Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDAC Holding Inc ( WO 2022/027012) in view of Yuan et al. (W 2021/174437).
For claim 1, IDAC Holding Inc ( WO 2022/027012) discloses a system comprising
discloses (the references in parentheses applying to this document) a method for a base station (paragraphs [0332]-[0359]), the method comprising: processing, at the base station, a user equipment, UE, capability message from a UE indicating a plurality of channel state information, CSI, report schemes supported by the UE (paragraph [0348], "Further, the WTRU may be configured to determine a mode of operation based at least in part on the WTRU capability and a gNB configuration which is based on WTRU capability reporting."; emphasis added by the examiner; because the gNB configuration is based on WTRU capability reporting, a capability message from the UE is implicit; furthermore, IDAC Holding Inc ( WO 2022/027012) discloses that the WTRU capability is linked to different time values for CSI reporting and CSI reporting types - paragraph [0339]; therefore the capability message is an indication of CSI report schemes supported by the UE); selecting, at the base station based at least in part on the UE capability message, a selected CSI report scheme of the plurality of CSI report schemes (the gNB configuration of paragraph [0348]; it is noted that the UE selects a CSU report scheme based on the configuration - see paragraph [0339] and [0344]); and
signaling, from the base station to the UE, a configuration of the selected CSI report scheme of the plurality of CSI report schemes (paragraph [0348], as above).
For claim 1, IDAC Holding Inc ( WO 2022/027012) discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of determining, at the UE, whether one or more condition associated with the selected CSI report scheme is satisfied; and transmitting, from the UE to the base station, CSI in one or more PUSCH from one or more of the multiple antenna panels based on whether the one or more condition associated with the selected CSI report scheme is satisfied. Yuan et al. (W 2021/174437) from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches a provision of determining, at the UE, whether one or more condition associated with a the selected CSI report scheme is satisfied (paragraph [0143], "For example, the UE 115 may receive, during a slot 805-a, a DCI message 810 scheduling one or more PUSCH of a set of PUSCH repetitions 815, 820 for the aperiodic CSI report (e.g., scheduling the UE 115 to transmit or multiplex the aperiodic CSI report on the one or more PUSCH repetitions) ."; reception of the DCI message scheduling aperiodic CSI may be viewed as a condition being satisfied); and transmitting, from the UE to the base station, CSI in one or more PUSCH from one or more of the multiple antenna panels based on whether the one or more condition associated with the selected CSI report scheme is satisfied (paragraph [0144] disclosing transmitting CSI in two PUSCH using two beams sent from corresponding antenna panels). Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use determining, at the UE, whether one or more condition associated with the selected CSI report scheme is satisfied; and transmitting, from the UE to the base station, CSI in one or more PUSCH from one or more of the multiple antenna panels based on whether the one or more condition associated with the selected CSI report scheme is satisfied as taught by Yuan et al. (W 2021/174437) in the communications network of IDAC Holding Inc ( WO 2022/027012) for the purpose of determining, at the UE, whether one or more condition associated with the selected CSI report scheme is satisfied; and transmitting, from the UE to the base station, CSI in one or more PUSCH from one or more of the multiple antenna panels based on whether the one or more condition associated with the selected CSI report scheme is satisfied.
Claims 2-5, 8-12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDAC Holding Inc ( WO 2022/027012) in view of Yuan et al. (W 2021/174437) and further in view of Samsung Electronics Co LTD ( WO 2021/133121).
