DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2012/0227372) in view of Pang (US 2014/0033676).
Regarding independent claim 1, Li discloses a combined cycle power plant (CCPP) (Fig. 3) comprising:
a gas turbine 30 (Para. 0053, Fig. 3);
a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) 39 (Para. 0053);
a steam utilization system 12 (CO2 Capture System); and
a steam turbine system 14, 15 (Fig. 3, Para. 0044-45) comprising:
at least one of a high pressure steam turbine 24, an intermediate pressure steam turbine 25, and a low pressure steam turbine 26 (Para. 0046, Fig. 3); and
a non-condensing steam turbine 27 (a “back pressure steam turbine”, Para. 0047; since this turbine delivers steam to a second low pressure turbine 28, the steam turbine 27 is therefore a “non-condensing steam turbine” since it does not serve to condense the steam flow therethrough) having an inlet 10 fluidly coupled to the HRSG 39 (Fig. 3 via an HRSG outlet line as shown) and an outlet 11c directly fluidly coupled to the steam utilization system 12 (Fig. 1, the non-condensing steam turbine is directly fluidly connected to the CO2 carbon capture system 12 along line 11c via valve 42, Para. 0049, “Typically a large amount of thermal energy is required by the CO2 capture system 12 for its regeneration unit. This is supplied to the CO2 capture system as low-pressure steam 11c from the back pressure steam turbine 27”; note, the term “steam utilization system” is very broad and could encompass any number of components or assemblage of components that receive the steam from the non-condensing steam turbine; in this case, the CO2 carbon capture system 12, and the capture system control valve 42 that controls the steam flow to the capture system 12, could be construed as being a part of a broader “steam utilization system”).
Li fails to disclose the HRSG having a superheater fluidly connected to a finishing reheater; and wherein the non-condensing steam turbine is configured to receive steam from the superheater, the finishing reheater, and the high pressure steam turbine.
Pang teaches a CCPP 100 (Fig. 1), including a HRSG 101, wherein the HRSG 101 comprises a superheater 119 (intermediate pressure superheater, para. 0027) fluidly coupled to a finishing reheater 114 (Fig. 1, via the line 141 connecting the superheater to line 138 feeding steam to the primary reheater 115 and finishing reheater 114 as shown, Para. 0027, 0031). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Li in view of Pang to include a superheater fluidly coupled to a finishing reheater, as taught by Pang, in order to provide intermediate pressure steam generated in a HRSG intermediate pressure superheater along with steam discharged by the high pressure steam turbine as a combined steam feed, the combined feed being reheated in primary and finishing reheaters and subsequently delivered to the intermediate pressure steam turbine (Pang Para. 0027), thereby improving the efficiency of the CCPP by utilizing the gas turbine exhaust to generate/reheat steam. Use of reheaters (including primary and finishing reheaters) to reheat steam for delivery into intermediate pressure steam turbine stages are also well-known in the art (see for further example, previously cited Martindale US 2016/0319702; Hirayama US 2017/0268383; Nishikawa US 2018/0371917). Based on the teachings of at least Pang, one skilled in the art would know to incorporate the primary and finishing reheater arrangement of Pang to the HRSG of Li, as an obvious extension of prior art teachings to achieve a predictable result (i.e. reheating steam for the intermediate pressure steam turbine).
Li in view of Pang still fails to teach wherein the non-condensing steam turbine is configured to receive steam from the superheater, the finishing reheater, and the high pressure steam turbine.
Li does teach an outlet line from the HRSG that delivers steam to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 25; and a first supply line branching therefrom leading to the inlet of the non-condensing steam turbine 27 (Li Fig. 3, the first supply line having the valve 38); and wherein an intermediate pressure supply line extends from the outlet line of the HRSG to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 25 (Li Fig. 3).
Pang teaches the finishing reheater having an outlet line 127 that is fluidly coupled to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 108 (Pang Fig. 1, Para. 0027, “Reheated steam 127 can then be fed directly into the intermediate pressure section 108 of the steam turbine using control valve 128 via intermediate pressure feed line 129”); and an intermediate pressure supply line 129 extends from the outlet line 127 of the finishing reheater 114 to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 108 (Pang Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Li in view of Pang such that the outlet line of the HRSG is an outlet line of the finishing reheater, as taught by Pang, in order to provide the reheated steam from the finishing reheater to the intermediate pressure steam turbine, and consequently, the non-condensing steam turbine which is also connected to the same outlet line as shown in Li Fig. 3. Based on the incorporated arrangement of the finishing reheater from Pang as discussed in claim 2 above, the first supply line shown in Li Fig. 3 leading to the non-condensing steam turbine would be connected to the outlet line of the finishing reheater, since the non-condensing steam turbine of Li receives steam from the same outlet of the HRSG as the intermediate pressure steam turbine. The intermediate pressure supply line of Li would similarly be connected to the outlet line of the incorporated finishing reheater of the HRSG.
