DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The below claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 Ln.2: the clause “the thickness” should be amended to recite “a thickness” for antecedent purposes.
Claim 7 Ln.4: it is believed that the clause “a plan view” should be amended to recite “the plan view” since it is believed that it is referring to the same “plan view” recited in line 3 of the claim.
Claim 10 Ln.2: the clause “having a larger thickness” should be amended to recite “having the larger thickness” since claim 3 already provides the antecedent basis for the limitation.
Claim 12 Ln.3: the word “side” in the clause “facing the cut portion side” should be deleted for consistent claim nomenclature.
Claim 15 Ln.4: the clause “on the pressing means side of the recessed member side” should be amended to recite “on a pressing means side of a recessed member side” for antecedent reasons.
Claim 17 Ln.3: the clause “intersecting the second direction” should be amended to recite “intersecting a second direction” for antecedent reasons (i.e., none of claims 1, 15 and 17 provide the antecedent basis for the “second direction).
Claim 18 Ln.3: the clause “the cut portion side” should be amended to recite “a cut portion side” for antecedent reasons (i.e., none of claims 1, 15, and 18 provide the antecedent basis for the “cut portion side”).
Claim 19 Ln.2: the clause “in the second direction” should be amended to recite “in a section direction” for antecedent reasons (i.e., none of claims 1, 15, and 18-19 previously establish the antecedent basis for the “second direction”).
Claim 20 Ln.3: the clause “and the resistor” should be amended to recite “and the heat generation member” since none of claims 1, 15 and 20 provide the antecedent basis for a “resistor”. However, if Applicant wishes to use the resistor, then the Office recommends amending the clause “and the resistor” to recite “and a resistor of the heat generation member”. For the purposes of examination, the clause was interpreted as “and a resistor of the heat generation member”.
Claim 22 Ln.5: the clause “formed of the same member” should be amended to recite “formed of a same member” for antecedent reasons.
Claim 24 Lns.3-4 and 6: the Office asks that Applicant review every instance of the clause “in a plan view” and see if it should recite “in the plan view” (i.e., is the plan view recited in lines 3-4 and 6 of the claim the same plan view as recited in line 3 of the claim?).
The Office notes that the above objections are a non-exhaustive list, and thus requests Applicant’s cooperation with reviewing the claims and correcting ALL remaining informalities present in the claims, but not made of record above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda (TW 202109583)1 in view of Yoneda (WO 2020196294) (Referred to as Yoneda'294) (of record, cited in the IDS, including Original Document)2.
Regarding claim 1, Yoneda discloses (Figs.1, 7-8, 10-11, and [0164]: the features shown in figures 1 and 7-8 can be used with figure 10):
See next page→
A protective element comprising: a fuse element (3) having a cut portion (3c) between a first end portion (3a) and a second end portion (3b) and electrified in a first direction (Figs.1 and 10, and [0051]: the direction from 3a to 3b will define the "first direction") from the first end portion (3a) toward the second end portion (3b); a movable member (10) having a projection portion (10a), and a recessed member (20), having a recessed portion (20a) allowing the projection portion (10a) to be inserted therein ([0084]: "in order to enable insertion of the protruding portion 10a, the recessed portion 20a of the recessed member 20 has an opening (space) that corresponds with the rectangular shape of the protruding por-tion 10a"), which are disposed facing each other such that the cut portion (3c) is sandwiched therebetween (Fig.1: 20a and 10a face each other with 3, and thus also 3c, being provided between 20a and 10a in order for 10a to break through 3c at the overcurrent condition); and a pressing means (30) applying a force so as to shorten a relative distance in a direction in which the cut portion (3c) is sandwiched between the movable member (10) and the recessed member (20) (See Fig.7 and [0051]: 30 applies a force to shorten in a distance in a direction in which 3c is between 10 and 20), wherein the cut portion (3c) is cut due to the force of the pressing means (30) at a temperature equal to or higher than a softening temperature of the fuse element (3) (Figs.1, 7, and 10, [0051], [0066]-[0068], [0112], and [0194]: 30 will provide a cutting force on 10 so that 10a can break 3c at a temperature equal to or higher than a softening temperature of 3).
