JPWO2021124445A1), Lewis (US 20160223350) as applied to claim 6, and further in view of KAWAMOTO (US 20220101552 A1).
Regarding claim 9, HOSO does not explicitly disclose but, KAWAMOTO teaches wherein upon acquiring a reaching task which is to be performed after termination of the loading task of loading the target object onto the carrier machine, the correction section corrects the recognition area such that the recognition area becomes an area encompassed by an area where the recognition area and the estimated area overlap (abstract).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the loading into the carrier machine disclosed in HOSO with the loading task taught in KAWAMOTO with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in robustness of processing of specifying a loading/unloading target of a transporting material from a captured image.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSO (US 20240112459 A1), GÖTLIND (US 20230243638 A1), in view of TSUJI (CN 107532411 A).
Regarding claim 10, HOSO does not explicitly disclose but, TSUJI teaches when the recognition result of the carrier machine is determined to be not correctable, the information processing device notifies a user of that the recognition result is not correctable and displays a screen on the display device to allow the user to confirm whether or not the operation of the body is allowed to be continued; when a confirmation result on whether or not the operation of the body is allowed to be continued is received from the user, the information processing device outputs the confirmation result to the control device, wherein the control device controls the operation of the body according to the confirmation result (page 04, lines 24-29).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the loading into the carrier machine disclosed in HOSO with the loading task taught in TSUJI with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in the efficiency of loading and unloading operation.
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSO (US 20240112459 A1), GÖTLIND (US 20230243638 A1) in view of KAWAMOTO (US 20220101552 A1).
Regarding claim 11, HOSO does not but, KAWAMOTO teaches comprising a terrain information acquisition device that acquires terrain information around the work machine, wherein the information processing device further includes a posture estimation section that estimates a posture of the carrier machine based on the terrain information acquired by the terrain information acquisition device, wherein the area estimation section calculates the estimated area using the posture of the carrier machine estimated by the posture estimation section (¶0146).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the loading into the carrier machine disclosed in HOSO with the loading task taught in KAWAMOTO with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted an improvement in robustness of processing of specifying a loading/unloading target of a transporting material from a captured image.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Talmaki (US 20190180627 A1) discloses a system for detecting a load location and a dump location at a worksite is provided. The system includes a controller coupled to a position detection module and a speed detection module. The controller receives a position signal and a speed signal associated with the machine. The controller identities a load location based on a relative distance between the machine and a loading tool and the speed of the machine. The controller monitors a velocity of the machine as the machine moves away from the identified load location, gathers data related to a plurality of stops made by the machine, and builds a heuristic model. The controller selects one stop from the plurality of stops as a dump location based on a distance between the respective dump location and the load location, a duration of stopping of the machine, and a confidence score associated with the respective dump location.
/REDHWAN K MAWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664