Since the finishing reheater receives steam from the incorporated superheater of Pang, as well as from the high pressure steam turbine (based on the connections taught in Pang), the non-condensing steam turbine would therefore be receiving steam directly from the finishing reheater, said steam coming from the superheater and high pressure steam turbine and passing through the finishing reheater (the claim does not require the steam be received directly from each of the finishing reheater, superheater, and high pressure steam turbine; since the same steam passing from the high pressure steam turbine and superheater passes through the finishing reheater, it can be construed as being the same steam being delivered to the non-condensing steam turbine).
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 1 thus far, but fails to disclose wherein the HRSG further comprises a primary reheater fluidly coupled to the finishing reheater via a reheater connection line.
Pang teaches a CCPP 100 (Fig. 1), including a HRSG 101, wherein the HRSG 101 comprises a primary reheater 115 fluidly coupled to a finishing reheater 114 via a reheater connection line (Fig. 1, the line connecting the primary reheater to the finishing reheater as shown, Para. 0027, 0031).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Li in view of Pang, the primary reheater fluidly coupled to the finishing reheater via a reheater connection line, as taught by Pang, in order to provided staged reheat high pressure steam from the high pressure steam turbine and intermediate pressure steam from the superheater using exhaust gas from the gas turbine, thereby improving the efficiency of the CCPP (Para. 0027, 0031).
Regarding claim 3, 4 & 5, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 2, and Li further teaches wherein the inlet of the non-condensing steam turbine 27 is fluidly coupled to the HRSG via an outlet line of the HRSG (Fig. 3).
Li in view of Pang thus far fails to teach the non-condensing steam turbine is fluidly coupled to the finishing reheater and the outlet line is of the finishing reheater; and wherein a first supply line extends from the outlet line of the finishing reheater to the inlet of the non-condensing steam turbine; and wherein an intermediate pressure supply line extends from the outlet line of the finishing reheater to the intermediate pressure steam turbine.
Li does teach an outlet line from the HRSG that delivers steam to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 25; and a first supply line branching therefrom leading to the inlet of the non-condensing steam turbine 27 (Li Fig. 3, the first supply line having the valve 38); and wherein an intermediate pressure supply line extends from the outlet line of the HRSG to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 25 (Li Fig. 3).
Pang teaches the finishing reheater having an outlet line 127 that is fluidly coupled to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 108 (Pang Fig. 1, Para. 0027, “Reheated steam 127 can then be fed directly into the intermediate pressure section 108 of the steam turbine using control valve 128 via intermediate pressure feed line 129”); and an intermediate pressure supply line 129 extends from the outlet line 127 of the finishing reheater 114 to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 108 (Pang Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Li in view of Pang such that the outlet line of the HRSG is an outlet line of the finishing reheater, as taught by Pang, in order to provide the reheated steam from the finishing reheater to the intermediate pressure steam turbine, and consequently, the non-condensing steam turbine which is also connected to the same outlet line as shown in Li Fig. 3. Based on the incorporated arrangement of the finishing reheater from Pang as discussed in claim 2 above, the first supply line shown in Li Fig. 3 leading to the non-condensing steam turbine would be connected to the outlet line of the finishing reheater, since the non-condensing steam turbine of Li receives steam from the same outlet of the HRSG as the intermediate pressure steam turbine. The intermediate pressure supply line of Li would similarly be connected to the outlet line of the incorporated finishing reheater of the HRSG.
Regarding claim 6, 7, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 4, but fails to teach wherein the HRSG includes a superheater having a first outlet line that extends to a main supply line; and wherein the high pressure steam turbine includes a second outlet line that extends to the main supply line; and wherein a bypass line extends from the main intermediate pressure supply line to the reheater connection line.