However, Yoneda does not disclose:
The cut portion of the fuse element has one of or both a penetration hole and a thin portion in at least part thereof.
Yoneda’294 however teaches (Figs.1-3):
See next page→
The cut portion (3C) of the fuse element (3) has one of or both a penetration hole (3Cc) and a thin portion in at least part thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Yoneda'294 to modify the device of Yoneda such that the cut portion of the fuse element has one or both a penetration hole and a thin portion, as claimed, in order to further improve the fuse breaking capabilities (i.e., due to the penetration hole being provided at the cut section, the cut section will heat faster and melt quicker at the overcurrent condition due to the reduced cross-section, and thus making it easier for the movable member to break through the cut section at the overcurrent condition).
Regarding claim 2, Yoneda'294 further teaches:
Wherein largest diameters (diameter of any one of 3Cc) of the penetration hole (3Cc) and the thin portion are smaller (See Figure Below) than a length (W1) of the cut portion (3C) in a second direction (See Figure Below) orthogonal to the first direction (See Figure Below).
See next page→
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Yoneda'294 to further modify modified Yoneda such that that largest diameter of the penetration hole is smaller than a length of the cut portion in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved breaking capabilities as outlined above.
However, the above modification still fails to teach:
Wherein largest diameters of the penetration hole and the thin portion are within a range of 15% to 25% of a length of the cut portion in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
However, modifying the size of the penetration hole such that it has a desired size and diameter, including as claimed (i.e., having a largest diameter being within a range of 15% to 25% of a length of the cut portion in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction), would have been an obvious modification that one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would do in order to achieve the improved breaking capabilities as outlined in claim 1 above, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 3, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein the fuse element (3) has a thick portion (See Figure Below) having a larger thickness (See Figure Below) than a flat surface part (See Figure Below) of the cut portion (3c).
See next page→
However, Yoneda does not disclose:
Wherein the fuse element has a thick portion having a larger thickness than a flat surface part of the cut portion excluding the penetration hole and the thin portion in at least a part other than the cut portion.
However, as outlined in claim 1 above, Yoneda'294 teaches:
The penetration hole (3Cc).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Yoneda'294 to further modify the device of modified Yoneda such that when the penetration hole is incorporated into the device, as modified in claim 1 above, the thick portion of the fuse element has a larger thickness than the flat surface part of the cut portion excluding the penetration hole and the thin portion in at least a part other than the cut portion, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved circuit interruption capabilities as outlined in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, modified Yoneda does not teach:
See next page→
Wherein the thickness of the thick portion is within a range of 150% to 250% with respect to the thickness of the flat surface part of the cut portion.
However, modifying the thickness of the thick portion such that it has a desired thickness, including as claimed (thickness being within a range of 150% to 250% with respect to the thickness of the flat surface part of the cut portion), would have been an obvious modification that one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would do in order to further improve the breaking capabilities of the cut portion (i.e., due to the thickness of the thick portion in relation to the flat surface part, there will be extra weight at the cut portion that will allow the cut portion to separate quicker when broken by the movable member), since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 5, Yoneda further discloses:
A length (Figs.7-8: the length of 40 in the y-direction) of the thick portion (See Figure of Claim 3) in a second direction (Figs.7-8: the y-direction will define the “second direction”, which is orthogonal to the first direction) orthogonal to the first direction (Figs.1 and 10, and [0051]: the direction from 3a to 3b will define the "first direction") and a length (Figs.1 and 7-8: length of 3c in the y-direction) in the second direction (Figs.7-8: the y-direction will define the “second direction”, which is orthogonal to the first direction).
However, modified Yoneda does not disclose:
Wherein a length of the thick portion in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction is longer than a length of the cut portion in the second direction.
