DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the group”, in line 3, should change to “a group”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dinan (US 2020/0374822 A1, hereinafter “Dinan”).
Regarding independent claim 1
Dinan discloses a terminal (e.g., Fig. 4, 406) comprising:
a reception unit (Fig. 4, 407) configured to receive, in downlink, an indication of band switching in a transmission switching method in which the band switching is applicable to at least one antenna port among a plurality of antenna ports (e.g., Fig. 9, 600, [0153], SCell activation/deactivation enhancements may be considered for fast carrier switching, [0158]-[0160], [0226]-[0227], Fig. 5A/5C, antenna ports); and
a control unit (Fig. 4, 408) configured to perform, in a case where switching is performed to a band that belongs to a group with a different uplink timing advance, random access in the group that is a switching destination (e.g., Fig. 9, 602-603, RACH for the SCell belonging to a different timing advance group, [0112]-[0115], [0167]-[0168]).
Regarding claim 3
Dinan further discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the control unit performs an uplink transmission synchronization in the group that is a potential switching destination (e.g., Fig. 9, 602, [0114]).
Regarding independent claim 4
Dinan discloses a base station (e.g., Fig. 4, 401) comprising: a transmission unit (Fig. 4, 402) configured to transmit, to a terminal, an indication of band switching in a transmission switching method in which the band switching is applicable to at least one antenna port among a plurality of antenna ports; and a control unit configured to expect, in a case where switching is performed to a band that belongs to a group with a different uplink timing advance, that random access is performed by the terminal in the group that is a switching destination. (See rejection of similar features with respect to claim 1.)
Regarding independent claim 5
Dinan discloses a communication method performed by a terminal, the communication method comprising: receiving, in downlink, an indication of band switching in a transmission switching method in which the band switching is applicable to at least one antenna port among a plurality of antenna ports; and performing, in a case where switching is performed to a band that belongs to a group with a different uplink timing advance, random access in the group that is a switching destination. (See rejection of similar features with respect to claim 1.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinan in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 2024/0389129 A1, hereinafter “Rastegardoost”).
Regarding claim 2
Dinan is silent regarding the control unit performs switching back to a band combination before the switching after completion of a procedure of the random access.
Rastegardoost teaches a UE switch back to a band combination before the switching after a band switch (e.g., [0314], [0363], [0368], [0373]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Dinan based on the teaching from Rastegardoost to include the feature the control unit performs switching back to a band combination before the switching after completion of a procedure of the random access, in order to enable flexible and more efficient utilization of available network resources.
Conclusion
/BO HUI A ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465