Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunvold et al (US PGPub No. 2018/0223854) in view of Khazanov et al (US Patent No. 5,616,973).
Brunvold teaches:
limitations from claim 1, a pump system (see pump in FIG. 3 for example) comprising: a longitudinal axis (300); and, a plurality of pump stages (stack 330 including stages formed by respective impeller 350 and diffuser 340 groups, each driven by stator 326; paragraph 39), wherein each pump stage comprises: a rotary component (350) mounted for rotation about the longitudinal axis (FIG. 4; paragraph 42); a fluid inlet (302); a fluid outlet (304); and, a main fluid flow path for fluid to flow from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet (conduits 306 to 308; FIG. 3; paragraph 39), the rotary component extending radially into the main fluid flow path (see FIG. 3-4) and being drivable to rotate about the longitudinal axis so as to impart a force to fluid in the main flow path (paragraph 39); wherein the rotary component of each of the plurality of pump stages is separately drivable so as to be able to rotate at a different speed from the rotary components of the other pump stages (paragraph 57-58 teaching different RPMs for different stages; see abstract, paragraph 54 and Claim 17 teaching contra-rotating rotor sections);
Brunvold teaches cooling the pump components using an active cooling including a “special or single” impeller with a non-pumping fluid (i.e. glycol), but does not otherwise teach particular details of the cooling structure;
Khazanov teaches:
a pump system (FIG. 1) including a pump stage (14) driven via an electric motor (24); and wherein the pump system further comprising a cooling passage (81-82), wherein an additional pump impeller (88) is configured to pump fluid through the cooling passage (FIG. 2; C. 5 Lines 59-67); wherein the cooling passage is configured to deliver the fluid to components of the pump stage (at least the motor components; C. 7 Lines 10-32), wherein the cooling passage is separate from the main fluid flow path of each of the other pump stages of the plurality of pump stages (see FIG. 1-2 the cooling passages 81-82 use coolant and are separate from the pumped fluid passage within volute 16);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pumps at the time the invention was filed to form the active cooling assembly of Brunvold using known components, such as an additional pumping impeller and corresponding axially extending cooling channels taught by Khazanov, as a matter of design choice in order to cool pump features along the length of the pump. In this case Brunvold generally teaches an additional pump stage (special impeller), and Khazanov teaches channels with which to disperse a cooling medium from a no-main stage impeller (i.e. “special”).
Brunvold further teaches:
limitations from claim 2, wherein the plurality of pump stages form or are located within a housing (370), wherein the housing is sealed from an external environment (FIG. 3; paragraph 38);
limitations from claim 3, wherein the pressure internal to the housing is different to that of the external environment (paragraph 39 teaching various pressures within the system);
limitations from claim 14, wherein the plurality of pump stages (see pump stack 330 having stages formed by pump components 340, 350) are arranged for sequential flow of the fluid there-through from the fluid inlet of the first pump stage to the fluid outlet of one of the other pump stages (paragraph 39);
Khazanov further teaches:
limitations from claim 11, wherein the cooling passage (81-82) forms a closed loop so as to deliver the fluid back to the fluid inlet of the first pump stage (at 82 and reservoir 45; C. 6 Lines 6-24), or wherein the cooling passage is configured to expel fluid to an external environment after it has passed through the cooling passage from the first pump stage;
limitations from claim 12, wherein each pump stage further comprises: power features for driving rotation of the rotary component (326, 454 of Brunvold; 26-29 of Khazanov); and a cooling arrangement for cooling the power features, wherein the cooling passage is configured to supply the fluid to the cooling arrangement in at least one pump stage (FIG. 1-2; C. 5 Lines 59-67 and C. 7 Lines 10-32);
limitations from claim 13, wherein the fluid outlet (92 to 81) of the first pump stage is fluidly connected to the cooling passage (81) such that the first pump stage is configured to supply the fluid to the cooling passage (FIG. 1-2), wherein the fluid outlet of the first pump stage is fluidly isolated from the main flow paths of the other pump stages of the plurality of pump stages (see FIG. 1-2 the cooling passages 81-82 use coolant and are separate from the pumped fluid passage within volute 16), and wherein the other pump stages of the plurality of pump stages are arranged for sequential flow of a process fluid there-through from the fluid inlet of one of the other pump stages to the fluid outlet of one of the other pump stages (see Brunvold: pump stack 330 having stages formed by pump components 340, 350; paragraph 39 and common inlet/outlets 302, 304);
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunvold et al (US PGPub No. 2018/0223854) in view of Khazanov et al (US Patent No. 5,616,973) as applied to Claim 1 above, and in further view of Smaadal et al (US PGPub No. 2023/0184059).