Pang teaches wherein the HRSG 101 includes a superheater 119 (intermediate pressure superheater) having a first outlet line 141 that extends to a main supply line 138 (Fig. 1, Para. 0027); and wherein the high pressure steam turbine 107 includes a second outlet line 132 that extends to the main supply line 138 (Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Li in view of Pang to include a superheater with first outlet line extending to a main supply line, with the high pressure steam turbine having a second outlet line extending to the main supply line, as taught by Pang, in order to provide intermediate pressure steam generated in a HRSG intermediate pressure superheater and steam discharged by the high pressure steam turbine as a combined steam feed to the primary and finishing reheaters (Pang Para. 0027), thereby improving the efficiency of the HRSG by using the gas turbine exhaust to reheat the combined steam feed before delivery to the intermediate pressure and non-condensing steam turbines.
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the steam utilization system is fluidly coupled to a low pressure superheater.
Pang teaches the HRSG including a low pressure superheater 120 that feeds low pressure steam to the low pressure steam turbine 109 (Para. 0026, 0032).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Li in view of Pang, a low pressure superheater of the HRSG that feeds the low pressure steam turbine, as taught by Pang in order to provide a superheater that can generate low pressure steam from the exhaust gas of the gas turbine, the low pressure steam suitable for driving the low pressure steam turbine along with steam discharged from the intermediate pressure steam turbine (Pang Para. 0026, 0032), thereby improving efficiency of the HRSG and steam turbine system. By incorporating a low pressure superheater into the HRSG as taught by Pang, the steam utilization system 12 of Li would therefore be fluidly coupled to the low pressure superheater through the HRSG outlet line 37 that feeds the low pressure steam to the low pressure steam turbine (via line 11a), and the line 19 and 13 (i.e. the low pressure steam turbine discharge is delivered to the steam utilization system 12 as shown in Fig. 3). The claim does not require the low pressure superheater is directly fluidly coupled to the steam utilization system.
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 1, and Li further teaches wherein the steam utilization system 12 is a carbon capture system (“CO2 capture system” (CCS), Para. 0044, 0048-49, Para. 0003, “Since CO2 (carbon dioxide) is identified as a main greenhouse gas, CCS (carbon capture and storage) is considered one potential major means to reduce the release of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere and to control global warming. In this context CCS is defined as the process of CO2 capture, compression, transport and storage”).
Regarding independent claim 11, Li discloses a combined cycle power plant (CCPP) comprising:
a gas turbine 30 (Para. 0053, Fig. 3);
a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) 39 (Para. 0053);
a steam utilization system 12 (CO2 Capture System); and
a steam turbine system 14, 15 (Fig. 3, Para. 0044-45) comprising:
one or more shafts (Fig. 3, the shaft shared by turbines 24, 25, 26 and generator 5, and the shaft shared by turbines 27, 28 and generator 45);
a high pressure steam turbine 24, an intermediate pressure steam turbine 25, and a low pressure steam turbine 26 (Para. 0046, Fig. 3) disposed on the one or more shafts; and
a non-condensing steam turbine 27 (a “back pressure steam turbine”, Para. 0047; since this turbine delivers steam to a second low pressure turbine 28, the steam turbine 27 is therefore a “non-condensing steam turbine” since it does not serve to condense the steam flow therethrough) disposed on the one or more shafts and having an inlet 10 fluidly coupled to the HRSG 39 and an outlet 11c directly fluidly coupled to the steam utilization system 12 (Fig. 1, the non-condensing steam turbine is directly fluidly connected to the CO2 carbon capture system 12 along line 11c when valve 42 is open, Para. 0049, “Typically a large amount of thermal energy is required by the CO2 capture system 12 for its regeneration unit. This is supplied to the CO2 capture system as low-pressure steam 11c from the back pressure steam turbine 27”; note, the term “steam utilization system” is very broad and could encompass any number of components or assemblage of components that receive the steam from the non-condensing steam turbine; in this case, the CO2 carbon capture system 12, and the capture system control valve 42 that controls the steam flow to the capture system 12, could be construed as being a part of a broader “steam utilization system”).
Li fails to disclose the HRSG having a superheater fluidly connected to a finishing reheater; and wherein the non-condensing steam turbine is configured to receive steam from the superheater, the finishing reheater, and the high pressure steam turbine.
