DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 29,30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because Claim 29 recites “a computer program comprising instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer” a computer program does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. Therefore, claim 29 is non-statutory.
Claim 30 recites “a computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer.” Applicant’s disclosure defines computer readable-medium as “any other suitable computer-readable media such as a removable magnetic disk, optical storage media such as a CD or DVD, -ROM disk, solid state drives, flash memory cards, etc. could be used” which does not exclude a transmission medium such as signal. A signal is a non-statutory subject matter. Therefore, claim is non-statutory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17,19-22, 27-30is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cavalcanti to (US20230143575 A1)
Regarding claims 16,27,28,29,30 Cavalcanti teaches a method for associating a prospective end node to an access point in a wireless network; ( [0138] discloses configured to determine that the station device is associated to a network of the AP device, and wherein the portion of the Wi-Fi management or action frame is transmitted based on the determination that the station device is associated to the network of the AP device) wherein the access point operates according to a wireless time sensitive networking, W-TSN([0031] discloses a wireless TSN (WTSN) management protocol may be used to facilitate enhanced coordination between the APs, which may be referred to as WTSN management clients in such context. The controller 108 may enable device admission control (e.g., control over admitting devices to a WTSN), joint scheduling, network measurements, and other operations. APs may be configured to follow the WTSN protocol), mechanism by allocating time slices within a time cycle relative to a time reference to respective associated end nodes;([0135] discloses configured to identify the time-sensitive operations, and wherein the portion of the Wi-Fi management or action frame is transmitted based on the identification of the time-sensitive operations) the method comprising: transmitting, by the access point, beacon frames comprising: as the time reference, a timestamp when the beacon frame is generated;([0147] discloses set a beacon interval between transmission of a first beacon comprising the portion of the Wi-Fi management or action frame and transmission of a second beacon based on the identification of the time-sensitive operations, wherein the portion of the Wi-Fi management or action frame is a portion of the first beacon, and wherein the portion of the Wi-Fi management or action frame is transmitted in the first beacon based on the beacon interval) and pre-schedule information identifying an association time slice within the time cycle relative to the time reference, during which prospective end nodes can exchange frames with the access point for associating;( [0045] , FIG. 2A, an AP 202 may send frames to a STA 204, including TS frames for TS operations, and Wi-Fi management/action frames. As shown, the AP 202 may send TS frame 206, TS frame 208, and TS 210, which may be periodic with a cycle 212. However, to send a Wi-Fi management frame such as a beacon may interrupt the cycle 212. For example, when the AP 202 sends a TS frame 220 followed by a beacon 222, the cycle 212 between the TS frame 220 and a next TS frame 224 may be interrupted (the cycle 212 shown between the TS frame 224 and a subsequent TS frame 226)) by the prospective end node, receiving the beacon frames;([0053] discloses when the Wi-Fi management/action frame 243 and the Wi-Fi management/action frame 245 are beacons, the transmission of the beacons may be fragmented, meaning that the beacons may be partitioned into smaller portions (e.g., MPDUs). Fragmentation/defragmentation was defined in 802.11 ) pre-synchronizing with the access point based on the timestamp in at least one of the beacon frames;( [0062] discloses a device (e.g., the AP 1XX02 of FIG. 1 and/or the enhanced TSN device 519 of FIG. 5) may generate a first periodic/cyclic TS frame (e.g., the TS frame 242 of FIG. 2C, the TS frame 206 of FIG. 2D). The first TS frame may be sent during a TXOP for a station device (e.g., one of the user devices 120 of FIG. 1, the STA 204 of FIG. 2C and FIG. 2D), and the TXOP may be scheduled to allow for low-latency TS operations) and identifying the association time slice within the time cycle based on the pre-schedule information; ([0136] discloses configured to set a beacon interval between transmission of a first beacon comprising the portion of the Wi-Fi management or action frame and transmission of a second beacon based on the identification of the time-sensitive operations, wherein the portion of the Wi-Fi management or action frame is a portion of the first beacon, and wherein the portion of the Wi-Fi management or action frame is transmitted in the first beacon based on the beacon interval ) and performing the associating to the access point within the association time slice([0138] discloses wherein the portion of the Wi-Fi management or action frame is part of a probe response, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine that the station device is associated to a network of the AP device, and wherein the portion of the Wi-Fi management or action frame is transmitted based on the determination that the station device is associated to the network of the AP device).