However, modifying the length of the thick portion such that it has a desired length (i.e., modify the heat generation member (40) of Yoneda so that it is longer than the fuse element (3) of Yoneda in the second direction), including as claimed (i.e., length of the thick portion in the second direction being longer than a length of the cut portion in the second direction), would have been an obvious modification that one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would do in order to further improve the breaking of the cut portion (i.e., the increased length of the thick portion as a result of increasing the length of the heat generation member in the second direction will allow the heat generation member to heat across a greater area of the device, and thus further improve heating of the fuse element), since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 6, modified Yoneda does not teach:
See next page→
Wherein the length of the thick portion in the second direction is within a range of 120% to 160% with respect to the length of the cut portion in the second direction.
However, modifying the length of the thick portion such that it has a desired length, including as claimed (i.e., the length of the thick portion in the second direction being within a range of 120% to 160% with respect to the length of the cut portion in the second direction), would have been an obvious modification that one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would do in order to achieve the improved breaking as outlined in claim 5 above, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 7, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein the cut portion (3c) is disposed on an inward side of the recessed portion (20a) of the recessed member (20) in a plan view and is disposed at a position close to an inner surface of the recessed portion (20a) of the recessed member (20) in a plan view (Figs.1, 7 and 10-11, and [0067]: in a top plan view, 3c with be on an inward side of 20a of 20 at a position close to an inner surface of 20a of 20).
Regarding claim 8, the relied upon embodiment of Yoneda does not explicitly disclose:
See next page→
Wherein the fuse element is a laminate having an inner layer made of a low-melting point metal and an outer layer made of a high-melting point metal.
However, Yoneda presents a second embodiment that teaches (Fig.3a):
Wherein the fuse element (3AA) is a laminate (See Fig.3a) having an inner layer (3Aa) made of a low-melting point metal ([0079]) and an outer layer made (3Ab) of a high-melting point metal ([0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the second embodiment of Yoneda to further modify modified Yoneda such that the fuse element is a laminate having an inner layer made of a low-melting point metal and an outer layer made of a high-melting point metal, as claimed, in order to provide an improved fuse element structure as taught by Yoneda ([0069]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 9, the second embodiment of Yoneda further teaches:
Wherein the low-melting point metal (3Aa) is constituted of Sn or a metal having Sn as a main component (Low-Melting Point Metal being made of SN or SN being a Main Component: [0074]), and the high-melting point metal (3Ab) is constituted of Ag or Cu or a metal having Ag or Cu as a main component (High-Melting Point Metal being Ag/Cu or Ag/Cu being the Main Component: [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of the second embodiment of Yoneda to further modify the device of modified Yoneda such that the low-melting point metal is constituted of Sn or a metal having Sn as a main component, and such that the high-melting point metal is constituted of Ag or Cu or a metal having Ag or Cu as a main component, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved fuse element structure as outlined in claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 10, modified Yoneda does not teach:
Wherein part of the thick portion having a larger thickness than the flat surface part of the cut portion is constituted of Sn or a metal having Sn as a main component, or Ag or Cu or a metal having Ag or Cu as a main component.
However, Yoneda presents a second embodiment that teaches (Fig.3a):
The fuse element (3AA) having a portion (3Aa) that is constituted of Sn or a metal having Sn as a main component (Low-Melting Point Metal being made of SN or SN being a Main Component: [0074]), or a portion (3Ab) that is constituted of Ag or Cu or a metal having Ag or Cu as a main component (High-Melting Point Metal being Ag/Cu or Ag/Cu being the Main Component: [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of the second embodiment of Yoneda to further modify the device of modified Yoneda such that the fuse is made out of Sn or a metal having Sn as a main component and Ag or Cu or a metal having Ag or Cu as a main component, so that part of the thick portion that has the larger thickness than the flat surface part of the cut portion is constituted of Sn or a metal having Sn as a main component, or Ag or Cu or a metal having Ag or Cu as a main component, as claimed, in order to provide an improved fuse element structure as taught by Yoneda ([0069]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 11, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein the pressing means (30) is a spring (See Figs.7 and 10: 30 is a spring).