Pang teaches a CCPP 100 (Fig. 1), including a HRSG 101, wherein the HRSG 101 comprises a superheater 119 (intermediate pressure superheater, para. 0027) fluidly coupled to a finishing reheater 114 (Fig. 1, via the line 141 connecting the superheater to line 138 feeding steam to the primary reheater 115 and finishing reheater 114 as shown, Para. 0027, 0031). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Li in view of Pang to include a superheater fluidly coupled to a finishing reheater, as taught by Pang, in order to provide intermediate pressure steam generated in a HRSG intermediate pressure superheater along with steam discharged by the high pressure steam turbine as a combined steam feed, the combined feed being reheated in primary and finishing reheaters and subsequently delivered to the intermediate pressure steam turbine (Pang Para. 0027), thereby improving the efficiency of the CCPP by utilizing the gas turbine exhaust to generate/reheat steam. Use of reheaters (including primary and finishing reheaters) to reheat steam for delivery into intermediate pressure steam turbine stages are also well-known in the art (see for further example, Martindale US 2016/0319702; Hirayama US 2017/0268383; Nishikawa US 2018/0371917). Based on the teachings of at least Pang, one skilled in the art would know to incorporate the primary and finishing reheater arrangement of Pang to the HRSG of Li, as an obvious extension of prior art teachings to achieve a predictable result (i.e. reheating steam for the intermediate pressure steam turbine).
Li in view of Pang still fails to teach wherein the non-condensing steam turbine is configured to receive steam from the superheater, the finishing reheater, and the high pressure steam turbine.
Li does teach an outlet line from the HRSG that delivers steam to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 25; and a first supply line branching therefrom leading to the inlet of the non-condensing steam turbine 27 (Li Fig. 3, the first supply line having the valve 38); and wherein an intermediate pressure supply line extends from the outlet line of the HRSG to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 25 (Li Fig. 3).
Pang teaches the finishing reheater having an outlet line 127 that is fluidly coupled to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 108 (Pang Fig. 1, Para. 0027, “Reheated steam 127 can then be fed directly into the intermediate pressure section 108 of the steam turbine using control valve 128 via intermediate pressure feed line 129”); and an intermediate pressure supply line 129 extends from the outlet line 127 of the finishing reheater 114 to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 108 (Pang Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Li in view of Pang such that the outlet line of the HRSG is an outlet line of the finishing reheater, as taught by Pang, in order to provide the reheated steam from the finishing reheater to the intermediate pressure steam turbine, and consequently, the non-condensing steam turbine which is also connected to the same outlet line as shown in Li Fig. 3. Based on the incorporated arrangement of the finishing reheater from Pang as discussed in claim 2 above, the first supply line shown in Li Fig. 3 leading to the non-condensing steam turbine would be connected to the outlet line of the finishing reheater, since the non-condensing steam turbine of Li receives steam from the same outlet of the HRSG as the intermediate pressure steam turbine. The intermediate pressure supply line of Li would similarly be connected to the outlet line of the incorporated finishing reheater of the HRSG. Since the finishing reheater receives steam from the incorporated superheater of Pang, as well as from the high pressure steam turbine (based on the connections taught in Pang), the non-condensing steam turbine would therefore be receiving steam directly from the finishing reheater, and steam from the superheater and high pressure steam turbine through the finishing reheater (the claim does not require the steam be received directly from each of the finishing reheater, superheater, and high pressure steam turbine).
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein the HRSG further comprises a primary reheater fluidly coupled to the finishing reheater via a reheater connection line.
Pang teaches a CCPP 100 (Fig. 1), including a HRSG 101, wherein the HRSG 101 comprises a primary reheater 115 fluidly coupled to a finishing reheater 114 via a reheater connection line (Fig. 1, the line connecting the primary reheater to the finishing reheater as shown, Para. 0027, 0031).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Li, the primary reheater fluidly coupled to the finishing reheater via a reheater connection line, as taught by Pang, in order to provided staged reheat high pressure steam from the high pressure steam turbine and intermediate pressure steam from the superheater using exhaust gas from the gas turbine, thereby improving the efficiency of the CCPP (Para. 0027, 0031).
Regarding claim 13, 14 & 15, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 12, and Pang further teaches wherein the inlet of the non-condensing steam turbine 27 is fluidly coupled to the HRSG via an outlet line of the HRSG.
Li in view of Pang thus far fails to teach the non-condensing steam turbine is fluidly coupled to the finishing reheater and the outlet line is of the finishing reheater; and wherein a first supply line extends from the outlet line of the finishing reheater to the inlet of the non-condensing steam turbine; and wherein an intermediate pressure supply line extends from the outlet line of the finishing reheater to the intermediate pressure steam turbine.
Li does teach an outlet line from the HRSG that delivers steam to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 25; and a first supply line branching therefrom leading to the inlet of the non-condensing steam turbine 27 (Li Fig. 3, the first supply line having the valve 38); and wherein an intermediate pressure supply line extends from the outlet line of the HRSG to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 25 (Li Fig. 3).