For claims 2-5, 8-12, and 17, IDAC Holding Inc ( WO 2022/027012) in view of Yuan et al. (W 2021/174437) discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exceptions of if the one or more condition is satisfied, using the selected CSI report scheme to transmit the CSI to the base station based on the multi-panel PUSCH transmission; and if the one or more condition is not satisfied, falling back to a first CSI report scheme that reports the CSI in a single beam from a single antenna panel of the multiple antenna panels or not reporting the CSI based on the multi-panel PUSCH transmission; wherein the first CSI report scheme is independent of the one or more condition, and wherein the one or more condition is selected from a group comprising: a duration of corresponding PUSCH transmission occasions with the CSI is the same; a frequency domain resource for the corresponding PUSCH transmission occasions with the CSI is the same; no uplink control information (UCI) other than the CSI is multiplexed; the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a PUSCH multiplexing scheme configured for the UE; the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a scheduling operation configured for the UE to schedule the one or more PUSCH; the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a transport block (TB) transmission scheme configured for the UE to transmit the one or more PUSCH to carry one TB or TB repetitions; and the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a time domain reporting type configured for the UE; wherein for the first CSI report scheme and for a single downlink control information (single-DCI) scheduling of the multi-panel PUSCH transmission, the method further comprises selecting a selected PUSCH for reporting the CSI based on one or more option selected from a group comprising: the selected PUSCH corresponds to a first indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) or a last indicated TCI; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a selected TCI with a lowest identifier (ID) or a highest ID; the selected PUSCH starts earliest; the selected PUSCH is transmitted in a lowest frequency location or a highest frequency location; the selected PUSCH is indicated to the UE from the base station by downlink control information; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a lower modulation and coding scheme (MCS) or a higher MCS; and the selected PUSCH corresponds to an uplink transmission without a power limitation and power scaling; and wherein for the first CSI report scheme and for multiple downlink control information (multi-DCI) scheduling of the multi-panel PUSCH transmission, the method further comprises selecting a selected PUSCH for reporting the CSI based on one or more option selected from a group comprising: the selected PUSCH corresponds to a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index or a last CORESET pool index; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) with a lowest identifier (ID) or a highest ID; the selected PUSCH starts earliest; the selected PUSCH is transmitted in a lowest frequency location or a highest frequency location; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) that starts earliest or ends latest; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a smallest offset Z or a smallest offset Z', wherein the offset Z is between a last symbol of the PDCCH and a first symbol of a CSI report, and wherein the offset Z' is between a last symbol of a channel measurement resource (CMR) or an interference measurement resource (IMR) and the first symbol of the CSI report; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a largest offset Z or a largest offset Z'; and the selected PUSCH is indicated to the UE from the base station by downlink control information. Samsung Electronics Co LTD ( WO 2021/133121) from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches a provision of if the one or more condition is satisfied, using the selected CSI report scheme to transmit the CSI to the base station based on the multi-panel PUSCH transmission; and if the one or more condition is not satisfied, falling back to a first CSI report scheme that reports the CSI in a single beam from a single antenna panel of the multiple antenna panels or not reporting the CSI based on the multi-panel PUSCH transmission;
wherein the first CSI report scheme is independent of the one or more condition, and wherein the one or more condition is selected from a group comprising: a duration of corresponding PUSCH transmission occasions with the CSI is the same; a frequency domain resource for the corresponding PUSCH transmission occasions with the CSI is the same; no uplink control information (UCI) other than the CSI is multiplexed; the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a PUSCH multiplexing scheme configured for the UE; the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a scheduling operation configured for the UE to schedule the one or more PUSCH; the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a transport block (TB) transmission scheme configured for the UE to transmit the one or more PUSCH to carry one TB or TB repetitions; and the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a time domain reporting type configured for the UE; wherein for the first CSI report scheme and for a single downlink control information (single-DCI) scheduling of the multi-panel PUSCH transmission, the method further comprises selecting a selected PUSCH for reporting the CSI based on one or more option selected from a group comprising: the selected PUSCH corresponds to a first indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) or a last indicated TCI; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a selected TCI with a lowest identifier (ID) or a highest ID; the selected PUSCH starts earliest; the