Regarding claim 17, Cavalcanti teaches wherein the associating further comprises synchronizing the prospective end node more accurately with the access point, and/or negotiating a time slice within the time cycle for the prospective end node([0054] discloses the AP may be configured to only allow association and response to probe requests during certain times and/or using certain channels (e.g. at initial configuration when TS flows are not active) and not respond to any probe request outside of such times. For example, the AP 202 may send a probe response, in response to receiving a probe request from the STA 204, using a separate link (e.g., separate from the link used for TSN communications))
Regarding claim 19, Cavalcanti teaches wherein the pre-synchronizing further comprises adjusting the timestamp to compensate for a delay between the generating of the beacon frame and the receiving of the beacon frame by the prospective end node([0051] the time period shown in FIG. 2C may represent a TXOP for the STA 204. The AP 202 may adjust the TXOP dynamically. For example, after transmission of the Wi-Fi management/action frame 243 and the Wi-Fi management/action frame 245, the AP 202 may wait for a guard interval 247 or 248 before another transmission).
Regarding claim 20, Cavalcanti teaches wherein the delay comprises an interframe space, a transmission time of the beacon frame by the access point, and a processing time for receiving the beacon frame by the prospective end node([0059] discloses to delay a TM/FTM frame may be taken by the originator of the session (e.g. leader), which may be the AP 202 or the STA 204. In another embodiment, the beacon interval may also be updated when the TS data flows are active to avoid overlaps. The typical beacon periodicity of 100 msec maybe changed or an offset added to avoid a potential overlap with TS data (e.g., the beacon interval may be set as shown in FIG. 2C to avoid the overlap)).
Regarding claim 21, Cavalcanti teaches The method according to claim 16, wherein the beacon frames further comprise beacon interval information indicative for a time interval between the generation of successive beacon frames; or wherein the beacon frames further comprise transmission interval information indicative for a time interval between beacon time slices within the time cycle, during which the access point transmits the beacon frames( [0052] discloses the beacon interval between respective beacons (e.g., beacon interval 249) may be set by the AP 202 to be an optimized time interval when the AP 202 detects TSN operations).
Regarding claim 22, Cavalcanti teaches The method according to claim 21, further comprising identifying delayed beacon frames unsuitable for the pre-synchronizing based on the beacon interval information or the transmission interval information([0059] discloses to delay a TM/FTM frame may be taken by the originator of the session (e.g. leader), which may be the AP 202 or the STA 204. In another embodiment, the beacon interval may also be updated when the TS data flows are active to avoid overlaps. The typical beacon periodicity of 100 msec maybe changed or an offset added to avoid a potential overlap with TS data (e.g., the beacon interval may be set as shown in FIG. 2C to avoid the overlap))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavalcanti to (US20230143575 A1) in view of Smith to (US 20230087308 A1)
Regarding claim 18, Cavalcanti does not explicitly teach wherein the synchronizing is performed according to a precision time protocol, PTP, or a network time protocol, NTP
However, Smith teaches wherein the synchronizing is performed according to a precision time protocol, PTP([0022] discloses an AP advertisement/beacon, and that contains IEEE 802.1AS asCapable bits (e.g., FTM can be used for gPTP for a default or specific gPTP domain))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Cavalcanti include wherein the synchronizing is performed according to a precision time protocol, PTP, as suggested by Smith. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication error.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavalcanti to (US20230143575 A1) in view of Zhang to ( WO2023065120A1)
Regarding claim 23, Cavalcanti wherein the identifying comprises: determining an arrival time difference between successively received beacon frames; and identifying delayed beacon frames when a deviation between the arrival time difference and one or more beacon intervals, or one or more transmission intervals exceeds a threshold