Pang teaches the finishing reheater having an outlet line 127 that is fluidly coupled to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 108 (Pang Fig. 1, Para. 0027, “Reheated steam 127 can then be fed directly into the intermediate pressure section 108 of the steam turbine using control valve 128 via intermediate pressure feed line 129”); and an intermediate pressure supply line 129 extends from the outlet line 127 of the finishing reheater 114 to the intermediate pressure steam turbine 108 (Pang Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Li in view of Pang such that the outlet line of the HRSG is an outlet line of the finishing reheater, as taught by Pang, in order to provide the reheated steam from the finishing reheater to the intermediate pressure steam turbine, and consequently, the non-condensing steam turbine which is also connected to the same outlet line as shown in Li Fig. 3. Based on the incorporated arrangement of the finishing reheater from Pang as discussed in claim 2 above, the first supply line shown in Li Fig. 3 leading to the non-condensing steam turbine would be connected to the outlet line of the finishing reheater, since the non-condensing steam turbine of Li receives steam from the same outlet of the HRSG as the intermediate pressure steam turbine. The intermediate pressure supply line of Li would similarly be connected to the outlet line of the incorporated finishing reheater of the HRSG.
Regarding claim 16, 17, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 14, but fails to teach wherein the HRSG includes a superheater having a first outlet line that extends to a main supply line; and wherein the high pressure steam turbine includes a second outlet line that extends to the main supply line; and wherein a bypass line extends from the main intermediate pressure supply line to the reheater connection line.
Pang teaches wherein the HRSG 101 includes a superheater 119 (intermediate pressure superheater) having a first outlet line 141 that extends to a main supply line 138 (Fig. 1, Para. 0027); and wherein the high pressure steam turbine 107 includes a second outlet line 132 that extends to the main supply line 138 (Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Li in view of Pang to include a superheater with first outlet line extending to a main supply line, with the high pressure steam turbine having a second outlet line extending to the main supply line, as taught by Pang, in order to provide intermediate pressure steam generated in a HRSG intermediate pressure superheater and steam discharged by the high pressure steam turbine as a combined steam feed to the primary and finishing reheaters (Pang Para. 0027), thereby improving the efficiency of the HRSG by using the gas turbine exhaust to reheat the combined steam feed before delivery to the intermediate pressure and non-condensing steam turbines.
Regarding claim 19, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 11, but fails to teach wherein the steam utilization system is fluidly coupled to a low pressure superheater.
Pang teaches the HRSG including a low pressure superheater 120 that feeds low pressure steam to the low pressure steam turbine 109 (Para. 0026, 0032).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Li in view of Pang, a low pressure superheater of the HRSG that feeds the low pressure steam turbine, as taught by Pang in order to provide a superheater that can generate low pressure steam from the exhaust gas of the gas turbine, the low pressure steam suitable for driving the low pressure steam turbine along with steam discharged from the intermediate pressure steam turbine (Pang Para. 0026, 0032), thereby improving efficiency of the HRSG and steam turbine system. By incorporating a low pressure superheater into the HRSG as taught by Pang, the steam utilization system 12 of Li would therefore be fluidly coupled to the low pressure superheater through the HRSG outlet line 37 that feeds the low pressure steam to the low pressure steam turbine (via line 11a), and the line 19 and 13 (i.e. the low pressure steam turbine discharge is delivered to the steam utilization system 12 as shown in Fig. 3). The claim does not require the low pressure superheater is directly fluidly coupled to the steam utilization system.
Regarding claim 21, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the high pressure steam turbine, the intermediate pressure steam turbine, the low pressure steam turbine, and the non-condensing steam turbine are disposed on a common shaft.
Li teaches separate embodiments of a CCPP 2 (Fig. 4 & 5) wherein all of the steam turbine arrangements 14, 15 are on a common shaft to drive a single generator (Para. 0029, 0056-59; Fig 4 shows the non-condensing steam turbine integrated with the intermediate pressure turbine 25, Para. 0056; Fig. 5 shows a modified system with two low pressure turbines).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Li in view of Pang such that the high pressure steam turbine, the intermediate pressure steam turbine, the low pressure steam turbine, and the non-condensing steam turbine are disposed on a common shaft, in order to use the steam turbines to drive a single generator (Li Para. 0029, 0056-59). While Li does not teach specifically an embodiment where all of high pressure steam turbine, the intermediate pressure steam turbine, the low pressure steam turbine, and the non-condensing steam turbine are disposed on a common shaft (the embodiments of Li Fig. 4 & 5 integrate the non-condensing steam turbine into the intermediate pressure turbine), based on the general teachings of aligning all the steam turbines on a single shafting, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to have all the steam turbines on a common shaft in order to utilized their shared power output to drive a single load, such as a generator, if so desired, as an obvious extension of prior art teachings, utilizing a known technique in the art (i.e. utilizing a common shaft instead of multiple shafts) to achieve a predictable result (having a single power output instead of multiple). See KSR, MPEP 2141, III, C.