Regarding claim 13, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein the projection portion (10a) of the movable member (10) is disposed at a position where an outer circumference (Fig.7: outer circumference of 10a) overlaps at least part of an area on an inward side of the recessed portion (20a) of the recessed member (20) in a plan view (Figs.7 and 10-11: in a top plan view of the device, 10a will overlap with at least part of an area on an inner/inward side of 20a of 20), and when the cut portion (3c) is cut, the projection portion (10a) is inserted into the recessed portion (20a) (Figs.7 and 10-11, [0067], [0084], and [0089]: 10a will be inserted into 20a when 3c is cut).
Regarding claim 14, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein a first terminal (1) is electrically connected (See Fig.7) to the first end portion (3a), and a second terminal (2) is electrically connected (See Fig.7) to the second end portion (3b).
Regarding claim 15, Yoneda further discloses:
A heat generation member (40) disposed in contact with or disposed at a position close to the cut portion (3c) on the pressing means side (3A) or the recessed member side (3B) of the fuse element (3) (Fig.7: 40 is in contact with 3c on the 3B of 3).
Regarding claim 16, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein the heat generation member (40) is disposed on an inward side of the recessed portion (20a) of the recessed member (20) in a plan view (Fig.7: in a top or bottom plan view, 40 will be disposed on an inward side of 20a of 20).
Regarding claim 17, modified Yoneda does not teach:
Wherein a length of the heat generation member in the first direction is shorter than a length of the recessed portion in a third direction intersecting the second direction intersecting the first direction and the first direction.
However, modifying the length of the heat generation member in the first direction and/or a length of the recessed portion such that they have a desired length, including as claimed (i.e., length of the heat generation member in the first direction being shorter than a length of the recessed portion in a third direction that intersects the second direction intersecting the first direction and the first direction), would have been an obvious modification that one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would do in order to provide a compact heat generation member that can still effectively heat the cut portion while also providing a recessed portion that can fit the full length of the projection portion, and thus ensure that the cut portion is completely cut at the overcurrent condition and thus achieve the improved circuit protection capabilities disclosed by Yoneda ([0022]), since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 18, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein the heat generation member (40) has a resistor (41) ([0170]: "The heat-generating body 41 is formed from a material having conductivity that generates heat upon current flow, such as nichrome, W, Mo or Ru or the like, or a material containing one of these metals"- any one or more nichrome, W, Mo and Ru can be considered to be a resistor), and the resistor (41) is disposed close to the cut portion side (upper surface of 40) of the heat generation member (40) (Figs.7-8: in the assembled state, 42 will be disposed close to the upper surface of 40, which defines the "cut portion side", in order to heat 3 at 3c).
Regarding claim 19, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein the resistor (41) is in contact (Figs.7-8: 41 will be at least in indirect contact with 3 in order to heat 3) with the fuse element (3) in the second direction (Figs.7-8: 41 will extend in a direction that intersects with the "first direction", and that direction will define the "second direction") intersecting the first direction (Figs.1 and 10, and [0051]: the direction from 3a to 3b will define the "first direction") or is in contact (Figs.7-8: 41 will be at least in indirect contact with 3 in order to heat 3) with the fuse element (3) in the second direction (Figs.7-8: 41 will extend in a direction that intersects with the "first direction", and that direction will define the "second direction") intersecting the first direction via the heat generation member (40).
Regarding claim 20, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein the heat generation member (40) is electrically connected ([0182]) to a third terminal (5) or the third terminal and a fourth terminal through a power supply member (45a and/or b), and the resistor (41) ([0170]: "The heat-generating body 41 is formed from a material having conductivity that generates heat upon current flow, such as nichrome, W, Mo or Ru or the like, or a material containing one of these metals"- any one or more nichrome, W, Mo and Ru can be considered to be a resistor) generates heat due to electrification via the power supply member (45a and/or b) (Figs.7-8 and 10, and [0182]-[0183]: 41 gets heated via 45a being connected to 5).