Regarding Claim 4:
Brunvold teaches a variable speed drive (212) for driving the rotary components of the plurality of pump stages (paragraph 35), and Khazanov teaches a cooling system for pumps; neither teaches cooling the VSD;
Smaadal teaches a pumping system (FIG. 7) including a coolant pump (8a) supplying coolant to a subsea pump (9) and also to a VSD (8b-d) separate from the pump (FIG. 7; paragraph 40);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pumps at the time the invention was filed to supply coolant to the VSD of Brunvold, as suggested by Smaadal, in order to maintain the electronic components at an ideal temperature while reducing parts by using the same circuit as the pump.
Brunvold further teaches:
limitations from claim 5, wherein the variable speed drive (212) is located outside the housing (see FIG. 2);
Regarding Claim 6:
Neither Brunvold nor Khazanov teaches a heat exchanger;
However, Smaadal teaches a cooling system for a pump in which a heat exchanger (4a) is used (paragraph 32);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pumps at the time the invention was filed to provide a heat exchanger in the system of Brunvold as modified by Khazanov, as taught by Smaadal, in order to remove heat from the cooling fluid of the system so that further cooling can occur in the closed loop.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunvold et al (US PGPub No. 2018/0223854) in view of Khazanov et al (US Patent No. 5,616,973) as applied to Claim 1 above, and in further view of EP 2933498 (herein Nishibu).
Brunvold teaches bearings supporting the rotary components (FIG. 6A; paragraph 44); including a radial bearing (612, 614) outward of the axis (300), and an axial bearing (610) outward of said radial bearing; Neither Brunvold nor Khazanov teaches cooling channels to the bearings;
Nishibu teaches:
a rotary machine (1a; FIG. 1) including an impeller (12) and shaft (10a) and supporting bearings (20) for mounting the rotary components; and
limitations from claim 7, wherein the pump system further comprises a further cooling channel (31) configured for cooling the bearings (20), wherein the further cooling channel is fluidly connected to a cooling passage (~40) so as to supply the fluid to the further cooling channel;
limitations from claim 8, wherein the further cooling channel (31) comprises a first further cooling channel extending in an axial direction between the radial bearing of at least one of the pump stages and the longitudinal axis (see FIG. 1 for example, the passage 31 extends axially along shaft 10a);
limitations from claim 9, wherein the further cooling channel further comprises at least one further annular cooling channel (32) extending radially outward from and around the first further cooling channel, the further annular cooling channel being positioned to allow cooling of the bearings;
limitations from claim 10, further comprising a connecting channel configured to deliver fluid from the first further cooling channel to the further annular cooling channel before re-entering the first further cooling channel (see FIG. 5 as annotated below);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pumps at the time the invention was filed to provide cooling/lubrication to the bearings in the pump of Brunvold, as taught by Nishibu, in order to reduce wear and increase functionality and lifetime of the bearings by removing /preventing heat.
Claim(s) 1 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunvold et al (US PGPub No. 2018/0223854) in view of Bergamini et al (US Patent No. 10,294,949).