However, Zhang teaches wherein the identifying comprises: determining an arrival time difference between successively received beacon frames; and identifying delayed beacon frames when a deviation between the arrival time difference and one or more beacon intervals, or one or more transmission intervals exceeds a threshold([0127] discloses the UE identifies a target SR occasion 804 occurring after the arrival of the packets 802 and within the on duration of a CDRX cycle. The UE then determines a time 806 between the arrival of the packets 802 and the target SR occasion 804 (e.g., t.sub.target_SR_occasion−t.sub.voice_arrival_point). From here, the UE sets a SR-DelayTimer to the determined time 806 between the arrival of the packets 802 and the target SR occasion 804 (e.g., SR DelayTimer=t.sub.target_SR_occasion−t.sub.voice_arrival_point). The SR-DelayTimer is configured to start at the arrival point of the packets 802 and run for the determined time 806. While the SR-DelayTimer is active, the UE may not trigger a SR (e.g., at the SR occasion 808)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Cavalcanti include wherein the identifying comprises: determining an arrival time difference between successively received beacon frames; and identifying delayed beacon frames when a deviation between the arrival time difference and one or more beacon intervals, or one or more transmission intervals exceeds a threshold, as suggested by Zhang. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication error.
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavalcanti to (US20230143575 A1) in view of BUTTI to (WO 2008006997 A1)
Regarding claim 24, Cavalcanti does not explicitly teach wherein the beacon frames further comprise a transmission timestamp of a previous beacon frame indicative for a moment in time when the previous beacon frame was transmitted; and wherein the pre-synchronizing is further based on the transmission timestamp
However, BUTTI teaches wherein the beacon frames further comprise a transmission timestamp of a previous beacon frame indicative for a moment in time when the previous beacon frame was transmitted; and wherein the pre-synchronizing is further based on the transmission timestamp(page 16, lines 5-10 discloses the measurement recommended by the method of the request between two non-successive frames may not be strictly equal to a multiple of BEACON INTERVAL. With information relating to the transmission instants, it is possible to improve the false-positive rate by applying the method according to the invention to the transmission instants. Thus, taking for example the statistical function f absolute value, X = BSSTimestamp, Y = BSSTimestamp, k1 = k-1, k2 = k, n = 2, the property to check is: absolute value (BSSTimestamp_k-1 - BSSTimestamp_k - BEACON INTERVAL)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Cavalcanti include wherein the beacon frames further comprise a transmission timestamp of a previous beacon frame indicative for a moment in time when the previous beacon frame was transmitted; and wherein the pre-synchronizing is further based on the transmission timestamp, as suggested by BUTTI. This modification would benefit the system to reduce communication error.
Regarding claim 25, Cavalcanti and BUTTI teaches further comprising identifying non-successive beacon frames based on the transmission timestamp of the previous beacon frame(BUTTI , page 16, lines 5-10 discloses the measurement recommended by the method of the request between two non-successive frames may not be strictly equal to a multiple of BEACON INTERVAL. With information relating to the transmission instants, it is possible to improve the false-positive rate by applying the method according to the invention to the transmission instants. Thus, taking for example the statistical function f absolute value, X = BSSTimestamp, Y = BSSTimestamp, k1 = k-1, k2 = k, n = 2, the property to check is: absolute value (BSSTimestamp_k-1 - BSSTimestamp_k - BEACON INTERVAL).
Regarding claim 26, Cavalcanti and BUTTI teaches further comprising transmitting, by the access point, a follow-up packet comprising a transmission timestamp of a previous beacon frame indicative for a moment in time when the previous beacon frame was transmitted; and wherein the pre-synchronizing is further based on the transmission timestamp( BUTTI ,page 17, lines 1-10 discloses the n previous frames, n being the size of the sample, for example 50. The invention is of course not limited to the above examples. When the analysis relates only to the BEACON frames of the array, it is possible, for performance reasons, to apply a mask on the basis of information in order to present only the BEACON frames. In this case, the DeltaTime and DeltaBSS values are calculated for BEACON frames).
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461