selected PUSCH is transmitted in a lowest frequency location or a highest frequency location; the selected PUSCH is indicated to the UE from the base station by downlink control information; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a lower modulation and coding scheme (MCS) or a higher MCS; and the selected PUSCH corresponds to an uplink transmission without a power limitation and power scaling; and wherein for the first CSI report scheme and for multiple downlink control information (multi-DCI) scheduling of the multi-panel PUSCH transmission, the method further comprises selecting a selected PUSCH for reporting the CSI based on one or more option selected from a group comprising: the selected PUSCH corresponds to a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index or a last CORESET pool index; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) with a lowest identifier (ID) or a highest ID; the selected PUSCH starts earliest; the selected PUSCH is transmitted in a lowest frequency location or a highest frequency location; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) that starts earliest or ends latest; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a smallest offset Z or a smallest offset Z', wherein the offset Z is between a last symbol of the PDCCH and a first symbol of a CSI report, and wherein the offset Z' is between a last symbol of a channel measurement resource (CMR) or an interference measurement resource (IMR) and the first symbol of the CSI report; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a largest offset Z or a largest offset Z'; and the selected PUSCH is indicated to the UE from the base station by downlink control information ( See paragrahps0443-0444). This, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use if the one or more condition is satisfied, using the selected CSI report scheme to transmit the CSI to the base station based on the multi-panel PUSCH transmission; and if the one or more condition is not satisfied, falling back to a first CSI report scheme that reports the CSI in a single beam from a single antenna panel of the multiple antenna panels or not reporting the CSI based on the multi-panel PUSCH transmission;
wherein the first CSI report scheme is independent of the one or more condition, and wherein the one or more condition is selected from a group comprising: a duration of corresponding PUSCH transmission occasions with the CSI is the same; a frequency domain resource for the corresponding PUSCH transmission occasions with the CSI is the same; no uplink control information (UCI) other than the CSI is multiplexed; the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a PUSCH multiplexing scheme configured for the UE; the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a scheduling operation configured for the UE to schedule the one or more PUSCH; the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a transport block (TB) transmission scheme configured for the UE to transmit the one or more PUSCH to carry one TB or TB repetitions; and the selected CSI report scheme is applicable to a time domain reporting type configured for the UE; wherein for the first CSI report scheme and for a single downlink control information (single-DCI) scheduling of the multi-panel PUSCH transmission, the method further comprises selecting a selected PUSCH for reporting the CSI based on one or more option selected from a group comprising: the selected PUSCH corresponds to a first indicated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) or a last indicated TCI; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a selected TCI with a lowest identifier (ID) or a highest ID; the selected PUSCH starts earliest; the selected PUSCH is transmitted in a lowest frequency location or a highest frequency location; the selected PUSCH is indicated to the UE from the base station by downlink control information; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a lower modulation and coding scheme (MCS) or a higher MCS; and the selected PUSCH corresponds to an uplink transmission without a power limitation and power scaling; and wherein for the first CSI report scheme and for multiple downlink control information (multi-DCI) scheduling of the multi-panel PUSCH transmission, the method further comprises selecting a selected PUSCH for reporting the CSI based on one or more option selected from a group comprising: the selected PUSCH corresponds to a first control resource set (CORESET) pool index or a last CORESET pool index; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) with a lowest identifier (ID) or a highest ID; the selected PUSCH starts earliest; the selected PUSCH is transmitted in a lowest frequency location or a highest frequency location; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) that starts earliest or ends latest; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a smallest offset Z or a smallest offset Z', wherein the offset Z is between a last symbol of the PDCCH and a first symbol of a CSI report, and wherein the offset Z' is between a last symbol of a channel measurement resource (CMR) or an interference measurement resource (IMR) and the first symbol of the CSI report; the selected PUSCH corresponds to a largest offset Z or a largest offset Z'; and the selected PUSCH is indicated to the UE from the base station by downlink control information as taught by Samsung in the communication of IDAC Holding Inc ( WO 2022/027012) in view of Yuan et al. (W 2021/174437) for the purpose of using the CSI report scheme.
Claims 6,7,13-16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guo et al. (2026/0100740) is cited to show a system which is considered pertinent to the claimed inventio.
/DANG T TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /D.T.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476