Regarding claim 21, Yoneda further discloses:
A case (60) constituted of a plurality of members (60A and B) in which at least the fuse element (3), the movable member (10), the recessed portion (20a) of the recessed member (20), and the pressing means (30) are accommodated (See Fig.10), wherein the pressing means (30) is accommodated inside (See Figs.10-11) the case (60) in a state in which a force is applied such that a relative distance in a direction in which the cut portion (3c) is sandwiched between the movable member (10) and the recessed member (20) is shortened (See Fig.10: in the assembled state, 30 is within 60 and a force is applied to 30 in a way that the distance of 30 is shortened due to 30 being compressed in a direction, i.e., a vertical direction, in which 3c is sandwiched between 10 and 20).
Regarding claim 22, Yoneda further discloses:
An extension/contraction direction (Fig.7: the vertical direction that 30 compresses and actuates will define the “extension/contraction direction” of 30) of the pressing means (30).
However, Yoneda does not disclose:
Wherein one member of the case has an accommodation portion in which a first inner wall surface and a second inner wall surface facing each other in an extension/contraction direction of the pressing means and side wall surfaces connecting the first inner wall surface and the second inner wall surface are integrally formed of the same member, and in a state in which the fuse element is not cut, stress inside the case occurring due to the pressing means is supported and held by the first inner wall surface, the side wall surfaces, and the second inner wall surface in a clamp shape.
Yoneda’294 however further teaches:
Wherein one member (4A) of the case (4) has an accommodation portion (inner space of 4A) in which a first inner wall surface (4a) and a second inner wall surface (4b) facing each other in a vertical direction (Fig.3: 4a and 4b will face each other in a vertical direction) and side wall surfaces (Fig.3: the sidewalls of 4A that connect 4a to 4b) connecting the first inner wall surface (4a) and the second inner wall surface (4b) are integrally formed of the same member (Figs.1 and 3: 4A is a singular piece made from a single material, and thus the first inner wall surface, second inner wall surface, and the side wall surfaces will also be made out of the same material/member) and in a state in which the fuse element (3) is not cut (See Fig.3a), the fuse (3) held by the first inner wall surface (3a), the side wall surfaces (Fig.3: the sidewalls of 4A that connect 4a to 4b), and the second inner wall surface (4b) in a clamp shape (See Figs.1-3: in the assembled state, 4A will be coupled to 4B in order to hold the fuse in a clamped fashion, and thus held in a clamped shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Yoneda’294 to further modify the device of modified Yoneda such that the case has one member that has an accommodation portion which has a first inner wall surface, a second inner wall surface that faces the first inner wall surface in the extension/contraction direction of the pressing means, and side wall surfaces that connect the first inner wall surface and the second inner wall surface so that the first inner wall surface, second inner wall surface, and side wall surfaces are integrally formed of a same member and arranged such that in a state in which the fuse element is not cut, stress inside the case occurring due to the pressing means is supported and held by the first inner wall surface, the side wall surfaces, and the second inner wall surface in a clamp shape, as claimed, in order to further improve the mechanical integrity of the case (i.e., due to the case having members that connect to each other in a side-by-side manner instead of in a vertical manner, the case will now form a seam that will better ensure that the case does not separate when the pressing means is in either the compressed or uncompressed state, especially in the uncompressed state).
Regarding claim 23, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein the recessed member (20) and the case (60) are made of nylon or ceramics ([0110] and [0185]: 20 and 60 can be made out of a ceramic).