Brunvold teaches:
limitations from claim 1, a pump system (see pump in FIG. 3 for example) comprising: a longitudinal axis (300); and, a plurality of pump stages (stack 330 including stages formed by respective impeller 350 and diffuser 340 groups, driven by stator 326; paragraph 39), wherein each pump stage comprises: a rotary component (350) mounted for rotation about the longitudinal axis (FIG. 4; paragraph 42); a fluid inlet (302); a fluid outlet (304); and, a main fluid flow path for fluid to flow from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet (conduits 306 to 308; FIG. 3; paragraph 39), the rotary component extending radially into the main fluid flow path (see FIG. 3-4) and being drivable to rotate about the longitudinal axis so as to impart a force to fluid in the main flow path (paragraph 39); wherein the rotary component of each of the plurality of pump stages is separately drivable so as to be able to rotate at a different speed from the rotary components of the other pump stages (paragraph 57-58 teaching different RPMs for different stages; see abstract, paragraph 54 and Claim 17 teaching contra-rotating rotor sections);
Brunvold teaches cooling the pump components using an active cooling including a “special or single” impeller with a non-pumping fluid (i.e. glycol), but does not otherwise teach particular details of the cooling structure;
Bergamini teaches:
a pump system (FIG. 1) including multiple pump stages (13A…13n) driven via an electric motor (31-33); and wherein the pump system further comprising a cooling passage (38), wherein the cooling passage is configured to deliver the fluid to components of the pump stage (C. 15 Lines 12-36), wherein the cooling passage is separate from the main fluid flow path of each of the other pump stages of the plurality of pump stages (see 19 for example, in which passages 38 extend longitudinally parallel to the axis away from the main channel 9, 11);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of pumps at the time the invention was filed to form the active cooling assembly of Brunvold using known components, such as axially extending cooling channels taught by Bergamini, as a matter of design choice in order to cool pump features along the length of the pump. In this case Brunvold teaches an additional pump stage (special impeller), and Bergamini teaches channels with which to disperse the cooling medium.
Brunvold further teaches:
limitations from claim 14, wherein the plurality of pump stages (see pump stack 330 having stages formed by pump components 340, 350) are arranged for sequential flow of the fluid there-through from the fluid inlet of the first pump stage to the fluid outlet of one of the other pump stages (paragraph 39);
Bergamini further teaches:
limitations from claim 15, wherein the fluid outlet of the first pump stage is fluidly connected to the cooling passage such that the first pump stage is configured to supply the fluid to the cooling passage (C. 15 Lines 12-36), and wherein the fluid outlet of the first pump stage is fluidly connected to the main flow paths of the other pump stages of the plurality of pump stages (C. 7 Lines 5-8 teaching that the pumped fluid can be used to cool the machine);
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the combination of Brunvold with either Khazanov or Bergamini, applicant argues:
First, that there is no motivation to include cooling features of either Khazanov or Bergamini in the pump of Brunvold, as “There is no suggestion in the reference that such cooling fins are inadequate for their intended purpose…” and “…to add internal cooling passages…would require a substantial structural redesign and might render the Brunvold system inoperable as intended.” (Page 6 of the response). The examiner notes that Brunvold explicitly suggests that additional cooling may be added to the pump (paragraph 41), and therefore while the fins are not specifically suggested to be inadequate, the addition of alternate or additional cooling structure is suggested. With respect to the redesign of Brunvold, the examiner notes, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case the modifying references each disclose pumps that function (i.e. pump fluid) with a cooling passage as claimed; the examiner maintains that the pump of Brunvold would function normally in a manner suggested by the references, such that a pumping function and a cooling function are combined.
Second, that it is not apparent to one of ordinary skill how to modify the Brunvold design to add the cooling stages of Khazarov or Bergamini without altering function of Brunvold (Page 6-7 of the response). Similar to the above argument: the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Further, the applicant has not expanded on why the prior art could not be combined without destroying the operation of Brunvold. On the other hand, each of the prior art references to Khazanov and Bergamini teach pumps with layered rotor-stator-housing style designs, similar to that of Brunvold.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER S BOBISH/Examiner, Art Unit 3746