Claims 8, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Pang, further in view of Smith (US 7,168,233, as cited in the 10/30/2024 Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 7, but fails to teach wherein a bypass line extends from the main supply line to the reheater connection line.
Smith teaches a HRSG 124 having a first reheater 152 and a finishing reheater 154, wherein a bypass line 178 (reheater dilution conduit) extends from a main supply line 141 to the reheater connection line 155 (Col. 3, ln. 34-50, Col. 5, ln. 5-11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Li in view of Pang, the bypass line extending from the main supply line to the reheater connection line, as taught by Smith, in order to allow steam to bypass the primary reheater and dilute the reheated steam in the reheater connection line with cooler steam from the intermediate pressure supply line, allowing for control of the temperature of the steam exiting the primary reheater to prevent steam from exceeding a rated temperature of the HRSG or intermediate pressure steam turbine, without the need for a water spray attemperator (Smith Col. 3, ln. 34-50, Col. 5, ln. 5-11).
Regarding claim 18, Li in view of Pang teaches the CCPP as in claim 17, but fails to teach wherein a bypass line extends from the main supply line to the reheater connection line.
Smith teaches a HRSG 124 having a first reheater 152 and a finishing reheater 154, wherein a bypass line 178 (reheater dilution conduit) extends from a main supply line 141 to the reheater connection line 155 (Col. 3, ln. 34-50, Col. 5, ln. 5-11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Li in view of Pang, the bypass line extending from the main supply line to the reheater connection line, as taught by Smith, in order to allow steam to bypass the primary reheater and dilute the reheated steam in the reheater connection line with cooler steam from the intermediate pressure supply line, allowing for control of the temperature of the steam exiting the primary reheater to prevent steam from exceeding a rated temperature of the HRSG or intermediate pressure steam turbine, without the need for a water spray attemperator (Smith Col. 3, ln. 34-50, Col. 5, ln. 5-11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19, 21 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection that was necessitated by Applicant’s amendment. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed below and in the body of the rejections, at the appropriate locations.
Regarding arguments towards the rejection of claims 1 & 11 under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Li in view of Pang, applicant argues “The Office Action, on page 3, identifies the back pressure steam turbine 27 [as taught in Li] as the claimed "non-condensing steam turbine." However, the back pressure steam turbine 27 is not directly fluidly connected to the CO2 capture system 12. Rather, the back pressure steam turbine 27 is fluidly connected to the CO2 capture system 12 through the second LPST 28 and a condenser 18” (Remarks Pg. 5, final paragraph). However, this argument is unpersuasive. The non-condensing steam turbine/backpressure steam turbine 27 disclosed by Li is directly fluidly connected to a “steam utilization system” that is a CO2 carbon capture system 12 with a carbon capture control valve 42 along a fluid line 11c. Steam from the non-condensing steam turbine 27 only flows to the second low pressure turbine 28 and condenser 28 as applicant describes “if the CO2 carbon capture system 12 is not in operation” (Para. 0047), otherwise the steam flows directly to the CO2 capture system/steam utilization system 12 as controlled by the capture system control valve 42. As discussed in the rejection of claims 1 & 11 above, the term “steam utilization system” is very broad and could encompass any number of components or assemblage of components that receive the steam from the non-condensing steam turbine; in this case, the CO2 carbon capture system 12, and the capture system control valve 42 that controls the steam flow to the capture system 12, as taught by Li could be interpreted as being a part of a broader “steam utilization system” that receives the steam from the back pressure turbine 27.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Majumdar (US 20140283518 A1, US 9631520 B2) teaches a turbine system having a steam utilization system (carbon capture system), where a non-condensing turbine (intermediate pressure turbine IP) has an inlet coupled to a steam generator superheater SH, high pressure turbine HP, and reheater RH, and an outlet that is “directly” fluidly coupled to the steam utilization system (via a passage 30 and valve 31).
Contact Information
/ALAIN CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741