Regarding claim 24, Yoneda further discloses:
Wherein the cut portion (3c) is disposed inside the recessed portion (20a) of the recessed member (20) in a plan view (Fig.7 and [0067]: in a top plan view, 3c will be inside 20a) and is disposed at a position close to an inner surface (inner surface of 20a) of the recessed portion (20a) in a plan view (Fig.7: in the top plan view, 3c will be at a position that is proximate/close to an inner surface of 20a), the movable member (10) is at a position where an outer circumference (outer circumference of 10a) overlaps at least part of an area on an inward side of the recessed portion (20a) in a plan view (Fig.7: in the top plan view, 10a and 10will overlap with 20a, and will thus overlap with at least a part of an area on an inward side of 20a, especially since the construction of 10a relative to 20a is similar to Applicant’s invention), and the projection portion (10a) is disposed at a position overlapping part of the cut portion (3c) (Fig.7, [0051], and [0111]-[0112]: 10a will overlap with 3c in order to allow 3c to be broken at the overcurrent condition), and when the cut portion (3c) of the fuse element (3) is cut, the projection portion (10a) is inserted into the recessed portion (20a) (Fig.7, [0084], and [0089]: when actuated by 30, 10a will break through 3 and will be inserted into 20a).
However, the relied upon embodiment of Yoneda does not explicitly disclose:
Part of the fuse element is accommodated inside the recessed portion in a bent manner.
Yoneda however presents another embodiment that teaches (Fig.12):
Part of the fuse element (3) is accommodated inside the recessed portion (20a) in a bent manner (Figs.12a-b: in order for 40 to be provided in a bent configuration as shown in figure 12b, that would have to mean that 3 is also provided in 20a in a bent manner as well, otherwise 40 would just drop to the bottom of 20a since 40 is secured to 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of the additional embodiment of Yoneda to further modify the device of modified Yoneda such that part of the fuse element is accommodated inside the recessed portion in a bent manner in order to further optimize the circuit interruption means (i.e., due to the fuse element bending when 10a cuts through 3, one will only have to worry about electrical arc being formed at one end portion as opposed to two opposite ends if 3 were to be completely cut on both ends of the cut portion).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneda (TW 202109583)3 and Yoneda (WO 2020196294) (Referred to as Yoneda'294) (of record, cited in the IDS, including Original Document)4 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ruggiero (US 5355110).
Regarding claim 12, modified Yoneda does not teach:
Wherein the spring is a conical spring and is disposed with a side having a smaller outer diameter facing the cut portion side.
Ruggiero however teaches (Fig.5):
Wherein the spring (28) is a conical spring (Col.6 Lns.42-43) and having a side (Fig.5: side of 28 that has 46) having a smaller outer diameter (46).
See next page→
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Ruggiero to further modify the device of modified Yoneda such that the spring is a conical spring that is disposed with a side having a smaller outer diameter facing the cut portion side, as claimed, in order to further improve the force production of the spring, and thus improve the actuation of the movable member (i.e., due to the use of a conical spring, the spring can be compressed even more due to the smaller outer diameter allowing the spring to be further compressed, and thus allowing the spring to exert a larger force on the movable member when actuated).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 11996252: teaches a conductor that is broken and forms an arc by bending due to a punch cutting through the conductor.
US 11972917: teaches a circuit breaker that has a thin portion at a cut portion of a conductor.
US 20230154715: teaches a fuse with a penetration hole so that the fuse melts in an area where the penetration hole is provided.
US 11437210: teaches a circuit breaker that has a conductor that has a thin portion that is bent when cut through by a movable member.
US 20210183605: teaches a heater that heats a fuse and the heater having a resistor.
US 20130057382: teaches the use of a conical compression spring.
US 6194988: teaches a circuit breaker that has a fuse that is actuated by a punch that severs the fuse via a spring.
/STEPHEN S SUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 Examiner’s Note: refer to US 20220084773 (of record, cited in the IDS) for translation and for all paragraph citations.
2 Examiner’s Note: refer to US 20220199346 (of record, cited in the IDS) for translation and for all paragraph citations.
3 Examiner’s Note: refer to US 20220084773 (of record, cited in the IDS) for translation and for all paragraph citations.
4 Examiner’s Note: refer to US 20220199346 (of record, cited in the IDS) for translation and for all paragraph citations.